This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Rock-A-Hula Luau Dinner, Elvis Tribute Show, Fire Knife Dance & Local Artists

Overall Rating

4.54 4.54 / 5

Reviews

438 reviews
Post a review

excellent experience for Rock-A-Hula Dinner & Cocktail Show with Fire Knife Dance

Reviewed by: arya, 2018/06/26

If you want a typical Hawaiian luau this show is not for you. But if you enjoy music going as far back as the 1930's then this show is highly recommended. Most of the music was done by Elvis and Michael Jackson. The performers were great. The fire dance was great but was very short/limited. The performance was done indoors in a theater with theater seating which was great but again if you want to experience an outdoor luau this show is not for you.

The location of the show is in the heart of Waikiki Beach on the 4th floor of a mall. We drove from Marriott Ko olina Resort which is about 20 miles away and took is about 45 minutes to get to the show. So if you are planning to come from the Ko olina/Aulani Resort area plan to drive for 45-60 minutes. There is ample parking to self-park. The parking is free for the 1st 3 hours with validation. After the show you can walk around in the area for shopping. The check in experience was great and was very fast. All the workers were very helpful and hard working. The food was simple, tasty and healthy, especially the curry fish.

overall my family and I enjoyed this show and would recommend it to others.

My family and I had a great experience and would recommend this show.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome night

Reviewed by: Tonya, 2018/06/15

The personal attention that you receive during the dinner and pre-show entertainment made you feel so special. The staff remembered your name and details about you — such as where your from, the drinks you like, etc was above and beyond. The food was delicious. My daughter is a vegetarian and they went out of their way to create a vegetarian plate just for her!! The food options on the buffet were all delicious. Both the prime rib and the pork melted in your mouth.

Once we were seated in the theater the videos enriched the show. One of my favorite parts was how the hula girls appearance changed throughout the decades. Elvis was great and Michael Jackson was very impressive. It was more like a musical show than I expected. It was a great surprise. Best night I had in Waikiki ,,,

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must see!

Reviewed by: Rick C, 2018/05/19

I highly recommend this show. It is one of a kind show. It is a luau with Las Vegas flare. I particularly loved Elvis. I wish he could have sang some more songs but it was still a great show. All the performances were outstanding. The band was good too. Also the fire dance was great. My kids enjoyed it. Do not hesitate to watch the show. When I come back to Honolulu I want to watch it again. We had the dinner buffet before the show and the food was great too. It included a free maitai. I also like that it was in an enclosed theatre. Rock a hula, you rock. I would not hesitate to watch it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome show

Reviewed by: Maris, 2018/05/17

This was a great show. We have been to luaus before and we promise not to do it again because we feel that they are way overpriced but we decided to gamble on this one since it had great reviews and it sounded different with the rock and roll and boy it did not disappoint. Our whole party of 6 really enjoyed the show from beginning to end. I highly recommend this show to everyone. My favorite was Elvis. Its like watching Vegas in Hawaii. The buffet dinner was good too. The roast pork was great. They also had tofu and other vegetables for my vegan daughter. Very well organized and everybody was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Jada, 2018/03/22

Loved the dinner and show from start to finish! All of the performers were interactive and welcoming. Would definitely recommend for all ages!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock-a-Hulu

Reviewed by: Steve, 2018/01/19

Great Show!!! Had a lot of fun and everyone enjoyed the show. Food was good and we had a great time. Dancers and performance was outstanding.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Mitch, 2018/01/02

The green room experience is a must do experience, especially for those that enjoy theater shows! The family all loved it and the opportunity to meet the stars of the show, talk with them and take pictures while sipping champagne and eating hors d’oeuvres was fun and insightful. Elvis was especially friendly and personable! The food was very good, especially the tender steak and creamy mashed potatoes. The Polynesian dancers were exciting to watch and the sword and fire welding dancer was amazing! A good mix of the Hawaiian culture with the feel of a rock concert that the whole family can appreciate and enjoy! We would definitely recommend it if you have not been before!

  • Green Room with Elvis

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN NIGHT OUT

Reviewed by: MLDurango, 2017/08/07

Saw this performance with my teen age daughter. It was a great show and we both enjoyed it. It was a fun night out in Waikiki. The dancers are the best part in my opinion. Elvis has strong vocals. Good band too. Excellent stage show - very entertaining. The food was great - my steak was cooked perfectly. Beautiful presentation. Even my picky daughter liked the food and tried the lobster. We had great seats - center stage up front. Everyone was very welcoming and the wait staff attentive. The drinks are quite tasty and pretty potent. We did the VIP package and the welcome mai tai was delicious. I'm glad we went.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Dinner and Show

Reviewed by: Louise, Maryland, US, 2016/07/13

The Rock-A-Hula Dinner and Show was a great event. I'm glad we included it in our vacation plans.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legendary Show

Reviewed by: ----------RHO----, 2015/03/01

While visiting the beautiful Island of Oahu, I started to reminisce of the last time I came here and it was for the last Michael Jackson performance back in the 90's. I was searching for a dinner and show activity and I was fortunate that I came across hawaiiactivities.com - Veltra because they have a 2 For 1 Review Rebate Special. I was traveling with my family, and so we booked for the Green Room & Dinner Show package. As we checked in at the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center, we were greeted with warm alohas from everyone working. We started on an amazing tour of the theater and got to see some of the marvelous collections of Elvis and Michael Jackson. The dinner was amazing, and the we had the cocktails coming all night long. The show was amazing! It brought back many fond memories of my teenage life growing up listening to Elvis. I was having many flashbacks as I was singing to all the songs and rocking the night away. But unlike many shows in Waikiki, Rock A Hula has something special and particular to their show which is... Hawaiian Performances. Hula dancers, chants, and acts that resembled Elvis's presence here in Hawaii while sharing the Aloha spirit. This show is highly recommended if you love old school pop and classical songs. Thank you Veltra & Stars of Paradise for this wonderful time I had.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock on!

Reviewed by: Johnson, 2015/02/08

If you are contemplating going, don't think - just book it! Rock-a-Hula is by far one of the more entertaining shows here on Oahu. You can only watch so many luaus before getting sick of them. If you enjoy Vegas shows, this is on the same scale. Also make sure to book the VIP backstage package. It was definitely worth having the show producer show us the entire stage, meet and greet with the crew, etc. - especially if anyone in your group is interested in theater. The food was several times greater than what we ate at other shows that cost more as well, with a 4-course surf and turf. The end dessert was delic'. The entire staff was very professional and you could tell they wanted you to really enjoy their performance as they must put a lot of work making the magic happen. My mother in law thought Elvis looked more handsome than the real deal. The mannerisms of all the characters were spot on. Bravo to the dancers, especially to the fire juggler. I especially enjoyed the incorporation of Hawaii's cultural aspects into the show for that local touch.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and delicious

Reviewed by: Haehyun Kim, 2015/02/08

I went to the show with my parents and my husband. It was our first time in Hawaii, so we had little clue what to do, what to see and where to go. My parents found out about the show from some Korean TV show(they came from Korea) and told me about it, so I got the VIP tickets. We stayed in Waikiki so we could Walk to the theater.
The producer showed us the behind scene such as dressing rooms and even let us walk on the stage. There was a Hawaiian Flame show(I don't know the official name). It was actually my favorite part of the whole show. I was thrilled. I wanted to take a pictures with him but only the singers were out waiting for the photo time. That was disappointing.
There were a lot of Hawaiian dances. I thought the this Hawaiian dance part is something that I wouldn't be able to see in any other cities.
And "Michael Jackson" had the same nose job as the real Michael Jackson. Haha. His moon walk was great.
The dinner was served right before the show for about an hour and the food was very delicious. I was in the VIP seat so I was served the full course dinner. The dessert, molten chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream was heavenly.
The only downside I thought about the show was the fewer numbers of the legend singers than I would like to see. I was expecting about five singers but it was 1 hour and 20 minutes show with three singers.
I was just glad that my mom loved the show. She doesn't speak English but music doesn't require languages. It is all about the showman ship and atmosphere.
Overall it was a good show and I recommend this show to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legends in Concert

Reviewed by: Randy , 2014/03/11

Was entertaining,a good family show to see. Performers had awesome voices.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

U love Elvis u gotta go this show

Reviewed by: Jesse Maldonado, 2014/02/12

The whole family enjoyed the music was off the hook This is a show u see in Vegas don't miss it

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Family Outing

Reviewed by: wrs437, 2013/07/08

We attended the patio buffet before the performance. The food was one of the better dinner-show meals we had in Waikiki. There was a performance by dancers during the dinner, and then the main show followed. A good time was had by all.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock-a-Hula

Reviewed by: Christine, 2012/09/29

My friend and I booked the VIP evening which included a 3 course meal. The food was beautifully presented and delivered by a friendly waitress, each course, although not necessarily to our taste, was very good, especially the dessert, the chef even came out afterwood to ask if everything had been satisfactory. The entertainment was excellent and had everyone singing along to the old favorites.
One criticism would be that having 2 Elvis performers was a little too much, the first Elvis (younger) was great, the second, although good was not as good.
Overall a great night which will not be forgotton.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was awesome !

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/01/19

We participated for Green room and got front row seats.
The “stars” came off the stage and sang to me and shook my hand.
“Elvis” comes so close that you can lightly smell his perfume.

When they first come to the stage, you may think they are kind of chubby, but once they start to sing and dance, you will be amazed. It’s unbelievable that they are not lip singing.

The stage equipment and audio system is great. During the performance, there is a video on the screen that shows the real star singing. The “star” on stage and the star on the screen come in sync and you start to believe that the “star” on the stage is real.

Even though you don’t know the star, they will sing many popular songs old or new, so any generation can enjoy the performance.

After the show the stars will be at the lobby, and they will give you autograph and take a picture with you.
In my mind I believe that “Michael Jackson” was real to me so I got excited and screamed.

Once in a while I heard they

Rating:
Attended as:Families
3 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories