This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Honi Olani Catamaran - Waikiki Family-Friendly Sunset Cocktail Sail

Outstanding sunset cruise

Reviewed by: Dennis Fox, 2018/07/31

We had an amazing time, the entire crew was professional and made us feel right at home during the cruise. The sunset was awesome to see from the water, we captured the moment and shared them with friends. Many of our friends are going to book a cruise in the near future and we know they’ll have the same amazing experience we did. We look forward to taking a cruise out west Oahu.


  • Celebrating our 10th Wedding Anniversary

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tons of fun for all ages!

Reviewed by: LinNY, 2018/06/06

My friends and I wanted to have a nice evening out, and trying to find an evening activity that would also work with a four year old is often difficult, but this sunset sail was just totally perfect! The captain and crew were really attentive, and were great about making sure that everyone on board was cared for and comfortable.

There were a few other families on board, so the kids were able to hang out together on the nets while we adults kicked back and drank some yummy cocktails. Mimosas at sunset? It isn't just for brunch! :P Plus the views were amazing and being able to just enjoy the sounds of the ocean without the persistent drone of an engine is probably the best perk of being on a sailboat.

Would totally come back again and can't wait for our next visit!




Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A relaxing sail with a fun crew

Reviewed by: Mr.Anonymous, 2018/06/05

We went on this cruise with a large group and the crew was more than accommodating.

The appetizers were delicious, but don't expect a whole meal out of it—it's just something to help keep the booze down. Speaking of which, there's a limit to the number of complimentary drinks, but most people wouldn't be able to finish that many in the 90 minutes of the cruise. You can always buy more. Remember to tip your bartender :)

Parking was free on the left side of the docks, but if you want to park right next to the boat there's an hourly rate. The sunset is great and there's plenty of places to eat dinner afterward in the nearby Ward and Kakaako areas.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect Day!!

Reviewed by: Ms. Ems, 2018/06/05

Looking to charter a boat? This is the real deal!

We booked this as an exclusive charter with the company I work with and it was just the best thing ever! Great scenery of the Waikiki coastline and a stunning sunset! It was an enjoyable trip! The fun crew members on board made it even more memorable for us!

Declicious appetizers were provided and readily available by the time we started our unlimited non-alcoholic beverages including, beer, wine, and mix drinks. Enjoy the breeze as you sip your favorite drink and watch the beautiful sunset with your love ones. This cruise is great for all ages so we brought our families with us too!

Family, music, food, drinks, and beautiful scenery...perfect day!










Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Sunset with Drinks & Aloha

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/06/05

My friends and I had a wonderful time sailing with Hawaii Nautical. They are very professional and the boat is very spacious, clean and comfortable. The appetizers were great. it includes two free drinks and they have a full bar on board. The drinks are tasty and have great price ($1 beers & $2 Cocktails). Oh pick-up from Waikiki is free =). I would totally book this cruise again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time!

Reviewed by: Carol, 2018/01/02

This cruise was such fun! Our whole family loved it- the crew were really fun and very nice- they even let my 96 year old dad and son board the boat early to use the restroom. Amazing views of Honolulu and Waikiki and the Sunset was gorgeous! The drinks were flowing right when we left the port , food was good too! Would recommend to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: Scottwop, 2017/07/22

I've been on this boat twice now and had a great time on both trips. The captain and crew are great and the cocktails are poured just like I like them!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset sail and cocktails

Reviewed by: Craig, 2017/07/16

We had a good time, crew was friendly, atmosphere was relaxed and fun once the drinks started flowing, was just a shame that the sail finished before the fireworks which would have made it a perfect night


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well Worth It - A Memorable Sail

Reviewed by: Randall F., 2016/07/13

Our crew was prompt and courteous. They gave us plenty of space and privacy, but showed up exactly when someone needed something—we never had to ask. The service was excellent.

Catamarans can be a bit bouncy on the water, but our boat was surprisingly smooth, and we didn't really feel the waves even in the cabin.

The captain brought us out for a great view of Diamond Head, and then turned us around just in time to watch the sun set in the west. What a view.

The crew dropped a fishing line off the back just to see if anything would bite, and we were lucky enough to watch them pull in a pretty big catch. All in all, it was a fun time out. I would definitely do it again.


  • Even the captain was surprised

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Karen, 2016/07/09

This was our second time on this cruise because the first one was so amazing and we enjoyed it so much. The crew was so attentive and the environment they create on board was awesome. Can't recommend them enough.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great cruise and staff!

Reviewed by: Auburnmb, 2016/06/08

We had a wonderful time on this Sunset cruise! The crew on the boat were easy to talk to and very informative. They made sure everyone had a great time and a drink in hand. There were all ages on the boat including two little ones. Be sure to pay close attention to shuttle pick-up locations. We had a tough time finding the location but after a quick phone call to the company we were able to connect with the shuttle. They were so gracious about waiting for us (even after the other riders wanted them to leave)! There were plenty of seats below or on deck above to catch the views. The boat also carried a generic dramamine for dabbing behind the ears if you are prone to seasickness and forgot yours. Worked great! All in all the whole experience was wonderful. We look forward to doing this cruise next time with our children. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

DO NOT MISS THIS Cruise

Reviewed by: Stu Diggy, 2015/09/16

What a great time. A real sailing sunset cruise.

First, the crewman picked us up, actually a bit early. She was friendly and courteous.

Pleasant surprise when we got to the boat: only one van full of people, so we had 10 passengers on board. Plenty of room, plenty of food, and the drinks were best bargain anywhere (try the "Catatonic).

Real sailing, as opposed to a mini-liner on engines, is what you really want. You get the fresh air, the breeze, the spray and outstanding views. Want to relax? Plenty of seating on this catamaran, which may not be true for others.

The rest of the crew was just as friendly as our driver/sailor. Nice conversations, and top notch service for drinks, etc.

What more can I say? We've had some great activities and excellent service while visiting Hawaii, and this ranks toward the top.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: kpour, 2015/03/20

We had a wonderful time! The crew did a great job! The chicken wings were delicious and the drinks were cheap and plentiful! The catamaran was comfortable with plenty of room for the crew and guests. While this was intended to be a sunset cruise, we were lucky to be able to do some whale watching at the same time! We saw several humpback whales and the captain of our boat was helping us spot them as they surfaced for air. There were several types of finger foods available -- meatballs, chicken wings, chips, crackers, etc. As I mentioned previously, the chicken wings were delicious (and I don't usually eat chicken wings)!

I would recommend this sunset sail to anyone looking for a beautiful view, great crew, excellent drinks, and an overall fun time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

relaxing and very professional

Reviewed by: retrogirly, 2014/10/06

I took my dad to Hawaii with me on a business trip. Really wanted to go on a boat with drinks and food. This Catamaran was way nicer than any oh her ride I've done in Oahu. I usually a boat off the sand and those have been neglected in the bathroom areas. What I liked best about the experience was you bored on and off on a dock. I didn't have to worry about my senior dad getting knocked down by waves. That was worth the piece of mind. They had hearty snacks on board. Chicken wings, cheese and crackers. It was catered food and yummy Nice music great views great bartender. This was first class and the crew was awesome. Door to door service!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time on this sunset cruise! :)

Reviewed by: Lindsay, 2014/09/04

Me and my boyfriend had a great time on this cruise! :) At first my boyfriend was a little hesitant because he didn't like the idea of being stuck on a crowded boat all evening... this was definitely NOT the case! :) Great drinks, fun little appetizers, and PLENTY of room on the boat (just us and a few other couples). The crew was great from pick up to drop off! Came right to our hotel, promptly on time. Great view of the sunset. Music of your choice being played on the stereo system. Very romantic setting and less constricted than a sit-down dinner sunset cruise. Switch it up from seeing the sunset from shore! It was such a great activity.. highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Rosemary, 2014/08/25

We originally tried to get another sunset cruise, but it was booked. However, at the last minute the company was able to book us on the Honi Olani for the next evening Sunset Cocktail Cruise. We also received a 2 for 1 promotion. We were picked up right on time at 5:05pm as promised. When we arrived at the pier we were greeted by the Captain Josh, Barry and the driver Jacob also stayed aboard as a crew member.

The great surprise was that we were the only couple on the entire cruise for the evening. We had a personal sunset cruise. Of course the likelihood of this happening again is rare, but we loved it. The cruise line could have canceled us because the newly acquired catamaran did not fully book, but they sailed us solo anyway. Great customer service!

We were served fruit , cheese and crackers, soft drinks and mixed drinks. They also had meatballs and chicken. I believe they had a vegetable tray, but we never got around to it, and just ate the fruit, cheese/crackers and drinks.

The sailing catamaran was spacious and the views from Waikiki/Honolulu and the dormant volcano Diamond Head were breathtaking. The crew were delightful, and were very informative by answering questions and being engaged in great conversation. They also were gracious to take pictures for us.

We watched the crew raise the sail that had beautiful coloring including a woman's face. The weather was perfect and there was no need for a jacket. The boat took on the wind perfectly and we sailed along without a care in the world.

If you come to Honolulu/Waikiki area, I would highly recommend the Honi Olani and their crew.

Please see the beautiful sunset picture we took attached in this write-up

Aloha and Mahalo!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was amazing!!!

Reviewed by: Sejung, Hwang, 2014/08/18

I joined to this tour with my mom! It was absolutely amazing!
The food and cocktail were all great and staffs were very kind!
Nick was our tour guide, he was nice to us and other captain and people were very welcoming!
I would like to go again to see beautiful sunset and blue see!
Mahalo!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely sunset cruise

Reviewed by: Stephanie , 2014/08/16

We booked the sunset cruise last minute and were accommodated by this company via telephone. Nick picked us up at our hotel and drove us to the boat and super informative and professional. The boat was clean and up to date and the captain and assistants friendly and informed. Felt very safe. The drinks were awesome and the snacks hit the spot. Would def repeat in future.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Devon Chechik, 2014/08/09

Really amazing evening! The crew were all very helpful, sweet and generous in making sure our time was the best possible. I really loved that we were able to go out past diamond head and the nets were a great place to lay down and lounge on. The food was also really good, there was BBQ chicken, rice, spring rolls, beef and broccoli and cookies. The drinks were pretty good as well, they have a special cocktail that's only made on that boat. Overall the experience was very romantic and scenic. Just make sure if your prone to sea sickness to take some medicine before and during the sail as a few people got sick because it was quite bumpy because of the wind. I took sea sickness pills an hour before boarding and every hour during the sail and I was perfectly fine and I usually get really bad sea sickness. Definitely recommend this very romantic sail!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!

Reviewed by: Devon Chechik, 2014/08/06

Really beautiful, the crew are very kind and attentive to whatever you need to make the experience the best. Definitely consider sea sickness pills there were a few who got sick because it was pretty bumpy. Other than that the ride was wonderful, beautiful sunset and loved laying on the nets on the front of the boat. Food was good as well.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bachelorette Party

Reviewed by: celliott, 2014/07/30

We went on the Waikiki Sunset Cocktail & Appetizer Catamaran Sail for a friend's Bachelorette party! It was an amazing experience! We had just us five girls on the cruise but you can fit tons more! We had drinks and PuPu's (Appetizers) as we sailed across the water! The view of the city, diamond head, and the ocean was absolutely stunning! The crew was friendly, fun, and offered to take pictures for us! If you are interested in seeing and experiencing Hawaii in a whole different way, this is the way to go! It's private setting and beautiful view is worth every penny! The pictures come out so beautiful, that you'll always look upon them with fondness, and excitement for the next trip to Hawaii!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sail into the Sunset

Reviewed by: Jillo, 2014/07/27

This cocktail cruise could not have been a more splendid and relaxing way to end a busy day of sightseeing and hiking. The crew of Captain Lilly, Caitlin and Josh were spectacular. Fun yet very professional. The weather was perfect. The drinks were generous and varied and the appetizers were delicious. The timing of cruise was perfect to return to Waikiki and enjoy supper in a favorite restaurant. Many thanks. Will return for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Sunset Cruise!

Reviewed by: Lindsey, 2014/07/24

From beginning to end this was an amazing experience and I highly recommend it. The shuttle service picked us up right outside our hotel & brought us right to the boat. The three crew members, Josh, Lily and Caitlyn were awesome and completely took care of us. They were a fun and entertaining bunch! The drinks were fantastic as well as the appetizers! You definitely get your money's worth! The boat itself was spacious and you had the freedom to explore it. Catamaran sailboats offer a netting in the front where you can see the water below you as you enjoy your cocktail. We were on our honeymoon and couldn't think of a more romantic place we'd rather be at sunset!! Thank you for such a great experience!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended!!

Reviewed by: Joe, 2014/07/16

we opted for convenient pickup from our hotel and brought us directly to the marina without any hassles. The crew was super friendly, fun and catered to everything with drinks and service. The deal includes locally catered appetizers/hors d'oeuvres and bar to include soda, juices, water and two free alcoholic drinks of your choice. Additional drinks are extra, i forgot how much but were very reasonably priced. It's a large catamaran sail boat that's stable, which shouldn't be an issue for those who get sea-sick. Early on, the two girls setup the sails and we were sailing purely on wind energy. Your free to roam about the ship, converse, eat, drink and be merry. The water and sunset make for beautiful photo ops. Are really enjoyable evening. We'll definitely do this again.





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories