This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Small Group Snorkel Tour with Personal Guide at Hanauma Bay

Overall Rating

4.65 4.65 / 5

Reviews

475 reviews
Post a review

Snorkel at Hanauma Bay with Dan and Chieko

Reviewed by: Rita T., 2019/06/22

We had great experience snorkeling at Haunama Bay with Dan and Chieko. My husband and our 12 years old son never snorkel before. Chieko was very patience with them teaching them how to breath under water. Chieko hold our son’s hand all the time and talked to them very calmly. Eventually both of them got the hang of it and enjoyed their snorkeling experience.
I would highly recommend Dan and Chieko to anyone who wants to snorkel at Hanauma Bay. They’re simply the best!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small group and Personal experience

Reviewed by: Tahlia, 2019/04/25

My husband and I loved the following about our trip
- small intimate group which allowed us to chat and connect with the instructor and other people on the trip
- taken to the spots in the water that other people weren’t at which ended up being where we saw a turtle
- well prepared and organised very professional
- captured your experience using a go pro so you didn’t have to stress about photos in waterproof cases like many others not on the tour.


A gorgeous couple that run this tour. Beautiful people who want you to have the best experience and really care!

Would recommend wearing or hiring a wetsuit! It’s comforting to know you have something protecting your skin incase you brush past any coral

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spring Break 2019

Reviewed by: Rickman Family, 2019/03/14

Perfect! Worth the personal guide. Thank you Dan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME, especially for a beginner

Reviewed by: Penny, 2019/02/19

Dan was a fabulous professional instructor and guide for us!! It was our first snorkel, my husband and I, age 58. We can swim but no one would say we're strong swimmers hence we decided upon an instructor/guide, and Dan's the very best.

We didn't plan to do the wet suits but thank goodness Dan had them available. It was low tide and the protection over the coral in shallow water was invaluable, besides the warmth and buoyancy it offered. (the water was a little cooler than we expected) Dan literally held my hand while snorkeling so i could simply relax and float and watch for fish. He guided us over coral I'd have never have done otherwise, and those were the best places to see the fish. He was so very patient and helpful as I suited up, he fitted my mask and fins, and he was very thorough explaining the snorkel, breathing etc. I'd have never had the same snorkel experience without Dan. He made us feel comfortable and safe, what more could you want?

We had plenty of nice surprises-the tram down and back for example. He provided water and snacks afterward, beach mats, lock box for stuff while in the water, transportation, etc. It feels luxurious when someone's taken care of everything, Dan made that happen and I'm confident he would for you too.

I can't recall the name of Dan's helper but she too was top notch. When snorkeling it's sometimes hard to know which direction you're headed, let alone the tide steering you. I don't really know how Dan and her managed to keep track of us, both above and below water simultaneously but they did, keeping us together, seeing and pointing out the best things possible during the snorkel.

Dan wants you to have a great experience. You will, like we did, I'm sure. If we can do it (with Dan's help) you can too!

PS Dan takes pictures of you for you. Can't wait to see ours!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience with very knowledgeable tour guide!!

Reviewed by: Mel, 2019/02/10

Hunauma bay is beautiful, great sea life variety and vibrant colors. Tour guide was patient and very knowledgeable. Would definitely book again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/02/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best snorkeling tour ever

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2018/06/24

Best snorkeling tour ever! If you want to learn how to snorkel book this tour. Tour guide helped my kids get comfortable with snorkeling and very patient. We saw a ton of stuff including a turtle. This has been the highlight of our trip. We will book again with this company on our next trip. Thanks for a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Solo traveler, 2018/05/08

Really amazing experience. We didn't waste any second. The guide picked me up at my hotel on time, he already had all tickets for the Hanauma bay and the tram so we could go snorkeling as soon as we arrived to the bay. Water was very clear and we saw tons of fish! Well worth the time and money!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!!

Reviewed by: Marie, 2017/10/22

This tour exceeded our expectations, Dan & his wife were amazing tour guides! They were patient especially since I had never snorkeled before & made sure we were comfortable before letting us venture on our own. Best part was that we got to swim with a sea turtle which was icing on the cake. There are a lot of tours out there advertising the same thing but I would highly recommend to book this tour you will be glad you did!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Ros, 2017/09/20

We are visitors from Australia and have been on the Great Barroer Reef but this was also outstanding. Dan took us where we could swim over coral and see lots of fish which he named. We had a wonderful morning and learnt a lot about the marine life. One novice to snorkelling managed it perfectly. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really Great

Reviewed by: JTC, 2017/08/17

This was very fun. Our guides where great and very patient with our nervous swimmer. It was an enjoyable experience that we would do again! Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome for first time snorkeling

Reviewed by: Vicki, 2017/06/19

We had Dan for our guide. On the drive out to the bay he gave us lots of useful information about the local culture. He was upbeat and very knowledgeable. At the bay he was organized and took very good care of us. We had serveral who were snorkeling for the first time and he made them feel very comfortable. As an added bonus he takes pictures of your trip and posts them to FB so you can grab them. No extra charge! Cool! I would highly recommend this excursion

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic day!

Reviewed by: Marty, 2017/04/22

My family had a wonderful time on this tour. Hanauma Bay is truely beautiful and this tour enabled us to jump the cues and make the most of our time here. We had 9 people in our group with 2 instructors. Thanks for an amazing morning!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Money Well Spent

Reviewed by: Salvador E., 2017/04/13

As most of you know, things to do on the island of Oahu can be pricey at times. If you want to see your money stretch and to get more that you bargained for, take this trip. Dan picked us up right at our hotel and drove us to Hanauma Bay. His equipment was easy to use, very accommodating and the adventure itself was awesome. I could go on and on about how great of a time that my wife and I had but words could never do it justice. From my experience, I would say to give this a shot. Lest we forget one minor detail, I live in Anaheim, CA near Huntington Beach aka Surf City USA, and I have never been more comfortable in the ocean than I was on this snorkeling trip. It really was that awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

March 15, 2017 #SB2k17

Reviewed by: Christina and Ruth, 2017/03/22

AMAZING for my first time snorkeling! Perfect weather, clear water, ran into 3 turtles and a beautiful school of fish. Dan and Chieko are very sweet people. Would definitely have brought a waterproof camera if I had one.
Recommend hydrating beforehand, especially if you haven't swam in the ocean before.
We got lucky with the weather on a beautiful day!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Serenale, 2017/01/12

Awesome experience. Saw so many fishes, water was so clear and the atmosphere was fantastic.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great time!

Reviewed by: Lynn, 2016/10/26

Dan and his wife were the best tour guides!! They took great care of you in the water and made sure you enjoyed your time!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling

Reviewed by: Jenniffer, 2016/10/25

Dan and his wife were great guides! Best first snorkeling experience even though I couldn't stay out in the water long :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience ever!!!

Reviewed by: Judy Davis, 2016/10/03

Dan was amazing helping my sister and I with learning to snorkel. We would love to come back again and take another lesson and see more of the area. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • First experience

  • Amazing time

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun

Reviewed by: Victoria, 2016/09/20

It was my first snorkeling experience. The guide was super nice and friendly. She was taking pictures of us and later posted them on facebook.
That day we could see many fish and water was clear.
I loved it soooo much, so next day I came to Hanauma Bay bymyself.
Thanks for the great experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We got stood up!

Reviewed by: Maritza, 2016/08/31

With a reservation made and paid for 3 weeks in advance, with no notification, apology or anything we got stood up! When you travel thousands of miles and program once in a lifetime activities you have to be able to rely on these on line bookings! We fully regret using this company as we lost a whole day of a planned activity, you simple can't afford to waste time like this when you are on vacation for a limited amount of days. Telling us "we will refund your money" just isn't enough! DO NOT BOOK YOUR SNORKELING TOUR HERE!!

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha Maritza,

Your reservation was reconfirmed with the activity provider the day before so we were surprised to hear that you were not picked up as scheduled. We are not sure where the mishap occurred but have spoken to them to prevent this from reoccurring in the future. We hope had a wonderful time with the alternative activity we booked you on.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling review

Reviewed by: Donna Long, 2016/08/12

We had the best experience, very impressed with how smoothly everything went.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Valvano

Reviewed by: Angela, 2016/07/24

Everyone had a great time. Guides were patient and informative. Saw a lot of different fish

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Small Group Snorkel Tour with Personal Guide at Hanauma Bay

Reviewed by: Laura from Arkansas, 2016/07/13

Spent a great day in the bay, loved that he took underwater pics for us!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanuman Bay Snorkelng

Reviewed by: Dave G, 2016/07/02

One of our best days in Oahu. Dan & Chieko of Blue Hawaii Divers are just the best. If you go snorkeling ,select them. Very knowledgable. Thank you Chieko for attending to my wife, who had a problem with first time time snorkeling and turned it into the great day . We would do it again! Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful trip!

Reviewed by: Amy Dean, 2016/06/17

We had a great time snorkeling today! Dan was an excellent guide and he was very patient and so knowledgable. We will definitely do this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Never believe we could do it!

Reviewed by: Jenny, 2016/06/06

This is our first time snorkelling so it helps to have personal guides to be with us. We get to have one on one personal attention. The guides held our hands most of the time and we get to see a lot of fishes and corals. It is unbelievable and we can't believe we can do it. It is one item crossed out from our bucket list.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling lesson

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wolf, 2016/03/16

The instructor, one of the owners, was very patient and explained every step of what we'd be doing. I was in a small group of three, and the instructor held onto my arm for most of the hour until I felt I was okay by myself. The bay is calm with so many ornamental fish and gorgeous reefs. This was, hands-down, one of the best experiences I had in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling

Reviewed by: Mary, 2015/11/03

This was amazing. The water was warm. You could see fish everywhere! Our guide was awesome! I was very nervous and he put me right at ease. I can't wait to do it again!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must for Oahu visit

Reviewed by: Steve, 2015/10/28

Very friendly and experienced crew. I've snorkeled at Haunama Bay several times on my own, and was ready for a guided visit, by far the best trip ever. Saw a turtle and of course hundreds of fish. Highly recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Experience

Reviewed by: Jennifer , 2015/07/27

Amazing place. Awesome guides. Highly recommend guide if you do Hanauma Bay.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories