This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Captain Tiger's Waikiki Daytime and Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise

Awesome time on Captain Tiger's Waikiki Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise

Reviewed by: Glen , 2019/03/12

My daughter and I were in Honolulu for a week and wanted to do something different.
Even if you don't catch a fish, which I think would be highley unlikely.
It's awesome to see the Honolulu skyline from the ocean.
Just be prepared for a little motion sickness, as i did towards the end of the trip.
But saying all that, we had great experience and definitely worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Always enjoy my time doing this

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2019/03/09

Night fishing on a friday night is the best. You get to see the fireworks in addition. With that, thats when i book this activity. I have done this three times and have caught at least one fish each time. 2018, i caught three different kinds.


  • Its hard to take a picture while managing the pole, the line and the fish, along with the swells or passing boats in the water.




  • Diamond Head Crater


  • Waikiki


  • Tranquility

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Always enjoy my time doing this.

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2019/03/09

Night fishing on a friday night is the best. You get to see the fireworks in addition. With that, thats when i book this activity. I have done this three times and have caught at least one fish each time. 2018, i caught three different kinds.


  • Its hard to take a picture while managing the pole, the line and the fish, along with the swells or passing boats in the water.




  • Tranquility


  • Waikiki


  • Diamond Head Crater

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun day on the water

Reviewed by: Peggy from Va, 2019/02/10

We booked Captain Tigers fishing trip based on the reviews we read..we had a really good time..we had chili with rice and a grilled hot dog for lunch and our catch of the day was grilled and served to us before we docked..it was very affordable and well worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A shame

Reviewed by: Sam, 2019/01/26

The crew were great but it was a really long slow boat ride out to the fishing spot. People started off really well catching fish, but we probably only stayed in that spot for around 15mins before moving to another, and then another. The final spot which we probably spent about 30mins in, only about 3 fish were caught in that time. Most of the fish caught were not edible either. The kids got sick from eating the sausage they served for lunch, as did a few other people and no it wasn’t sea sickness because we’ve been on boats plenty and never had an issue. There were also around 30 or more people on board, so a bit crowded. The highlight probably would have been the scenery and the turtles we saw.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is not a fish catching type of trip

Reviewed by: Disappointed, 2019/01/17

If you are expecting to go fishing and catch fish This is not the boat you want or to take your catch home it doesn't happen here its more like a tourist boat ride to experience fishing in the ocean no fish finder used most likely we movwd three spots and out of 16 poles three little fish i would not go again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

IT WAS OK

Reviewed by: Sonny, 2019/01/01

The crew were very nice.

The experience was just ok.

There weren't very many fish caught.
Bring your own food, dinner was rice, beans, and a hot dog.

It got pretty windy and cold.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was an OK time

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2018/12/31

We had a nice boat ride, got great views, and caught some fish. But the fish were small, there was too much scramble for seats, the food was marginal, and they ran out.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome day with sun and fish

Reviewed by: Purcell/Saunders, 2018/11/27

The deck hand made the trip perfect! Everything was smooth sailing!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Bottom Fishing Cruise. October 2018. Family of 4

Reviewed by: Ray Sammeli, 2018/10/26

The whole trip, from the time the shuttle picked us to when they dropped us off was great. The crew was very friendly, dinner was served before we went fishing and the boat was well stocked with supplies. I highly recommend this charter.



Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice quick fishing/boating experience

Reviewed by: The Brueggeman’s , 2018/09/19

My husband and I wanted to fish but did not want to spend too much time on the water or waste too much money as we are not avid fishermen....we had a good time and met some really nice people. The crew was friendly and helpful. We did catch several beautiful fish which of course we threw back to the ocean.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Quick adventure on the water.

Reviewed by: MrCrappie, 2018/04/08

Okay. Enjoyed the trip on the water. Wasn’t expecting much for 4 hours. Maybe 7 fish caught total. I caught one. I probably wouldn’t do it again, but you do get nice pictures. The lunch was a hot dog rice and chili. Don’t eat it going out on the water. They cook the fish as soon as you catch it. If you really want to fish go on a sportsman fishing trip. I saw some nice Mahi Mahi at the dock @ 11:00am.


  • Nice pictures

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

will be back

Reviewed by: Viv , 2018/03/10

this is the 5th time I have booked with them
will be back

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Shannon , 2018/01/27

Booking was easy. Tour was great! Wonderful experience to fish in the ocean....catch or no catch! This is something we would definitely do again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No fish

Reviewed by: Johny 吾朗, 2017/12/06

底釣りを挑戦しましたが、全く釣れませんでした。ほとんど当たりすらなし。期待しすぎたようです。周りの人もほとんどつれていませんでした。

I tried bottom fishing, but no fish was caught. Not only us, but others neither.

It seems i expect too much.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome day

Reviewed by: Mike Evans , 2017/11/15

What a day to have been on the water with my son. What a way to end out tour in Hawaii. The captain and first hand were amazing and very helpful. Had a great day and caught a lot of fish. Thank you.




Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok

Reviewed by: Victor, 2017/10/31

The equipment and boat were all setup and nice , small snack meal was included and they cooked the fish we caught on grill for us, as for the fishing itself it was really poor and slow , only few caught throughout whole boat , ( it’s called fishing not catching ) so all in all it was a good little experience .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT Experience!

Reviewed by: MJJ, 2017/08/19

Great Tour, not expensive. Met nice people. Very interesting- u see turtles and have great blue water to fish. don't miss


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pleasant experience but challenging fish

Reviewed by: Tasha, 2017/07/29

This was my partners 2nd trip out however my first.

I really enjoyed just being on the ocean and getting to see Waikiki from another angle.
Our crew were amazing and supportive and we would do this again. I must admit the dinner & drinks weren't as I thought- worth bringing your own snacks or have a good meal beforehand.

The fishing was challenging, not many attendees hooked up but a few different species were landed.
Highlight for us, We were pleased to catch a glimpse of a large tortoise just casually swimming through the ocean.

Overall a friendly and safe environment and would do again. Hopefully better results fishing wise next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Second time doing this, that should say something.

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2017/05/22

Again I had a fun time, this time was not as much people as my first time, but still a blast. Had one girl, which I will remain nameless(you know who you are) that is a fish whisperer. Every time she put her bait in the water, boom catches one fish at a time. Well, we moved to another spot and apparently one fish at a time was not enough(there are two hooks on the line), now she is catching two fishes at time. That's what makes the trip more enjoyable when the fish is biting. I caught a few myself, but in reality the fish that everyone caught on the boat, she caught more just by herself. Anyway, night fishing is great, don't have to worry about the sun beating down on ya, out of the norm of normal(day) fishing.
To top it all off, going on Friday night is bonus watching the fireworks. I will do again, and again, because the price is right, you are not fishing for hours and they know where to go.




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

father/son in-law

Reviewed by: Viv , 2017/03/02

father/son in-law day break from the wives
had an awesome time
3rd time I've gone with Captain Tiger

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

As expected...

Reviewed by: Brent, 2017/02/21

This trip was pretty much as expected. Nothing spectacular and small fish but still nice to be out on the water with a rod in my hands. Water was blue and beautiful. Scenic view of Waikiki was awesome too. My 6 year old and I caught 3 fish. There were about 35 people on the boat all fishing at the same time. Not much room to walk around. Food was horrific. Hot dog over rice... Some people caught 2-5 fish others didn't catch any. Total of maybe 40 fish all together though. Interesting experience. Probably wouldn't do it again although it was a decent price compared to others. Worth it once but not twice. Captain and crew were pretty good. Not super social or friendly but enough to have a nice conversation. They did cook up 4 or 5 of the fish we caught though and let most of us have a taste. The fish was yummy. No extra cost for that either.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Alfred, 2017/02/19

It was my wife's first time and she loved it. We recommend the sunset package.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The actual boat crew was great, the company's customer service not so much

Reviewed by: Emi, 2016/06/20

Veltra was great; thanks for working with me. However, since I wasn't given the company's phone number (955-FISH) on my voucher, I wasn't sure where exactly to check in. Also my voucher said check in at 11:45 and there was no one at the kiosk I suspected was the right one when I arrived a few minutes before the stated check in time. I called the local number on the voucher and connected with someone who was something of a grouch. I told him I wasn't sure I was in the right place and the response was "The signs are gigantic, 955-FISH, there is no way you could miss it" and his tone of voice implied I must be stupid or something for not finding it. I mentioned there was no one there and was told, "Well that's because you're twenty minutes early." "My voucher says 11:45." "You're twenty minutes early." Someone finally arrived at the kiosk at about 12:15. At least the on-board crew was not as rude. They were patient and helpful with my children and displayed an excellent sense of humor, and for those reasons I was able to overlook the fact they did not have enough food for everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

nice lil fun fishing trip

Reviewed by: the balsors, 2016/04/18

nice trip out and even caught a few fish including jacks and small barracuda. sunset views were spectacular and even though not many fish were caught still was enough for everyone to have one cooked on the onboard bbq on trip back to marina. Nice way to spend the evening. thank you


  • sunset view from fishing boat


  • fishing sunset waikiki


  • lil striped fish caught


  • same fish being cooked on boat on way back to harbor

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not the best, not the worst

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2016/03/29

Six of us went fishing and we caught a total of three fish. That seemed to be the general rate of success on the boat when we went. Pros: Great to be picked up at our hotel. The gear was in generally fine shape, Doug worked very hard the entire time between prepping the fishing gear and cooking up the fish that were caught for the ride home. Cons: There were too many people for the size of the boat. There were lots of crossed lines that took a lot of time to fix (Dough could only do so much). You can't catch fish if your line's not in the water. Simply put, there were too many people for the size of the boat and the crew. I could see this being a much better experience with fewer people.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fishing experience a must before going out

Reviewed by: -PAUL-, 2016/01/03

They don't teach out how to fish, they only supply hardware & bait. Did the night fishing, so its not like we had sunlight the whole time. I enjoyed myself, cause i know how to fish, but limited to where to go on the boat to fish.
They made food, not really, just cut up hot dogs & rice in a crock pot, set on simmer. I love to fish, but i don't like to eat it. However, i rather eat the fish i caught than to eat that mess hall type of food. In other words, not consider food to eat on a boat in the ocean. Almost as if to see who has a weak stomache on the waters.
Would i go back is the bottom line. Yes i would, i enjoy fishing. However bring your own food or wait till they cook the fishes caught, otherwise do not eat the food they supply. Bring beer!


  • First fish


  • Night scene


  • Day scene


  • View from ocean with rainbow


  • sunset with no obstructions

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset fishing

Reviewed by: David, 2015/12/24

The captain and deckhand were very friendly and knowledgable. Very easy going feeling. It was beautiful to see the sunset and the lights come on throughout the city. If you're looking to catch monster sized fish, this isn't for you, but we caught a lot of pretty and tasty fish that were grilled up on the ship and also got to take some home. A lot of fun all around and deliciously rewarding!


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice fishing

Reviewed by: 247, 2015/09/06

Although we were very beginner for a bottom fishing, other participants helped us and we caught some fishes. Great experience

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good trip, lousy people

Reviewed by: Bjorn, 2015/09/03

Captain Tiger was great. Unfortunately, the other travelers were not. Plenty of people complaining about the heat, or weren't satisfied that they hadn't caught anything after 2 mins on the water. Other people intentionally cut off the sinkers so they could fish on the surface, and some almost tangled up in the motor while we were driving because they were impatient. Still caught several fish myself though.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Oahu Categories