Waikiki Submarine Tour by Atlantis - Explore Shipwrecks, Sunken Airplanes & More reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Waikiki Submarine Tour by Atlantis - Explore Shipwrecks, Sunken Airplanes & More

Overall Rating

4.10 4.10 / 5

Reviews

568 reviews
Post a review

100ft underwater!

Reviewed by: Yes to Hawaii, 2022/09/29

100ft underwater. We saw turtles, fish, sunken ships, and sunken planes! Visibility on the day we went was crystal clear and we took tons of photos. I went with my good friend and she brought her 4-year-old. He absolutely loved it!! One thing though, the shuttle boat from shore to the submarine drop zone can be really windy. I packed a jacket which the kiddo was glad that I need since it got a little breezy. Once we were in the submarine, it's fully air-conditioned so I'd have a light jacket if you get cold easily.

  • wow!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha !
Mahalo for your 5-star review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us, aboard the Atlantis Submarine, from the shuttle boat ride to the deep-sea exploration. We love hearing from our guests and are thrilled to know you had a fantastic submarine adventure! Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback and recommendation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future aboard one of our submarines and/or the Majestic by Atlantis Cruises for another Atlantis adventure; an underwater journey, sunset cruise, or seasonal whale watch cruise.

Feel free to follow us on social media at #atlantishawaii.
A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North shore tour

Reviewed by: Russ Toler, 2022/09/27

Excellent tour. Guide was funny and knowledgeable. I highly endorse rhe tour.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Ross !
Mahalo for your 5-star review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us, aboard the Atlantis Submarine, from the shuttle boat ride to the deep-sea exploration. We love hearing from our guests and are thrilled to know you had a fantastic submarine adventure! Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback and recommendation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future aboard one of our submarines and/or the Majestic by Atlantis Cruises for another Atlantis adventure; an underwater journey, sunset cruise, or seasonal whale watch cruise.

Feel free to follow us on social media at #atlantishawaii.
A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

107 feet below the ocean!

Reviewed by: Chelsea, 2022/08/03

Spectacular time. Terrific reef! 107 feet below the ocean.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Chelsea!
Mahalo for your 5-star review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us, aboard the Atlantis Submarine, from the shuttle boat ride to the deep-sea exploration. We love hearing from our guests and are thrilled to know you had a fantastic submarine adventure! Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback and recommendation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future aboard one of our submarines and/or the Majestic by Atlantis Cruises for another Atlantis adventure; an underwater journey, sunset cruise, or seasonal whale watch cruise.

Feel free to follow us on social media at #atlantishawaii.
A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must book

Reviewed by: JamesX, 2022/06/28

I love this tour! Being in a submarine allowed me a different perspective and appreciation of all sea life. My children and I loved this tour. I would recommend this tour to everyone. All of the staff are friendly.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha James! Thank you for sharing your 5-star review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your adventure exploring in a real submarine! We love providing an adventure that families can enjoy. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future aboard one of our submarines and/or the Majestic by Atlantis Cruises for another Atlantis adventure; an underwater journey, sunset cruise, or seasonal whale watch cruise. Feel free to follow us on social media at #atlantishawaii.
A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Debra & Rick, 2022/04/23

So fun! Staff were friendly & informative. I would definitely do it again!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Debra & Rick! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your deep sea adventure with us. We love hearing about our guests experiences, and we are happy that you had a memorable one. We hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again. Mahalo for taking the time to write a review!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Ann, 2022/03/15

My family had a great time and service was excellent and workers are very friendly.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Ann! Thank you for sharing your experience. We're so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your submarine adventure with us! We'll be sure to share your kind words with our crew! We hope to welcome you and your family aboard again soon. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Always Honest Review

Reviewed by: Sharon and family, 2022/03/13

This was a great experience. It was wonderful to be educated about all the ocean conservation and the coral life that is being done. Was also nice at the time, it was not too crowded - which did make this trip worth the price.

  • Submarine coming up as we are on the boat.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha ! Sharon & family !
Mahalo for your 5-star review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us, aboard the Atlantis Submarine, from the shuttle boat ride to the deep-sea exploration. We love hearing from our guests and are thrilled to know you had a fantastic submarine adventure! Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback and recommendation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future aboard one of our submarines and/or the Majestic by Atlantis Cruises for another Atlantis adventure; an underwater journey, sunset cruise, or seasonal whale watch cruise.

Feel free to follow us on social media at #atlantishawaii.
A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Submarine ride.

Reviewed by: Dava, 2022/02/20

Thoroughly enjoyed that experience and will definitely do it again. Have told everyone that they have to give it a try. Your crew was very good and pleasant and the young man talking with us was very entertaining. This is the second time I have been on an Atlantis sub the other was in the Caymans, which I also enjoyed but this one was the best.

Reply from activity provider

"Aloha Dava!
Mahalo for your 5-star review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us, aboard the Atlantis Submarine, from the shuttle boat ride to the deep-sea exploration. We love hearing from our guests and are thrilled to know you had a fantastic submarine adventure! Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback and recommendation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future aboard one of our submarines and/or the Majestic by Atlantis Cruises for another Atlantis adventure; an underwater journey, sunset cruise, or seasonal whale watch cruise.

Feel free to follow us on social media at #atlantishawaii.
A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent cruise

Reviewed by: Funmi, 2022/02/15

Very good. The lady instrucror was very good n friendly. I am African n we use alot of proverbs i like the fact she spoke in a lot of proverbs which makes me remember home. Loves the artifical ruins for the fishes. Welldone the crew very professional

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Funmi !
Mahalo for your amazing review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed exploring with us and will be sure to share your review with our crew as I’m sure it will put a smile on their faces! We love hearing feedback from our guests and are thrilled to know you had a fantastic submarine adventure!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future aboard one of our submarines and/or the Majestic by Atlantis Cruises for another Atlantis adventure; an underwater journey, sunset cruise, or seasonal whale watch cruise.

Feel free to follow us on social media at #atlantishawaii.

A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good one time experience

Reviewed by: vkmr, 2022/01/17

Great experience viewing aquatic life from submarine. Totally worth to visit once in a lifetime. On downside, finding the checking point was too cumbersome. Do plan to reach well advance in time. Did see lots of fishes, turtles. A bit on the expensive side, but again where else you would see marine life so closely without getting wet.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your excellent review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience with Atlantis Adventures, from the shuttle boat ride to the deep-sea exploration. We love hearing from our guests and are thrilled to know you had a fantastic submarine adventure! Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback and recommendation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future aboard one of our submarines and/or the Majestic by Atlantis Cruises for another Atlantis adventure; an underwater journey, sunset cruise, or seasonal whale watch cruise.

Feel free to follow us on social media at #atlantishawaii.
A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fa

Reviewed by: Tammi, 2022/01/07

Fabulous. It was one of the best things I have ever done. I highly recommend this as a activity must do!!! We will cherish this experience forever!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha ! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your deep sea adventure with us. We love hearing about our guests experiences, and we are happy that you had a memorable one. We hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again. Mahalo for taking the time to write a review!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Could not have been happier.

Reviewed by: Ed From PHX, 2021/10/26

We went on the Sub as a group of 4. The only thing I would suggest to for next time is have a few people on each side of the sub. There were times when they saw something on one side and the other side did not get to see it or Photograph it. If we had people on both sides we would have had photos of all the different things.

The guide was very enjoyable and made the trip a blast. He told us things about the fish and the scenes from 107 feet below we would have never known, and he made it interactive as well.

I would highly recommend this to anyone that is looking to see things below the surface and not have to worry about having a SCUBA cert or getting eaten by sharks ( like one of our group did)!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Ed !

Mahalo for your 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience with us, from the shuttle boat ride to the deep-sea exploration. We love hearing from our guests and are thrilled to know you had a fantastic submarine adventure! Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback and recommendation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future aboard one of our submarines and/or the Majestic by Atlantis Cruises for another Atlantis adventure; an underwater journey, sunset cruise, or seasonal whale watch cruise.

Feel free to post and follow us on social media at #atlantishawaii.
A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was so-so

Reviewed by: Jen, 2021/10/16

Booked this and they had to reschedule us three times. This hindered our vacation scheduling. The ride wasn’t very long and not much to see. It was a cool experience but very pricey for what it is.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Jen! Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your submarine tour! However, we are very disappointed to learn you did not have an exceptional experience and that we had to reschedule your tour several times. We will share your valuable feedback with our leadership team for careful consideration. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you aboard again in the future. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

atlantis sub tour

Reviewed by: gw/cw, 2021/09/21

just an awesome adventure everyone should try it exciting to see the bottom of the ocean planes boats fish

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience with us, from the shuttle boat ride to the deep-sea exploration. We love hearing from our guests and are thrilled to know you had a fantastic submarine adventure! Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback and recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future for another underwater journey, sunset cruise, or whale watch cruise! A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good good

Reviewed by: Jayjay , 2021/06/26

Try it! The staff were nice. I got seasick but it was nice to see things under the water

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your overall experience exploring in one of our state-of-the-art submarines! However, we're sorry to hear you were seasick. We appreciate your valuable feedback and will be sure to review it with our leadership team as we hope to offer all of our guests an enjoyable experience. Mahalo and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you aboard.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!!!

Reviewed by: Denise , 2021/05/15

This was the most interesting excursion I’ve ever had. I saw 2 turtles which was the main reason I wanted to go. The sea life was so interesting, wasn’t what I had expected. I highly recommend doing this if you’re interested in ocean life. I saw a live star fish on the bottom and a mortar shell. The guides were also very interesting and funny.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Denise!
Mahalo for your 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience with us, from the shuttle boat ride to the deep-sea exploration. We love hearing from our guests and are thrilled to know you had a fantastic submarine adventure! Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback.. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back aboard in the future for another underwater journey! A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A New Experience

Reviewed by: a-chan, 2020/01/29

I did this tour with my friend who is not from the island. It was her first time on a submarine and she was amazed by how beautiful it was underwater. The boat ride to the submarine was very smooth and because the weather was so nice we decided to sit on the top deck. The view from the deck was amazing. Just as we departed we were able to see a sea turtle swimming next to our boat. The submarine ride itself wasn't so bad we were able to see turtles, sharks, and a lot of fish. It was a bit cold so I do recommend bringing a jacket since you will be underwater for quite some time. My friend and I really enjoyed the tour and we would love to go back and try it again!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience with us, from the shuttle boat ride to the deep-sea exploration. We love hearing from our guests and are thrilled to know you had a fantastic submarine adventure! Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback and recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back aboard in the future for another underwater journey! A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best way to see Oahu's marine life!

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2020/01/23

"We got no troubles, life is the bubbles, under the sea!" It was inevitable that "Under the Sea" from The Little Mermaid would be playing through my head on this tour. I've always been fascinated by ocean life and would love to someday learn how to scuba dive...but until then, this submarine tour is the perfect--and only--way to explore the world under the sea.
The shuttle out to the dive site not only provided great views of Diamond Head and Waikiki, but also gave us the chance to see exactly where we'd be descending and what part of the bay we'd be exploring.
I've actually done this tour twice and enjoyed it just as much the second time. On both tours we saw sea turtles, star fish, and tons of fish in various shapes, sizes, and colors. During the second tour we also got the chance to see two scuba divers exploring one of the sunken ships.
The crew were all very friendly and knowledgeable and provided lots of interesting facts and details about what we were seeing.
I highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in seeing a completely different world, so unlike what we see every day on land. Take Sabastian's advice and go "under the sea!"

  • We saw several of this species and some were much larger than this guy

  • So many fish!

  • Inside the sub just before everyone boarded from the shuttle boat

  • Very unique experience getting to dive beyond 100 feet without getting wet or having your ears pop!

  • View of Waikiki and the Ko'olau Mountains under the clouds

  • Diamond Head--Oahu's most iconic natural feature.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your 5-star review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We love hearing that you were able to see some amazing views. We're also excited you were able to see some great marine life! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back aboard in the future! A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

submarine tour

Reviewed by: tabor, 2019/11/23

from start to finish a must do for families wanting that extra fun activity to do. picked up from central location from hotel and dropped off at pier. very organized after drop off and staff very friendly and knowledgeable. my daughter and I enjoyed the vessel and the captain doing narration & made it fun

  • mom & daughter

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review! We’re so happy you enjoyed your time exploring Hawaii's marine life. We're glad you had a fun time adventuring with us. We hope you’ll join us again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience and lots to see!

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2019/09/29

My friend and I went on this together and it was the first time for both of us on a submarine! It was really neat getting to see the airplane and ships that were down there as well as getting the chance to see about 4 sea turtles and even a small shark! The crew was very nice and professional and we had a great time.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review! We’re so happy you enjoyed your time exploring Hawaii's marine life. We're glad you had a fun time adventuring with us. We hope you’ll join us again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun experience!

Reviewed by: Emily, 2019/08/09

This was a fun experience to be in a submarine! Very professional and a funny captain. I would not expect seeing a ton of sea creatures as this is a very protected environment they have created for this experience.
Mahalo

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! We’re so happy you and your wife enjoyed your time exploring a very unique and beautiful part of Oahu! Thank you for sharing the fun time you had with us. We hope you’ll join us again soon! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do Family activity!

Reviewed by: Diana T, 2019/07/19

My family and I were very impressed. We were able to see a kaleidoscope of fishes even a shark and leopard stingray. We were even able to see large leather back sea turtles. Definitely worth it

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We're also excited you were able to see some great marine life! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back aboard in the future! A hui hou (until next time).

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique Experience !!!

Reviewed by: Tony, 2018/06/30

This adventure was more than what we expected. We first boarded a boat that took us out to the submarine. We entered a small port hatch that lowered us into a surprisingly large submarine that held over 63 individuals. We dove to a depth of over 112 feet and saw all manor of marine life around sunken ships and airplanes. We experienced fish and sea turtles nestled among the wreckage along with eels along the coral. To say this was a unique experience was an understatement. How often do you get to go 100+ feet under water and see marine life in their natural inhabitant?

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really enjoyed the boat ride and submarine!

Reviewed by: H. Toomey, 2018/06/15

Great experience! Kids really enjoyed themselves. The tour guy on the submarine was hilarious! The boat ride out to the submarine was really nice and got to see some beautiful scenery. Everyone was very friendly! Have to do it if your here, we wanted to do things that we aren’t able to do back home.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First Time experience

Reviewed by: Nunia T., 2018/06/09

This trip was the first time we have ever been on a submarine and we are glad we did it as it was one of the best experiences of our lives. My boyfriend Daniel and I were booked on the Premium Seats which I definitely recommend as those windows are much larger. The staff members are very knowledgeable and always looking out for your safety. You will first board the ship that will then sail out to take you to the submarine dock. The sail is really beautiful as you get to see Waikiki and diamond head on the way. When loading into the Submarine they ensure that your safety comes first and are very careful about every little details. During the submarine tour we went as deep as 110ft and it was just wonderful. Everything is super blue and you get to see a lot of different varieties of fishes, treasures and coral reefs. Also the guide and captain are super funny so you will definitely enjoy your time.

  • Day well spent

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breathtaking

Reviewed by: Damian, 2018/05/23

The whole tour from start to finish was breath taking! Truely an experience of a lifetime. To be able to go under the waters depths and see the hawaiian pyramids and see the marine life in their natural habitat . Loved it

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sub

Reviewed by: Derek, 2018/04/26

Staff was great, tour was awesome. Saw plenty of fish and some sea turtles.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip the crew were informative and entertaining.

Reviewed by: TJB, 2018/04/21

Great trip this was our first experience in a submarine the crew were very knowledgeable and entertaining I would recommend this tour as something everyone should do

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An interesting and unique experience.

Reviewed by: Steve M, 2018/01/20

This was our second trip aboard Atlantis and we enjoyed it as much as the first time. It is always nice to be able to do something you can't experience at home and living a thousand miles from any ocean submarines are fairly scarce where we live. I always enjoy seeing critters like sharks and sea turtles but any colorful sea life is enjpoyable. On the personal side we were treated with care and respect and at no time did we feel unsafe. Overall a great adventure. Thankyou very much.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

By far the best Waikiki experience ever

Reviewed by: The Carpenters, 2017/12/23

We came to Hawaii to bring our young daughter, age 7, for her first trip, hoping it would be a memorable one, and she was over the moon with this experience. She got a bit queasy for just a few minutes with the short ferry ride to the sub, but after that, she was perfectly fine. The sub itself was roomy enough to not feel like you were sitting on someone else, and everyone gets window seats, so there is no need to worry about not seeing something. They do 180s so that both sides of the sub get to see everything. Amazing. They have sunken plane and ship wreckage that have allowed artificial reefs to be created, and they are teeming with fish. I've personally been to Hawaii over 20 times in my life and this has by far got to be the best experience I've ever had. Bring a light sweater for the breezy trip to and from the sub, if you're prone to getting chilly in ocean breeze. Don't forget to look in the water when you're on the pier waiting for the ferry - there are reef fish there, too!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories