This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Captain Tiger's Waikiki Daytime and Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise


Attended as (Families with Young Children) Reviews

A shame

Reviewed by: Sam, 2019/01/26

The crew were great but it was a really long slow boat ride out to the fishing spot. People started off really well catching fish, but we probably only stayed in that spot for around 15mins before moving to another, and then another. The final spot which we probably spent about 30mins in, only about 3 fish were caught in that time. Most of the fish caught were not edible either. The kids got sick from eating the sausage they served for lunch, as did a few other people and no it wasn’t sea sickness because we’ve been on boats plenty and never had an issue. There were also around 30 or more people on board, so a bit crowded. The highlight probably would have been the scenery and the turtles we saw.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

IT WAS OK

Reviewed by: Sonny, 2019/01/01

The crew were very nice.

The experience was just ok.

There weren't very many fish caught.
Bring your own food, dinner was rice, beans, and a hot dog.

It got pretty windy and cold.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise. October 2018. Family of 4

Reviewed by: Ray Sammeli, 2018/10/26

The whole trip, from the time the shuttle picked us to when they dropped us off was great. The crew was very friendly, dinner was served before we went fishing and the boat was well stocked with supplies. I highly recommend this charter.



Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome day

Reviewed by: Mike Evans , 2017/11/15

What a day to have been on the water with my son. What a way to end out tour in Hawaii. The captain and first hand were amazing and very helpful. Had a great day and caught a lot of fish. Thank you.




Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

As expected...

Reviewed by: Brent, 2017/02/21

This trip was pretty much as expected. Nothing spectacular and small fish but still nice to be out on the water with a rod in my hands. Water was blue and beautiful. Scenic view of Waikiki was awesome too. My 6 year old and I caught 3 fish. There were about 35 people on the boat all fishing at the same time. Not much room to walk around. Food was horrific. Hot dog over rice... Some people caught 2-5 fish others didn't catch any. Total of maybe 40 fish all together though. Interesting experience. Probably wouldn't do it again although it was a decent price compared to others. Worth it once but not twice. Captain and crew were pretty good. Not super social or friendly but enough to have a nice conversation. They did cook up 4 or 5 of the fish we caught though and let most of us have a taste. The fish was yummy. No extra cost for that either.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice fishing

Reviewed by: 247, 2015/09/06

Although we were very beginner for a bottom fishing, other participants helped us and we caught some fishes. Great experience

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Friendly and fun!

Reviewed by: Jenny, 2014/08/12

I want to start off with a big thank you to Warren!! Very patience and helpful!! I have 2 young kids with me and he made sure I had assistance whenever I needed it. Got the Sunset fishing, they picked us up promptly from the hotel and about 20 minutes drive to the boat. Once on the boat it will take about an hour to get to the fishing spot. During that time they give you some instructions and serve you a rice plate that contains beans, hotdogs and pineapples. You get about 3 hrs of total fishing time at 3 different spots. A total of 5 hour trip. I would highly recommend this to anyone that enjoys fishing or just out in the ocean. My kids are 8 and 10 and had a lot of fun. If you have motion sickness make sure to take something beforehand, it can get a little choppy. I heard ginger works pretty well. Happy fishing!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day fishing

Reviewed by: Tim Leach, 2014/07/12

It was a good trip not too long. Plenty of time for fishing. The kids really enjoyed it. They lived the fact that the fish they caught was cooked up right on the boat on the way back.


  • Olivia happy with her catch.


  • Fun day on the water

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fish or cut bait!

Reviewed by: john, 2012/10/03

The first sign of trouble was when they changed our fish time because they couldn't get anymore people for the evening we wanted.
The fishing was like fishing in a small pond, hooks small and the rig was for bottom fishing. Thus fish caught were small though the crew did save one catch for bait for a shark hunt they were doing later that night.
One of the people who contacted me stated he would refund some of the fee because of the time change and he never did.
The only good part was the boat ride and the view from the ocean.
Bottom line go for the marlin if you really want to fish or check out some of the offers on the North Shore, they sound better than this one.
They made me choose who I would recommend this to, wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants to fish.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Let's Go Fishing!

Reviewed by: Ms. Fishingwoman, 2012/07/19

This was my very first fishing experience and I shared it with my 12 year old son. We don't know anything about fishing, fishing poles, reels, bobbers, bait..nadda! This activity claims it's easy for beginners and it was. Only problem I had was the check in process, the guy in the kiosk seemed very irritated and closed the window right before a customer came up to his kiosk to ask a question. The guy in the kiosk didn't want to talk to anyone either and we had to pass our vouchers through the little opening in the window that he did leave open. Once checked in he told us to head to the Sashimi boat. On the boat the deckhand named Evan was grilling our burgers and hotdogs YUM! But the portion was very small, more like a snack. We were given half a burger, half a hot dog, small scoop of rice with chilli, and 1 pineapple.. but REMEMBER!!!.. the small food portion, irritated kiosk person isn't the reason we did the tour.. we wanted to do some fishing!

When we got to our first fishing sp









Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Fishing Trip

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/02/07

Best fishing Day:-)








Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing Trip On Oahu

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/21

This was the wrong activity for me to book for my family. In reading the fishing trip description it appeared that it would be fairly calm since we were fishing close to shore. At no fault of the Captains or activity provider, the water was very choppy and very high rolling waves, and all 3 of my family members spent pretty much the entire time leaning over the side of the boat "chumming the water". 3 days later and we are still feeling a little weak in the stomach. I would not recommend this for a family activity. Maybe for a hard core individual wanting to do some ocean fishing. Make sure you don't get sea sick before you book this or it will affect your other activities after you attend the fishing trip. Again, I want to say that the Captain and crew were excellent, but we just underestimated the high waves and how long we would feel sick to our stomach afterwards.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Sashimi Bottom Fishing

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/20

Had a beautiful day out on the water, but the propellor got wrapped in someones rope that another boat had tossed overboard. That made it impossible to get to the intended fishing spot, so the fishing wasn't as good as it should have been. 1st Mate Richard and Capt. Dave made the trip as enjoyable as possible. After a good lunch Richard had to jump overboard and clear the rope from the propellor to bring us in. Richard was very attentive and helped my grandaughter catch the largest fish that day, an almost 3ft saltwater gar. She loved it! Our 2 sons both caught triger fish. My husband and myself were fishless. We had hotel pickup and with the beautiful sites and lunch it was well worth the price even without the fish. The captain and first mate made the best out of something they had no control over.









Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great value

Reviewed by: Mike, 2009/10/20

The boat ride out to our fishing spot was worth the price in itself, I had never been on a boat before or on muchless the open ocean. The seas were relatively calm but our party of 3 all took a motion sickness preventative and none of us experienced any problems during the trip. Make sure to bring a light jacket as it will feel cool with the wind and especially after the sun goes down.

The crew made us feel comfortable and safe at all times, provided dinner on the way out to sea and we were also able to eat our catch if you wanted to.

We each caught one fish and had a good relaxing time on the way home with the view of Oahu & the stars from sea.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing Bare Bones

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/04/15

Here are some things you need to know before you go on this adventure.

1. Bring your own food
When you first get on the boat, you will be given a plate with 2 hamburger patties (at least it looked like hamburger), a hot dog, rice (very bad rice), and it is all smothered in beans. You do not get any buns for the hamburgers or hot dogs or a choice on any part of the food. My son hates beans but since we were not asked anything, the whole plate was covered with beans over the meat and rice. The food was nasty but if your hungry you have to eat it.

2. Bring your own drinks

Bring your own soda or beer since the only thing available on the boat is water or juice.

3. Bring hand sanitizer

you will be baiting your own hooks with raw, sticky tuna chunks and the smell with stay on your hands for the whole day even after trying to scrub it off when you get back to your hotel. Bring gloves or hand santizer, you will thank me.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fresh Fish for Lunch

Reviewed by: luckyone, 2008/03/27

My Dad and I just went on the Daytime Bottom Fishing trip and we had a blast. My Dad caught the most fish of anyone on the boat! I only caught one but it was really pretty. Some people caught fish you could eat so they cooked it on the back of the boat and we all got to try it. The rest of the lunch was local Hawaiian BBQ and we both liked it. Great Trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories