North Shore Beach Horseback Ride - Daytime & Sunset Tours [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

North Shore Beach Horseback Ride - Daytime & Sunset Tours [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.45 4.45 / 5

Reviews

160 reviews
Post a review

A must

Reviewed by: Jerbarco , 2021/04/06

It is definitely better to rent a car and drive to the location and not take the bus lol.
The horseback riding experience was awesome. The staff was great and the trail was beautiful. It was peaceful and the horses were amazing. I highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must experience

Reviewed by: Lai from California , 2021/03/08

It was really a great experience, regardless of the rain. HoHo was my horse— described as the Regina George of the group! The staff were friendly. Wish there was a way to communicate with our leader, Cassie a bit better while on the trail. It would be nice to have stopped in one more place for pictures and if the spot we do stop at could have a block so people could get off, that would be cool! It would also be cool to learn a little about the plants we see, the area we are in, more information about POLO too.
The pace was good although a little instruction on how to sit in the seat (where to tighten to lessen the inside leg pain) would be helpful too.
I did not see and was not ensured of a method for cleaning the helmets. Maybe offering some kind of bandana for customers to buy so people who are weary of lice or anything can feel more comfortable.
We really learned the meaning of learning how to ride “it”.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Jenn, 2020/02/23

Sarah was a great guide. Patient with us and friendly!! Scenery is spectacular. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Book ‘Em!

Reviewed by: The Martin’s, 2019/06/27

The guides were great - took very good care of us, kept us at a great pace, very knowledgeable of the land and horses. The scenery was fantastic - walked along the shoreline of the beach. The horses were well-behaved - easy to direct, very sweet! Two adults, three middle school children who had never ridden before - very family-friendly...we had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome sunset experience horseback riding in Oahu!

Reviewed by: Jasmine, 2018/12/15

Four of us went on a private tour for sunset views on th beach and it was a great decision. I highly recommend this experience, awesome staff, horses, and views on this trail. A must when visiting Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Lori, 2018/03/17

This is wonderful! Even though it started raining halfway through the ride, we continued and it was just amazing! I hadn’t ridden since I was a child, so I was very happy with the gentle horse they gave me.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Ride!!!

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2017/11/25

My daughter and I had an amazing ride! Jessica, our guide was so sweet and we had a great time with her. The horses are all so beautiful and well behaved. Our dream to ride along the oceans edge came true! I highly recommend this horseback riding company and we will definitely be back!! ❤❤

  • Dreams come true ❤❤

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Donna, 2017/10/01

Wanted to ride on a beach and we were not disappointed. Angela was our guide and very enjoyable. My horse was a retired rodeo horse and my husband's was a retired polo horse.
The views were amazing. We rode along the ocean into a field and then back to the beach. Angela took our photos in the beach and spending that time with her and the horses was a dream come true.

I highly recommend taking Notth Shore Beach horseback riding tour. It is not safe for the horses to run in the sand sonif you want speed, it is not for you. But you will be sorry if a fast run on the beach deters you.

  • Thank you for an awesome time, Angela.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time riding

Reviewed by: Hai, 2017/07/31

It was our first time riding and Collette was amazing. She was very helpful and made us comfortable. She was nice enough to take lots of pictures of us on the beach. The horses were gentle and it was a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing amazing

Reviewed by: Beth Navarro, 2017/05/12

Our trail guides Angie & Noe were absolutely the best. Very attentive to everyone's needs. The horses were great and the sunset was a WOW! Highly recommended

  • Lovely helmets

  • Happy 21st

  • Beautiful sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect!

Reviewed by: Sabrina Lawrence, 2017/02/14

Had such a great time with my family here. It was our first time and the lady's made us feel so comfortable. The scenery was beautiful. I would definitely come back again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My first ride

Reviewed by: K Gordon, 2016/10/30

This was my first ride and the one activity that was more for me than the birthday boy, he did enjoy it as well though!! Our guides were awesome and even remembered our names although It was a group of 6... Only wish is that it was a little later so that we could have gotten a darker sky with more colors!!
Very calm and relaxing activity!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride!

Reviewed by: Donald Engle, 2016/08/14

My wife and I had a wonderful time riding horse along the beautiful beach. The guide was very helpful and informative. I would definitely recommend this adventure to friends and anyone looking to go horseback riding.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback riding

Reviewed by: Crystal , 2016/05/31

Trip was awesome! Would definetly do it again. The tour guide Angela was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Julie, 2016/03/19

This was an amazing experience! I'm so glad we had the opportunity to do this while we were in Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome - Would highly recommend

Reviewed by: Jennie , 2015/11/09

The staff (Alex) was sensational! From chatting on our ride I felt like we were family.. Like we knew each other for years... Very inviting, knowledgeable and friendly! The horses are beautiful and sweet and the property you get to ride on is like out of a fairy tale! I will definitely be coming back every time I'm in Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Alyssa M, 2015/04/08

This was our family's first time visiting oahu and the ocean front horse back ride was by far our most favorite and memorable experience. The guides are friendly and knowledgeable and the horses are very well cared for (my horse Ike is a retired polo pony). We even had the pleasure of a hawaiian pig named 'wilma' that thinks she's a horse escort our ride. We went on the sunset tour and the landscape is unlike anywhere I have ever seen, so peaceful and breathtaking. Would highly recommend this activity to other families, friends and couples!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Life time of memories

Reviewed by: Jeri Lyn castillo, 2014/11/16

MAXX
My husband and I were so pleased
What a Wondrful young lady so nice and very informative
Made are ride on the beach so relaxing very lovely
THE BEST
THANKS AGAIN
JERI LYN & Dean Castillo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Edith, 2014/02/16

The ride was everything I could ask for and more. One of my favourite things I did while in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One Of A Kind Experience!

Reviewed by: MR1977, 2013/09/10

I can't recommend a better way to capture the essence of Hawaii than on this beach trail ride. The scenery is beautiful, relaxing and the overall experience made our trip that much more memorable. We saw sea turtles and even caught a glimpse of an endangered Hawaiian Monk Seal. The horses are very well trained polo ponies that do trail rides in their spare time. ...just another reason that makes this ride unique. The guides are very friendly and knowledgeable. we will be back!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely beautiful!

Reviewed by: R Garcia, 2013/07/01

This was my first time ever riding a horse and they made me feel very comfortable. The views were amazing and Cassie was a fabulous guide! My husband and I decided to do this ride the night before our vow renewal and it gave us some beautiful memories to look back on! We would definitely recommend this ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome ride!

Reviewed by: Amber, 2012/08/14

I was very impressed with how friendly the staff was and also the horses. Horses were very well behaved and such a joy to ride. I reccomend this ride to everyone that enjoys horses and loves the beach. Breathtaking views of the ocean and riding my horse in the sand was such a dream come true. Thankyou so much to the staff at Polo North Shore Beach.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback riding

Reviewed by: Sandy, 2011/08/18

The place was about an hour away from Honolulu but that wasn't problem. The website said to be there 30 min early and we were but the horse handlers said that wasn't neccessary. They were short handed and we ended up waiting more than an hour to ride but the place was majestic so we weren't bothered by the wait. The guides prepared us and were concerned about everyones safety. The ride was perfect. They guides were professional and took time to take our pictures while we were on the beach. I would do it again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Hawaii.. It was a great family experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dream Ride

Reviewed by: Teener49er, 2011/03/07

This was an awesome ride on the beach. And YES you DO ride on the beach. The area is beautiful and could see the whales playing in the ocean as we rode. The white sands of the beaches against the turquoise water was breathtaking.

I took the private ride and it is definitely not a standard trail ride. The polo horses were very well behaved and easy to ride. I recommend this to anyone who loves horses and has always wanted to ride on the beach in Hawaii.

Would definitely book this again when back on the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Horses!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/11/25

I had a great time at Hawaii Polo ride! I've been on a horse before at a different commercial ranch, so I wasn't expecting much. Usually the horses are pretty worn down, tired and boring. Oh boy, this wasn't the case at all. All the horses at Hawaii Polo Club are well trained professional polo horses, so they are young, strong, muscular and ready to trot. They are just gorgeous to look at!

Even the guide from Argentine was a professional polo player/trainer, so he knew all about the horses. (I didn't know that Argentine was the capital of polo!) He explained to us what to do and what not to do with the horse. I was a bit nervous first since the horse was a professional polo horse, and you know what they say about how the horse can feel your fear! But the guide made me feel relaxed, and I definitely enjoy the ride on the beautiful beach on North Shore.

This is highly recommended! Very romantic for couples for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories