This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Makawao / Kula in Maui

Overall Rating

4.86 4.86 / 5

Reviews

93 reviews

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

A good time was had by all

Reviewed by: Smith party, 2014/06/19

This is our second visit in 2 years to Piiholo Ranch Zip. We really like the people and the lines at this zip. They are very safety conscious and the experience was great again. We really like that you don't have to hike alot carrying that trolley with you. The zip lines are close together; you finish one and the next one is close by. The view is spectacular of the Baldwin working ranch and the forest preserve and they tell you about the indigenous plants and trees and about the island in general along the way. Our guide; Lana was very knowledgeable. A noticeable thing; The lady guides seemed to be doing all the work. One of the male guides was providing humor but no significant help and the other male guide was barely noticeable on the tour. Comment: the ladies could use some help! One thing I did not like was that nothing was said about pictures after the tour finished (where to view and purchase). Since we were here last year we knew that they were at the General Store, but then they weren't and the store was closed. When we called back to Piholo Ranch we were told the pictures were available at the check-in point, but we had already left. We would have liked to have purchased pics and also additional t-shirts, but since the store was closed at 4:15pm and the pics were back at check-in point; they lost revenue in those respects. That was the most disappointing part as both my husband and daughter planned to buy new t-shirts (to promote your tour). All in all it was still a good experience again!! We have zipped Kapalua 3 times and now Piiholo Ranch twice and prefer this one.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Summit, Lavender Farm & Vineyard Deluxe Tour

thank you

Reviewed by: Keith & Candy, 2010/06/18

I am writing to thank you for the wonderful tour we booked through your company. My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary in Hawaii, and while we were there, we went on your Summit Lavender Sojourn. The tour was unbelievable, and every single detail was well thought-out and well-executed! The limo-van was very clean, and your guide spent his entire day just trying to make our tour to Haleakala the best part of our vacation, succeeding wildly! He was personable, polite, thoughtful, and HARD WORKING the entire day. He went WAY out of his way to do anything and everything he could to assure that we had a great time. He spent as much time as he could with each individual, while making sure he didn’t neglect the group as a whole. Great service was clearly your guide's goal and he absolutely achieved it! After traveling for 9 straight days, in and out of hotels and airplanes, and taking SEVERAL different tours, it is still RARE that you feel totally and completely “pampered” at the end

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

Piiholo was Awesome!

Reviewed by: Aaron & Lynn, 2010/08/17

We went on the 4-line adventure. There was a 5th line which was higher, longer, and faster but for $99/person more we didn't feel it would be worth it.

This was a great activity. We had 3 Piiholo staff members, one which helped us get hooked up at the start of each line and two which caught us.

The first of 4 lines was really a trial run. It wasn't very high, didn't go over a gorge/valley, and to me shouldn't be listed. I believe they had it there just to make sure everyone understood their instructions for speeding up, slowing down, and stopping. It was a smart move in my opinion because it really let you know how secure the straps were and how competent (extremely) the staff was. But still, I don't think it should have been listed as one of the 4 lines.

The first line had 4 people across too which was neat. The other 3 lines had 2 people at a time.

For this reason alone I recommend Piiholo. My mother & sisters who were also in Maui at the time booked a zip line wit

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Skyline Eco-Adventure Haleakala Zipline Tour

Fantastic Zipline Experience in Haleakala

Reviewed by: Tianxiong, 2014/11/09

What a wonderful day to expend about 2.5 hours in Haleakala. The stuff are very friendly. If I spell their names correctly, their names are Shin and Kathy. Shin is a fun guy that talked many jokes in this adventure. Kathy is a girl studying her undergraduate. She is enthusiastic in protecting environment in Maui.

This zipline fun activity does not require any past experience or training. Unlike some zipline that needs you to know some basic stuff like how to slow down using glove or how to handle when you get stuck in the middle of the zipline, here the stuff will take care of everything including landing. What you need to do is to free yourself and just enjoy. It contains five zipline courses and a skywalk bridge. I love the last zipline most. That one is the longest zipline that I have ever tried. Also, it has a great view. The max speed reaches 40 mph, and we go forth and backward multiple times. Shin uses the ladder to help us go down the zipline. That’s really fun!

  • Long long zipline!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Favorite tour on Maui

Reviewed by: Mauilover, 2014/11/03

I booked this tour upon recommendation from friends and family. I had moderate expectations as I am not a "walk through the farm" type of girl, but this was a favorite of my boyfriend and myself. First of, you are driven for the majority of the movement through the farm, so sandals were fine to walk in. Our tour guide Brett was very informative and explained everything about pineapple farming from planting to harvesting and distribution, and how to pick the perfect pineapple. We tasted pineapple at three separate stages and picked a pineapple straight from the stalk. You receive a free pineapple packed and ready for transport back to the states at the end of the tour and let me tell you these pineapples were HUGE. We saw the same two pack that we received for free at the airport for sale for $30. Brett also taught us how to use the pineapples we received to grow our own pineapples at home. Definitely a must go to tour if you are on Maui.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

ARE YOU IN SHAPE TO HAVE FUN????

Reviewed by: Magoo, 2013/11/25

What a terrific experience. PROVIDED, you are in reasonably good shape. Perhaps there could be oxygen bottles at all the takeoff platforms or maybe add elevators as the climb to the platforms was the most strenuous part for this 64 year old.
BUT WHAT A CREW!!!! First, Melissa in the office. Then, I must say to Ariel, Lionel and FP (She says Forest Princess and I say Forever Patient), you really made the tour enjoyable and special. There are ziplines everwhere but you three are unique.
This crew was not only very professional and safety conscious, they were FUN. Serious about their jobs with plenty of humor to lighten the mood and make me feel they really enjoy their work. My special thanks to FP, because in spite of my physical limitations, she allowed me all the time I needed for the physically challenging parts.
All three seemed genuinely concerned that everyone enjoyed themselves.
Given the opportunity, I'll be back!

  • Check out the shirt.

  • See what I'm talking about.

  • Just kickin' it.

  • What da ya think? Tough job?

  • Think I was kidding? Just kidding.

  • What a view!!!

  • Does that look fun or what.

  • THE FP, 'forever patient'. Say, what is your name anyway?

  • THE CREW!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

Great Time! Lots of fun!!

Reviewed by: Family Vacation, 2010/09/09

On our recent trip to Maui, we let each of our teenage kids plan and book an event they wanted to do. Our youngest daughter (14) immediately knew Zip Line was her thing. She couldn't quite get herself to do it in Mexico so this was her chance to conquer her fear. And boy did she.

The zip lines at Piiholo Ranch were great! The area is beautiful. The 3 staff members we had were very good. Very focussed on safety and making sure everyone had fun.

We did the 4 line tour and it was just enough for us. About 2 hours in length. The first line is just a "warm up" and get comfortable with the concept of zip lining. It was very helpful for our kids so that they could relax and enjoy the other lines that take you over valleys and enjoy the ride and scenery.

We all got a great taste of zip line and enjoyed it all.

If you are considering it - DO IT!!! It is safe and fun. Anyone can do it. Conquer your fear!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Maui Gold Pineapple Express Tour 10/21/14

Reviewed by: Ramona Marcelo, 2014/10/29

The Maui Gold Pineapple Express tour was amazing. My husband and I went there and had a great time. We enjoyed the tour very much, especially the part where we were brought to the processing plant. It was very fascinating to see the quality control, packing, and shipping from start to finish. We took a lot of pictures of the exciting tour of the pineapple fields too. It was eye-opening to see the process for how pineapples are grown, especially since my family is so used to picking them up from the supermarket. It was also different eating them fresh from the field--an experience I'd recommend to just about everyone. We really enjoyed being given pineapples to bring home to California as well, one of my favorite souvenirs from my trip. We ended up sharing it with the whole family and some friends, and it was definitely the juiciest and sweetest pineapple we've ever had.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Summit, Lavender Farm & Vineyard Deluxe Tour

introduction to nature

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/30

My husband brought our family to Maui for vacation and it was the first time our little girl had ever been out of California. We live in LA in the middle of the city, so needless to say...it was an amazing experience for us to introduce her to beautiful nature so unlike back home.

My husband let me pick the tour we would go on from Hawaii Activities site, and I chose the Lavendar fields b/c my daughter just loves going through my lotions and perfumes every morning and trying them on...and lavendar is her favorite. To see her getting out of the limo and SEEING the beautiful lilac blossoms en masse was truly a gift. To show her that what we have in a bottle at home came from the earth, and grows, and is wild and lovely...was priceless.

The drive there was also really relaxing and filled with beautiful scenery. I would even do this tour again, it was that good!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

A great time!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/10/16

Ziplining is an exhilarating experience. My daughter and I have been ziplining many times before and we enjoyed our time at the Piiholo Ranch in Maui.

The zipline course at the ranch is very well done, and offers something a little different than other zipline courses we've seen: ziplines for two to four people at a time. This was probably what I enjoyed the most about this adventure: my daughter and I could zipline side by side (unless she wanted to speed by me like a rocket by leaning back to get more speed).

The staff were friendly, professional and all-around excellent. The harnesses were above and beyond anything I had seen in the past. They looked more like lazy-boys than harnesses. Anyone seated in these harnesses is assured of being comfortable and feeling very safe.

I had a great time and would definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Pineapple heaven

Reviewed by: matt m, 2014/10/23

My wife and I were delighted to find out that there was indeed a pineapple plant with a tour on maui. We signed up and had no issues finding where we needed to go (a short drive from the airport pretty much). Our tour guide lined us out on a few items we needed to sign and we were off. We started off going right to the plant where we learned a ton of stuff about pineapples (did you know that the fruit is actually native to Brazil?). Really neat to see the whole process from picking to packing. They even give you two free packed pineapples ready to go through the airport! After the plant you go out to the fields to see the different stages of pineapple growth. You'll even get to sample some of the freshest possible pineapple you'll ever eat. Really awesome experience. Highly highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

Fantastical

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/09/28

This place was wonderful. First-time zip-lining on our honeymoon. The attention to safety was unbelievable. Stunning views. Equipment was excellent and I felt very secure, the landing was also great - breaks & springs on the cables. (I've heard of places where you basically have to stop by running up a hill - ouch!) Steep ladders to climb up but it was so gentle on the knees one of the guys in our group has had both his knees replaced and still went on the 5 line tour!
3 guides for a small group of 10, they played tour-guide for surrounding areas and had great sense of humour, snacks & drinks provided, met a lot of cool people. Do the 5 line tour for the 1/2 mile zip-line, it was fabulous!
Definitely would do again!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Super Tour !

Reviewed by: Anu, 2014/12/04

This was one of the best tour at Maui. The tour is very informative with respect to the history of pineapple in Hawaii. The guide provided us so much of information and was very good. The tour includes trip to the Maui Gold pine apple processing plant and also to the place where pineapple are actually grown. We got to taste the great Maui gold pineapples and also got to take one home for each one of us. The tour begins at a place which is so cool, got some wonderful pictures at this place.

Overall, it was a tour beyond my expectation. My kids loved it . My son who does not like pineapple started eating pineapple after this tour.

It is a tour which should NOT be missed when you are at Maui

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2014/11/25
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Skyline Eco-Adventure Haleakala Zipline Tour

Great fun Ziplining in Maui!

Reviewed by: JoZippinMaui, 2015/04/08

My first time ziplining and I couldn't have chosen a better company or location to do it in. Even though it rained for much of the time, there was a great atmosphere, good conversation and fun ziplining. The zipline adventure is arranged from the shortest zipline to the final, longer zipline. The guides -- in my case Kelsey and Kalia (may have spelled the names incorrectly) -- were very personable and seemed to enjoy their daily tours with new groups. The company had a large selection of rain/windbreakers, appropriate for rainy weather, that we were allowed to use at no cost. It was fun, easy and I would do it again with the same guides and company in a heartbeat.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

Awesome pineapple tour

Reviewed by: Vish, 2014/12/04

This was one of the tour which brought in pleasant surprise . The tour guide Steve was very courteous and started the tour on time. We got to see the Maui Gold factory where they are processed and packed. Free pineapple for each participant was awesome ! Then the guide took us to the farm where the pineapple are actually grown . The farm is so beautiful, we got a chance to look at pineapple in various stages . The guide,Steve, helped us taste pineapple and showed us 3 different varieties of them . On the way back we learnt many things about pineapple and sugar cane .

I would recommend this tour for everyone , specially for the group with children.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2014/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting & Distillery Tour

I became a Pineapple Professional at the Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tasting Tour

Reviewed by: Sally Zeiberg , 2018/08/13

I had an incredible time at The Maui Gold Pineapple Farm Tastiing Tour. To be honest, the only reason I went in the tour was to take pictures of pineapples. However, by the end of the tour, I learned so much about Pineapples. I learned when to pick the pineapples, what colors are the sweetest, the various parts of the pineapples, how to cut a pineapple and so much more. It was time well spent and yes, I took incredible pictures! The tour guide was also the best. He made the tour a lot of fun and definitely knew his material. The tour is fun for the entire family. Definitely worth it!!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

An Excellent Adventure

Reviewed by: SpotCoolingSystemsGuy, 2013/01/04

There was a total of nine in our group last week and it was a blast. The one's who were a bit spooked at first quickly got the hang of it because of how great the staff and our guide was. We did the high 5 lines and it was cool to be above the trees and over the valleys. You could see the other groups in the trees and their screams indicated they were having just as fun of a time.
I would highly recommend. It was easy to find, everyone was super cool and the views cannot be matched!
What would be real cool would be night time zipping during full moon! Keep me posted.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

Maui in 360°!!!

Reviewed by: MeSoHappy, 2016/02/15

This is the best tour on Maui! I enjoyed doing the zip line but honestly was terrified to do it. Our guides Lana and Olivia made us feel safe and comfortable the entire time. After the first line I was excited for the rest of the tour. The first line is just a small taste of what the rest of the course has to offer. It gives you a variety of lengths and heights above the gulch. The last zip line was 2800 feet in length and over 700 feet in height, so it made for an exciting end to the excursion. Get in a little workout and enjoy the view, it will be an awesome ride!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Jason, 2009/05/29

This was our first time trying out the "zipline"! I've heard about it and seen on TV and YouTube. So we had a little knowledge of what it was, but oh boy, it was just soooo much fun. The first line was not that long, but everyone in the group was a little scared at first. But once you got the hang of it, everyone wanted longer ziplines!

The final line was about 1400ft (1/2 mile)!!! It was just a breathtaking experience, and going over this huge valley on the zipline was just amazing.

I highly recommend this activity to ANYONE! Do this. Today!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Skyline Eco-Adventure Haleakala Zipline Tour

Nothing to Fear but fear itself

Reviewed by: Regina M, 2014/04/23

As humans we are programmed for self-preservation. Walking off a platform into air is not something that comes naturally. The safety equipment was in tip top shape, the guides were helpful and encouraging. To take the edge off the hesitation they were jovial and kept us in good humor.

A special shout out to Tianna, who was on day 4 of her employment. On my first platform she was giving me words of encouragement that helped me summon up the courage to take that first long step.

Kevin and Bastein rounded out the guides with humor and laughs.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Horseback Riding Experience at Piiholo Ranch (Makawao)

such a wonderfull trip

Reviewed by: Sonja, 2014/09/11

My husband and I were riding Pecan and Bobcat and our guide was Morgan. We both had no riding experience until this trip, but we had no problems at all. All the horses seem to be trained very well. Sometimes they have their own will, acting like they know it better (maybe they were right, because we had no experience, so it's okay...). Most of the time they did what we wanted :)
We enjoyed our tour very much, especially the stunning lookouts and informations about the island given by Morgan.

Thanks a lot, dear Morgan, Bobcat and Pecan!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

5 Zipline Adventure

Reviewed by: Garry, 2010/04/14

What a blast. First time to try this and had a great time. Myself and a friend took this trip and both enjoyed it. The staff was excellent, and took time to explain everything and made us feel comfortable with them and rest of group on the trip. The zipline itself was exhilirating, even though it was over too quickly. The staff made sure to take all safety precautions and made even those a little afraid of heights feel safe. Overall, I would recommend this to any and all for something different and unique to do while in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Summit, Lavender Farm & Vineyard Deluxe Tour

AROMATIC AWESOMENESS!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/19

My hubby knows I LOVE LOVE LOVE lavender. It is my favorite scent by far...and on my birthday or any holidays he always knows lavender lotions and smelly good things are a sure bet....so when he booked us for this tour, he knew he was racking up the brownie points!

And he did good! I adored visiting the lavender fields so much, and the rest of the trip was great too. We will definitely be telling our friends about what a unique tour this was....especially all my girlfriends who love lavender as much as I do!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

**What a Day!**

Reviewed by: Colby M. Thurston, 2010/01/26

We had heard of a different company doing zipline tours, but another family told us that the Piiholo Zipline Tour was a better experience.
They were sooooooo right! The staff was awesome! Each of our guides had a great, unique personality, and they were super attentive to each of us individually.
The instructions and equipment were top notch! As a rock climber, I realize that all of the equipment that we used was top of the line, expensive, and in terrific shape!
Thanks Piiholo Zipline Tours!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

Pi'iholo Ranch Zipline

Reviewed by: Happy Lea, 2011/09/06

It was a super fun experience for my 17 year old son and I. The staff were very friendly, funny, knowledgeable and helpful. We did the 3-line zipline, which was supposedly the most fun. We were told that the other ziplines were too short or too slow. The 3-line zipline went through tree tops--kinda felt like swinging across trees in the jungle! Our guides, Grant and Brad made us feel so comfortable. They were so funny too! We would DEFINITELY DO THIS AGAIN...hope Brad and Grant will still be there!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Skyline Eco-Adventure Haleakala Zipline Tour

Zipline in Haleakala Advanture - Bucket List...Check!

Reviewed by: M Lizalde, 2016/01/05

Ziplining is something I've been wanting to do for the longest time, but my fear of heights would win all the time! I am so glad I went ahead, despite my fears. Turns out, there was nothing to fear. Our Guides, Aka & Kyle (spelling) were fantastic! Safety First! Then they made it very safe, simple and easy to zip thru every course. Got paired with a great team as well. We all hit it off and had a blast. Beautiful weather, scenery was amazing. Next time I'm n Maui, I will Zipline again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Tree Top Canopy Zipline Adventure in Haiku

The Freemans loved Ziplining with these guys on the North Shore!

Reviewed by: The Freemans, 2015/06/30

There isn't one bad thing we can say about our Zipline tour! These guys were very knowledgeable and professional about it. I'm not the biggest fan of heights, but was never really anxious at all. They are very good at explaining the dos and don'ts and making sure everything is done safely and securely. They were also very funny and kept the atmosphere fun for everyone. The area is gorgeous and tree houses, platforms, and equipment are all very new and well taken care of. Five stars!

Comments from activity operators

Thanks for the great review and thanks for coming out! Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

Awesome time with my family!

Reviewed by: Nui Kane, 2013/05/24

I just graduated from high school so this was my graduation present from my Auntie. It was AWESOME!!!!! I did this activity with my younger brother and sisters. We all agree this is one of the best activities we have ever done in Maui.

The tour guides were nice and they were very helpful. My little brother who is 11, the guides made sure he was safe and comfortable. Not exactly for the faint of heart since your zipping across tree tops. I would definitely do this again and again!

  • Posing before we start our zip!

  • Getting ready to go on our first zip!

  • Don't worry, your harnessed before crossing this bridge

  • The Check-in location (store)

  • Good times!

  • Securing us before our zip!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Horseback Riding Experience at Piiholo Ranch (Makawao)

GREAT FOR BEGINNERS

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/01

Me and my kids took the beginner lunch ride and had a great time. None of us had really had any experience with horses before, besides a ride or two here and there, and so we were glad to have the option of a beginner specific ride.

Not once did me, my wife, or my kids seem nervous or worried...quite the opposite....the boys were hootin and holllerin and wide grinnin the whole day.

They still are telling all their friends about their "cowboy adventure" in hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Tree Top Canopy Zipline Adventure in Haiku

Excellent for Families

Reviewed by: Carmen, 2014/07/05

We had a great time! Our guides were excellent with our kids. We took our 5 year old daughter and 7 year old son and they loved it! Our daughter was a little scared at times but our guides helped her to feel comfortable and safe. Both kids loved every minute of it. The guides were very knowledgable about zip lining and the island. They all had a great sense of humor and seemed to really enjoy working with each other. :)

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2014/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations