This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Snorkel with Turtles at Maunalua Bay Turtle Canyon

Many turtles were seen, highly recommend

Reviewed by: Mark, 2018/10/24

This was our first time snorkeling in Hawaii. We loved the experience. The staff on the boat was very helpful and nice. We were able to see multiple turtles coming to the surface to breathe. We were very surprised how clear the water was. You could see to the bottom very clearly. I would highly recommend taking this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: L. Clark, 2018/06/21

We saw turtles up close and personal, along with other fish, like wrasses, tangs, and rays! We stopped at two locations to see a variety of sea life.

The crew were helpful and nice. They provided scuba suits, snorkels, and life vests. Next time I will take anti nausea medicine beforehand; many people on the boat got seasick.

Finding the shuttle was a bit difficult. Booking through a third party made it tricky to figure out which one was ours. Otherwise the trip was a success!


  • Sea turtle spotied from the boat!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling with turtles

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2018/06/07

Our overall experience was good I was just a little disappointed about actually snorkeling because we didn't get close to any coral at all. There were scuba divers on the boat as well. It seemed like the snorkels were an after thought when it came to location. The turtles were amazing and we saw several. They were really friendly and got pretty darn close to us! There wasn't very good communication on the boat. We sat for 10 mins once we anchored waiting for our instructions and then I finally asked. I'm not gonna act like swimming in the water with turtles in Hawaii wasn't awesome because it was. It just wasn't the most epic experience especially because the pictures aren't accurate on the website.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great team!!

Reviewed by: Chanthip , 2018/05/29

From booking to the final drop off it was an easy and fun experience. The crew on the boat were all knowledgeable and very friendly. We aren’t very strong swimmers and they provided extra equipment to make sure we felt comfortable snorkeling. They were even willing to put out an extra line to hold on to. They kept a look out for turtles and quickly pointed them out as well as other fascinating things in the ocean. Greg, Cali and the rest of the crew were great. They really did think of everything, even when some folks were starting to get a little sea sick they had candies and soda to help out. Overall very happy with the snorkeling with the turtles adventure and would do it again on my next trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great experience!

Reviewed by: Renee, 2018/05/12

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It met all our expectations. Seeing such majestic animals, turtles, stingrays and colouful fish, in their natural environment was an amazing experience. Would recommend this as a must do when visiting Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Was an awesome experience

Reviewed by: David, 2018/05/12

Although the seather could have been better, it didn't hamper our experience. All staff were very helpful and informative. We got to enjoy nature in its beauty. Turtles swimmimg freely, lots of fish and sting rays. Would thoroughly recommend doing this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thoroughly recommend!

Reviewed by: Bianca , 2018/05/12

Travelling as a family of 5, we found this tour very family friendly. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, they had the care and safety of all passengers as an utmost duty of care. The tour was amazing and we got to see turtles, sting rays and fish as promised. Would definitely recommend doing this tour, its a once in a lifetime experience for our family.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Inclusive fun upbeat staff

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2018/05/09

We went on the snorerking excursion while there were several other people scuba diving. I recommend scuba diving with them because the place they brought us to wasnt accurate to the pictures displayed. The distance between the reef and top of water was probably 30 feet. It was fun to watch the scuba divers and watch them go down and explore the ocean floor. We saw several turtles and swam just a foot from them! The crew really cared about our safety! Overall I recommend scuba diving with them. We were the only 2 snorkeling so it felt like we were an after thought.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

just friendly staff

Reviewed by: Khet, 2018/04/22

It is good to start at the Water sports center , We have seen many activity to do on this area.
We have a good time when sit on the boat and saw nice scene of mountain on the ocean with the great weather!
We found very nice and friendly staff on the boat that teach you how to do snorkel with smiling and funny.
However , after snorkel start that just a good salty beautiful blue ocean then we will found nothing ! of course , nothing ; not much sea life there I have snorkeling about half hour and I have just seen some fish up to 10 or not more than that and no coral every where but turtle, true turtle was come that we have seen 2 turtle not far from boat .
If you want to see turtle this activity will give you and have a chance to see dolfin but if you want to see the sea life such as coral , fish and other so it is not perfect for you , may be you can see that more if the staff have another place to do.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the best things you can do in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Timbo, 2018/04/15

The team was incredible.. the experience was second to none. Within 10mins we had seen our first turtle and then got to swim with about 6 others.

Free dive instructor was amazing to swim with and although there were a number of kids in the water, no-one felt unsafe.

Thanks guys

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the highlights of the trip

Reviewed by: Matchalance, 2018/04/15

The team was incredible.. the experience was second to none. Within 10mins we had seen our first turtle and then got to swim with about 6 others.

Water was amazing. Felt safe and well looked after the whole time.

Thanks guys

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definitely go again

Reviewed by: Jennett and Raj, 2018/04/13

Our overall experience of the Snorkel with Turtles was fantastic.
We had great instructors who fitted us in fitted swim suits, good size flippers and provided excellent instructions once out in the water. The crew always helped the snorkelers locate the turtles when they surfaced.
There were so many turtles during the entire first dive and up close on several occasions.

Next time I'll bring a GoPro to record the turtles as they swim up towards the surface to breath. Great fun

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories