This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Oahu to Big Island Fly-Away Tour - Volcano by Air & Land Adventure

Overall Rating

4.374.37 / 5

Reviews

8 reviews (Post a review)

Great tour for someone who wants to see the volcanoes.

Reviewed by: Ziad, 2019/04/11

The pilot flew the helicopter on top the volcano and turned around it. We were able to see deep inside it. Was a great experience!
Also saw a lot of hot gas from the volcanoes and walked on solidified lava. Great whole-day tour !





Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter was incredible, and saved what was becoming a disappointing day!

Reviewed by: Sam , 2018/09/21

This was the tour we were really excited for to go and see the volcano activity from the recent kileau eruption. It was an early start 3-30 from our hotel. Pick up and flights were well managed (a bit surprised we were flying to Kona airport as helicopter was on the far side of the island). The tour wasn't particularly great from arriving on the big Island at 7-30 we managed just two stops (not counting a McDonald's breakfast and lunch at quite a nice resort) at a coffee plantation and the black sands beach both were worth seeing. However the rest of the time was completely driving and boredom, to get to the other side of the island for a 2-30 helicopter flight from Hilo airport. The save and grace was the helicopter that was fantastic our pilot Daniel was amazing and took as close to the action. Definitely felt sorry for the people who didn't do the helicopter as there wasn't enough to have made this trip worthwhile (some waterfalls and a macadamia tour replaces the helicopter ride). I appreciate not entirely the tours fault as the biggest draw of the big Island is volcano park which was closed due since April. But this did cause a trip that was cobbled together and could have done with a couple more stops or flying to Hilo. However still glad we did the tour to have the chance to see what the big Island had to offer!


  • View of volcano crater from helicopter


  • Sea turtle on black sands beach

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

bad weather, canceled helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Tiwi, 2018/02/23

it could be better, but bad weather caused out helicopter tour be canceled. but the tour provider directly pick us and put us on the land tour. our tour leader and driver, John, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. he share us alot of things about big island. he is indeed a great driver too!


  • nice view

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Gonzo, 2017/12/18

The entire tour was incredible. We saw the active volcano with lava spewing out during the flight. The bus tour guide had lots of interesting stories. One person in our group was on a wheelchair and she enjoyed the entire tour as well. Highly recommended.


  • Active volcano with lava

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Long day but nice day.

Reviewed by: Amanda, 2017/08/09

I really loved the helicopter tour over Kilauea! The staff at blue Hawaiian were really helpful and our pilot Jeremy was really lovely. The flight went really quickly as there was just so much to see, we even got to see some lava in a crater. It's definitely not big pools of flowing lava on the surface but that would depend on your luck and Mother Nature. Loved it all the same. I found the coach part of this tour a bit too long, as did everyone on the tour. Honestly if it was 2hrs shorter it would have been more enjoyable.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter trip

Reviewed by: Greg&AnnetteRob&Jean, 2017/07/03

Amazing day...a long day! But worth every hour we were up! Would thoroughly recommend! Our tour guide was super knowledgeable with a great sense of humor.
And just a wee tip...we found it better to buy lunch once at the restaurant rather than pre book.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Katie & Ben, 2017/05/14

We had a blast! Beautiful views and the only way to really see the lava inside the volcano! I'm so glad we did the helicopter tour instead of the one without!








Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best part of trip

Reviewed by: LeAnne, 2016/06/25

My husband decided we needed an excursion to the big Island to see the volcano. Did a helicopter tour and day trip. Everything was organized, convenient and no stress. Thank you.


  • Peering into the volcano

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories