Captain Tiger's Waikiki Bottom Fishing Cruise (from Kewalo Basin)

Pleasant experience but challenging fish

Reviewed by: Tasha, 2017/07/29

This was my partners 2nd trip out however my first.

I really enjoyed just being on the ocean and getting to see Waikiki from another angle.
Our crew were amazing and supportive and we would do this again. I must admit the dinner & drinks weren't as I thought- worth bringing your own snacks or have a good meal beforehand.

The fishing was challenging, not many attendees hooked up but a few different species were landed.
Highlight for us, We were pleased to catch a glimpse of a large tortoise just casually swimming through the ocean.

Overall a friendly and safe environment and would do again. Hopefully better results fishing wise next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Second time doing this, that should say something.

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2017/05/22

Again I had a fun time, this time was not as much people as my first time, but still a blast. Had one girl, which I will remain nameless(you know who you are) that is a fish whisperer. Every time she put her bait in the water, boom catches one fish at a time. Well, we moved to another spot and apparently one fish at a time was not enough(there are two hooks on the line), now she is catching two fishes at time. That's what makes the trip more enjoyable when the fish is biting. I caught a few myself, but in reality the fish that everyone caught on the boat, she caught more just by herself. Anyway, night fishing is great, don't have to worry about the sun beating down on ya, out of the norm of normal(day) fishing.
To top it all off, going on Friday night is bonus watching the fireworks. I will do again, and again, because the price is right, you are not fishing for hours and they know where to go.




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

father/son in-law

Reviewed by: Viv , 2017/03/02

father/son in-law day break from the wives
had an awesome time
3rd time I've gone with Captain Tiger

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

As expected...

Reviewed by: Brent, 2017/02/21

This trip was pretty much as expected. Nothing spectacular and small fish but still nice to be out on the water with a rod in my hands. Water was blue and beautiful. Scenic view of Waikiki was awesome too. My 6 year old and I caught 3 fish. There were about 35 people on the boat all fishing at the same time. Not much room to walk around. Food was horrific. Hot dog over rice... Some people caught 2-5 fish others didn't catch any. Total of maybe 40 fish all together though. Interesting experience. Probably wouldn't do it again although it was a decent price compared to others. Worth it once but not twice. Captain and crew were pretty good. Not super social or friendly but enough to have a nice conversation. They did cook up 4 or 5 of the fish we caught though and let most of us have a taste. The fish was yummy. No extra cost for that either.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Alfred, 2017/02/19

It was my wife's first time and she loved it. We recommend the sunset package.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The actual boat crew was great, the company's customer service not so much

Reviewed by: Emi, 2016/06/20

Veltra was great; thanks for working with me. However, since I wasn't given the company's phone number (955-FISH) on my voucher, I wasn't sure where exactly to check in. Also my voucher said check in at 11:45 and there was no one at the kiosk I suspected was the right one when I arrived a few minutes before the stated check in time. I called the local number on the voucher and connected with someone who was something of a grouch. I told him I wasn't sure I was in the right place and the response was "The signs are gigantic, 955-FISH, there is no way you could miss it" and his tone of voice implied I must be stupid or something for not finding it. I mentioned there was no one there and was told, "Well that's because you're twenty minutes early." "My voucher says 11:45." "You're twenty minutes early." Someone finally arrived at the kiosk at about 12:15. At least the on-board crew was not as rude. They were patient and helpful with my children and displayed an excellent sense of humor, and for those reasons I was able to overlook the fact they did not have enough food for everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

nice lil fun fishing trip

Reviewed by: the balsors, 2016/04/18

nice trip out and even caught a few fish including jacks and small barracuda. sunset views were spectacular and even though not many fish were caught still was enough for everyone to have one cooked on the onboard bbq on trip back to marina. Nice way to spend the evening. thank you


  • sunset view from fishing boat


  • fishing sunset waikiki


  • lil striped fish caught


  • same fish being cooked on boat on way back to harbor

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not the best, not the worst

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2016/03/29

Six of us went fishing and we caught a total of three fish. That seemed to be the general rate of success on the boat when we went. Pros: Great to be picked up at our hotel. The gear was in generally fine shape, Doug worked very hard the entire time between prepping the fishing gear and cooking up the fish that were caught for the ride home. Cons: There were too many people for the size of the boat. There were lots of crossed lines that took a lot of time to fix (Dough could only do so much). You can't catch fish if your line's not in the water. Simply put, there were too many people for the size of the boat and the crew. I could see this being a much better experience with fewer people.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing experience a must before going out

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2016/01/03

They don't teach out how to fish, they only supply hardware & bait. Did the night fishing, so its not like we had sunlight the whole time. I enjoyed myself, cause i know how to fish, but limited to where to go on the boat to fish.
They made food, not really, just cut up hot dogs & rice in a crock pot, set on simmer. I love to fish, but i don't like to eat it. However, i rather eat the fish i caught than to eat that mess hall type of food. In other words, not consider food to eat on a boat in the ocean. Almost as if to see who has a weak stomache on the waters.
Would i go back is the bottom line. Yes i would, i enjoy fishing. However bring your own food or wait till they cook the fishes caught, otherwise do not eat the food they supply. Bring beer!


  • First fish


  • Night scene


  • Day scene


  • View from ocean with rainbow


  • sunset with no obstructions

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset fishing

Reviewed by: David, 2015/12/24

The captain and deckhand were very friendly and knowledgable. Very easy going feeling. It was beautiful to see the sunset and the lights come on throughout the city. If you're looking to catch monster sized fish, this isn't for you, but we caught a lot of pretty and tasty fish that were grilled up on the ship and also got to take some home. A lot of fun all around and deliciously rewarding!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |

Oahu / Waikiki Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI