Waimea Valley Toa Luau & Free Ticket to Waimea Falls [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Waimea Valley Toa Luau & Free Ticket to Waimea Falls [Open Now]

Overall Rating

5.00 5.00 / 5

Reviews

16 reviews
Post a review

Absolutely loved it!

Reviewed by: Lisa P, 2021/05/01

Beautiful hike to a Waimea Falls. The botanical gardens were beautiful and.full of history too. Easy hike for my kids Got to swim in the lagoon under the falls at the top. I love that they provided life jackets. Once we came down and changed it was off to the luau. We had a great time participating in some of the cultural activities and learning the Polynesian history and culture. Dancing was amazing and food phenomenal. My family really enjoyed it -especially my 11 year old and 15 year old. Highly recommend!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing, authentic experience!

Reviewed by: erkerk10, 2021/01/05

I lived on Oahu, and have attended many of the popular, industrial, Luaus on the island. Due to Covid, most were closed, so we went with Waimea Valley Toa Luau. I can say it was by far the most intermate, and authentic luau I've ever been to. The "cheaper" tickets still have a great, elevated view. The members/staff/performers are all family and the demonstrations they have are authentic to their history. With the admission to Waimea valley included, you can easily make an entire day of exploring the valley and concluding with the Luau. It truly felt like a family cookout (which is the true spirit of a luau) and not an assembly line of people and mediocre food (as most other industrial luaus are). Homemade coco drink, and no less than 5 fire throwers at once, put Waimea Valley Toa Luau over the top for me. Also, not a coconut bra in sight...

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best, authentic Luau!

Reviewed by: Brian & Jen, 2019/11/10

Very interactive - they do a wonderful job of showing you how things were done back then. You get to help cook some foods (I wish we could have eaten) and get a good look at how they lived! Cousin Billy was funny and very informative, even during our ride from Waikiki to Waimea Valley. The food and drinks did not disappoint either! After dinner the entertainment is second to none - they put on one heck of a show!

We booked VIP and loved sitting up close, but there is not a bad seat in the pavilion.

Our only complaint is that the Toa Luau ruined our other Luau. We attended Toa on Monday and then went to Diamond Head Luau on Thursday and it wasn't even close!!!

Thank you Toa Luau for one of our most memorable experiences while in Hawaii!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Jen, and mahalo for your review. We are so glad to hear that you had fun at the luau, but at the same time very sorry for ruining your other luau. LOL Your Toa Luau Ohana though wishes that you come see us again when you're back to visit. Again, thank you very much, and see you again, hopefully soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/09/05

We had a wonderful time! Not the typical luau where you basically eat, then watch a show. It’s very interactive, we are able to do things. Staff were so friendly and it really felt like a big family celebration. Highly recommended! Plus the free admission to the fall was breathtaking

  • The gathering

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the wonderful review! We at Toa Luau are doing our very best to make sure the experience is fun and memorable, and we are glad to have been able to share this with you! Your Toa Luau ohana wishes to see you again on your next visit. :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Luau with perks

Reviewed by: cawesome , 2019/07/09

The luau itself was amazing. My family and I enjoyed participating in the pre show activities while learning about true polynesian culture and traditions. It's a smaller luau with only about 200 guests but with the smaller number of patrons you really get to interact and learn from everyone involved.
The host for the activities, Uncle Bob, has a great sense of humor as do the men that do the "cooking" and food prep demonstrations. These men are no joke, they even climbed up the coconut trees. They teach you about a traditional tribe welcoming and uses the guests to act as the tribes while explaining the rituals associated with welcoming guests to their community.
Not a huge selection of foods to sample but everything there was delicious. Kalua pork, teriyaki chicken, macaroni salad, green salad with macadamia nuts, rice, rolls, chantilly cake from Teds Bakery and a coconut type of jello dessert.
The family band that played music during dinner was Amazing. Those kids can really sing! The dancing was very traditional, not just girls in coconut bras and hula skirts, but real polynesian dancing showcasing dances from a variety of the polynesian islands. I was a VIP guest and we were right at eye level with the stage but it looked like most people would have quite a good view of the stage. We also got to go to the buffet first and got great souvenirs. My husband and I got hand fans, my son got a wooden Maui-type hook necklace and my daughter got a wood beaded bracelet that said Hawaii with hibiscus flowers printed on it. After dinner and show on your way out you were able to speak more with the staff and dancers and take pictures with them.
If it was your birthday we all sang happy birthday and you got an extra piece of cake, if it was your anniversary or honeymoon they brought you onstage for a slow dance and gave you a nut lei.
All this plus you get entry into the Waimea valley where you can swim in a waterfall and see beautiful trees and foliage!

  • Fire dancers

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, and mahalo mui for your review. We are review. We are pleased to know that you had the best time at the luau. It is with delight that we read your review of your luau, which we have planned to be an Interactive one. I by the way also hope the band played and sang Blue Bayou. That song, sang by an of the kids is a real tear jerker.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The perfect luau

Reviewed by: Ontreal, 2018/12/22

Everything was great from the time of arrival. We arrived a few hours early to visit the waterfall and botanical garden. Simply beautiful and peaceful. That landed us in time for the luau and we got upgraded to VIP! Warning VIP you may be asked to be part of the show but it’s all fun and games and a great hands on learning experience. Food was buffet style and also amazingly delicious. All in all a great day at a great price.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, and mahalo for your review! We are so happy to hear that the luau and the experience at the falls and the garden was fun for you. And thanks for being such a great sport! We make it a point to get our guests involved in the activities and the festivities as a whole. It may have not been more fun if not for your cooperation. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau Ever

Reviewed by: Jess , 2018/08/16

We’ve been to many Luaus over the years but this one was the best ever. It was personal, informative, and super entertaining. Definitely recommend to others. Each guest felt involved without big crowds and big lines.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Jess, thanks for your review! We are so glad you had all the best at the luau, and we look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo from your Toa Luau Ohana! ^_^

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Toa Luau is incredible!

Reviewed by: Keith M, 2018/07/26

Here we have a small group of nice folks pouring their soul into this wonderful luau. Imagine all this happing within the beautiful confines of Waimea Valley! Great food, great entertainment and one heck of a value. Toa Luau is centered around the traditional Samoan luau ways and pays respect to Hawaii and all the islands of Polynesia. My party of six adults chose the Silver package and were delighted with our seating position to the show. The food was amazing. Do yourself a favor... leave the other touristy luaus to the tourists and experience what these lovely folks work so hard to share. Well done Toa Luau!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and mahalo from your Toa Luau Ohana for your kind words! We hope to see you again, and soon! ^_^

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley (Add to your Bucket list)

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/06/04

I had a amazing time with Toa Luau, food, drinks & show are great. It's a very family oriented luau and the location is beautiful. The good thing about being far from Waikiki, is that you can skip the crowds from the other shows and get a more personal experience.

I really enjoyed the pre-luau activities, they let us be part of dinner preparation and we learned how to make some traditional Polynesian dishes. They let us peel taro, green banana, they showed us how make flower leis & how to use palm leafs to make headbands, baskets and hats. We played Polynesian games and had the chance to play some musical instruments too. Kids and adults were having so much fun! I believe this is the only luau where you can experience a Kava Cerimony, one of the most iconic cultural traditions in Fiji.

I've been to other luaus before, but this one felt different. I didn't feel as a tourist. The staff makes you feel like you are part of their family and that they are inviting you for a real party at their home, so it made the evening really special.
Another good thing is that it includes admission to Waimea Valley. We arrived earlier and were able to enjoy the botanical garden and of course, swim at the most famous waterfall on Oahu. There are changing rooms available at the park so you can get ready for the luau.

I recommend this luau for everyone who is looking for a real luau experience and wants to learn more about the beautiful Hawaiian & Polynesian culture. Absolutely loved it!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, and mahalo nui for spending some time to shower us with your kind words. The fact that you remember the key parts of the luau made us all feel that you had the best time and it is our hope that we'd see you again when you come back to Oahu

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories