This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for ATV & 4WD / Off-Road Tours in Maui

Overall Rating

3.95 3.95 / 5

Reviews

91 reviews

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Excellent Trip

Reviewed by: Chris & Mary, 2016/03/21

All parts of this trip went very well. We were on time in the morning to pick-up our ferry tickets at the Laihaina Lanai Ferry Booth and they had a prepared envelope waiting for us with all the tickets and information for the day. Upon arrival at Manele Small Boat Harbor, we were cordially met by Rick as we walked off the ferry, who quickly whisked us away and up to Lanai City and Dollar Rental. Our Jeep was waiting for us and check-in was smooth, cordial and we were given a map and suggestions on starting our day exploring Lanai'i. We had a great time finding our way down the bumpy one-lane dirt roads to the Garden of the Gods and partly to Polihau Beach. We returned and then went to see Shipwreck Beach in the sand. No problems, as we were careful to avoid soft sand areas. We returned to Dollar Rental at noon concerned that the late afternoon and evening ferries may be cancelled due to rough seas. We decided to return on the 2 p.m. ferry. The Dollar Rental agents and Rick, who we happened to see at the Grocery Store / gas station, were very helpful in arranging earlier shuttle service to the harbor and changing our ferry tickets for the earlier return. Note: everything seems to happen there at the one-stop grocery store / gas station / Dollar Rental place and parking lot. Even with the changes, all went quickly, no hassles, and we were back to the harbor with time to spare for the return bumpy, high-seas ferry ride to Lahaina. If it is rough seas, sit in the inside lower deck center rear section. We have great memories, pictures and fun stories to tell of our half-day on Lanai'i, thanks to how easy the tour arrangements worked and how friendly everyone was on our excursion. Recommended.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/02/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Great day, money well spent!

Reviewed by: Alicia L., 2017/04/29

At first the day seemed like a pricey day when you consider for two people it cost over $300. The cost was well worth it! When we arrived at the Lahaina boat dock we received our vouchers and were told we could basically return on any ferry regardless of our departure time (so more flexibility than expected). The ferry ride was great, we got to see whales all over the place, which was a first for my mother. Once we reached Lanai everything was taken care of, the shuttle had been booked and paid for that takes you to the rental car site. The rental jeep was ready to go, although it's not really stated anywhere beforehand you are not allowed to remove the roof due to red dust. Most of the adds showing jeeps on Lanai have jeep tops off or down but you cannot do that. That being said I wouldn't have wanted it down due to the red dust either. The shuttle driver setup a pick up time before leaving, as well as his number in case we wanted to catch an earlier ferry back. We rode down to Shipwreck beach, did the Cat Sanctuary, and then Garden of the Gods and the beach below. This took all day and by no means did we do the entire island, which meant that we took the last ferry back to Lahaina. We would do this again as there is more to see and do on the island as well as the ease of just showing up and having everything set for your day.

  • Cat at the Cat Sanctuary.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Excellent guided tour of Lana'i

Reviewed by: John and Eva, 2019/04/07

We have been coming to Maui for years but have never ventured off the island to visit Lana'i. First of all, Veltra allowed us to change the tour date from a Monday to a Thursday with no problem since we had a conflict come up. The ferry ride from Lahaina was easy and took about 45 minutes. The sea was very calm and although they recommend taking sea sickness pills, it wasn't necessary for this trip. Our tour guide Bruce, met us at the ferry dock on Lana'i. He drove us around in an air conditioned Suburban which was very comfortable. It was just the two of us so the tour was really personalized. We took the full day tour which really gives you a great impression of the island. The tour was about 2 1/2 hours in the morning, then an hour for lunch and 2 hours in the afternoon. Bruce, our guide has lived on Lana'i for 20 years and was very knowledgeable. He has seen the positive changes that have occurred on Lanai' since Larry Ellison bought the island five years ago and thoroughly explained the evolution of the island through the current day. We were then dropped off at the ferry dock for the 4:30 p.m. ferry back to Lanai--note, you need to book the return ferry when you schedule the tour and for the all day tour, the 4:30 p.m. ferry is the one to take.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

A great trip to the most unusual island in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Jan & Cathy, 2015/05/07

We wanted to explore all 6 of the main Hawaiian islands on our trip and so included a trip to Lanai. We signed up to take the ferry, shuttle, & Jeep rental package. We drove to Lahaina on Maui & rode the 9:15 AM ferry for the 45 minute ride to Manele Bay on Lanai. We then took the shuttle to the Dollar rental place in Lanai City (a small community in the center of the island with no traffic lights) and we were given an almost new air conditioned Jeep to drive around for the day. We were well aware of the landscape on Lanai - so it wasn't a surprise to see very little vegetation and no good beaches there. We took our time and drove east to Shipwreck Beach & then north to the Garden of The Gods (a truly unique moonscape like place). Then back into town for a casual lunch & finally out to the west coast to see the barge harbor (not much there). We turned in our Jeep (after filling up with $4.50 per gallon gasoline) & were taken back to the ferry dock & ferry ride back to Lahaina in the evening. A very full day and worth it - not something to do again, but worth it to say that we explored this very little visited island. We had no problems with the ferry, shuttle or Jeep reservation.

  • Shpwreck Beach

  • Garden of the Gods

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ラナイ島行きフェリー往復チケット付きパッケージ SUVで巡る観光付<半日・1日/ラハイナ港発/英語ガイド>

絶対!行くべきラナイ島!!!

Reviewed by: おばさん&おじさん, 2019/05/22

マウイ島から船で気軽に行けるという事で、ラナイ島に行ってみました。そこは、全く想像していなかったとにかく、とても素晴らしい島でした!!
地球の始まりと言うか、自然はこうやって生まれていった。みたいな・・・始まりの場所。
中でも一番素晴らしくまた訪れてみたいと思った所はスイートハート・ロック!! 悲恋の伝説がある為か、誰も手をつけられない景観!ダイナミック過ぎる(≧∀≦)空も海も青い!ずーっと眺めていたかった。
そしてぇ!ガイドのIsaacさんが最高〜〜♪英語のおぼつかない私達にとにかく一生懸命に説明してくださり、お昼の心配までしてくれて感謝感謝です(≧∀≦)
絶対!!またIsaacさんのツアーに参加したいと思いました♪素敵な思い出を沢山ありがとうございました\( ˆoˆ )/

  • 植林された木がずーっと向こうまで!!!

  • 素晴らし過ぎる!スイートハート・ロック!!!

  • 神々の庭園!は、火星のよう!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Lanai Ferry and Jeep Adventure

Reviewed by: Bunky , 2015/07/27

All we can say is "WOW"!

First:
The Ferry ride to and from Lanai was, in itself, fantastic. We met some locals who couldn't have been nicer and saw an unreal sunset on the way home.

Next:
After we grabber our Jeep we hit Richards supermarket. Now, by this time in the trip we had eaten enough poke to get Mercury poisoning so when I tell you that Richrads Super Poke Bowl was the best we had. I mean it! Id go back just for that!

More!:
We hit Shipwreck beach which was beautiful. We made it to the Garden of the Gods and then to the beach beyond that....we did not see a SOUL out there. It really felt like we were on a deserted island.
Now, I do have to tell you, the drive is technical and you could get stuck. So be careful! There was a point where I had to lay some rocks and driftwood in the trail just to make it through.

All in all....it was an amazing day and I will go back to see the rest of Lanai as soon as I can.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/07/05
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

A Day on The Non-Pineapple Isle

Reviewed by: Marcia Darm, 2019/05/11

For anyone who comes to Maui frequently an eventual day trip to Lana’i is a welcome diversion. The 45 minute ferry ride is relaxing with great cliff views approaching Manele Harbor. Our tour included a morning drive with high point and view stops and a tour of Lana’i City, a lunch/shopping break and another drive to cover some more points of interest. Lana’ Is a bit of a time warp with both an ancient history and a new future with its purchase by Oracle founder Larry Ellison. The best part was our tour guide, Bruce, who gave the day his all. Loved it! Take cash as it’s so tiny some places do not accept credit cards. We had a 5 year old in our group of 5 who did great. If you are curious take the whole tour. There is also one lovely beach you can walk to from the ferry if you just want to chill.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Great experience

Reviewed by: corrie wijbenga , 2014/09/29

We booked this one because my husband wanted the offroad experience. And it was great! We started early in the morning by going to the Lahaina harbour, from there the ferry took us in about 45 minutes to Lanaï where we were brought to Dollar and get a beat up Jeep and a roadmap with roads we could drive on and roads we weren't allowed to drive on( which we did anyway). We went to Shipwreck beach, Garden of the gods, Polihua beach,Hulopoe bay,Keomoku village and Lanaï city. We drove around Lanaï almost the whole day and snorkeled a bit in a tidepool at Hulopoe bay.
Because we took the last ferry back to Mauï , we were exhausted at the end of the day. But it was worth it.

  • our rental jeep

  • entering the Lanaï harbour

  • Shipwreck beach

  • Driftwood on Shipwreck beach

  • Garden of the Gods

  • Polihua Beach

  • Polihua Beach

  • Church in Lanaï city

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/09/12
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ラナイ島行きフェリー往復チケット付きパッケージ SUVで巡る観光付<半日・1日/ラハイナ港発/英語ガイド>

見たことのないハワイが!

Reviewed by: KATE, 2017/08/26

初めてラナイ島へ行きました。
そこには見たことのないハワイがあり、まるで違う惑星にいるかの様に思える場所がありました。
ガイドさんは英語のみですが、あまり話せない私たちに合わせて、ガイドのブルースがわかりやすい英語で話してくれるので、困る事もありませんし、ラナイ島の歴史や今後の行方など、とても詳しく教えてくださり、ラナイ島を知る勉強になりました。
マウイ島まで行くなら、絶対にラナイ島まで足を運んで欲しいと思います!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Great day adventure!

Reviewed by: SMTM, 2016/03/23

This was a fun and adventurous trip. The island has so many different types of landscape and things to do. We were able to hike out to Shipwreck Beach and find the petroglyphs. We also enjoyed the snorkeling in Manele Bay the reef was so clear. On the ferry ride over we saw whales as well. Everything is well organized, ferry ride was quick and jeep pickup very easy. There are many back roads to explore as well. I highly recommend this trip to people looking for a non-touristy adventure. We were exhausted upon our return to Maui but it was well worth it!

  • Manele Bay!

  • Rugged jeeps!

  • Great red back roads!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/15
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Exploring Lanai

Reviewed by: The Gees, 2018/12/07

We have visited Maui for many years. We have always said we need to do a day trip to one of the lesser visited islands. So we chose Lanai. The tour package was inclusive, so all we had to do was show up. The ferry ride was quite nice. Your your guide was very informative about the history of Lanai. It was nice to see the island that was not over developed. Who knows how long it can stay that way, but we really enjoyed it. As the guide mentioned there is not much to do on Lanai, so the half day tour worked out well for us. Never the less we enjoyed our trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Amazing tour of Lanai

Reviewed by: Dina, 2016/11/26

I booked the full day tour based upon the reviews I read and I was not disappointed. Garrett was our guide and he was fantastic. My sister and I are very inquisitive and he was able to answer all of our questions and maintained a running commentary about the island and its history. Lanai is very different from the other Hawaiian islands that I've visited (Oahu, Maui, Kauai, the big island) and I'm glad I had the chance to tour Lanai.

  • Rock formation

  • Four Seasons

  • Surf

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Worthwhile Day Out

Reviewed by: Arcglasgow, 2015/10/14

The Maui and Lanai providers were both very well organised which was particularly good as I had only been able to book this at the last minute. Bruce the guide and driver was knowledgeable and fun to travel with, a very pleasant man. He also gave me lots of good advice about where to go in Lanai City as I had opted to stay there for a while, He also ensured I knew how to get back to the ferry. The ferries were very well run.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

AWESOME !!!

Reviewed by: Tony and Nellie, 2016/04/17

We had a wonderful time on this day trip to Lanai. Everything from the time we checked in at Lahaina harbor until our return to the harbor went smoothly. We were met at the harbor in Lanai, escorted to our jeep rental and off we went. What a FUN day !! Rough and rugged roads but it was a blast. Don't miss this one, well worth the money if you like adventure and beautiful scenery and like to explore on your own.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Lots of fun

Reviewed by: Chris, 2014/12/30

We had a great time driving around Lanai in a Jeep Wrangler with the top down. The roads that were open and on the 'allowed' list were a lot of fun and filled up the time we had open to us. The only problem with this activity is that it is a loooong day. We had to wake up at 4:30am to drive to the ferry, take the ferry, take the shuttle, enjoy the day, then shuttle/ferry/drive back to our hotel around 6:00pm.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Excellent Sightseeing and Off-roading Trip

Reviewed by: Rob, 2015/05/18

Very good trip. Jeep was decent from Dollar Rental in Lanai City. Map provided was clear enough and the signs on the road really helped. I had not done any off-roading before this trip and although it wasn't easy it was a lot of fun! I would start with going to Shipwreck Beach first as this is the easier off roading route if you are a novice so you can build up some confidence, then got the harder routes!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Great Day in Paradise

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2016/05/04

Been visiting Hawaii Islands for years, and it's our first time to island of Lanai. The packaged deal gave the idea, and means to explore islands to find places/sights that are NOT cramped with fellow tourist. Just a bit caution for people who might easily get car/sea sickness: The ride are rough, but the rewards are extraordinary: You get a picture prefect beach all to yourself!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Beautiful Lanai

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/16

A great ride around Lanai. We saw shipwreck beach, Garden of the Gods, and stopped at a few other spots to look out over the ocean and see some of the other islands!

Stopped at the beautiful Hulopoe Beach for a picnic lunch and some snorkeling before heading back and catching the last ferry back to Maui. A great day and one of the best adventures we did in Maui/Lanai!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Lanai'i 4x4 tour

Reviewed by: Colorado Beach Girl, 2013/01/07

Our tour guide was very nice and a good driver, and the vehicle was clean and in good condition. My neice and I were surprised and shocked to learn of the history of the people of Lanai'i and how past decisions of a few people greatly impacted the island and how those decisions continue to impact it today. Overall the tour was very enjoyable and I recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Lanai trekker tour

Reviewed by: Megan, 2014/10/24

Bruce was a fantastic guide. He was really passionate and knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Can highly recommend it especially if you can get Bruce to show you around. We did the half day tour and saw a lot and then spent the rest of the day on the beach. Do this if you want to get the full experience of the island and what it has to offer.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ラナイ島行きフェリー往復チケット付きパッケージ SUVで巡る観光付<半日・1日/ラハイナ港発/英語ガイド>

イヤ〜‼️良かったよ〜❣️

Reviewed by: さくら, 2018/07/12

初老のドライバーさんで、色々英語での説明で我々英語が不得意なのでゆっくりと説明していました島は荒野に囲まれて自然豊かで心癒されるアリゾナに居る感じです。でもゆっくりと自然の中の1日、又是非行きたいし、ケンさんと再会を約束してマウイ島に帰島

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Guided SUV Trekker Tour

Reviewed by: Kim and Gary, 2016/12/03

My husband and I very much enjoyed the guided tour of Lanai. It's the best way to go. Our guide, Bruce, is very knowledgable about the Island and it's history (as he grew up on the island) and told us many, many interesting facts. He is very personable and accommodating. Best tour guide we've ever had. Highly recommend this tour for everyone.

  • Garden of the Gods

  • Four Seasons Resort

  • Beautiful pine trees

  • Theres's Bruce

  • Gorgeous views!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Maui to Lenai ferry ride and half-day tour of Lenai.

Reviewed by: Bob and Sue Santos, 2018/07/21

There was good coordination between the ferry boat ride timing and that of the tour. The tour guide, Garrett, is what made the tour great. He was very knowledgeable, personable, and very efficient in conducting the tour. He grew up on the island, knew its history personally--and this made all the difference in allowing for a great tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Worth it

Reviewed by: C. H. Mok, 2017/10/13

Lanai is not well developed and roads are rugged so this is a good way to tour the island. Our driver and guide Ron knows the island very well and took us to places that I heard about but won't be able to reach by myself. He also told us the history and current state of the island. We learn and see a lot of the island via this tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Amazing time!!

Reviewed by: Tera , 2017/10/08

I have been on this Lana‘i jeep excursion activity twice in the past, loved it!! My new husband had never been to Hawai‘i so we are here for our honeymoon and I told him we had to go on this activity to Lana’i, and he loved it!!!! We will definitely do this again!! In fact we are going to purchase a condo here in Maui ❤️

  • Keomuku village

  • Beaut beaches in Lana’i

  • Polihua Beach!!! The most beautiful beach I have ever seen!!

  • Keomuku village Hawaiian church!! Stunningly beautiful!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Maui to Lanai Ferry-4X4 Guided SUV Trekker Tour (from Lahaina Harbor)

Reviewed by: Warren and Sue, 2017/04/03

My husband, my sister and I just got back from Maui yesterday. The highlight of our week-long vacation was our trip to Lanai and our tour with Bruce. We have been sharing our wonderful experience with the family. The trip is well worth the price and Bruce gave us lots of information about the island. Lots of fun!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Excellent service.

Reviewed by: jerome, 2017/06/19

A true 4x4 adventure on Larry Ellison's private island. Time is on the short side since there are limited roads, and one must cover roads to and from each point of interest often overlapping and repeating. but that's part of the fun---given the breathtaking scenery, we didn't mind the back and forth driving.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

The way to see Lanai

Reviewed by: Bev, 2014/06/30

We thoroughly enjoyed the 4x4 guided tour. Our guide had lived in Lanai his whole life and told about the history of the island and how it had changed. Having a guide is the best way to travel on the island because he knew special spots to see that one would miss if just renting a 4x4. We highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Awesome tour of the island and the lots of history of the island.

Reviewed by: Linda and larry frey, 2018/11/11

This was an awesome tour by Bruce. He was very informative and a wealth of knowledge of the island. We went places and saw scenery and beaches that we would have never gotten to if we would have been on our own with a jeep. We were very pleased and would recommend this tour to anyone. We really enjoyed it.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Jeep Day

Reviewed by: GA Girl, 2017/09/19

The Ferry ride was nice...twas a beautiful day! Rented the Jeep saw what there was to see on Lanai...beautiful Island to camp on or just get away from the world for a day! You definitely need a jeep to see this island the good things to do are see are where the black top ends and the red dirt roads begin!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations