Page 5) North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Overall Rating

4.49 4.49 / 5

Reviews

254 reviews
Post a review

Untitled

Reviewed by: Robin and Ike, 2009/06/15

This was the MOST AMAZING experience!!! Truly a must do! The sharks were huge and looked awesome from the boat and even more amazing from the water. It seemed surreal. WOW, would do it again in a heartbeat!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reschedule

Reviewed by: Liz Curtis, 2009/04/01

Our original reservation of Thurs was cancelled due to weather. The staff was very efficient at rescheduling us for Mon, and even opened up their 9:30 tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Time

Reviewed by: Shark Fanatic, 2009/03/28

This comment is to my comment submitted on March 21, 2009. Captain Dave promptly refunded my money on the shark video that I purchased. Thank you, Captain Dave!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Highlight Of My Trip

Reviewed by: Paul, Dallas, TX, 2009/03/24

This will truly test your sea legs, which I truly had. So if you get sea sick, I wouldn't recommend it, but maybe some motion sickness pills may help. Once in the water you don't notice anything looking from above, but once you stick your head underneath you are completely surrounded by sharks. It was thrilling and exciting at the same time. My only concern was hoping that my underwater camera was taking some great shots, which later I found out was on the wrong setting. I was tempted to do it again, but luckily I bought the DVD of my swim. I would surly do it again when I return. It was the most thrilling thing that I have done in my life.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Time

Reviewed by: Shark Fanatic, 2009/03/21

This tour is definitely worth the money! We had an amazing time! Make sure to take Dramamine ahead of time and make sure to have enough battery power for your camera because you will take tons of photos. If you have never snorkeled, I recommend figuring out how to snorkel ahead of time. We also saw whales (it was the middle of whale season) and you could here them if you were really quiet under the water. We had to rebook due to weather and the staff was great at getting us a new date/time that worked with our schedule. The only regret I have is the video that was shot for us. It was very expensive for the footage we received (about 10 minutes) and the wrong couple was intereviewed at the beginning of the video and at the end of the video the camera wasn't turned off so we have about 5 minutes of a white wall on the front of the boat. All in all, it was an amazing time and we would definitely do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

SHARKS

Reviewed by: craig34220, 2009/03/10

AWESOME TRIP, WOULD DO IT AGAIN IN A HEARTBEAT EVEN AFTER GETTING SEASICK.GREAT STAFF.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique~*!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/03/05

my 1st reservatoin was cancelled due to the bad weather. They arranged for the next day. It was very windy and wavely under the water. I bumped to the cage lots of time and hands went outside the cage. I was so scared. I thought the shark would come and bite me. If you are 1st time user of snokel like me better learn it before.

It was amazing as sharks are not interested in human at all. I saw Whale too.

It will be the 1st and the last in my life.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great adventure...seemed surreal

Reviewed by: danaj, 2009/02/22

I never considered swimming with sharks until i came across this on the internet. I am glad i did. It was something different and pretty cool. it honestly feels like you are watching a video of the sharks swimming by. I don't know if it's always this way, but we were surrounded by at least 20 of them...very cool, and again, surreal. the crew of 2 was awesome and entertaining.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/02/09

This was an adveture of a life time. The crew was fantasitc and very understanding. I wasn't sure about going in the cage since it wasn't enclosed completely. But the crew was wonderful and understanding. Once they got me out in the water and the sharks started coming around I had an anxiety attack and didn't know if I could stay in the water very long. The crew members talked me through the whole experience and said they would pull me in I needed. But I needed to do one thning for them. Take a breath and go down to just look once. I did and was able to stay in the cage the whole time. This was an experience that I will never forget and would do again if have the chance.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: CAROLYN, 2009/01/04

What an AMAZING experience. Sharks close enough to touch! Definitely the highlight of our trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: John, 2008/12/20

This was awesome

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique experience

Reviewed by: John, 2008/12/20

A chance to do something like this comes along very infrequently, so take advantage. This is cool, even if you don't go in the cage, to see a dozen or more sharks swimming around the boat is awesome.
ps take motion sickness pills

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time!!

Reviewed by: Dean, 2008/12/17

This is my second time on the tour and definitely won't be my last. Great time and amazing experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

You must take this tour!!

Reviewed by: Hawaii Lover!, 2008/12/14

This tour was awesome! It was a moment of a lifetime!

I get very sea sick so I made sure to prepare which was a VERY good idea. I took meclazine the day before and then that morning about an hour before leaving. I took the first tour which is the calmest and clearest time. It definitly paid off because we had three people that were turning green on the boat.

Finding sharks was no problem. They came right up to the boat HUNGRY!! When it was your turn to get in it was amazing! It was scarier to see them above the water than when you got in. The water was so amazingly blue! The sharks were so gracefull and you didn't see any of the scariness you do from outside of the water.

I just wish that my expensive underwater camera worked!! None of my pictures turned out! I still have the moment and picture in my mind forever but I wanted to share it with others.

Do not miss this tour!! No mater how nervous you are if you event want to do this a little you should not

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Experience worth every single penny

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/12/12

I went alone...but it was all the worth while! I highly recommend this experience...and it is an experience. They have two sides of plexiglass on the cage and when your in the water it feels like you are swimming right next to them! All the excitement and enjoyment of swimming with sharks! Spend the money, take the time, do whatever you need to do to fit this in! And the location outside of the tourist traps was also a plus!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME

Reviewed by: MARK, AUBURN, KS DEC 2008, 2008/12/06

THIS WAS GREAT, STAFF WAS SUPER, HAD 5 IN THE CAGE WAS NOT CROWDED AT ALL. WOULD GET DVD NEXT TIME AND THERE WILL BE A NEXT TIME. THANKS FOR A GREAT TIME!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend:Read my tips

Reviewed by: LizFerguson, 2008/11/13

We were surprised how many sharks we actually saw on this tour!! The staff was very friendly and informative. For those who (like me) do not like scuba diving, this activity only requires snorkeling. Just a tip: If you get any bit seasick, I would not recommend this for you unless you take a high dose of anti-motion sickness medicine before going. Both my husband and I got seasick and lost our lunch while doing the tour. Keep in mind, you are on North Shore with all the big waves and will be on a small boat getting tossed around for at least 2 hours. Overall a great adventure and highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Ed,Jen & Amanda, 2008/10/06

We felt very safe & that was our number one issue. Staff was outstanding, we are going again in a few days. We will be telling all our friends what a great time we spent with the sharks.

Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding! ~ Don't go hungover

Reviewed by: Sadiej, 2008/07/26

This activity is exceptional & absolutely delivers!
As a group of three we boarded the North Shore boat in various stages of hangover from an international conference. One mate was viciously seasick, another repeatedly seasick and I was moderately seasick (only had to hang my head over the boat once). It is a testament to this excursion that although we all felt absolutely awful we thought it was AMAZING and would do it again in a heartbeat.
Do not pass up the opportunity to see these incredible animals in crystal clear deep waters. Be sure to have something for motion sickness as it is a bumpy ride on the boat and in the cage.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sharks in June

Reviewed by: Malcolm Fawcett, 2008/07/02

This was a great trip and exceeded our expectations. Seeing sharks circling up from the deep to come and feed in close attendence with Trumpetfish and a random Tuna was a sight I will never forget. The water was so blue and clear that it was like watching on film. If there is one thing that you do when you go to Hawaii then this should be it. With the correct balance between ecology, safety and fun this must be the best activity by a mile and it still leaves time for surfing in the afternoon! Brilliant.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awsome

Reviewed by: Kim, 2008/06/14

Great ride out to the site. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. They helped my daughter who did not want to get in the water take great pictures (she is 8). They were great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would go back tomorrow

Reviewed by: Louise & Melanie, 2008/06/03

A really proffesional activity, the staff were friendly and attentive, funny and informative.

We started the day being scared of sharks and ended up wanting to pat them! Probably not a good idea though as they have big teeth!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sharks!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/05/03

The Shark Adventure was loads of fun! The only complaint we had was the rough condition of the sea... that's just the way it goes! Be aware that you will get tossed about inside the cage if the seas are rough, and be sure to take Dramamine.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Shark Adventure

Reviewed by: Sandy, 2008/03/11

This was an awesome experience. You can't get any closer than this to live sharkes in the oceans. I could have reached out and touch them - but highly discouraged to do so.

This is an awesome experience and a great way to view sharks in thier own natural environment. Very graceful and peaceful to watch.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/03/10

It was a unique experience. I was lucky enough to hear the whales while under water!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FanFreakinTastic!!!

Reviewed by: Len Langevin, 2008/01/16

This was by far the best adventure I've ever been on and I'd do it again in a heartbeat, which is very different from most touristy things I've done in Hawaii where once is enough.

The crew was great, the sharks were plentiful and the gear provided was excellent. Don't forget to bring your camera because you will want to capture every moment out there. If you don't have an underwater camera, you can buy one from the crew.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventure

Reviewed by: Locke, 2007/12/25

I had a great time. The crew was outstanding and helpful. The ocean was really rough and I got thrown around in the cage a little. Plenty of sharks and a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

comment

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/11/27

I could not go in the cage as the mask interfered with my dentures but as it was my grandaughter's birthday gift...it was fun to watch her and I could see lots of sharks from the boat (even though it was very rough water).

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing activity!

Reviewed by: Dean, 2007/11/21

I would highly reccomend this to anyone! Best excursion I have ever done. I would have done it everyday if I could have.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Experience!!

Reviewed by: Amanda & Allan, 2007/11/21

This was a great adventure! Being in the cage is extremely rough, and you have to hold on to avoid getting thrown around by the huge waves, but this is a small problem! There must have been at least 15-20 sharks (Galapagos and sandbar sharks) swimming all around, and rubbing on the cage! I would recommend this activity to anyone who can handle a rough ocean. It was one of the best things we did in Hawaii!! Take anti-nausea pills, as the waves are huge, and the boat rocks hard (even for those who don't think they get seasick).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories