This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Surf N Sea North Shore Surfing Lessons (from Haleiwa)

Overall Rating

4.574.57 / 5

Reviews

7 reviews (Post a review)

A great first-time surfing experience.

Reviewed by: Beth, 2018/08/14

Don't expect to be on a super-strict schedule gearing up and heading for the beach, but don't worry... you'll stay out long enough to get lots of chances to catch waves for yourself and get really exhausted. Karen was knowledgeable, patient, and funny. The loaner rash-guards were a life saver. Special note for sun-starved visitors: be sure to sunscreen your backside aggressively!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kids absolutely loved it!

Reviewed by: Jen, 2015/07/25

Karen was great and patient and spent a great deal of time with the kids. The wait at the surf shop was a little lengthy, but well worth it at the end. It was amazing to see my kids, 15 & 16, up on the boards on their first tries. Would definitely recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun!!! We actually got up on the board!

Reviewed by: Francesca, 2015/06/04

I've always wanted to learn how to surf so while in our honeymoon we took the opportunity to take a lesson. Karen was great took us to a good spot, didn't waste a lot of time on land and we got to it. My husband and I even were able to actually stand up on our boards and ride some waves.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience, Awesome teacher!

Reviewed by: Justin Daniels, 2015/05/21

This was a very enjoyable experience! I had never surfed before in my life, and in just one short afternoon, I was able to get up on a few waves. My teacher was a pro, and also made it fun for me. She clearly knew what she was doing, and it felt both challenging and relaxing. If I got the chance I would definitely work with her again, and would absolutely suggest this to a friend.




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing! Great instructor, I am hooked!!

Reviewed by: Katie Tonello, 2013/09/05

The only thing I HAD to do while in Hawaii was take a surf lesson, and I am SO glad I did! My two friends and I took lessons from Tim. He was so great! He was encouraging, funny, and very knowledgable about beginners. I caught a couple waves on my first few tries. Amazing. He was right when he said, "once you catch a wave, you're hooked." We had such a great time surfing and couldn't have felt any safer. All of the employees we dealt with at Surf N Sea were incredibly nice and helpful. They were so friendly, and remembered us every time we stopped in. It was, by far, my favorite memory from my 10 day vacation. I cannot wait to go again! Thank you, Tim!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/09/01
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No instruction .!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/12/28

The Surf instructor did not explain anything , there was no tips or suggestions outside the water. Instructor complained of being injured and hence did not perform as well. Overall it was not an activity for a a beginner without experience .

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First Time Surfer

Reviewed by: J Lally, 2009/11/19

I wanted to try surfing for my 50th birthday. What great fun!! I loved the town, the beach, and T.G. was a patient instructor. Wonderful Hawaii experience. Would recommend to anyone. Even people like me, with no balance or coordination. And your whole experience is photographed for you!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories