Page 2) North Shore Beach Horseback Ride - Daytime & Sunset Tours [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

North Shore Beach Horseback Ride - Daytime & Sunset Tours [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.45 4.45 / 5

Reviews

160 reviews
Post a review

Awesome - Would highly recommend

Reviewed by: Jennie , 2015/11/09

The staff (Alex) was sensational! From chatting on our ride I felt like we were family.. Like we knew each other for years... Very inviting, knowledgeable and friendly! The horses are beautiful and sweet and the property you get to ride on is like out of a fairy tale! I will definitely be coming back every time I'm in Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Beach Horseback Ride

Reviewed by: Nev & Tasha, 2015/10/04

The people were friendly, the views were great. Since we are experienced riders it would've been nice to do more than a walk but we were aware it was only walk. For the cost we probably wouldn't pick this type of ride again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Beach Horseback Riding

Reviewed by: Mary, 2015/09/14

Excellent guide, very knowledgeable about horses, Hawaiian scenery, and informative about Hawaiian economy. The ride itself was absolutely goregous and the beauty of the trail and ocean was so beautiful it is difficult to describe. Definately worth the money and a must if you are on the North Shore.
Only suggestion is that the address needs to be be more specific and signs would be nice.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Alyssa M, 2015/04/08

This was our family's first time visiting oahu and the ocean front horse back ride was by far our most favorite and memorable experience. The guides are friendly and knowledgeable and the horses are very well cared for (my horse Ike is a retired polo pony). We even had the pleasure of a hawaiian pig named 'wilma' that thinks she's a horse escort our ride. We went on the sunset tour and the landscape is unlike anywhere I have ever seen, so peaceful and breathtaking. Would highly recommend this activity to other families, friends and couples!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Heidi and Sarah, 2015/04/06

My sister and I have some experince riding horses and were very excited after booking this excursion. When we arrived, it was clear that the horses were well taken care of. The guides, Sarah and Gina, were amazing!! They were very alert and attentive to those who had never ridden before, were informative about the island, answered all of our questions and they were sure to get us to the sunset view in time. Safety was a first priority and Sarah and Gina were very aware of taking great pictures of all of us. The only suggestion I have is that booking this excursion requires a car. We took the bus to the last stop on the route then had to walk three miles to the polo club which was fine on the way in but we had to hitch a ride on the way back because it was after dark and we were not comfortable walking back to the bus stop.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your kind feedback! We are delighted to hear that had a great experience. Apologies for having to take the bus...we are in the country and there's not much public transportation by us. We usually recommend renting a car and making a day of it on the north shore. Just glad you made it back safe.

All the best,
Amanda

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't call this riding on the beach

Reviewed by: Meris, 2015/04/05

Our guides were great, they were Sarah and a lovely red head from CO, I don't remember her name.
I have always wanted to ride a horse on, on, a beach, not near one, not within view of, on a beach. Splashing in the water. This ride was not on a beach and should not be advertised as such.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Meris,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your tour guides and our apologies you were so disappointed about not being able to go in the water with your horse. It is illegal in the state of Hawaii to take livestock of any kind in the ocean so we go as close as we legally can to the water. I can assure you that we do take the horses on the sand /beach so you were not mislead.

All the best,
Amanda

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Life time of memories

Reviewed by: Jeri Lyn castillo, 2014/11/16

MAXX
My husband and I were so pleased
What a Wondrful young lady so nice and very informative
Made are ride on the beach so relaxing very lovely
THE BEST
THANKS AGAIN
JERI LYN & Dean Castillo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Mike and Bri, 2014/09/23

We went on the sunset private ride and it was amazing. My fiance and I would definitely go back here next time we're on Oahu. Our guide was very chill and the horses were gentle. The view was amazing at sunset and besides my horse stopping to eat all the bushes (that was my fault for not taking charge) everything went smoothly. 10 out of 10 would do again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Riding on the North Shore

Reviewed by: Amy Z, 2014/09/19

Really enjoyed our scenic ride along the beautiful beach of the North Shore! Had a friendly, knowledgeable instructor who made the ride fun with interesting local facts. Would definitely do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride

Reviewed by: Arizona gal, 2014/09/04

Beautiful scenery.... Friendly courteous guides..too short... Would have liked to be on the beach more!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Andi, 2014/07/14

We had family visiting from the mainland, so we went for a ride along the beach and had an absolutely fabulous time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome fun!!!!

Reviewed by: Anna, 2014/07/05

We chose this ride/trail to see a different side to the North Shore (in comparison to Turtle Bay) AND we'd heard great things about the tour guides and horses - we weren't let down - it was GREAT FUN and we LOVED IT!!!! Highly recommend...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Ride

Reviewed by: Turquoise-Pegasus, 2014/07/05

Great and relaxing ride near the ocean. Lovely guide. We would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Riding on the North Shore

Reviewed by: Petals4Zuzu, 2014/04/07

Trail riding for the perfect amount of time. The horses were magnificent athletes and very well mannered. More trail than beach. We could have done without the trailblazing through prickers. We could see the ocean the whole time though and saw whales breaching in the distance.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I can check this off my bucket list!

Reviewed by: Barbara, 2014/03/31

Yassi our guide was excellent and so much fun, this was a gift from my friend Kathy for my 50th birthday! I've always wanted to do a horseback ride on the beach, & San Diego really didn't have any options, so when we planned our trip to Oahu we had to do this! We googled horse back riding on the beach & picked this one immediately. The ride was relaxing and so pretty, we rode polo ponies and they were beautiful and matched perfectly with us, mine was named Chaser! can't wait to come back & do it again! Aloha & Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Couples horse backriding on North Shore

Reviewed by: anonymous, 2014/03/03

We both are experience riders so it was a little tame for us. All you do is get to walk the horses. But it was a beautiful relaxing ride. You dont get to ride right on the beach, but more on the edge of the sand duns and through a field of flowers. Our guide was excellent and the horses are very well trained and friendly. They do show you a brief demonstration on how to guide your horse with the reins as they are polo ponies and not your traditional western horses. And as a safety precaution every one wears a helmet. Overall, it was a nice ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Edith, 2014/02/16

The ride was everything I could ask for and more. One of my favourite things I did while in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horses on the beach

Reviewed by: K ReitZ, 2014/02/09

We had a lot of fun riding along the beach and through the woods. Horses were matched with experience of rider and guide was knowledgeable. Great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful horseback trip!!

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2013/12/30

My 15 year daughter wanted to ride a horse for the first time in Hawaii on the beach. Our experience here was fantastic! Our tour guide was patient and very willing to teach her how to ride. The scenery was beautiful!! I would highly recommend this trip!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you Michelle! We are so happy to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your ride. Please keep us in mind if you visit again. Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience - even for a man

Reviewed by: Matt and Daisy, 2013/12/06

This was way better than I was expecting. The tour guide Morgan was a wealth of knowledge and even though she had probably ridden the route a thousand times was enthusiastic and talkative. She gave interesting facts about the area and was a great source of information about the island and local places to visit.

I recommend this tour for anyone (even men). I was apprehensive about going as when I showed up with my girlfriend I was the only guy going riding, but it was great and perfect for a beginner horse rider like myself.

The trail is a nice mix of beach and country. A great way to get up close and personal with the hawaiian landscape.

I would recommend this to everyone who is considering it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: Oleb, 2013/09/26

Loved loved loved it. Had a great day and the beach is beautiful there. The sunset was amazing

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One Of A Kind Experience!

Reviewed by: MR1977, 2013/09/10

I can't recommend a better way to capture the essence of Hawaii than on this beach trail ride. The scenery is beautiful, relaxing and the overall experience made our trip that much more memorable. We saw sea turtles and even caught a glimpse of an endangered Hawaiian Monk Seal. The horses are very well trained polo ponies that do trail rides in their spare time. ...just another reason that makes this ride unique. The guides are very friendly and knowledgeable. we will be back!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Ride

Reviewed by: BZR30S, 2013/08/23

It was a blast! We had a great time and the location was amazing for our sunset ride! Our guides were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely beautiful!

Reviewed by: R Garcia, 2013/07/01

This was my first time ever riding a horse and they made me feel very comfortable. The views were amazing and Cassie was a fabulous guide! My husband and I decided to do this ride the night before our vow renewal and it gave us some beautiful memories to look back on! We would definitely recommend this ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Walking

Reviewed by: Mike, 2013/05/27

While the scenery was excellent and the tour guides very hospitable, it was hard to call this a horseback "riding" tour. We walked the horses on a predefined trail, and while I understand the owner's concerns about the health of his/her animals and the variable level of riding experience of the participants, there should have been a chance to run, gallop, or at least trot on the animals to call it riding.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha, Thank you for your feedback. Due to our strick insurance policy we cannot allow riders to trot or canter on the beach/trail. We do offer an advanced ride for our clients with previous riding experience that are looking to trot and canter on our polo field after the trail ride. I'm sorry if your expectations were not met, we are a small family run business that strives to provide a unique and memorable experience for all of our clients. We hope that you will keep us in mind for future rides.

Again many thanks for your time and business.

Sincerely,
Amanda

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!!

Reviewed by: Kuu, 2012/11/20

My family and I had a wonderful horseback riding experience. We have been on many trail rides and this was by far the best. The horses were not your everyday trail horse, they were healthy and well taken care of. The staff was very personable and professional. I highly recommend the Hawaii Polo Norths Shore Beach Horseback Riding!! You definitely get what you pay for!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

hawaii horseback riding

Reviewed by: meobbo, 2012/10/05

Never rode horses before and staff handled us perfectly. Probably not as fun for experienced riders. Fun ride on the beach. Horses are active polo ponies and are magnificent animals.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horse Back Riding

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/09/15

Best experience ever!! We had a great tour guide who took some great pictures of us. Only place i found where you can walk the horses in the water. Best experience especially for our honeymoon. Totally worth the price!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

President, ISMAC

Reviewed by: Marty Kuehnert, 2012/09/14

Thank you very much. We will come again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome ride!

Reviewed by: Amber, 2012/08/14

I was very impressed with how friendly the staff was and also the horses. Horses were very well behaved and such a joy to ride. I reccomend this ride to everyone that enjoys horses and loves the beach. Breathtaking views of the ocean and riding my horse in the sand was such a dream come true. Thankyou so much to the staff at Polo North Shore Beach.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories