This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Holokai Catamaran Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail (from Waikiki Beach)


Attended as (Friends) Reviews

great underwater views when snorkelling

Reviewed by: Charlie3, 2019/02/18

activity instructions were not clear as there are 2 Outrigger hotels on Waikiki beach- maybe that can be made clear for future bookings.

safety instructions were good and snorkelling excellent with 2 helpers in the water to show where the turtles and fish were and keep you in the area. Waves were picking up when we left and I'm not a good sailor, so I didnt have any snacks or drinks . Sails were raised and all the crew were very good for the sail around the harbour.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing sea life and sail

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2019/02/14

We took the 12 pm tour and boarded the catamaran from the beach. It only took 10 minutes to motor out to the snorkel site so it was not far from shore. There were 3-4 other boats with groups in the same area but there was plenty of space. We snorkeled until everyone had returned to the boat. Then the crew raised the sail and we had a great time coasting over the beautiful blue water, returning just inside of the 3 hour advertised time. Free snacks (chips, granola bars) were provided and you could buy drinks.

The crew were funny, friendly, and gave clear instructions. They kept watch over us during the snorkel. They regularly checked up on each guest after the snorkel to make sure everyone was comfortable. I wear glasses, and have a -5.25 prescription. They had prescription goggles on board that were -6.0 and I was able to see so clearly without my glasses! We saw a group of spinner dolphins on the way out, and I saw 5 different sea turtles below us during the snorkel. Several of them surfaced to breathe close by which was amazing! We saw a baby octopus, and lot of beautiful fish. The crew member in the water with us was good to caution people to give the turtles their space which was important.

Advice: you are barefoot to board the boat and on the boat, and you store your bag and shoes in cubby holes on board. It's good to bring a sun shirt so your back doesn't burn. You do get cold while snorkeling, but less so if you keep moving. Bring a towel and warm clothes to wear after if you tend to get cold. Hats will fly away easily so you need one with a draw string. They provide sunscreen if you forget your own. I took gravol before the trip, so I'm not sure if I needed it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Denise, 2018/10/02

Great boat and friendly crew, relaxing morning and turtles easily spotted. Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We loved the turtle trip so much.

Reviewed by: Irene, 2018/09/05

Great great tour....professional and fun crew. Amazing swim with turtles and a sail on the sailboat. I would do it again any time!!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!!

Reviewed by: Anna&Miriam, 2018/05/31

Amazing experience! Very easy to watch turtles and swim with them!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Top Notch Experience

Reviewed by: VenitaT, 2017/12/12

This was a great family friendly experience with helpful friendly staff.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING EXPERIENCE, I WILL BE DOING THIS AGAIN NEXT TIME!

Reviewed by: Melanie, 2017/12/10

FAMILY FRIENDLY STAFF, amazing boat, very clean. A once in a life time experience I would recommend to anyone in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely Fabulous!

Reviewed by: Curly haired sister, 2017/10/16

My sister and I booked this excursion with the hopes of seeing turtles. Not only did we see them we swam with them. There were at least 6 of them in the area. The crew, Kevin, Ryan and Felipe were awesome. This was the best adventure with a great price. I would highly recommendations this.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Mel, 2017/10/03

Had the best time the boys looked after us the whole time. My girlfriend had a panic attack while in the water and the guys helped her and made her feel relaxed and she was then able to enjoy herself again. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone
. We will be back
Mel and Tara
Melbourne Australia xx


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great sail and lots of turtles!

Reviewed by: Natalie Ezell, 2017/09/12

The crew was super nice and very informative. I felt very safe while sailing and snorkling. A crew member snorkles with you and helps you spot the turtles. There were lots of turtles to be seen! We were fortunate to go on a day that there were only about 10 of us, so we basically had the boat to ourselves! It was great! I mean you are snorkling with green sea turtles and sailing in Hawaii "what's not to love"?! I highly recommend Holokai Catamaran Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail (from Waikiki Beach) / Snorkel Cruise!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holokai Catamaran sail/snorkel

Reviewed by: Darren, 2017/08/16

Had a great time! However, they did not provide fins. That would have made it slightly easier to snorkel. But other than that I thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling

Reviewed by: Lynnette McAlvain, 2017/08/01

My son and his friends said this was one of their highlights, only second to renting scooters but they are just 21:). Thanks for making their time memorable!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Freyda Calderon, 2017/03/18

Thank you for being part of our memory making. It was an amazing experience. Your crew was extremely attentive and going out of their way to make our experience a pleasant one. We will certainly use your services again whenever we get the opportunity. Thank you


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to see turtles

Reviewed by: Simon, 2017/02/05

This time we went with a group of friends, and had a wonderful day - everybody truly enjoyed themselves. We will book again next time in Honolulu. Recommended!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous Day on the Water

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2017/02/05

This was our second time on the Holokai Catamaran, and again we had a fabulous day. Great crew! We would book again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best tour I've taken in Hawaii to date

Reviewed by: Cms , 2016/05/16

of all my snorkelling experiences in Hawaii over the past 5 years,
I would say this was the best to date. Turtles are surrounding you
And actually come up from underneath you so you have to kick
Away so as not to invade their space. Crew was very informative and friendly.
Chose the 9 am option so as to have lunch buffet after a morning of snorkelling.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time.

Reviewed by: Helmdini, 2016/04/27

We had a group of 41 (high school trip) and they loved the snorkel/sail trip ... as well as the lunch. We would do it again!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome chance to swim with turtles!!!

Reviewed by: Sarah L., 2016/04/18

My boyfriend and I were in Hawaii last week with friends and this was one of the highlights of our trip! We stayed at Sheraton Waikiki so this catamaran was an easy walk right next door along the beach. They take you out about 15 mins into the ocean where we snorkeled and saw 300lb sea turtles that swim right next to you! After snorkeling grab a spot on the nets and you're in for a fun ride over some waves! The staff is fun and friendly as well!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Above and Beyond!

Reviewed by: Nunia T., 2016/03/27

This tour was just above and beyond! Im not a beach person nor do I like swimming but this turtle snorkel just made me fall in love with the ocean. The captain and crew were great! They knew exactly how to keep everyone happy and safe! I see so many turtle, fishes and and octopus that the crew actually snatched and had us hold. I love this snorkel and will definitely be going back!


  • Holokai Sail (Diamond Head in the back)


  • Waikiki

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Dive!!!

Reviewed by: John Wood, 2016/03/01

I've been diving all over the world for the past 15 years and this is by far one of my favorites. Beautiful water with greater than 50 feet of visibility. Saw seven sea turtles up close and it was just a spectacular experience. Make sure to rent the fins from the beach, worth it. Crew was knowledgeable, friendly and just all around awesome. So was the house special drink. This is a not to missed experience with a company that makes it unforgettable. They will absolutely see me again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fun sail

Reviewed by: Robert, 2016/02/26

Crew was great. Really nice activity right on Waikiki beach. Wish they offered fines to snorkel with. Hard to swim in ocean with out them.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of my trip to Hawaii

Reviewed by: Olivia , 2015/09/12

Highly recommend doing this!! A very very amazing and memorable experience

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great snorkelling

Reviewed by: sharon, 2015/04/11

Really good trip and got to see turtles up close, highly recommend


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome fun cruise

Reviewed by: Marielle, 2015/03/08

Awesome and fun crew with good price.
We had lots of fun swimming the turtles.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I love turtles

Reviewed by: Laulike, 2014/09/28

Vessel - was clean and in great condition. was nice to sit in the nets in front or on the main passenger holding.
guides/skipper - so lovely, friendly and informative!
snorkelling equipment - neat, clean
snacks and drinks - adequate snacks provided, resonably priced drinks for sale
snorkelling - Awesome for turtle lovers like me. I saw so may honu and a few dark coloured fish!! no colourful fish, so if that's what you're after, this isn't the tour for you.
overall - I came to see turtles and I saw turtles :) it was a grewat bonus to sail around the ocean for a while.






Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: BEAU, 2014/05/30

I was a wonderful trip. Staffs and all are very nice. I saw couple turtles under water and another during the time we were sailing around the Waikiki area. It was a great time ever.




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Memorable experience!!!

Reviewed by: Jay T., 2014/04/04

What a great crew!! Cap is so knowledgable and so chill. Me and my friend had a great time here.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amaing Experience!!

Reviewed by: Gabby , 2013/09/24

We were really excited to do this tour! When we got there the tour guides were very friendly and chill. When we got out to where we were snorkeling I had a bit of a freak out when I got into the water. I looked down and saw so many fish under my feet! The one tour guide came over and helped me overcome my fear. I got in and out of the boat many times. We also saw so many turtles! After snorkeling we went on a nice sail while enjoying some well deserved drinks. All in all this was a fabulous for the price point of the tour! I would totally do this again!

Reply from activity provider

Come back soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

checking out the sea

Reviewed by: Dianna, 2010/11/16

What a great time!! Saw a bunch of turtles and lots of fish, it was great!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories