Private Romantic Horseback Riding Tour with Picnic Lunch at Gunstock Ranch reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Private Romantic Horseback Riding Tour with Picnic Lunch at Gunstock Ranch

Overall Rating

4.68 4.68 / 5

Reviews

152 reviews
Post a review

Breathtaking Horseback Riding Fun!

Reviewed by: Zhou Zhang, 2018/04/06

My son and I just did the 90 minute scenic tour. It was his first time and it was absolutely fantastic! The whole trail was very smooth and the view was breathtaking like no other. Our wranglers were very knowledgeable about the trail and very attentive. My son who is 8 absolutely enjoyed the ride and had no problem riding this trail. Definitely a ‘must activity’ at Gunstock Ranch!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the wonderful review, and pictures! We appreciate you taking taking the time to share your experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful staff, beautiful area, and well cared for horses!

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2017/12/06

This is a review by an advanced rider, 1 intermediate and 2 beginners. First the drive from the west of the island takes about an hour to an hour and a half, but it's just beautiful. Our tour was in December and scheduled for 9am as a 1 hour walking tour. We arrived a bit early due to traffic being light. When we arrived, the staff greeted us and explained that they will need to grab the horses and tack up so we could wait by the picnic tables and the bathrooms were behind us. We had no problem waiting and a sweet dog named Sadie came to play fetch with us. It started to rain a bit once the horses were ready, we hadn't brought jackets but it wasn't very cold and it ended fairly quick. The guide asked our experience and explained how to ride to all of us and then began matching horses to people. I think she did an absolutely fabulous job. The tour started and each pair went along nicely and the guide was very informative about the ranch, landscape, and area. She was very friendly. The terrain and landscapes were just beautiful. Green everywhere, big green mountains with billowing clouds draping down them. Each rider enjoyed it, the horses kept the beginners so safe, and mine listened to my light cues well. The guide told us the trails run all over the ranch, so they don't always go on the same trails, this is what makes it great to me. You don't feel like you're on just another head to tail pony ride. It felt personal, it was beautiful, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. All in all, 10 out of 10! I recommend anyone looking for a horseback riding ride in oahu to here, get the morning tour, and relax in north shore afterwards. (great food is at any food truck)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Quiet ride through the backwoods

Reviewed by: cwy, 2017/11/27

I went on this activity with a friend and we took the 55 bus from Waikiki to North Shore. It was a long ride (about 2.5 hours) but the bus literally runs along the shoreline so it the scenery was very nice. You can tell the bus operator that you want to get off at Gunstock Ranch and they'll holler to let you know when they've reached the appropriate stop. A note for those who are not taking a car to the ranch: It's a bit of a walk from the road! It probably took about 5-7 minutes for us to arrive at the ranch.

Because the bus was a bit late, my friend and I were late to our 10:30AM check-in time. We called ahead to let them know and they were very accommodating. The activity was scheduled for 11AM and they told us to just let them know if we were going to arrive later than 11 since our ride might have to be shortened in that case. Luckily we arrived right at 11. It took just a couple minutes to get us checked in and after a short introduction on how to make the horse go and stop, etc, we were on the horse and ready to go.

Our guide was Hannah and she was very nice and attentive. She made some conversation along the way and was quick to help us out if the horse wasn't cooperating. The rest of our group took a horseback ride along the shoreline but my friend and I chose Gunstock Ranch because my friend is allergic to UV rays. The backwood trail of Gunstock Ranch was perfect for her. It was very quiet and tranquil and you could still see the ocean from afar. For our purposes this ride was absolutely perfect.

My only gripe is that two days later, my bum still hurts! Haha.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you both had a great time. Hopefully we will see you on your next trip here!
Mahalo nui loa,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time ever!

Reviewed by: Shannel, 2017/10/26

I booked this horseback riding tour because my boyfriend has expressed how much he has always wanted to ride a horse. I did a quick search and Veltra had this awesome offer for a 2-for-1 which I found perfect as a surprise for him! I booked it and got confirmation very quickly.
We were coming from Honolulu so the drive took about an hour. Our booking was at 2pm and check-in was at 1:30pm. The early check-in was for the explanation of the liability and consent form while they prepared the horses. There was the two of us plus a small family of three. Helmets are recommended but not required- they are free to use. (If opt to not use a helmet, you must sign a section on the liability form) Around 10 minutes before 2pm, they explain and demonstrate how to ride and take care of our horses. We get on and begin the tour shortly after 2pm!
We got lucky with the weather! When we first arrived, it was grey, cloudy and started to drizzle. By the time we began our horse ride it turned sunny! Leanna was our guide and she is the sweetest person! We were all beginning horseback riders so we went at a good pace. She talked about the range, answered our questions, asked about ourselves, and made sure we were all comfortable and in control of our horses throughout the entire tour. The trail included uphill, downhill, and flat plains. The top view was absolutely stunning. We got to see the beautiful blue ocean in-front of us and the Ko'olau mountains behind us. Leanna even took our photos and they came out amazing. It was so serene, sunny and not too hot because there were cool breezes throughout that hour trail ride.
This is definitely an experience of a lifetime. I am so incredibly happy we got to do this! The views were breathtaking and I will be attaching photos even though the real thing is 1000 times better! We'll be doing it again the next time we get the chance. Thank you so much Leanna and Gunstock Range for a lovely time and thank you Veltra for the great offer!

  • Top view!

  • Through the trees

  • Through the range

  • At the stable

Reply from activity provider

Aloha!
Thank you for your great review. We hope you had a nice time and hope to see you again soon!
Mahalo,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock Ranch Horseback Riding Tour 10/17

Reviewed by: Jason Layton, 2017/10/25

My wife and I were in Hawaii for our honeymoon and wanted to venture out to the north shore of Oahu to get a taste of the landscape out there. I booked a horseback riding tour for our first full day in Oahu, and even though we had to get up early to make it out in time for our ride, it was SO worth it. Everything with the ride and staff at Gunstock ranch was perfect. Finding the ranch was easy and the signs leading to where we needed to go were so clear. We showed up a little early and our tour guide was still grooming and prepping the horses for the day, but she let us wander around and meet some of the horses. She was so kind and informative and did an amazing job leading our ride. She was patient and very clear in her instructions, and even though our ride was only 1 hour I feel like she went above and beyond to pack as much as she could into our hour ride! The service from Gunstock ranch was TOP NOTCH and I would HIGHLY recommend anybody to check it out. Even if the price seems a little high, it was so worth it and I can guarantee you will not regret making the trek out and taking a trail ride with Gunstock ranch. The location / area is so beautiful, we even saw a full and amazing rainbow the morning of our ride. If I could give this company / this ride 6 stars I would! I will definitely come back again next time we are on the island!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha!
Thank you so much for your kind review! We hope you love our ranch as much as we do, and we hope to see you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome day at Gunstock Ranch

Reviewed by: Michele Colletti, 2017/09/04

My husband and I and our 2 kids age 10 and 12 set out from k'Olina area to the ranch. I have to say the drive was amazing. Great views, beach pull off spots, food trucks and we also stopped off at a coffee farm on the way. Once at Gunstock Ranch the staff was super friendly and accommodating. The horses were incredibly trained and easy to ride. The horses were very very very calm and I would trust my 91 year old grandmother could ride them and be just fine. The place was very clean and the horses very well kept after. Hardly any bugs at all, although we did put bug spray on us before hand just incase. I saw beautiful butterflies during the ride on beautiful lush natural trees and bushes. Seriously the views looked like movie sets and later we learned filming was done there in the past. The ride was easy, smooth and very very enjoyable. The scenery was incredible. We rode so close to cows big ones and baby ones. They were very calm and I was happy to know the cattle ranch does not brand their cattle but tag them with numbers. The people at this ranch really do take care of the horses. It's extremely apparent the amazing caring hands these horses are in. You do not need any prior experience at all to do this excursion and I highly highly recommend them over any other ranch in the area. We have done family trail rides before but this one was the best! When we return to Oahu we will be back.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review Michele! We take great pride in the care of our horses and our ranch, we are so glad you had an amazing time! We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Mahalo,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Horseback Riding

Reviewed by: Edwin Foliaco , 2017/08/20

We were in Hawaii for our honeymoon and wanted to do something adventurous so we decided to go to Gunstock Ranch for some horseback riding. The booking was really easy and I received a call an hour later with confirmation of my purchase. Shortly after I received an email with the confirmation details and directions to the ranch. The process went really smooth. The route out to the ranch along highway 83 was absolutely spectacular! It goes right along the ocean coast with gorgeous views and the splashing water literally hits your car as you drive by because your so close. The ranch was very nice, easy to get to with a super friendly staff. There are restrooms which were very clean for being outdoors along with sinks to wash your hands afterwards. Plenty of parking.
They take safety precautions when mounting and unmounting the horses. They recommend that you wear a helmet also but you can sign a waiver if you choose not to. The horses are really friendly and very well trained. The trails are absolutely beautiful as you leave the ranch, enter into the mountain side, through forests, up and down hills, and a view of the ocean off in the distance. You get to see the cattle, and the baby calves as you ride. Leanna was our guide and she was very knowledgeable about the ranch, the area, and the horses. I could see her love for them and she was very friendly and made sure everyone in our group was doing good and having a great time. She recommended many things to do on the island and was very helpful answering any questions we had along the way. We had a great time and recommend Gunstock Ranch to anyone who is looking for a great horseback riding experience!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for your review!
We truly appreciate the great time you had here at our ranch, and we hope to see you soon!

Mahalo nui,
Emily H
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Emily @ Gunstock Ranch

Reviewed by: Joy Barlan, 2017/06/01

Emily was an excellent tour guide! Me and my 2 adult sons went on this activity and had a great time. We would definitely do it again. Thank you Emily for being an awesome tour guide.

  • Birthday memories!!!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha!
Thank you so much for choosing Gunstock Ranch. We are so glad you enjoyed Emily on your ride, we think she is excellent too! We hope you had a great birthday and hope to see you again.

Mahalo,
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended

Reviewed by: Brittany Urmann, 2017/02/07

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The ranch was beautiful and so was the scenery on the ride. Our guide was wonderful and very fun/easy to talk to. This was my first time riding and it was a great experience. I highly recommend this!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantasic beautiful scenery

Reviewed by: MTK, 2017/02/03

I love horses. Zero hands on experience with these beautiful animals but they make me feel so comfortable that they make me look like I've been riding for years! ;) Would go back in a heartbeat!!!

  • Don't I look like I belong?

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun day!!

Reviewed by: Torie, 2016/12/30

What is awesome about Gunstock Ranch is that it is in a very secluded area. The trail is very peaceful and we rode through grassy clearings and lots of cattle. It was a very small and intimate group (myself, my friend and the instructor), which I really liked because on other trails I've been on it involved following a long trail of people on their horses. This time I felt more in control of my horse. The horses are very well trained and know how to follow each other. I've tried to get mine to trot, but since I was on a beginner's trail it wouldn't allow me to do it. Also, the instructor, Garrett (hopefully I spelled his name correctly), was very pleasant and helpful throughout the entire trail.

  • Autograph and Stoney, featuring Torie and Sally

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Torie for taking the time to review your ride and include so many details. Our goal is to keep the rides small so people can enjoy the horses, guide and scenery better. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North shore horse Back

Reviewed by: Eric James elizondo , 2016/11/27

This place at gunstock ranch was amazing the workers there were supportive right off the back. The greeting felt like home, no worries even though we were late due to the place due to traffic the team was very understanding. The 10,000 acre ranch was nice riding cowgirl and McAllen and being followed bullet the donkey was very romanctic. The horses were very easy to ride our tour guide did a good job telling us a little about the ranch what they have to offer and how we can learn a little about HAWAII history there. Me and my wife will most diffently want to come back and do the night dinner I'd enjoy this again prob try the advance racing of horses.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Eric, Mahalo for taking the time to review your ride. We are so happy to hear that you felt at home. How fun that our donkey, Bullet decided to ride along too. We hope you get to get to come back soon both the dinner and advanced rides are fun :) Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Schelton , 2016/10/18

Great experience with people who really love their job. Absolutely wonderfully for couple looking to have a romantic day. Eye opening view of the ocean and coast line. "Lobeable"!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour

Reviewed by: JB12, 2016/09/20

This was a very nice birthday surprise from my wife. I've never gone horseback riding and my wife booked us a family tour and it was GREAT! I was scared at first because I've never rode a horse before, but our Ranglers Tate and Jayden were superb on showing us how to do everything! Tate and Jayden were outstanding. I would definitely ride again with them. They ensured our safety at all times which was a huge plus for me. The ride was amazing, relaxing, beautiful and calming. I could not have asked for a better birthday gift. Not only was the ride great but we all learned some things about horses. Our horses were great also! Def one of the highlights of our trip to Hawaii! We really had an Awesome time!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for taking the time to review your horseback riding experience!!! Happy Birthday! So fun to hear that the whole family got to enjoy a ride. We will be sure to let Tate and Jayden know. Hope to see you again when you come back. Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do with Gunstock Ranch

Reviewed by: Marinesa Baez, 2016/09/18

OMG! I booked this tour for my husband's birthday today. It was simply amazing. Initially he was a little apprehensive, but once we started riding he really enjoyed the ride. Our guide was simply the BEST (Tate) He was very informative and knew so much about the ranch and the horses. He made the ride so much fun! We also enjoyed (Jayden) who was our other guide. We can't wait to go back because we will definitely be coming back here to do another tour. The scene was beautiful although it rained some of our ride we still enjoyed it and had a blast!! They make sure you are comfortable and are enjoying every minute of it. It was our kids first time riding as well. They had so much fun until they would like to get horses themselves now. You CAN'T go to North Shore and not do this activity!

  • Great times!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gorgeous Scenery

Reviewed by: Megan NZ, 2016/08/30

I booked this for my teenage daughter and I and we loved it!
The ranch is gorgeous and the scenery was amazing. The horses are beautiful and well cared for and the staff are patient and really nice.
Would definitely recommend this to anyone. We did the 1 1/2 hour scenic ride which is perfect for beginners and riders with minimal experience.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it so much. Happy to hear you enjoyed your mother / daughter time. We hope to see you again soon.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset supper ride

Reviewed by: Angie Shuler, 2016/04/19

It was an AWSOME adventure!! The guide was excellent!!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed both the ride and the guide. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Lilia

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Love horses

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2016/01/14

My husband, parents and I really enjoyed the sunset dinner ride. The only thing I wish we could have done was gallop or even cantor a bit. If you are a new rider or inexperienced, this is perfect for you. The views were breathtaking and the guide was great. The food was decent, however when we got done we realized we didn't get the corn on the cob or the pie that was advertised in the add. What we did get was steak, shrimp, rice, macaroni salad, fresh fruit and we made smores over the fire. The best was the fruit and the smores. Overall it was really fun and a great experience.

  • View from where we ate.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories