Captain Tiger's Waikiki Daytime and Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Captain Tiger's Waikiki Daytime and Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise

Overall Rating

3.76 3.76 / 5

Reviews

223 reviews
Post a review

should be cheaper since meal, equipment and beverages could not get worse

Reviewed by: J.D., 2020/01/31

should be cheaper since meal, equipment and beverages could not get worse

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice family trip

Reviewed by: Ryan, 2020/01/04

Great time with family, staff knew the right spots to keep catching fish!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/01/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time i caught nothing!

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2019/12/30

I did catch anything, but doesn't mean i didn't enjoy it. I will be doing this again next year i go back. Took some pictures while i was there. Best shot is the moon over diamond head crater when the sun set on the other side. Still cannot beat the fireworks display!

  • Sunset

  • Sunset

  • Sunset

  • Waikiki Beach with moon

  • Where you fish off of Waikiki Beach

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wasted time

Reviewed by: Tony, 2019/12/23

I booked this event for a very large family. We were taken to spots that only have tiny fishes, non keepers. The boat has no fish finder. We were baked in the heat. The food was chili dog with rice and the only beverage was and some kind of juice in the cooler. What a complete waste of time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun family day!

Reviewed by: Rachel Clarke, 2019/12/01

We had a wonderful day fishing. We didn’t catch too many fish but it was a great day.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fishing trip on a budget

Reviewed by: Dan S. , 2019/08/17

Captain Chuck and Warren did an excellent job of taking our group on a fishing trip out of Waikiki. This is not big game sport fishing! This is a great day cruise that allows for a bottom fishing experience and that is exactly what we got. The shuttle pickup right in front of our hotel and the meal served (not great) were just added bonus. Additionally, we got to eat some of the fish we caught on the grill during our return to port.

I would recommend the trip to anyone that is willing to get the open ocean fishing experience on a budget and is family friendly, even for younger kids/teens.

Will definitely do again in the future!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

don't expect too much.

Reviewed by: first time, 2019/08/15

it wasn't what I expected.

There weren't many fish caught. I only got one. my dad got nothing.
Bring your own food, dinner was rice, beans, and a hot dog. it wasn't BBQ like it said. It got pretty windy and cold. There were also around 30 or more people on board, so a bit crowded. no place to seat on. The highlight probably would have been the scenery. got very bored after about an hour later. most people fell in sleep.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best.....enjoyed this fishing trip! Recommend them!

Reviewed by: Natalie, 2019/04/17

Captain and crew were amazing....helpful, knowledgeable and just fun. We caught 8 fish total...my boyfriend did better than me but I felt successful because he had fun . I would recommend this crew and sunset fishing adventure.................................................

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing trip

Reviewed by: Jennifer , 2019/04/12

Nice to see whales and dolphins. Crew were friendly.Not much action as far as fishing was concerned. Nice lunch

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun!

Reviewed by: Paula , 2019/04/09

Had a good time and the crew was nice and welcoming. They clean and cook the fish you catch for you too... fresh as it gets!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time on Captain Tiger's Waikiki Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise

Reviewed by: Glen , 2019/03/12

My daughter and I were in Honolulu for a week and wanted to do something different.
Even if you don't catch a fish, which I think would be highley unlikely.
It's awesome to see the Honolulu skyline from the ocean.
Just be prepared for a little motion sickness, as i did towards the end of the trip.
But saying all that, we had great experience and definitely worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Always enjoy my time doing this

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2019/03/09

Night fishing on a friday night is the best. You get to see the fireworks in addition. With that, thats when i book this activity. I have done this three times and have caught at least one fish each time. 2018, i caught three different kinds.

  • Its hard to take a picture while managing the pole, the line and the fish, along with the swells or passing boats in the water.

  • Diamond Head Crater

  • Waikiki

  • Tranquility

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Always enjoy my time doing this.

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2019/03/09

Night fishing on a friday night is the best. You get to see the fireworks in addition. With that, thats when i book this activity. I have done this three times and have caught at least one fish each time. 2018, i caught three different kinds.

  • Its hard to take a picture while managing the pole, the line and the fish, along with the swells or passing boats in the water.

  • Tranquility

  • Waikiki

  • Diamond Head Crater

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun day on the water

Reviewed by: Peggy from Va, 2019/02/10

We booked Captain Tigers fishing trip based on the reviews we read..we had a really good time..we had chili with rice and a grilled hot dog for lunch and our catch of the day was grilled and served to us before we docked..it was very affordable and well worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A shame

Reviewed by: Sam, 2019/01/26

The crew were great but it was a really long slow boat ride out to the fishing spot. People started off really well catching fish, but we probably only stayed in that spot for around 15mins before moving to another, and then another. The final spot which we probably spent about 30mins in, only about 3 fish were caught in that time. Most of the fish caught were not edible either. The kids got sick from eating the sausage they served for lunch, as did a few other people and no it wasn’t sea sickness because we’ve been on boats plenty and never had an issue. There were also around 30 or more people on board, so a bit crowded. The highlight probably would have been the scenery and the turtles we saw.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is not a fish catching type of trip

Reviewed by: Disappointed, 2019/01/17

If you are expecting to go fishing and catch fish This is not the boat you want or to take your catch home it doesn't happen here its more like a tourist boat ride to experience fishing in the ocean no fish finder used most likely we movwd three spots and out of 16 poles three little fish i would not go again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

IT WAS OK

Reviewed by: Sonny, 2019/01/01

The crew were very nice.

The experience was just ok.

There weren't very many fish caught.
Bring your own food, dinner was rice, beans, and a hot dog.

It got pretty windy and cold.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was an OK time

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2018/12/31

We had a nice boat ride, got great views, and caught some fish. But the fish were small, there was too much scramble for seats, the food was marginal, and they ran out.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome day with sun and fish

Reviewed by: Purcell/Saunders, 2018/11/27

The deck hand made the trip perfect! Everything was smooth sailing!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise. October 2018. Family of 4

Reviewed by: Ray Sammeli, 2018/10/26

The whole trip, from the time the shuttle picked us to when they dropped us off was great. The crew was very friendly, dinner was served before we went fishing and the boat was well stocked with supplies. I highly recommend this charter.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice quick fishing/boating experience

Reviewed by: The Brueggeman’s , 2018/09/19

My husband and I wanted to fish but did not want to spend too much time on the water or waste too much money as we are not avid fishermen....we had a good time and met some really nice people. The crew was friendly and helpful. We did catch several beautiful fish which of course we threw back to the ocean.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Quick adventure on the water.

Reviewed by: MrCrappie, 2018/04/08

Okay. Enjoyed the trip on the water. Wasn’t expecting much for 4 hours. Maybe 7 fish caught total. I caught one. I probably wouldn’t do it again, but you do get nice pictures. The lunch was a hot dog rice and chili. Don’t eat it going out on the water. They cook the fish as soon as you catch it. If you really want to fish go on a sportsman fishing trip. I saw some nice Mahi Mahi at the dock @ 11:00am.

  • Nice pictures

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

will be back

Reviewed by: Viv , 2018/03/10

this is the 5th time I have booked with them
will be back

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Shannon , 2018/01/27

Booking was easy. Tour was great! Wonderful experience to fish in the ocean....catch or no catch! This is something we would definitely do again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No fish

Reviewed by: Johny 吾朗, 2017/12/06

底釣りを挑戦しましたが、全く釣れませんでした。ほとんど当たりすらなし。期待しすぎたようです。周りの人もほとんどつれていませんでした。

I tried bottom fishing, but no fish was caught. Not only us, but others neither.

It seems i expect too much.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome day

Reviewed by: Mike Evans , 2017/11/15

What a day to have been on the water with my son. What a way to end out tour in Hawaii. The captain and first hand were amazing and very helpful. Had a great day and caught a lot of fish. Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok

Reviewed by: Victor, 2017/10/31

The equipment and boat were all setup and nice , small snack meal was included and they cooked the fish we caught on grill for us, as for the fishing itself it was really poor and slow , only few caught throughout whole boat , ( it’s called fishing not catching ) so all in all it was a good little experience .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT Experience!

Reviewed by: MJJ, 2017/08/19

Great Tour, not expensive. Met nice people. Very interesting- u see turtles and have great blue water to fish. don't miss

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pleasant experience but challenging fish

Reviewed by: Tasha, 2017/07/29

This was my partners 2nd trip out however my first.

I really enjoyed just being on the ocean and getting to see Waikiki from another angle.
Our crew were amazing and supportive and we would do this again. I must admit the dinner & drinks weren't as I thought- worth bringing your own snacks or have a good meal beforehand.

The fishing was challenging, not many attendees hooked up but a few different species were landed.
Highlight for us, We were pleased to catch a glimpse of a large tortoise just casually swimming through the ocean.

Overall a friendly and safe environment and would do again. Hopefully better results fishing wise next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Second time doing this, that should say something.

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2017/05/22

Again I had a fun time, this time was not as much people as my first time, but still a blast. Had one girl, which I will remain nameless(you know who you are) that is a fish whisperer. Every time she put her bait in the water, boom catches one fish at a time. Well, we moved to another spot and apparently one fish at a time was not enough(there are two hooks on the line), now she is catching two fishes at time. That's what makes the trip more enjoyable when the fish is biting. I caught a few myself, but in reality the fish that everyone caught on the boat, she caught more just by herself. Anyway, night fishing is great, don't have to worry about the sun beating down on ya, out of the norm of normal(day) fishing.
To top it all off, going on Friday night is bonus watching the fireworks. I will do again, and again, because the price is right, you are not fishing for hours and they know where to go.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories