This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Captain Tiger's Waikiki Daytime and Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise


Attended as (Couples) Reviews

Fun day on the water

Reviewed by: Peggy from Va, 2019/02/10

We booked Captain Tigers fishing trip based on the reviews we read..we had a really good time..we had chili with rice and a grilled hot dog for lunch and our catch of the day was grilled and served to us before we docked..it was very affordable and well worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is not a fish catching type of trip

Reviewed by: Disappointed, 2019/01/17

If you are expecting to go fishing and catch fish This is not the boat you want or to take your catch home it doesn't happen here its more like a tourist boat ride to experience fishing in the ocean no fish finder used most likely we movwd three spots and out of 16 poles three little fish i would not go again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was an OK time

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2018/12/31

We had a nice boat ride, got great views, and caught some fish. But the fish were small, there was too much scramble for seats, the food was marginal, and they ran out.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice quick fishing/boating experience

Reviewed by: The Brueggeman’s , 2018/09/19

My husband and I wanted to fish but did not want to spend too much time on the water or waste too much money as we are not avid fishermen....we had a good time and met some really nice people. The crew was friendly and helpful. We did catch several beautiful fish which of course we threw back to the ocean.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

will be back

Reviewed by: Viv , 2018/03/10

this is the 5th time I have booked with them
will be back

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok

Reviewed by: Victor, 2017/10/31

The equipment and boat were all setup and nice , small snack meal was included and they cooked the fish we caught on grill for us, as for the fishing itself it was really poor and slow , only few caught throughout whole boat , ( it’s called fishing not catching ) so all in all it was a good little experience .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT Experience!

Reviewed by: MJJ, 2017/08/19

Great Tour, not expensive. Met nice people. Very interesting- u see turtles and have great blue water to fish. don't miss


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pleasant experience but challenging fish

Reviewed by: Tasha, 2017/07/29

This was my partners 2nd trip out however my first.

I really enjoyed just being on the ocean and getting to see Waikiki from another angle.
Our crew were amazing and supportive and we would do this again. I must admit the dinner & drinks weren't as I thought- worth bringing your own snacks or have a good meal beforehand.

The fishing was challenging, not many attendees hooked up but a few different species were landed.
Highlight for us, We were pleased to catch a glimpse of a large tortoise just casually swimming through the ocean.

Overall a friendly and safe environment and would do again. Hopefully better results fishing wise next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Alfred, 2017/02/19

It was my wife's first time and she loved it. We recommend the sunset package.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

nice lil fun fishing trip

Reviewed by: the balsors, 2016/04/18

nice trip out and even caught a few fish including jacks and small barracuda. sunset views were spectacular and even though not many fish were caught still was enough for everyone to have one cooked on the onboard bbq on trip back to marina. Nice way to spend the evening. thank you


  • sunset view from fishing boat


  • fishing sunset waikiki


  • lil striped fish caught


  • same fish being cooked on boat on way back to harbor

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Scott, 2015/07/05

This was exactly what we were hoping for. The captains were fantastic. At one point they moved the boat to a better location - always trying to provide a better experience. Cooking up the fish on the boat was a classy touch. This is a tour for inexperienced fisherman, however. If you want more of a challenge book their deep sea charter.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bottom fishing

Reviewed by: Joseph & Susan Daley, 2015/03/31

F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S......awesome time.....inexpensive....lunch over.....fishing......your catch is cooked up for you to eat on your cruise back. Captain and mate were spot on. Thank you for a wonderful end to our 5th Wedding Anniversary trip. Highly recommended!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikki Bottom Fishing

Reviewed by: Bob, 2015/03/05

fun & relaxing afternoon
would recommend them to my friends

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Time

Reviewed by: Jackie&Manuel Villa, 2014/10/16

The fishing trip was fun... great for anyone. They took their time to go around and make sure you were okay... they provided food and grilled the fish at the end of the trip! Great instructors! Had a blast!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing

Reviewed by: Alan, 2014/10/03

Good afternoon but they should have some other kind of baits rather than just the one kind,we fisher people all know that you need more than one kind of bait.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip!

Reviewed by: Stefani Bucifal, 2014/09/29

My boyfriend and I were visiting from Santa Barbara, CA and went on this fishing trip. It was really fun and we caught a ton of fish! The staff was really helpful and laid back. We would definitely go again! They even cooked the fish we caught on the ride back. Great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxed fishing

Reviewed by: Owen, 2014/07/30

Great relaxing evening . Picked up on time and out on the water with 11 other people .as with most fishing charters everyone became friendly and the crew especially deck hand Keith were great my type of people . Views of the harbour were stunning. And as a bonus we caught 13 fish between my wife and myself .
This is not a luxury charter it's a working mans charter and good value for money where you don't want a full deep sea trip . I would do it again .
Cheers to captain Rick and crew

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!!

Reviewed by: Young, 2014/06/07

It was really great! People was really kind! Fishing was really good!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lackluster

Reviewed by: kaileen, 2014/05/11

Lackluster. One of the captains was kind and helpful. The "driver" was a egomaniac with anger issues. He called a small group of customers "Too f*cking stupid. They are just too stupid!" ...to their faces about 4 times. If you want to catch large fish spend the dough for a better trip if you can afford it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a blast

Reviewed by: Dennis, 2013/10/03

We had a great time. The crew was awesome. They even grilled our catch on the boat as we fished. Lot of fun. Thanks fellas

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended!!

Reviewed by: Highly satisfied, 2013/08/16

Excellent, affordable bottom fishing trip. The crew was very had working and pleasant - Joe the first mate was non stop helping people, with a great attitude the entire time. Many fish were caught and it was awesome that Joe cleaned and grilled them right there so that we could all enjoy eating them on the way in! Best bottom fishing trip I was ever on (been on about ten before, in various places).

Highly recommended!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't Come for the Fishing

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/08/17

I have been on similar fishing trips in the past. As far as fishing goes, this was the biggest disappointment of all of them.

The fishing gear was not adequate for the fish in the area. Throughout the trip rigs were being lost to fish with sharp teeth. I personally lost one rig and my partner lost two, and it was definitely a fish, not coral. The captain and mate spent a large amount of time replacing rigs.

Over the course of four hours the entire boat caught about eight triggerfish, which all had to be thrown back. Not a single keeper was caught. A majority of the boat, including myself and my partner, never hooked a thing except for whatever stole our rigs. I believe a lot more fish could be caught if appropriate tackle was used.

The sunset and the view of Honolulu were the bright spots in the evening. The boat also got a great view of Diamondhead.

I will never being doing the fishing trips again, but a sunset dinner cruise might be worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

trip experience

Reviewed by: Annetta Mooney, 2010/05/11

W,e are repeat customers, well worth the price, staff is great, would recommend to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun!

Reviewed by: Super Dave, 2009/03/04

We had a lot of fun. Cooking and sharing the catch was a treat. Don't expect gormet food, but it was OK. Also don't expect to catch a lot of fish or anything BIG. Fishing around the island does not compare with deep sea fishing in the Gulf of Mexico. Take it for what it is, a fun time and a great view of Waikiki, at a reasonable price! We will do it again next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

You should try this once or so

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/01/22

This was my second time on the sashimi II. The trips were very different. This trip there were only 8 people very nice, but no fish. The pickup was a mess. The driver thinks that it is better to park and go look for the guests instead of pulling up in front. Too many one way streets for him. Whatever. Don't think I will go again, but for the price even if you don't catch fish, you get a boat ride with dinner, and a sunset.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing Trip

Reviewed by: Brandy, 2008/05/01

My husband and I went fishing one night in Oahu. It was not quite what we expected. The whole boat caught maybe 5 fish around 6 inches long. The bbq dinner was some chili out of a can on some rice with a hot dog minus the bun. There were no drinks, the captain and the crew member had soda, but none for the rest of us. We did see a beautiful sunset, and it did get us onto the water. I don't think we would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun time.

Reviewed by: George, 2007/10/17

The Sashimi fishing trip was well done. We were picked up at our hotel on time. Chuck and Henry helped newcomers set up their poles and with the fish when they were caught. The barbecue was well done. Would recommend it to anyone looking for something different to do in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories