This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Captain Tiger's Waikiki Daytime and Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise


Attended as (Families) Reviews

Awesome time on Captain Tiger's Waikiki Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise

Reviewed by: Glen , 2019/03/12

My daughter and I were in Honolulu for a week and wanted to do something different.
Even if you don't catch a fish, which I think would be highley unlikely.
It's awesome to see the Honolulu skyline from the ocean.
Just be prepared for a little motion sickness, as i did towards the end of the trip.
But saying all that, we had great experience and definitely worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome day with sun and fish

Reviewed by: Purcell/Saunders, 2018/11/27

The deck hand made the trip perfect! Everything was smooth sailing!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Shannon , 2018/01/27

Booking was easy. Tour was great! Wonderful experience to fish in the ocean....catch or no catch! This is something we would definitely do again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The actual boat crew was great, the company's customer service not so much

Reviewed by: Emi, 2016/06/20

Veltra was great; thanks for working with me. However, since I wasn't given the company's phone number (955-FISH) on my voucher, I wasn't sure where exactly to check in. Also my voucher said check in at 11:45 and there was no one at the kiosk I suspected was the right one when I arrived a few minutes before the stated check in time. I called the local number on the voucher and connected with someone who was something of a grouch. I told him I wasn't sure I was in the right place and the response was "The signs are gigantic, 955-FISH, there is no way you could miss it" and his tone of voice implied I must be stupid or something for not finding it. I mentioned there was no one there and was told, "Well that's because you're twenty minutes early." "My voucher says 11:45." "You're twenty minutes early." Someone finally arrived at the kiosk at about 12:15. At least the on-board crew was not as rude. They were patient and helpful with my children and displayed an excellent sense of humor, and for those reasons I was able to overlook the fact they did not have enough food for everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not the best, not the worst

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2016/03/29

Six of us went fishing and we caught a total of three fish. That seemed to be the general rate of success on the boat when we went. Pros: Great to be picked up at our hotel. The gear was in generally fine shape, Doug worked very hard the entire time between prepping the fishing gear and cooking up the fish that were caught for the ride home. Cons: There were too many people for the size of the boat. There were lots of crossed lines that took a lot of time to fix (Dough could only do so much). You can't catch fish if your line's not in the water. Simply put, there were too many people for the size of the boat and the crew. I could see this being a much better experience with fewer people.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun!

Reviewed by: Kelly, 2015/07/17

Very much enjoyed our trip! It was rainy all day but it stopped right before we went out on the water so it turned out to be a great time. The whole crew was wonderful and helped out anyone who needed anything at all! :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing

Reviewed by: Linda, 2015/01/04

This was a very good experience for the beginner. We all caught something and had a wonderful view of Wakiki shoreline and Diamond Head. The crew were very good and helpful when your line got broken/stuck. Well worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Late pick up But made up for the time.

Reviewed by: Rey , 2014/11/03

Had fun,for the price i paid. Was pick up late cause of paper mix up.But the Capined kept us out later to make up time which was cool. Im think everyone in are group caught at least one fish or more..will do again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing

Reviewed by: The Christophers, 2014/09/01

We had a great time!! Everyone was very nice and helpful. We would definitely do it again.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Father-Daughter Activity

Reviewed by: Barbara Betty, 2014/08/17

I bought this tour for my husband and our daughter, who loves fishing. It was a great opportunity for them to spend time together doing an activity they used to do when she was younger. They had a great time, and, of course, she had proof that she caught a bigger fish than her dad! And I had an evening to myself to do a little shopping and relax!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: paprjp, 2014/02/26

Great time! Capt Rich and Calen (?) were exceptional. Would definitely recommend and would do again! Thank You!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

They all got Away!

Reviewed by: Charles Sartin, 2009/04/03

Originally from Florida, fishing trips are familiar to me. This trip was a complete disappointment! Thank goodness the scenery was beautiful. The fishing lines didn't use steel leaders, the hooks were the size of hooks used for small freshwater fish such as bluegill. certainly not for the likes of a saltwater fish. Also I felt like a child when the crewman handed me one "dixie" cup with bait to share with the two friends that came with me.
The fishing excursions I've taken in Florida included unlimited bait, each person receiving a bucket of their own and unlimited trips back to fill the bait bucket as needed, LARGE hooks and STEEL leaders on large shark type poles. There is never any guarentee of catching anything, but at least if you hook one you havwe the ability to reel it in. The one fish I did hook was to big for the supplied equipment. That's no fun and certainly not sporting.
Very disappointing :(

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories