This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Dolphin Star by Paradise Cruise - Dolphin Watch Tour & Snorkeling Experience

Seen Dolphins & a Turtle

Reviewed by: Nunia T., 2018/06/09

I've always heard about this cruise and how great the food was & sure did they not disappoint. My friend and I went on the Afternoon Lunch and snorkel cruise. We were picked up at the Sheraton Waikiki and the drive over to Waianae Harbor was about 70 minutes long however the bus guide was very informative and pleasant. Upon arriving we board the Dolphin Star vessel that has a top and lower deck. Lunch was build your own burger and the sides were taro chips, brownies and fruits you can chose out the basket. It was so delicious!!! As for the cruise and snorkel, we got to see so much dolphins along the way and even a turtle on our way back. My friend did the snorkel part and she got to see so much fishes. It was such a wonderful day.





Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun tour!

Reviewed by: Dianna, 2018/06/09

I had a great time at the morning dolphin watch. I got a little seasick during the tour but it wasn't too bad. I prepared some ginger tea beforehand and sipped it whenever I felt queasy. Everyone was so happy when dolphins started appearing near the boat. It is such a big difference seeing wild dolphins in their natural habitat than in captivity. We got to see 3 types of dolphins at different points throughout the tour.

Lunch was delicious too. Freshly grilled BBQ burger with all the fixings! The boat was a little cramped but overall, I had a great time. It's a great way to see pods of adorable dolphins at home in the sea!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great snorkel trip for families!

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/06/08

The Waianae coastline is soooo beautiful! Best part? We saw lots of dolphins :) All tours from Paradise Cruises are top quality. The boat is clean, spacious and it has two decks and you can choose where you wanna seat. The crew is friendly and professional and the food is delicious. I love the idea that you can make your own burger, there was a buffet with a lot of of fresh ingredients.. two thumbs up!

The snorkel is great for beginners, there are a lot of staff in the water watching out for us and they even provide a rope to hold on if you don’t feel too comfortable swimming. The water on the west side is super clear and ridiculously blue, there were so many tropical fishes... I felt like I swimming inside a aquarium.

The snorkel trip and dolphin watch was a lot of fun. I think this tour is great for families with kids, they even have a kids program aboard to keep the little one entertained the entire cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One unforgettable experience, definitely recommended for everyone visiting Oahu!

Reviewed by: Paul, 2018/06/04

We went for a 7 day holiday in Oahu, Hawaii and we were recommended by almost all places to visit this wonderful boat excursion! Boy we where we glad we did!

The cruise started with a short introduction of what we were going to be doing and what we were going to be seeing and the boat left the dock spot on at 12:00.

Shortly setting sail we were asked to go below deck where we were treated with a wonderful presentation of hamburger buns, topping, salad and chips. One of the employees had already fired up the grill to get the hamburgers done and ready.

We were given enough time to eat our hamburger and to enjoy the view before they called us up front to take a look at the dolphins.

Arriving on deck at the front we were showcased a large pod of dolphins. They stayed close to the boat for us to take a good look. The dolphins where very friendly and weren’t afraid of the boat at all. Some of them even bowed to make the experience even better.

Before arriving on our snorkeling spot we were given instructions about how to use the swim glasses and the fins. We were a little hesitant about the cold water but the sun was really strong so it evened out the temperature.

The snorkeling exercise started with us free roaming a little bit. The water was very clear and we were able to see all kinds of beautiful fishes and many other weird sea creatures. The instructor asked us to follow her in a line so she could bring us to other spots to see more of the ocean. She went down a couple of times to get us some weird things from the bottom and would bring them up so we could get a better look.

It didn’t take a long time before everyone was back on board and they started to serve us with a complimentary drink. exhausted by the snorkeling we just laid a bit enjoyed the sun while the boat set sail back to shore.

This trip was amazing, the amazing Oahu scenery alone was worth the experience! Recommend for everyone visiting this wonderful island.


  • enjoying the ride


  • Transparent water with a pod of dolfins


  • Another shot of the pod of dolfins


  • Beautifull scenario


  • delicious hamburger


  • saying goodbye to the little one


  • getting ready for snorkling

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Nahoko, 2017/10/26

My husband and I really enjoyed the activity of "Wild Dolphin Watch Cruise".
This was first time to watch the wild dolphin at cruise, both of us. When we went to dolphin watching, unfortunately it was not good weather, sometimes in hard rain and wind.
However we could watch a lot of wild dolphins after ship departures around 30-40 minutes.

During enjoyed the dolphin watching, It was coming up tasty BBQ smells from cabin.
The dolphins star departures around 9:30, and lunch started at 10:30.

Before started lunch, weather was getting bad and Ship was rolling hardly.
And I got a seasick, but crew found my bad condition quickly, and she gave to bring ice bag and advice me how to recover seasick.
My condition was not recover until back to land territory.
It was hard to eat lunch burger which smells very nice.

This activity was awesome, and we was very enjoyed !! Thank you!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun!!

Reviewed by: NYK, 2017/09/08

Worth joining if you're interested in sea animals and/or the landscapes of Oahu. We were able to see a school of dolphins (around 4-5 on the day we joined), and one of them came close to the boat that we could recognize its figure. Weren't able to see them jumping, as what we imagine from the movies (it's wildlife so depends on your luck). The scenary from the sea was also beautiful!

Some tips for those considering joining the activity:
・Air-con on the bus from Waikiki to the harbor may get cold, so better to have something to wear on top.
・There were medicine for motion sickness on the boat (my wife and I didn't take it, and both got sick; better to take if not confident).
・The hamburgers were good, and patties fresh from the grill. We took the morning tour, and the serving time was from around 10:30 AM. Better not to have a big breakfast if you're keen to try!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful time!!

Reviewed by: A.F, 2017/07/19

Thank you for a great time!
We could meet not only dolphins but also turtles a few times.My sons were very excited and looked happy to see dolphins.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Beautiful Day in West Oahu!

Reviewed by: MeSoHappy, 2017/06/22

The bus was on time to the Aloha Landing at the Sheraton and the driver was very nice. We got to the dock safely in Waianae after nearly an hour on the road. It was well worth the drive, because the weather was perfect and the waters were fairly calm for the late morning hours. The dolphins are easy to spot spinning and jumping in the air.

Lunchtime was filling, with a grilled burger and some veggies.

The snorkel was refreshing and it felt like I got a little exercise following around the guide. We saw some pretty fishes and I even got to hold a sea urchin! All in all a good trip and well worth the trek outside of Waikiki.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip....

Reviewed by: Yarwoods, 2017/04/24

This was a great trip from start to finish...the boat crew was very friendly and knowledgeable. They found the dolphins and kept pointing them out as they moved. When we moved on to the snorkeling area, they made sure we were all safe and having fun. Oh, and the food was great!!! Highly recommended!!!




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun cruise

Reviewed by: Joy, 2016/08/28

There were enough staffs to assist passengers. They do their best to entertain us and make sure we have fun. Lunch was good, and snorkeling was enjoyable. We saw dolphins pretty close and some turtles about 60 feet away. I recommend this cruise to anyone even to families with small children.


  • Snorkeling for the first time



  • Yummy lunch

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Choppy sea but great trip

Reviewed by: Dsouza family , 2016/04/03

Unfortunately the sea was too choppy to snorkel, but the crew made sure we saw plenty of dolphins! We were able to see a whale, some tiger sharks and a ton of dolphins (in seperate areas of course). The crew was friendly, entertaining and educating.


  • Pre voyage selfie

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our Cruise was Incredible!

Reviewed by: Marilee, 2015/12/27

We attended the morning Dolphin watch cruise aboard the Dolphin Star, and had an amazing experience. The dolphins were swimming, jumping, and spinning right off the side of our boat. I didn't expect to see so many, or be that close. We also had two close encounters with Humpback whales. The crew was friendly, extremely knowledgeable, and seemed to really want us to have a great experience. Well done!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin watch and snorkeling tour

Reviewed by: Kylie, 2015/12/23

We had a fantastic day, extremely well organized, very friendly staff, customer service was wonderful. Our snorkeling tour guide was great, always making sure everyone was ok, and not going too fast. We saw lots a slots of dolphins and even whales too. Was definitely a highlight only our holiday

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: Alicia S., 2015/08/19

I wanted my son to experience the Dolphins for the first time, he wasn't disappointed! My parents were delighted as well, the crew was excellent, friendly and informative. We got to see the Hawaii spinning dolphins, and they are beautiful. We also had the meals which is a good option if you don't get seasick!



Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not worth it

Reviewed by: Maria, 2015/07/25

I recommend the dolphin swim than the snorkel tour. Food was ok but the snorkel itself was terrible. There was not much to see at the snorkel point, worst of all my 6 year old got held on to in the water by a chinese who probably couldn't swim and panicked even with a life vest on so I had to literary pull him off my boy by pushing his face so that my son wouldn't drown. If I hadn't realized this was happening he would of, and none of the staff did. We had to hold a line first when we got into the water and it was crowded and dangerous because everyone stuck together kicking each other trying to swim and the water was bouncy.
You can see more fish and turtles swimming at the shores, no need to pay so much for so little and for a dangerous experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended!

Reviewed by: The Peffley Family, 2015/05/02

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. We saw dolphins, tons of fish, star fish and three sea turtles on our excursion. The staff were knowledgable, friendly and fun. They were also very compassionate to those on the trip who got a little sea sick. They made you feel special and we would definitely go with them on another trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphins, whales, turtles, and flying fish

Reviewed by: Samuel Eells, 2015/03/24

We saw them all. Staff was pleasant and courteous. We had a great time.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome time

Reviewed by: Abhijit, 2015/01/10

We drove to the venue and were late but the crew members were very gracious and waited for us. The food was great and everyone was knowledgeable and very very helpful. Snorkelling was so much fun and we saw dolphins and whales. Thanks to all the crew members we had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WONDERFUL TIME

Reviewed by: margarita, 2014/07/30

WE REALLY ENJOYED THE TOURS, SAW MANY DOLPHINS AND THE CREW WERE PLEASANT AND INFORMATIVE, RECOMMENDED FOR ALL

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Tour

Reviewed by: Detdet26, 2014/07/18

This was a fantastic tour. We're here for a tournament so I didn't want to do anything that would wear my son out, but I wanted a fun experience for us. Seeing the dolphins was a great experience and the tour guides were great.


  • Spinner dolphins


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing

Reviewed by: Chris, 2014/05/27

Got to see wild dolphins having fun in their natural habitat, as well as a manta ray and several flying fish. Then we sailed up the west coast to the corner of the north shore. BBQ was great as well, and I wish I would've done the snorkeling!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely fabulous

Reviewed by: Phil, 2014/05/11

We had a fantastic time on this cruise. We managed to see 2 dozen plus dolphins swimming around the boat and jumping out of the water. The snorkeling was great as well, so many different things to see. The icing was when we saw a female whale and her calf. The captain changed course an took us closer where I got some fab pictures. The crew were a delight, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. Will definitely go again when we return.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Kathryn Patten, 2014/02/01

The staff on the Dolphin Star shared their knowledge of the dolphins; that was great! Thanks.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Watch & Snorkel

Reviewed by: TMJ, 2014/01/12

Guides were good. Instruction for snorkeling was alright. Personally didn't like the life jackets they supplied, they weren't very buoyant. However I don't think anyone is going to drown. Food was pretty good for a burger.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Watch & Snorkel BBQ Cruise

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2013/12/22

Awesome! The Crew was so informative, accommodating, and fun. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing service and experience!

Reviewed by: Rainny Paradise, 2013/12/17

Service was very nice from bus pick up until then drop off. Every staff is very friendly and take good care of customers. Dolphin watch was amazing we saw group of 20-30 dolphins jumping near the boat. The boat is also very nice, they also provide all natural pills for motion sickness. It's worth every penny :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphins!

Reviewed by: Sandy, 2013/06/06

We saw soooooo many dolphins! My friends and I got picked up in Waikiki and taken to another part of the island where the dolphins always are. The bus ride out is great because you can enjoy the different types of scenery around the island.

The boat was very open, giving everyone a chance to see the dolphins and would stop when we saw the dolphins, allowing people to try to get pictures (I somehow couldn't get good ones!). We had a delicious lunch before heading back to the harbor. The people who were snorkeling were headed back out, and since it was so sunny and I was jealous! A great time and a unique opportunity to see these awesome creatures in the wild!




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

mrs

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/13

Had a great time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great service

Reviewed by: Peepeeth, 2012/07/25

My family joined Oahu Wild Dolphin Watch and Snorkel Tour for summer 2012 and we all have great time. Staffs are so friendly. Great lunch on the boat. We saw dolphins and lot of fishes during snorkeling. I recommend this tour to my family and friends.



Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous time!

Reviewed by: Ash L, 2012/06/09

This was my first trip snorkeling in Hawai'i and I had so much fun!
The dolphin watch was amazing, we saw lot of them. They were so beautiful!
Once we got out to the snorkeling I didn't want to leave the water. We saw sea turtles, our guide pointed out sea stars, and the water was clean and clear!
All the staff on the boat were very knowledgable and helpful. They made me feel quite safe.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Oahu Categories