Page 2) Circle Island Tour & Polynesian Cultural Center Full Day Pass Luau Dinner & Show reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Circle Island Tour & Polynesian Cultural Center Full Day Pass Luau Dinner & Show

Overall Rating

4.58 4.58 / 5

Reviews

59 reviews
Post a review

Ha breath of life show

Reviewed by: Steve b, 2016/03/14

The show was really great. I've never seen this show before, I would suggest everyone see it at least once.

  • Polynesian culture center tour

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Steve, Aloha oe!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Some things good, some things not so much

Reviewed by: Brian, 2016/02/22

For starters, the show Ha! Breath of Life is AMAZING! If nothing else, that is worth a visit.

Ok, so the Circle Island Tour - yeah, you circle (most of) the island and see some cool things (briefly), but you can get circle island tours from pretty much everyone and ended up with about 3 total after all of our activities there over our week. The biggest problem with this Circle Island Tour is that it takes TOO LONG! You're going to want ample time to do the tour, but not when that time cuts into your time at the cultural center.

We did the circle island tour and the ambassador package. By the time we finished the tour and go to the center, did all the ambassador check in crap, and got to start seeing the center, we had already lost at least 1.5 hours of the already short time available to visit the various cultures. The group tour and the guide does help you learn some cool things, but it also makes everything take longer. In the end, we went back a second day so that we could see all the things we missed the first day (maybe that's the point - more $$ from the visitors??).

I don't want to lead you to believe the center is poor. On the contrary, we very much enjoyed the center. The luau was meh. The show was GREAT! We just wouldn't recommend the circle island tour (as it was for us) or the ambassador package (unless you want to buy it for the good seats but ditch the tour guide in the park).

Definitely visit the park, definitely see the show. Consider ditching the tour guide in the park, consider doing the circle island tour with another company or on a different day, and if you see a luau anywhere else, consider skipping it here (it wasn't the best luau we attended).

Note, the 3 stars if for the package, not for the center on the whole. The center was great, we just weren't keen on the package we purchased.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo Brian for your wonderful feedback, very happy you were able to take advantage of another day; however sorry that the guide was not a benefit to you and your group. We will address these concerns with our team. Aloha oe!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Dot, 2015/09/12

The tour guide was not that good, spoke in a soft voice and let the passengers talk too much so it was hard to concentrate on what she was saying.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Vacation

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2015/08/04

We had an excellent experience! Will definitely recommend to others

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle Island Tour, Polynesain Cultural Center, dinner & show on Motorcoach/Amb Alii Luau with Guide

Reviewed by: Stella Martin YT Cda, 2015/04/05

Our tour of the island was very enjoyable. Very happy to see the Pineapples growing, and the lay of the land. The guides were prompt and the guide at the Centre, was especially polite. (Congrats to them, too, for indicating they do not except tips.) We visited three villages but I've done these without a guide and on my own, saw all six villages in the time he took us to three. I know time is spent gathering people and passing out leis and explaining procedures, but this did detract from what we could experience. I would suggest that at the Center, folks are given the option to go with the guide or go on their own. The luau and HA - Breath of Life show are phenomenal!! We had half a house for the audience and I was so impressed with the quality of singing and dancing, of the performers, that I started the standing ovation. Those students really deserve our appreciation!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Go for PCC, not the Island Tour

Reviewed by: JDJones, 2015/03/31

The PCC, dinner, luau, and show were fantastic. The Island Tour itself was the sad part. Our driver was late and then we had to rush through all the sites, having barely time for a picture or look before having to reload.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lalit Khullar

Reviewed by: Lalit Khullar, 2015/03/13

Best tour arrangements . Driver was very helpful and conciderate.He did his best to show us around as much as he could. Best service .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian cultural center

Reviewed by: Chuck, 2015/03/05

Enjoyed the bus tour, but it gets you there 2 hours after it opens.
The center itself focuses too much on entertainment and not enough on education. It is run by the Morman education system, so one would think if we are supporting the students we in turn would be educated about the various Polynesian cultures around the pacific.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantabulous

Reviewed by: Fabes, 2014/09/24

Awesome experiemce! The food is no that good! Interesting history

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

100% amazing

Reviewed by: Donald & Amanda, 2014/08/11

This is a must do. Very fun, SOOO much stuff to do. You will not be able to do everything so look through your map and do the stuff you want to do. They do allow you to go back to the park for free for the next 3 days (just don't get to watch the show or eat) to do the other activities if you have time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle Island tour

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2014/06/12

We had a wonderful fun time. We would love to do it again. I was not overly impressed with the food at the Polynesian Cultural Center though.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Gordon Cooper, 2014/05/10

Had a fantastic day and our driver / guide (Jason) was very informative, funny and had an excellent knowledge of the islands history and culture. As a first time visitor to the islands, I would highly recommend this excursion especially the Polynesian
cultural centre as the 'Ha' breath of life show is out of this world and should not be missed !!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Gordon Cooper, 2014/05/10

Had a fantastic day and our driver / guide (Jason) was very informative, funny and had an excellent knowledge of the islands history and culture. As a first time visitor to the islands, I would highly recommend this excursion especially the Polynesian
cultural centre as the 'Ha' breath of life show is out of this world and should not be missed !!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good show, so so food

Reviewed by: Jo Ann Faux, 2014/05/04

The show and grounds were very good but the food was just so- so. Only had a few dishes to choose from, the only good thing was the pork.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The PCC was great, the tour was so-so

Reviewed by: Ultrasonics21, 2014/04/21

The circle island tour seemed rushed and we didn't stop anywhere once we passed the Dole Plantation. We basically cruised passed all the beaches on the north shore. Diamondhead was looked at from the front side but nothing was really brought up about it. The things we saw were nice but I wish we would have had more time exploring them. Once we got to the PCC this were great. The performers were top notch and the show was very educational and entertaining. The food was excellent and non-stop. The half day at the PCC was more than enough to see everything I wanted to see. Once the tour guide picked us up, we heard a little too much about his personal life for the hour plus ride home. My recommendation is if you want to see the entire island for a tour, don't include the PCC as a stop and just do it on another day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian cultural center

Reviewed by: Rowell6045, 2014/03/15

Was very skeptical at first but oh my was I wrong!!!! Circle tour was outstanding the cultural center was an eye opening extravaganza !! Wish there was more time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

circle island tour with prime dining

Reviewed by: Phyllis LaForge, 2014/02/05

excellent. Jason was amazing. His knowledge of the area extensive

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle Island Tour & PCC Luau & show

Reviewed by: TizLV, 2013/08/31

The circle island tour (1 star) was too much a rush, it is literally a drive half way around the island to get to PCC, only a couple stops that barely has time to get off the bus and take photos, and no where states that the famous Hanauma Bay is closed on Tuesday for cleanup.

The PCC operates like the cruise ship, put a lei on you just to have photographer take pictures to sell you later, and then take the lei back. The so called guides in the PCC are students where some of them are not well trained to handle the group; you can do everything by yourself using the schedule of programs.

The Luau was mediocre, no whole pig roasting, just a huge dinning hall with lots of people, eating the buffet, and some show on stage. Sorry, I live in Vegas, this cannot compare.

"HA: Breath of Life" Show definitely 5 star, very well done and great performers, if you are willing to pay high price for shows in Vegas, this one is on par.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau and tour

Reviewed by: Chin Wang, 2013/07/10

The tour guide and tour of the island was outstanding. The show at the Cultural Center was very well done and enjoyable. The food was okay, but not what was expected.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle Island Tour & Polynensian cultural center

Reviewed by: Sergio Delgadillo, 2013/06/30

Nice event! So much to learn!! The day goes by fast with all the fun. They have a lot of activities for all the family. The dinner was awesome, prime rib buffet. Can't wait to go back!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

EXCEPTIONAL!

Reviewed by: Courtney, 2012/06/14

I HIGHLY recommend this tour to all!!!

I took this tour with my family about a year ago, and my brother and I told ourselves we must come back with our friends to enjoy it again!

Our tour guide, Mr. (Insert Several Incredibly Long Names Here) Polamalu was incredible! Personable, hilarious, engaging, knowledgeable...pure awesome-ness!! He made the tour so much fun, and on behalf of my group I'd like to say "MAHALO" to him for his service! Side Note: During the Circle Island Tour, I recommend everyone try Dole Whip Ice Cream at the Dole Plantation stop. It is truly some of the best ice cream I've ever had.

The second leg of our tour included an activity-filled rollick through the Polynesian Culture Center! The Center is so clean, everyone is so accommodating and nice, and the activities were very enjoyable! I loved watching the coconut slicing and juicing presentation! It was so informative...and very funny, I might add! Every student and staff member working there is a physica

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

TOURIST

Reviewed by: MARK, 2012/04/30

THE DRIVER/GUIDE WAS KNOWLEDGEABLE AND KEPT US ENTERTAINING FOR THE MOST PARTS. HE GAVE US CLEAR INSTRUCTIONS AND WAS A GREAT ASSET TO HAVE IN THIS TOUR.

WE COULD HAVE SPENT MORE TIME ON THE ISLAND TOUR INSTEAD OF THE CULTURAL CENTER.

FINALLY THE NIGHT SHOW WAS WELL DONE. SUPRISED TO SEE HOW STUDENTS COULD PUT UP A PROFESSIONAL SHOW LIKE THIS. SOMETIMES I WONDER WHETHER THEY COME HERE TO STUDY FOR A CAREER OR ENTERTAIN THEMSELVES.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

tour guide

Reviewed by: Warren, 2012/04/26

Tour was great and the driver and his narration made it all the better. He should be rewarded - sorry I did not get his name other than, possibly, Mr. Polomalu?

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great way to see the island

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/04/07

This is a great way to see the island. The driver was very knowledgeable, and we visited some beautiful areas. We had about 15 min. at each stop, which was fine, except at the Dole plantation. Honestly, I dont know why they bother. In 15 min we had time to get our ice cream, and that was it. No time to browse the gift shop at all, or browse the grounds at all. Either allow more time at Dole, or skip it altogether. The driver could use a bell of some sort. We often had to wait for people who didnt return when they were supposed to. I dont know if those delays made much difference, we still got to the Polynesian Cultural Center around 1pm, which was plenty of time. The evening show after the luau was fantastic.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very tiring day but a good day

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/09/30

We had a lovely day learnt alot about the island and seeing how the Polynesian lived was very interesting the whole day was very good and we recomend it

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very interesting, time flew

Reviewed by: Lars D, 2011/09/28

The activity lasted 14 hours, but we were never bored and the time seemed to fly by. A great guide/bus driver in Henry, an entertaining samoan, helped greatly.

You get to see many of the famous beaches, mountains and other parts of Oahu, as well as the Dole plant (where we spent so little time that it was almost a waste) and the Polynesian cultural center.

The buffet was OK, as expected, but nothing special. The shows before and after though, were very good. A must see for all visiting Oahu.

Good value for the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

TOP OF THE LIST! Must Do!

Reviewed by: TheHills, 2011/05/28

We had a BALL with Henry (our tour guide) and ALL of the employees we came across was sooooo friendly, funny and quick with jokes! This is a MUST DO! in Hawaii and booking thru Hawaii activities was easy and they call to confirm my pick up time and gave all the details again. From the time we got on the bus it was laughter from Everyone! Polynesian CC was just way beyond our expectations - we could not get enough. By the end of the day we were pooped! If you really want to get your $$'s worth and see Hawaii for what it is...DO THIS TOUR! you will not regret it. (Then again who regret anything in Hawaii?) I say BIG THANKS! to Henry and Hawaii Activities!! Mahalo again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good tour to join for 1 full day

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/12/03

Overall the tour was very good with visits to many points of interest around Honolulu in the morning and then tour the PCC in the afternoon. Dinner was quite nice and the "breath of life" show as wonderful!

However, we wish that the driver would let us know that there would not be any time for lunch once inside the PCC as the activities inside the PCC would be jam packed. The bus driver should gave us 15 to 30 more minutes inside the Dole Plantation Center so that we could get a light lunch before we head off to the PCC.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Do not do this first

Reviewed by: Roy C., 2010/10/26

We took the tour on the first day after arriving and it was too much too soon. I am sure we would have enjoyed it more had we been rested but we were worn out.

The tour does go to all of the spots but you get very little time at any of them and the stop at the Dole Plantation is not long enough to do much of anything.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories