Makani Kai Helicopter & Majestic Waikiki Sunset Dinner Cruise (from Aloha Tower)

Overall Rating

4.724.72 / 5

Reviews

18 reviews (Post a review)

Helicopter ride and dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Lawrence Bernal , 2017/07/10

Helicopter ride over the island was awesome and beautiful, our pilot was very knowledgeable, as for the dinner cruise what can I say, just another awesome event. The food was great, the staff was great, and the entertainment was great


  • Loved every minute

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Heli was great - cruise only fair

Reviewed by: D & J, 2017/01/21

The heli flight was absolutely awesome. My husband has a love of heli's so when I booked this flight for us I booked us the upgrade to front seats. The only issue was the weight restriction for the front seats. We needed to lose approx 50 pounds between us in the 6 weeks leading up to the flight to make the weight restriction. Through lots of hard work and effort we managed to do this. We were "almost" very annoyed when we received a phone call the day prior to the flight saying that it would need to be changed to a later flight on the same day and we would no longer have front seats, due to not enough people having booked our morning flight. We explained to the Veltra consultant what we had been through to ensure we were within the weight restrictions for the front seats, and that we had booked this in good faith. After some negotiations she rang to let us know the flight would go ahead. When we got there we found they had changed the heli to a smaller heli to accommodate the smaller no of passengers, which was fine with us.

On the day of the actual flight there was extra security involved and some no fly zones in place due to President Obama being in town. The flight itself was great even with the adjusted flight path - the smaller heli was the "doors off" heli, but with the doors on. The only small irritation - we had lost all this weight to be within the required weight range, and they did not even weigh us to check this!

The sunset cruise that we went on was "ok"... the food was good, and we got some lovely sunset pictures, but we found that the air conditioning was set way too cold on the deck where the entertainment was located, and no-one really stayed there to watch it. Also they did not have any English Breakfast or Black tea - only Coffee or Earl Grey tea. For a couple of Aussies traveling, this was almost sacrilege.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter tour is great, but cruise was disorganized

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2016/10/19

My husband and I did this activity for our honeymoon. The helicopter tour was amazing. The flight was smooth and the view is just incredible. You definitely want to upgrade to the premium seating to sit in the front roll. Totally worth it. Five star for sure.

The sunset dinner cruise was disorganized. We booked on a Friday which is the fireworks night. We somehow thought it would be a more intimate thing, but turns out that they were totally overbooked.

First problem is that it took longest time to load 250 people. The sun already set by the time we got on the ship. So be prepared to take a picture of the sun in the long waiting line.

Second problem is that you get to seated with other people in a round table of 8. So do not expect couple table. It's worse if you are seated my people who doesn't speak English or any language you speak. It's awkward.

Third issue is that they didn't prepare to serve that many sit down dinner. You can choose either a buffet or steak and surf sit down dinner. About 90% of people chose sit down dinner and just a few staff running around to serve two hundred people. Absolute chaos. Many didn't get food for one and half hour. There were fireworks. Second floor did have entertainment, but was it worth all the trouble? Not really. Even the staff told us it's just better to see fireworks from the beach. Staff were mostly apologetic about the situation. One star.


Reply from activity provider

Hi Joanna -

I'm glad you enjoyed the helicopter portion of your combo experience. I shared your review with our friends at Atlantis and they are sincerely apologetic for your less-than-happy dinner cruise. Atlantis would like to provide you with a partial refund.

P.J. O'Reilley
Makani Kai Helicopters
pjo@MakaniKai.com

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time!

Reviewed by: Viki, 2016/09/05

The helicopter tour was really enjoyable, beautiful and unique way to see Oahu. Most important to me was that we saw the ship Arizona and the Memorial from above, which is the best way to see it.
The dinner cruise was fabulous. Beautiful enviroment, amazing food and wonderful view. The staff was really nice, and the music and the dancer was really entertaining. I definitely would recommend this activity to anybody!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great combo

Reviewed by: Kaldrich4, 2016/08/20

We loved our sunset dinner cruise and helicopter tour. We will be recommending this to all our friends. Very fun, entertaining and delicious food.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Chanson Cooley, 2016/04/15

Seeing Honolulu by helicopter with pilot Margot was awesome! She really made everyone feel at ease and her descriptive, witty banter was more than welcomed! In one hour we learned about the entire island landscape and could never seen all of it in full any other way. Highly recommend!

Following day the sunset dinner cruise was a lot of fun. Great cruise director and engaging helpful wait staff, the filet mignon and lobster were delicious. Cocktails for purchase were yummy + not very expensive. We were able to move to the top deck for the sunset (it was cloudy but still lovely.) The hula dancing and entertainment was a nice way to see the culture without having to go to an entire luao. My friend and I are in our 30's and while many guests in attendance were seniors, we didn't even care, it was a great time! It's well organized and if you enjoy a more laid back smooth boat ride then it's for you.

Ps. The fact that they pick you up for events makes it so much easier.


  • Awesome Helicopter Ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best vacation yet.

Reviewed by: Randal Daniels, 2016/04/10

The experience has started out by getting picked up by the companies and then taking us to our destination and just having a good experience with the whole process, everyone was nice and polite and we had a good time and we saw and did everything we wanted to while we were there, then it ended with getting dropped back off and no problems whatsoever made a great vacation.


  • Awesome

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Kai Helicopter Tour & Royal Sunset Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Rachel & Grant, 2016/01/11

Makani Kai's staff had amazing service. Pilot Jim was hilarious and made the tour fun!

The Royal Sunset Dinner Cruise was FABULOUS! Since we booked it on a Friday the captain parked it so that we could catch Hilton Hawaiian Hotel's fireworks display. Food was delicious. Had a blast and truly unforgettable time!


  • Pics taken from a window seat


  • Royal Sunset Dinner...


  • Pics taken from within the helicopter


  • Friday Night - Hilton Hawaiian's fireworks display from the Navatek

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two staged tour

Reviewed by: Anna, 2015/01/03

This tour was a two staged event as we did the helicopter ride in morning and dinner cruise at night. The helicopter ride was good but due to the US President being on the island there was alot of security and we ran late and couldnt fly to where they normally do -the pilot spoke too fast and mumbled so we just looked and worked things out ourselves. The dinner cruise was the highlight actually -well organised, great food and wine -the singers and show was first class and damn funny -a great way to spend Christmas eve.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day

Reviewed by: Baileys, 2014/10/05

Helicopter fight was excellent was able to take a ton of awesome photos and the pilot had plenty of info about what we saw. Dinner cruise that evening was great! Food was good, service amazing, show was fantastic, and the pictures of the sunset amazing!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Angie, 2014/08/04

We did the combo tour-helicopter ride was amazing-our kids 16 and 18 were in awe-flying over the USS Arizona was great and the pilot was great at pointing everything out. Perfect!
The dinner cruise was also amazing, singing dancing good food, beautiful ship-sunset was perfect. Can not say enough about these tours. Thank you for helping to make this trip so very special!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter tour was amazing

Reviewed by: Steph, 2014/06/22

The Makani Kai helicopter tour was awesome, we would definitely recommend everybody does it!!
The Navatek royal sunset cruise was ok but not great. We requested a window seat but were seated in the middle and so close to people right beside us. The food was nice.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

my ride

Reviewed by: Dieter, 2013/10/12

AWESOME RIDE BETTER THAN I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE... A must to do when in Hawaii

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Kai Tour

Reviewed by: Cathjdejesus, 2013/09/07

We went to Hawaii for our Honeymoon and the Helicopter tour was the highlight of our stay there. We had the best pilot and very knowledgeable about places in Oahu. I highly recommend this package. The Sunset Dinner was fun, they had live entertainment while cruising the Pacific Ocean and I had the chance to capture when the sun descends from the sky, beautiful moment.


  • North Shore



  • Waikiki Beach


  • Pearl Harbor


  • Sunset Dinner Cruise

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Helicopter-Navatek Cruise

Reviewed by: Jim and Heather, 2012/11/09

This package was fantastic. I had taken my wife to Hawaii for her birthday. We had never been on a helicopter before and it was a wonderful experience. The dinner buffet was great and the entertainment of the cruise ship was great. This was a great package because we were able to save some money and also enjoy two fun filled activities. We would reccomend this package to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Fun in Hawaii!

Reviewed by: Johnny, 2012/08/10

Consistent with description of package and very fun experience. The helicopter in the morning at sunrise showed the beauty of the island. the sunset cruise was a perfect way to conclude the day. We did the steak and lobster located upstairs and would definitely do that way again instead of buffet. The pics speak for themselves and yes I took themI Have Fun!
A Big Texas Mahalo!





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First Helicopter Ride

Reviewed by: Iain F., 2010/08/18

What an awesome experience. We got to sit in the front row and the views were breathtaking. The flight was not as bumpy as I thought it would be. Next time will book the longer flight lol. The dinner cruise was great, the pork was amazing. The boat did not rock very much at all so don't worry about getting sick. Be sure to talk to the people at your table as you will get a lot of tips about other spots to go to that they have already been. The sunsets were amazing from the boat. Definitely will do it again.





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/08/13

This is such great experience....wonderful dinner cruise with a really good standard of food and helicopter tour is just amazing....such a great way to experience Oahu!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu / Waikiki Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI