Page 2) North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

Overall Rating

4.48 4.48 / 5

Reviews

255 reviews
Post a review

Amazing experience!!

Reviewed by: Vee, 2016/09/30

Glad I decided to do this, it was awesome!!! Best activity on the North Shore!! Saw a ton of sharks, well worth the seasickness I got after. Staff was great and very helpful!! I would recommend this to anyone and can't wait to do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark>>>Sharks!!!!!! Lots

Reviewed by: Happy camper, 2016/09/27

Great time lots of sharks. Water can be choppy ...I swam with the sharks and my wife fed them unintentionally If you know what I mean. Take meds for motion 4 sure

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark cage

Reviewed by: Barb, 2016/08/29

While the experience was great I would have rather not gone in rough seas. The sea was really rough and was very disappointed that the captain did not scratch the trip. My nephew got sea sick and wasn't able to go in the water and ruined his experience. The rest of our group went in the cage and was bounced around so much that taking pictures were next to impossible. When we got back the captain told us his GoPro did not work. So no pictures.I would have like the captain or company to be more considerate of the conditions.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha Barb,

We regret to hear that the activity was done in rough ocean conditions and that the Go Pro was not working at that time. Should the ocean conditions be dangerous they are good in letting us know right away. We will contact you separately in regards to your nephew not being able to participate in the cage dive. We have spoken to the activity provider and have shared your concerns with them. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us

Mahalo Nui Loa,

VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good shark viewing but rough seas

Reviewed by: Erin, 2016/08/28

Boat trip and sea was quite rough on the day we went. Guides were humorous and helpful. Good visibility of sharks and plenty of them. Cage had 8 people inside which i personally felt was too many given the waters were so rough. All in all was a good experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love it , love it , love it!!!!

Reviewed by: Fabiana, 2016/08/14

What a great experience! !!!
My family (husband, daughter 13, son 6 a I ) would do all over again! !! The sharks look great and there are a lots of them!!!
We had a Gopro and we could take wonderful pics!
It's very exciting! !!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!

Reviewed by: Holly, 2016/06/11

Saw at least 15 sharks!! We went on the last tour of the day and the waters were extremely choppy. I would book a tour first thing in the morning. Otherwise it was amazing!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Dive

Reviewed by: Mary, 2016/04/24

This was amazing. My whole family including my 15 year old says it was the best thing we did in Hawaii. Guides were great and loved what they do. We even saw whales on the way home and they tried to get us close to them for pictures. Fabulous time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark adventure

Reviewed by: Marcela Lozano, 2016/03/26

Great experience and service. Weather was nice and the guys funny. We had a wonderful time

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't be scared - This is a MUST!!

Reviewed by: David, 2016/01/14

OK, so the idea of going to 'find' sharks as opposed to avoiding them at all costs can take a little getting used to. However once I'd gotten over that, I have to say this is one of the most exhilarating experiences I've had (and enjoyed) on the island.
There's two basic times that you can go out, Super early or Early, Yes that's right, Don't plan on a late night in the bar the night before trying to drum up Dutch courage because this boat leaves early and you want to get your sleep in.

After a leisurely 20-25 mins boat ride out (i think they said about 2 miles) to the dive site you arrive in an open water area, engines are cut and you pull up next to the cage. A quick chat from the crew, and two groups are selected A & B, This ensures you have maximum space in the cage and is a really cool idea.

We climbed in first, GoPro's on and ready to start shooting...

The cage is actually rather large and you definitely want to be up close to the bars hold on, and go down to get your first glimpse... I'm not going to say much more on what you'll see but I will say, This is a guaranteed sharks (plural, many lol) shark tank dive. They big, upclose and personal and you are totally safe in your secure housing...

You get ample time to take selfies, group shots, dive down again, hold the bottom of the cage etc as these amazing creatures swim all around you.

I'd forgot my wrist strap for my cam, No problem, The crew guy noticed as I was getting ready ad gave me a cool wrist-strap for it (thick rubber band!) Awesome Service.

Highly Recommended. 5*

  • Our crazy group...

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow Sharks

Reviewed by: The Camp's, 2016/01/03

This was a great adventure. The guys on the boat were very funny and helpful. Thank you for making it so much fun!

  • Sharks

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not recommended

Reviewed by: Henry, 2015/09/15

It is a very special experience to see sharks that closely in the water. But you will get bored very soon since you'll see the same thing for the entire 20 mins.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gracias

Reviewed by: Joel y Maricela , 2015/09/14

Cracias por sus atenciones y amabilidad y de igual forma gracias por hacer de nuestra luna de miel algo inolvidable

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Bucket List Item

Reviewed by: plomfs, 2015/09/14

Wife and I loved this tour. She was nervous going into it but once we got out there and she saw the other two groups go in prior to ours it helped to calm her nerves. The crew was great and very knowledgeable about the area and what we were seeing.

We felt very safe the entire time and thought the water was so blue and clear. Visibility in the cage was about 100ft in either direction.

Only thing I would suggest is to make sure you take something for Motion sickness prior to going out like we did. There were several on the boat who got sick several times while we were stationary next to the cage and a few others that got sick while in the cage.

It was a bucket list item for us and we are so happy we did it. We also got their video package which was $75 for a SD card recording of our time in the cage.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent!

Reviewed by: Melanie, 2015/09/06

Exactly what it said on the website. We had an amazing time, saw some amazing sharks and even got a DVD of us with the Sharks from one of the deck hands Dawn. Definitely worth every penny.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sharks and more sharks

Reviewed by: CTJ, 2015/08/23

If you like sharks this is the trip for you. There was plenty of sharks to see. They were mostly 6-8 feet long. They surrounded the cage and even a barracuda came to see us. I felt completely safe in the cage and so did my kids. My daughter(13) was a little apprehensive before getting into the cage but once in there she was fine. The only bad thing was that the water was a little rough so the cage was getting tossed around some but it was all good.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

How a grandmother entertains teen grandkids

Reviewed by: Patti Zeller, 2015/08/09

My 15 yr old grandson came to visit and I wanted him to have a great time and have memories of a lifetime to take back to mainland! We both had a really great time! Captain Dave and crew were great, helpful, knowledgable, and all had the best sense of humor! I had an issue with video, but Dave was great and quick to make it right. In the end, it wasn't his fault, it was mine! Thanks Dave and crew! It was amazing!

  • A MUST do in Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I met the sharks!!!

Reviewed by: Mahalo , 2015/08/03

The North Shore Shark Adventures was a very neat and wonderful experience. The boat ride out to the shark cage took about 15-20min. The crew members really stressed about safety first and were thorough about directions. They even had a sense of humor, which makes everything better. When we reached the shark cage the crew members separated all the costumers in to two different groups and we were escorted into the shark cage that was floating in the ocean. Being in the shark cage was kind of rough. The waves would rock/bob the cage from side to side and up and down. You really had to hang on to the cage bars to obtain stability. I personally wrapped my legs and arms around the shark cage ladder, which I found to be helpful. As soon as I stuck my head under water what I saw was absolutely amazing. 15-20 sharks swimming and circling the cage, each shark was at least 6-8 feet long. It was so peaceful and serene to see these sharks in their natural habitat swimming freely. Just a quick suggestion that if you plan on swimming with the sharks you may want to schedule this event early on in your trip because cancellations may occur due to the oceans unpredictability. For safety reasons they may cancel your shark adventures but they will call you in advanced to let you know. I suggested that if you are driving to the North Shore you call them to ask about cancellations before you make the trip up north.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time and great crew

Reviewed by: Chris, 2015/07/17

Crew was friendly and knowledgeable and the sharks were big and abundant!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Cage Swim

Reviewed by: Nathan N, 2015/06/20

The was an awesome activity to do! My wife and I didn't want to go out and free swim with shark so this cage was perfect. We had a great crew that was nice, entertaining and took care of us. A very enjoyable time! A little tip is to go earlier in day because after about 9:30 or 10 the water starts to get rougher and rocks the boat more.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Shark Adventure

Reviewed by: webstersway, 2015/06/13

I must admit, I was a bit apprehensive about this adventure as the fateful morning arrived. We were in Oahu visiting our Son and his wife, she was particularly interested in the shark tour. My wife, on the other hand, would have none of it, fortunately, they have an 'Observer' option available. We boarded the Kai Ou after removing our shoes and headed out. The Captain explained that the sharks had become accustomed to the sound of the engines since there had been crabbing done in the past and they would not need to chum the water...we were going to be the bait. The water was absolutely beautiful, a bit on the choppy side, however, which made entering the cage a little more adventurous. It was really amazing being in the water with the sharks all around, there were between 8 and twelve, plus a few other fish, including some very large Trumpet Fish. I think my wife got the worst end of the deal as she was sea sick when we got back in the boat. The crew members were awesome, I would definitely recommend this adventure!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Amy, 2015/06/11

Seriously guys, this is a must. There was a whole bunch of sharks circling around us, and we saw a school of fishes too! I mean come on, you could finally say you swam with the Sharks! Tip: take motion sickness pills. The boat ride there could make you feel a little sick

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2015/06/09

The waters were choppy but that didn't stop us! The crew was very polite and professional. You can watch the sharks from the boat while the other groups go too so you aren't bored. I do a lot of snorkeling and diving around the island, but this was a very unique experience. I will be bringing any other people who visit me to your company, thank you for an unforgettable time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark Dive

Reviewed by: Nick B, 2015/03/09

I have always wanted to swim with the sharks. This was an incredible experience! It was definitely a thrill seeking adventure that I would do again!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

loved it!!!

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2015/01/19

Amazing experience! I Definitely will be back and bring the family. Great friendly crew as well.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: sbf, 2014/12/06

Short and accurate recommendation...my wife said "that was totally worth getting seasick for!"

Take dramamine and have a great trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Heather M., 2014/10/12

This was a once in a lifetime experience! The crew was great and very informative. It was so much fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shark tour is good, transport not so much

Reviewed by: Annemieke van Heezik, 2014/10/05

Got caught in the "hang loose" spirit of Hawaii. The activity was booked for transporation at 9.45AM. The day before the activity a message was left at the hotelphone that transport fell through and I had to confirm (before 6PM) new transport time of 5.15AM! Of course I got back at my hotel after 12PM and wasn't able to confirm early pick-up. So I decided to go to the meeting point anyway, but no transport. Office opened at 6AM when I could finally phone in. Service level was low, merely a "No transport, sorry, reschedule please" Since that was not an option for me we had to come up with a solution. After a lot of back and forth (cab will cost you 200 one way!!)I decided to go on a citybus for 2.5 hrs which cost me 2.50 dollars and I made it with an hour to spare. Veltra was very service friendly. They contacted me and booked transport money back right away, without me even asking for it. So lesson learned: No pick-up service for shark tour!
I never even got a sorry from the Shark tour operator and the captain didn't know my name I had become a plus one!
The harbour of the tour itself was a bit dingy at best. The public toilet was filthy with bloodstains and glass bottles, but the boat had no changing option, so you have to use it.
The boat is very nice and the boat ride is awesome (unless you have motion sickness, in that case you will get sick, trust me!)The shark cage is not big, but big enough for the six per group that went in. Pay for the DVD, taking pictures yourself is very hard. The life vest will keep you floating and the ocean slams you into the cagebarrier.
The sharks are amazing and worth every bit of inconvenience. The crew is friendly and knowledgeable. They care for your safety and for the ocean wild life. It's not scary at all. When you get back I recomment getting lunch at Halewa Joe's. Just sit there and review your tour. If you can visit North shore or Turtle beach on your way back. The total tour is highly recommendable (without transport)

  • great crew

  • sharks all around

  • sharks within touching distance (don't!)

  • sharks all around

  • sharks all around

  • shark cage

  • Even on the boat you'll see sharks all around

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An Adventure to Remember!

Reviewed by: Ian & Tasha, 2014/10/04

My wife & I love Shark Week so this activity was a clear must do. There is so much to talk about for this activity, but I'll just break it down to pros & cons. Pros: the water is really warm and about 80ft of visibility, the crew was nice, the sharks ranged at a decent 10ft to 12ft, the sharks get extremely close to the cage where you can touch a fin (but they tell you don't so beware), and most importantly not even Jaws can get through that cage (super thick bars). Cons: it's a small boat so if your prone to motion sickness you NEED dramamime since your out there for about 2 hours, no food or snacks so bring some because after your 30min dive you will be hungry and its about 1-2 hrs before you get back to Waikiki, and this is a tip from the wife - the bathroom at the dock is a park restroom so no seat covers so byosc ;). Wish I had a photo to share off my phone since it was really cool but its all on the gopro.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

15-20 Sharks

Reviewed by: Geoff & Louise Davis, 2014/09/16

We attended this trip in September 2014, & from the start the staff were fun, knowledgeable & helpful. The sea was a bit choppy as we had the 10-00 am trip, but with Gravol inside, no issues here.
The ocean was crystal clear. the cage was a bit buffeted, due to waves, but this did not spoil our enjoyment of seeing sharks at close quarters, in their environment.
We saw around 15 sharks, & thought this was brilliant. would highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Roxanne, 2014/09/13

This was one of the most exciting experiences of my life. Its hard to put into words the beauty and grace of the sharks I saw. Knowing I was completely safe made the experience all the better. Russell my driver had some wonderful information about the island and was a joy to talk to during the drive. I have recommended this adventure to everyone I talked to. Definitely would do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories