Page 3) North Shore Beach Horseback Ride - Daytime & Sunset Tours [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

North Shore Beach Horseback Ride - Daytime & Sunset Tours [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.45 4.45 / 5

Reviews

160 reviews
Post a review

Great Location & Great Staff

Reviewed by: Allen & Melissa J., 2012/07/13

My wife & I were first timers visiting during a conference. We located this tour on-line and took a gamble sight unseen. This was one of the best parts of our vacation. Our guide, Chris, was very personable and provided tons of information about the North Shore and the agriculture. He took several pictures for us and was very accommodating. Five stars for Chris. We would recommend this for anyone. The scenery is breathtaking. We recommend the sunset ride and request Chris for your guide!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beach Ride as Promised!!!

Reviewed by: Familyof4, 2012/02/08

This horse ride was all it was promised to be!! We rode on the beach for a good long time! My family and I were looking to do horseback riding that wasn't just on a land trail. Staff was friendly and helpful.
A little more expensive compared to the other locations on the island, but the horses are wonderful and location by the beach makes it even better!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wouldn't do this again

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/01/09

It was OK. No transportation goes to this activity to start with, so you have to rent a car to get there. They ask you to be the 1/2 hour early, but there is no good reason why because they tell you to go take a walk and are late anyway. The reason you need to bring a swim suit is to use their pool. It has nothing to do with the ride which is nose to tail and they not only would not late us take a camera but never volunteered to take any for us. The woman who seemed to run the tour had no personality at all. But the scenery was awesome :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not worth the money

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/12/30

My granddaughters and I went for the trail ride in November 2011 and were more excited about this activity than any other we were doing. We were told to be there 1/2 hour early and we were, but we had to wait, not only for other people, but for the instructors who said it was just because they were laid back. We then had to go through 1/2 hour of lecturing about the horses being athletes and spooked very easily and exactly how to do and not do EVERYTHING - from how to hold your hands almost to how to breath so you didn't spook these magnificent animals. We were not allowed to take cameras because the click of the camera may spook them and we were never offered the opportunity for anyone to take photos of us riding anywhere - especially on the beach. The unpleasant female who did all these instructions never came out of her funk. When we finally rode, the horses walked nose to tail and very slowly and never showed any signs of spunk or being spooked by anything. When we were done,

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unbelievable

Reviewed by: Scarantinos, 2011/12/01

Me, I am not a horse lover. But I had a fantastic time. The horses were wonderful and easy to navigate.

My daughter, she rides every week. She loved the ride along the beach and really enjoyed riding western for a change.

My was has ridden before. She was a bit of a sceptic, but the beach ride got her too. She thoroughly enjoyed the ride and would love to do it again.

Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saddle up

Reviewed by: M Ramsburg, 2011/10/15

The ride itself was very nice along the beach area. I was a first time rider and the staff work with me providing instructions on controlling the horse, so don't be afraid to try this experience if you have never rode a horse.

The only difficulty is that we were staying in Waikiki and the event took place on the North Shore. There is no transportation options offered by the event, but we rented a car for the day and were able to tour more of the island following the ride.

Overall, I highly recommend this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback riding

Reviewed by: Sandy, 2011/08/18

The place was about an hour away from Honolulu but that wasn't problem. The website said to be there 30 min early and we were but the horse handlers said that wasn't neccessary. They were short handed and we ended up waiting more than an hour to ride but the place was majestic so we weren't bothered by the wait. The guides prepared us and were concerned about everyones safety. The ride was perfect. They guides were professional and took time to take our pictures while we were on the beach. I would do it again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Hawaii.. It was a great family experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Boring! Boring! Boring!!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/08/18

My family and I enjoy horseback riding but this one was not up to par. I booked a private lesson and was told we would be able to do more with the horses beside just walking them and also would not be a nose to tail ride but that's exactly what it was. We were told many things but none were true. A couple of the horses did not like having another horse so close to it's tail so they would constantly kick backwards. You're only on the beach for a short time to cross to the dusty path were you spend most of the time until you cross back over the beach to go back to the club. Our guide was also an unpleasant women who never spoke unless it was to tell us what we were doing wrong. It was definetely not worth the money we spent and would not go back.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

views views VIEWS!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/21

Horseback riding has always been a really fun pastime for me, and I especially thought after seeing the ad on your site that this particular ride seemed different and unique. And it was!

The horses themselves are polo horses....and wow...are they beautiful. Very different from most ranch horses i have seen...and the ride itself...all I have ever been on have been on ranches along dusty trails or in the woods...THIS WAS ON THE BEACH...RIGHT BY THE WATER...IN HAWAII!! I honestly think I don't need to say anymore! On the beach...in Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

not what the website says

Reviewed by: Lesley Richardson, 2011/07/21

I choose this horsebackriding venue because of the website which stated they are not your typical trail ride. According to the ad we would not be riding nose to tail - that's exactly what we had to do--- also the ad stated we would be free to ride the horses to our ability-absolutely not, we were not allowed out of the line or to go faster than a walk or to go ahead of the guide-who was a most unpleasant woman. Also the beach part of the ride was very limited. The only high marks I give are to the horses!! They were not your typical trail horses. Overall I was disappointed, especially considering the high cost.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

a different kind of ride

Reviewed by: apelila, 2011/04/14

My new husband and I booked a private ride with the Hawaii Polo Club while on our honeymoon. I've been on several other guided horseback trail rides in the past, but this was a little different. For one thing, the horses are actually polo-horses, not the standard "follow-the-leader" horses of a typical ranch. Because of this, you are better off if you have at least a little experience in handling horses. There were a few times that loud noises or unfamiliar things on the path caused some skittishness.

One thing that made me a little uncomfortable was that my activity voucher said we would need to sign a liability waiver before the ride. I assume this is a standard practice, but the staff at the club just saddled up our horses, and off we went. No forms, no waivers, they didnt even tell us their names, nor did they ask ours. Good thing (for them) our slightly skittish horses didnt dump us on our heads.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the ride on the beach, the views were a

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dream Ride

Reviewed by: Teener49er, 2011/03/07

This was an awesome ride on the beach. And YES you DO ride on the beach. The area is beautiful and could see the whales playing in the ocean as we rode. The white sands of the beaches against the turquoise water was breathtaking.

I took the private ride and it is definitely not a standard trail ride. The polo horses were very well behaved and easy to ride. I recommend this to anyone who loves horses and has always wanted to ride on the beach in Hawaii.

Would definitely book this again when back on the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Horses!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/11/25

I had a great time at Hawaii Polo ride! I've been on a horse before at a different commercial ranch, so I wasn't expecting much. Usually the horses are pretty worn down, tired and boring. Oh boy, this wasn't the case at all. All the horses at Hawaii Polo Club are well trained professional polo horses, so they are young, strong, muscular and ready to trot. They are just gorgeous to look at!

Even the guide from Argentine was a professional polo player/trainer, so he knew all about the horses. (I didn't know that Argentine was the capital of polo!) He explained to us what to do and what not to do with the horse. I was a bit nervous first since the horse was a professional polo horse, and you know what they say about how the horse can feel your fear! But the guide made me feel relaxed, and I definitely enjoy the ride on the beautiful beach on North Shore.

This is highly recommended! Very romantic for couples for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories