Wild Dolphin Watch Cruise & Snorkel Adventures (from Waianae Harbor)

Fun!!

Reviewed by: NYK, 2017/09/08

Worth joining if you're interested in sea animals and/or the landscapes of Oahu. We were able to see a school of dolphins (around 4-5 on the day we joined), and one of them came close to the boat that we could recognize its figure. Weren't able to see them jumping, as what we imagine from the movies (it's wildlife so depends on your luck). The scenary from the sea was also beautiful!

Some tips for those considering joining the activity:
・Air-con on the bus from Waikiki to the harbor may get cold, so better to have something to wear on top.
・There were medicine for motion sickness on the boat (my wife and I didn't take it, and both got sick; better to take if not confident).
・The hamburgers were good, and patties fresh from the grill. We took the morning tour, and the serving time was from around 10:30 AM. Better not to have a big breakfast if you're keen to try!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful time!!

Reviewed by: A.F, 2017/07/19

Thank you for a great time!
We could meet not only dolphins but also turtles a few times.My sons were very excited and looked happy to see dolphins.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Beautiful Day in West Oahu!

Reviewed by: MeSoHappy, 2017/06/22

The bus was on time to the Aloha Landing at the Sheraton and the driver was very nice. We got to the dock safely in Waianae after nearly an hour on the road. It was well worth the drive, because the weather was perfect and the waters were fairly calm for the late morning hours. The dolphins are easy to spot spinning and jumping in the air.

Lunchtime was filling, with a grilled burger and some veggies.

The snorkel was refreshing and it felt like I got a little exercise following around the guide. We saw some pretty fishes and I even got to hold a sea urchin! All in all a good trip and well worth the trek outside of Waikiki.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip....

Reviewed by: Yarwoods, 2017/04/24

This was a great trip from start to finish...the boat crew was very friendly and knowledgeable. They found the dolphins and kept pointing them out as they moved. When we moved on to the snorkeling area, they made sure we were all safe and having fun. Oh, and the food was great!!! Highly recommended!!!




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun cruise

Reviewed by: Joy, 2016/08/28

There were enough staffs to assist passengers. They do their best to entertain us and make sure we have fun. Lunch was good, and snorkeling was enjoyable. We saw dolphins pretty close and some turtles about 60 feet away. I recommend this cruise to anyone even to families with small children.


  • Snorkeling for the first time



  • Yummy lunch

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Choppy sea but great trip

Reviewed by: Dsouza family , 2016/04/03

Unfortunately the sea was too choppy to snorkel, but the crew made sure we saw plenty of dolphins! We were able to see a whale, some tiger sharks and a ton of dolphins (in seperate areas of course). The crew was friendly, entertaining and educating.


  • Pre voyage selfie

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our Cruise was Incredible!

Reviewed by: Marilee, 2015/12/27

We attended the morning Dolphin watch cruise aboard the Dolphin Star, and had an amazing experience. The dolphins were swimming, jumping, and spinning right off the side of our boat. I didn't expect to see so many, or be that close. We also had two close encounters with Humpback whales. The crew was friendly, extremely knowledgeable, and seemed to really want us to have a great experience. Well done!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin watch and snorkeling tour

Reviewed by: Kylie, 2015/12/23

We had a fantastic day, extremely well organized, very friendly staff, customer service was wonderful. Our snorkeling tour guide was great, always making sure everyone was ok, and not going too fast. We saw lots a slots of dolphins and even whales too. Was definitely a highlight only our holiday

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!

Reviewed by: Alicia S., 2015/08/19

I wanted my son to experience the Dolphins for the first time, he wasn't disappointed! My parents were delighted as well, the crew was excellent, friendly and informative. We got to see the Hawaii spinning dolphins, and they are beautiful. We also had the meals which is a good option if you don't get seasick!



Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not worth it

Reviewed by: Maria, 2015/07/25

I recommend the dolphin swim than the snorkel tour. Food was ok but the snorkel itself was terrible. There was not much to see at the snorkel point, worst of all my 6 year old got held on to in the water by a chinese who probably couldn't swim and panicked even with a life vest on so I had to literary pull him off my boy by pushing his face so that my son wouldn't drown. If I hadn't realized this was happening he would of, and none of the staff did. We had to hold a line first when we got into the water and it was crowded and dangerous because everyone stuck together kicking each other trying to swim and the water was bouncy.
You can see more fish and turtles swimming at the shores, no need to pay so much for so little and for a dangerous experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended!

Reviewed by: The Peffley Family, 2015/05/02

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. We saw dolphins, tons of fish, star fish and three sea turtles on our excursion. The staff were knowledgable, friendly and fun. They were also very compassionate to those on the trip who got a little sea sick. They made you feel special and we would definitely go with them on another trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphins, whales, turtles, and flying fish

Reviewed by: Samuel Eells, 2015/03/24

We saw them all. Staff was pleasant and courteous. We had a great time.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome time

Reviewed by: Abhijit, 2015/01/10

We drove to the venue and were late but the crew members were very gracious and waited for us. The food was great and everyone was knowledgeable and very very helpful. Snorkelling was so much fun and we saw dolphins and whales. Thanks to all the crew members we had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WONDERFUL TIME

Reviewed by: margarita, 2014/07/30

WE REALLY ENJOYED THE TOURS, SAW MANY DOLPHINS AND THE CREW WERE PLEASANT AND INFORMATIVE, RECOMMENDED FOR ALL

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Tour

Reviewed by: Detdet26, 2014/07/18

This was a fantastic tour. We're here for a tournament so I didn't want to do anything that would wear my son out, but I wanted a fun experience for us. Seeing the dolphins was a great experience and the tour guides were great.


  • Spinner dolphins


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing

Reviewed by: Chris, 2014/05/27

Got to see wild dolphins having fun in their natural habitat, as well as a manta ray and several flying fish. Then we sailed up the west coast to the corner of the north shore. BBQ was great as well, and I wish I would've done the snorkeling!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely fabulous

Reviewed by: Phil, 2014/05/11

We had a fantastic time on this cruise. We managed to see 2 dozen plus dolphins swimming around the boat and jumping out of the water. The snorkeling was great as well, so many different things to see. The icing was when we saw a female whale and her calf. The captain changed course an took us closer where I got some fab pictures. The crew were a delight, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. Will definitely go again when we return.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Kathryn Patten, 2014/02/01

The staff on the Dolphin Star shared their knowledge of the dolphins; that was great! Thanks.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Watch & Snorkel

Reviewed by: TMJ, 2014/01/12

Guides were good. Instruction for snorkeling was alright. Personally didn't like the life jackets they supplied, they weren't very buoyant. However I don't think anyone is going to drown. Food was pretty good for a burger.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Watch & Snorkel BBQ Cruise

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2013/12/22

Awesome! The Crew was so informative, accommodating, and fun. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing service and experience!

Reviewed by: Rainny Paradise, 2013/12/17

Service was very nice from bus pick up until then drop off. Every staff is very friendly and take good care of customers. Dolphin watch was amazing we saw group of 20-30 dolphins jumping near the boat. The boat is also very nice, they also provide all natural pills for motion sickness. It's worth every penny :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphins!

Reviewed by: Sandy, 2013/06/06

We saw soooooo many dolphins! My friends and I got picked up in Waikiki and taken to another part of the island where the dolphins always are. The bus ride out is great because you can enjoy the different types of scenery around the island.

The boat was very open, giving everyone a chance to see the dolphins and would stop when we saw the dolphins, allowing people to try to get pictures (I somehow couldn't get good ones!). We had a delicious lunch before heading back to the harbor. The people who were snorkeling were headed back out, and since it was so sunny and I was jealous! A great time and a unique opportunity to see these awesome creatures in the wild!




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

mrs

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/13

Had a great time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great service

Reviewed by: Peepeeth, 2012/07/25

My family joined Oahu Wild Dolphin Watch and Snorkel Tour for summer 2012 and we all have great time. Staffs are so friendly. Great lunch on the boat. We saw dolphins and lot of fishes during snorkeling. I recommend this tour to my family and friends.



Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous time!

Reviewed by: Ash L, 2012/06/09

This was my first trip snorkeling in Hawai'i and I had so much fun!
The dolphin watch was amazing, we saw lot of them. They were so beautiful!
Once we got out to the snorkeling I didn't want to leave the water. We saw sea turtles, our guide pointed out sea stars, and the water was clean and clear!
All the staff on the boat were very knowledgable and helpful. They made me feel quite safe.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend!

Reviewed by: bellko, 2011/11/12

We had wonderful experience. All of Hoku Naia staffs are so nice, friendly and kind. I was really surprised they gave us ginger supplement. Your hospitality is really wonderful!
I'll be your guest again with my family!
Thank you very much for the great hospitality!



Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic! Amazing. But...

Reviewed by: Matt G., 2011/08/15

I'd never gone snorkeling or dolphin-watching before, so I didn't know what to expect. The crew of the Hoku Nai'a really know what they're doing. Five minutes after we left port, we were looking at dolphins. They're beautiful creatures. They swam right up to the boat, and leapt out of the water right in front of us! It was an experience eveyone should do at least once in their lives.

Snorkeling was also an amazing experience, but not at first. I couldn't wrap my head around trying to breathe while submerged, and I'd never been in 25-foot-deep water before. I panicked and had to go back to the ship. The Captain and the crew were all extremely friendly and helpful, and once they helped me figure it out, I had an amazing time. I feel there should be a better way to ease first-timers into it. If you're a skeptical first-timer, just as long as you know exactly what you're in for, you'll have a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphins!

Reviewed by: Daniel, 2011/05/20

It was great! The driver, cousin Jerry was very polite and informative about Hawaiian history. Then the actual cruise went smoothly, and we saw dolphins right after we left the harbor. There were tons of dolphins, and we got to see them spin in the air (hence spinner dolphin). I highly recommend this tour to everyone. Very family friendly. The staffs were awesome, and the lunch was great.






Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Watch

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/04/03

Yup, get to see the dolphins as guaranteed. We were lucky to catch site of a whale too albeit from a distance. A photo will be taken before the vessel sets off. This is optional at $18. Good for guests to know in advance. Drinks (non-alcoholic) and brownies are served complimentary - pleasant surprise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

bill

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/03/25

very nice tour.the staff was very friendly.real good about pointing out whales to us.when we snorkled we had some first timers,they were very good about watching over them and helped them have a good time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Oahu Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI