Maui to Big Island - Black Sand Beach, Rainbow Falls & Volcanoes National Park

Overall Rating

4.604.60 / 5

Reviews

25 reviews (Post a review)

Steve was wonderful!!!!!

Reviewed by: Crikit, 2017/09/19

My second time to tour the Big Island. Loved this trip. Steve was amazing. We ate at the college and military base, both great choices. Very good food and reasonable prices. Unfortunately we had a rainy afternoon but we saw everything we were supposed to and he took us back at sunset to see the volcano glow. Just a special trip. He also plays wonderful music on the bus. Loved it!


  • The volcano glow at sunset on a rainy evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience...

Reviewed by: Dennis & Barbara, 2017/02/26

We had a great time and our guide TP was the best. He told us all that we wanted to know and jokes as well. We had the perfect weather day, bright sunshine and clear blue sky. Everything was good about the day and well organised and once again the guide was GREAT.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very enjoyable

Reviewed by: Holly, 2017/02/18

Steve was a great guide. The food at the lunch stop was good, however the dinner stop location and food were not good at all.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano tour

Reviewed by: Jerry, 2017/01/13

This tour is aimed towards people that just want to ride in a bus and take pictures. If you want to get out and explore this is not for you. We had a good time and we did learn about the park and valcanos but we wanted to do more on the ground and not just ride around in a bus all day. We had 15 to 30min tops at each stop and 45min each for Lunch and dinner.

We did get lucky and see the Lava in the lava lake during the day but the fog rolled in for the evening glow.
Our next trip to the park will be solo so we can explore more of the park and hike around.



  • The Lava in the lake


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great day!!

Reviewed by: The Gilberts, 2016/07/28

YV was our guide. He was fantastic from the moment we met him till the end of our tour. I really can't say enough good about him. He was personable, kind, knowledgeable, and fun to be around. We all felt as if we were the most important people on the tour. He showed us amazing waterfalls, volcanoes, steam vents, lava tubes, new lava flows, beautiful black beaches, and even a little flowing lava! (our flight was too early to get a better look) YV went above and beyond to make sure our trip was memorable and fun. It was easy to tell he truly loves the land and has a heart for people that most simply do not. We cannot wait to make it back!! I would happily recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in volcanoes and who can do some moderate hiking. We wouldn't trade these memories for just about anything! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU YV!!!!!!!!!


  • Banyan trees, Water falls, rainbows and falling mangos!


  • Lava trees, fields, and curses!


  • Newest land in the world!


  • Smoking caldera. Its hard to see but center left is lava and we saw it spray up!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour and great value!

Reviewed by: Asia, 2016/05/01

The staff were very friendly and helpful. This volcanoes were worth the visit. We took book this trip from Maui. They arranged the package from Maui Airport to Hilo and the staff were there to pick us up right away to the tour bus. No stress and well informed!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a show

Reviewed by: Valerie, 2016/03/10

Steve was a great tour guide for our volcano park tour. He knows his stuff. Places we ate at were great too. It was a long day but it was filled with very interesting facts and scenery. Seeing the crater glow at night was fantastic! Thanks for a wonderful day.


  • Hot lava

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review. We encourage you to share your experience on social media. And, if there is anything we can help you with while you are here, or on a return visit to Hawaii, or even if your family and friends who would like to visit, please do not hesitate to contact us. Let them know Jason told you!

Mahalo,
Jason

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable Mauna Loa

Reviewed by: SandyB, 2016/01/03

We took the Big Island tour from Maui. It was one full day devoted to checking out the Volcano National Park including a flight from Kahului to Hilo airport. Actually standing on the dry, now cool lava, seeing the place where the lava falling in to the ocean has made an interesting arch, checking out a black sand beach, seeing beautiful forests and waterfalls was gorgeous. But what stayed most in my mind was the red glow from the crater of the active volcano Mauna Loa at night: the last stop before we flew back at night. One improvement worth considering: it was a one day tour therefore some of the lunch and dinner break time allotted could be reduced to spend more time on sightseeing. But overall well organized and an unforgettable experience.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review. We encourage you to share your experience on social media. And, if there is anything we can help you with on a return visit to Hawaii, or your family and friends who would like to visit, please do not hesitate to contact us. Let them know Jason told you!

Mahalo,
Jason

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2015/11/28

Even with bad weather we had a fantastic experience on this trip. We saw a ton of lava flow and steam vents and just had a great time.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review, Dawn! We're glad you had a good time despite the overcast weather :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great day!

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2015/11/18

Our tour guide was very informative and the park was fantastic! The small tour bus was brand new, clean, and very comfortable. Highly recommend this tour!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your excellent review, Kathy! We're so glad that you enjoyed yourself :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island

Reviewed by: Lillie S., 2015/10/04

I t was an awesome trip to the Big Island. I can hardly wait to go back.
It was our best vacation we ever had.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the terrific review, Lillie! We're so glad you had a great time :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Jen T, 2015/08/13

Amazing! The experience was worth every penny. Our guide, Steve, was very knowledgable. We learned a lot and saw a lot. The only thing I didn't care for was the food selection for lunch and dinner, but I'm picky.


Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your review, Jen! We are always aiming to improve our guest's experience, so your feedback is genuinely appreciated :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Visiting from Indiana and California

Reviewed by: Tim Durham, 2014/12/04

We had an excellent time on the tour! We were treated as "Specialer" guests by our guide "John" and were surprised with an after dark visit to view the volcano! It was awesome. John even serenaded us at the end with his guitar and a medley of Willie Nelson and Eric Clapton songs! He made the day even more fun because he was so great! Would highly recommend this trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Tour - Worth Every Penny!

Reviewed by: Lynn M, 2014/10/28

This tour was incredible! Steve was our driver, and he was great! He gave so much great information about Hawaii, its history, its formation/landscape, etc. And, he made sure we got to see so many things, from black sand beaches, Rainbow Falls, and the Mauna Loa macadamia nut plant...to seeing the active volcano during the day and as it glowed at night. He took photos of us, and he took us to some good/affordable spots for lunch and dinner. Our honeymoon to Hawaii wouldn't have been the same without this tour. It's the perfect way to get a taste of the Big Island without having to pack all of your bags and waste time traveling back and forth between islands. It was a long day, but worth every minute and every cent. Thanks for a great experience!!


  • collage of my husband and I at different points during the tour - black sand beach, rainbow falls, volcano national park.


  • Volcano at night! Taken with my iPhone. Even more impressive in person.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Day Trip to Big Island

Reviewed by: J & D Keller, 2014/10/19

Was definitely not worth the price and a lot of time wasted on travel and eating. The two meal stops were highlight of trip. The big island and its Volcano are definitely worth seeing but wait until you can make a full weeks trip there.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Park tour

Reviewed by: Ruth & Ian, 2014/09/19

Great tour with Steve our driver. Hit all the right spots and he did well to miss the bus tour crowds. Could have done with a little more "Fire and brimstone" !!!!!! It was however a very long day with three flights in all to and from Maui, via Honolulu on the way back.

Glad we did it, having actually flown over Kilauea several years ago.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Big Island Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: Lisa WS, 2014/08/25

Excellent tour with a fantastic guide! Loved learning about the island and volcano. Our guide was amazing, I'll book with this company again on our next visit!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to big Island Eco tour

Reviewed by: Aline, 2014/04/19

Booked this hoping to see lava, even though they say there are no guarantees, the way the tour is conducted there is actually no way for you to see active lava. The first half of the day was a total disappointment, stopped at a terrible overpriced restaurant for an hour. Once we got to the park things improved, not sure why we didn't do the lunch stop at the park there was a cheaper restaurant there with the view of Kilauea. The park is great with lots of trails that we didn't take.

For four people we could have spent our money more wisely, by buying our flights directly, then hiring a driver to take us to the park the whole day, so we can hike. If you are looking for a comfortable trip and don't want to walk much this is the tour for you, otherwise, I recommend you do this on your own.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour experience

Reviewed by: AnilG, 2014/02/09

My wife and I went on one day Volcano tour during our recent weeklong stay in Maui. Their pricing was competitive and inclusive airline reservation was convenient. Tour itself was well organized and planned. Special shout out for our tour guide John. A tour guide can make or break organized tours. John was a great guy. He was very well informed and never skimped on any details. He was witty, accommodative and kept everyone in a great mood and spirits. We had a great day seeing and learning about the volcano and the islands.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Stayed Late and Got A Bonus

Reviewed by: LIsa plus 3, 2014/01/18

I was skeptical about an all day adventure, losing time from Maui, and coming back late at night, but boy was I wrong. The first part of the day was lovely and it was great to get a taste of Hilo and a taste of Big Island Candy. Our guide was knowledgable and very personable. It was clear that he loved his home and was eager to share his knowledge. Then we went to Volcano National Park. So cool!!! The tradewinds were in our favor so we were able to hike around, walk through the lava tube and the museum was GREAT. But it turned out our late flight out got us a second trip back to the crater at night. What during the day looked like an interesting moon crater landscape with a hole in the middle and smoke rising from it, really became a volcano at night. The hole glowed orange from the lava and you could see it was moving as it got brighter on one side and then the other. Everything else was pitch black. That was a treat!! I love Hawaii for great beaches, snorkeling, good food, fun activities, with a chance to really relax and, of course, it's beauty. Seeing an active volcano just added a whole other dimension. It was a great day and well worth the trip. My two teenage daughters thought so too.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth Every Penny

Reviewed by: Ed E., 2013/12/28

The entire day was very interesting. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and freindly. The places we stopped to eat were very good, plus the singing and dancing show during our lunch was an unexpected treat! If one is interested in volcanos, this tour is a must.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dream come true

Reviewed by: Lisa M., 2013/06/03

Our trip to Hawaii would not have been complete without seing the volcano on the big island. I have loved volcanoes my whole life and this was a dream come true for me. Our tour was personalized to make sure we got the most out of what was admittedly a very long day. By the end, we were wet, tired, and hungry (bring plenty of snacks and water) but absolutely elated to have had this experience. We were so lucky to have made it back up to the top to view a bit of lava at sunset from the Jagger Museum and Observatory before having to make a mad dash back to the airport. But, our guide John knew what it would mean to everyone to actually get to see the glowing red caldera at night so he went out of his way to make sure that happened. The area is often rainy and although you may hear it often it is hard to believe how cold it gets up there (especially when you are wet) so layer up and bring a hat or some kind of rain gear. If you want fun and adventure this is the tour for you!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lisa!

Thank for sharing your Hawaiian experience with Discover Hawaii Tours. It was a pleasure to provide you with the best vacation ever!
If you're ever back on island in the future - we would love to once again host you as our guests.

Mahalo :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

too much travel

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/02/14

we booked this not knowing that we were going to have to fly from maui to honolulu before flying to hilo. Had I known we were going to spend several hours in a plane or at the airport, I wouldn't have done it. we left our hotel in maui at 7am and returned at 1130pm. it was way too long of a day - not worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano tour

Reviewed by: Ronnie, 2010/01/28

The best part of the tour was the guide. Jared was great. As a native islander he gave us an insiders perspective that added extra enjoyment to the trip. Timing was perfect and the whole trip was essentially seemless

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What an amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Gabrielle S., 2009/01/17

One of the things that I wanted to do when my family and I came to Hawaii was see a volcano, and oh my goodness this tour was just perfect!

It was wonderful and everything was so organized. When we went to the airport, we quickly checked in with at the airline counter and once we landed in the Big Island, we were immediately me with our guide (and he was great, but my memory for names is awful and I can't remember his! Eeek!). He showed us so many different sites and kept us entertained with many facts and stories as well.

Seeing the crater was definitely the highlight of the trip and everything was very well paced so as not to seem hurried, but also not boring and slow either.

If you choose one big day trip during your stay in Hawaii, THIS IS IT! Thank you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI