Hilton Waikiki Starlight Luau with Fire Dancers, Hula Show & Dinner [Closed] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Hilton Waikiki Starlight Luau with Fire Dancers, Hula Show & Dinner [Closed]

Overall Rating

4.08 4.08 / 5

Reviews

282 reviews
Post a review

It's more for the experience

Reviewed by: Alissa, 2021/08/14

We got the premium tickets and actually got sat front and center which was great for our kids (4, 6 & 8). That also meant though that one side of the table was blinded by the sun for the first part of the show until the sun dipped below the trees (small price to pay for front and center). We didn't realize that with the premium tickets even the kids got extra drink tickets that could be used for juice or alcohol. My kids were never going to drink that many juices so we used them to get a few extra Mai Tai for us...but word of advice if you wait for the server to get the drinks you will never be able to get through your tickets because they are split between so many tables so grab them from the bar yourself. The show was great my kids especially liked the fire dancers. The food was just ok but we expected that as it's hard to serve that many individual plates at once. The only thing my kids would eat was the shredded pork and fruit so if you have kids who are picky eaters make sure they eat a little something before hand.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Opportunity to Experience Hawaiian Culture

Reviewed by: Rlal, 2020/02/04

This event provided insight into a variety of cultural dancing all in one sitting. It was incredible to hear the stories and rich history of the people today and in the past. The MC engaged the audience. The buffet was a great spread for people with food preferences and allergies. It provided great value for the money spent. Only wish was having the opportunity to experience this outdoors. It would have been much more of an experience.

  • Photo Opportunity Following the Event

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great night

Reviewed by: Kevin Connolly, 2018/09/19

What a great night to finish off our trip to Waikiki, the show was very entertaining showcasing various cultures from the South Pacific and the food was great, a good mix of traditional and exotic, compere for the evening was excellent.

  • Luau finale

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waiki Starlight Luau

Reviewed by: Sandi N., 2016/12/08

Everything was great - it even rained so we sort of had soupy food, but the entertainment was wonderful! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and met a couple of very nice people!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Barb, 2016/08/29

Very nice Luau. Very entertaining. They provided activities for children. The food was very good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Sheeva, 2016/07/26

We went and it was raining but we still had a great time! We were provided ponchos and everything worked out!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show!

Reviewed by: Maureen, 2016/04/06

Food wasn't that great and wished it was on a beach, but the dancers were outstanding!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Maureen for your great compliments! I'll make sure to share them with the dancers. As far as the food goes, we will look to better it's quality for our valued guests.

Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau was enjoyable

Reviewed by: plomfs, 2015/09/14

Overall we had a good time at the Luau. I felt the food was pretty good with the exception of the fish not being cooked enough but the wife felt the food was lacking a fair bit. The show was very enjoyable and entertaining. Met some great folks at the table with us and overall really enjoyed the show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Jeff P, 2015/03/29

I was a little worried about attending a Luau on top of a parking garage. It turned out to not be a problem. They decorated the venue very nice and we were in the shade the whole time, which really helped. The food was wonderful, with a wide selection for everybody, even the kids. The acts were fantastic! I took a star away for the location not being by the ocean and the tight seating arrangement.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun on Christmas

Reviewed by: Mary, 2015/01/17

We went on Christmas Day and paid extra for better seating. We still had to wait in a really long line to get checked in. Food was good and the show was fun. I would recommend getting there earlier than what they tell you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Show and Buffet

Reviewed by: D Rizzo - Canada, 2015/01/03

As expected and stated...can't ask for more from a tour operator. Show itself was not as good as Polynesian Village main stage show but buffet was 1000 times better and the Hilton show (as a buffet show) was far superior. You'll need to see the Poly Village to see the various cultural elements but save the luau for this one.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great food

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/06

This was the second time we've done the Starlight Luau. We liked it the first time and we weren't disappointed the second time around. The biggest plus is the food; it is varied and delicious. The performers are pretty good as well. The one negative is the setup; the tables are packed so everyone is crammed together like sardines. A little more elbow room would make this a 5 star review. We've been to other luau's that you need to take a 40 minute bus ride to get repeatedly bitten by bugs on the beach; this one has better food and far more convenience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau in the middle of Waikiki

Reviewed by: Ms Rosie, 2011/06/15

This is a really convenient luau. In good walking distance or a cab ride away from all the hotels and incredibly delicious food. Be sure to get the Golden Circle, because we did and we had excellent front row type of seating. CHECK IN EARLY TO BYPASS THE CROWD!!!

Some bad "Cons" about this is:
there is no good/ romantic picture taking scenery, chairs are situated very close to eachother so your banging elbows with the next person, its on the top of a parking lot structure and its just surrounded by a bunch of buildings.

Staff was friendly, water is always provided, the Food is BETTER tasting from all the other Luau's I have been too.. so that is a plus.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good food and show

Reviewed by: manxlad, 2011/05/03

All in all, was a good experience. The entertainment was excellent. Much less people than at the Polynesian Cultural Center lu'au which was very nice. The only problem was the server who was extremely rude and sarcastic and made a part of the night very unpleasant.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Yin and Yang of the Hilton Luau

Reviewed by: SoCalMom, 2010/08/19

We loved:
- we could walk to it
-that it was short and to the point
-the food was better than any other luau we have been to
-they had a kids table for the buffet with finger foods
-We paid extra to sit in the front and one of our kids got picked to go up on stage and be in a competition.
-It really was a family luau. People weren't drunk and the dancers didn't do anything embarrassing

-We didn't love:
-The chairs were cheap, weak, and wobbly.
-The family next to us was so close we had to touch arms and legs to scoot our chairs in
-We felt packed in like a herd of cows waiting for a buffet
-the drink ticket system is poorly run. My kids had water and they were asked for a drink ticket. They only had a short list of about 5 drinks and they would not make virgin drinks.
-The parking lot view sucks. We did not get any good pictures and at Germains and Paradise Cove and the Polynesian Cultural Center you will get the best photos that you will treasure all of your lif

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Luau Experience

Reviewed by: Marlene P, 2009/09/05

Everything was GREAT except for the location.. I was disappointed cuz I booked this with a beach location in mind.. or at least, close proximity or along the beach; which I heard was the case for some time. Instead it was on the rooftop of the parking structure! Anyway, you probably would get more outstanding reviews if you only put the luau back on the beach or the grass area between the Lagoon Tower & Rainbow Tower! That would've made it PERFECT! Food could be better as well! Entertainment was excellent!n Great performers!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

anonymous

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/05/28

Although I was very unhappy about the seating arrangement, overall it was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/04/30

Great Show, Enjoyed the Venue....food not to great?

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Every one loved it.

Reviewed by: Kiki, 2008/11/08

We went with 4 couples and had a blast at this luau. The luau grounds is beautiful - the lagoon is such a nice touch and different than other luau's we have been to previous years. The food is excellent - and the entertainment is incredible. Thank you for the perfect ending to our Hawaiian Vacation!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories