Hawaiian Ocean Project Lahaina Whale Watching Cruise from Lahaina [Open Soon] reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Hawaiian Ocean Project Lahaina Whale Watching Cruise from Lahaina [Open Soon]

Overall Rating

4.50 4.50 / 5

Reviews

196 reviews
Post a review

Nice crew, 100% whale watching!

Reviewed by: Jasper, 2019/01/11

Captain is so experienced, we found whales right after departing from the harbo. Nice crew and we enjoyed a lot. Must come during whale watching season in Maui. And remember bring sunglasses, hat, and light jacket.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time.

Reviewed by: Rcc1216, 2018/04/06

Had a great time seeing the whales. One of the crew ladies was a little rude but overall it was a great time. Would recommend it to anyone looking to see some whales.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watching

Reviewed by: Bob & Kids, 2018/03/17

The experience was nice...the whales could have been a little more cooperative & shown themselves more, but that’s nature....we had a very nice time....not over crowded (16 guests), that helped!! Our guide was very informative regarding the whales as he travels with them back to Alaska every year....

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watching

Reviewed by: Tim Takach, 2018/01/17

It is hard not to recommend whale watching. Had a great time with the family. Seen a few whales up close but most activity was from a distance. A few awesome whale tails. The crew was great. If you never went whale watching this should be on the bucket list.

What to expect? A great view from either side of the boat and a relaxing day with sun. Crew members explaining whale behaviors and pointing them out so you can follow and hopefully get some great photos.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saw just a few whales, overall okay experience

Reviewed by: sunny, 2017/12/19

The cruise started off at the harbor where we checked-in, waiting to board. Once we were seated, the boat undocked and we were on our way to watch some whales. The narration was the best part of the trip. The narrators were very informative and would tell us stories. They were always on the lookout for whales and try their best to take the boat as close them as possible but it was our mis-fortune that around that time we could only spot a few whales that too for just a couple of seconds. On the other hand, the views were surreal from the middle of the ocean. They guarantee a sighting and that's exactly what we got but I wish it was for longer.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience for 3-year old daughter!

Reviewed by: Kenji Miwa, 2017/12/18

It was my daughter’s first time whale watching and I felt it was a great experience for my little one. We were able to see a couple of whales from far away, but since it was not during the peak whale watching season, we couldn’t get the full whale watching experience. I would love to come again during the peak season around February, which is what I heard is when there is the most whale activity. Other than that the view was great and I would recommend whale watching to anyone who haven’t experienced it yet. The water may be a little choppy at times so I would recommend people taking motion sickness medication for people who might be sensitive to motion sickness.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience but not as advertised

Reviewed by: Jon, 2017/02/12

The crew was knowledgeable and the captain found some great whale locations. We saw quite a few breaches and other amazing whale activities.

However, the boat we went out with was their dinner boat and did not include the advertised hydrophones or binoculars. Had we known this, we might have booked a less expensive excursion that also didn't have these items.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

end of season whales!

Reviewed by: Aussie Helen, 2016/04/24

For an April end of season whale cruise it was great to see whales and cruise the harbour in sunshine! saw a whale breaching out on the horizon,a mother and calf quite close to our boat,an escort flapping his tail, a lovely wave from a whale and lots of water spouts!! Fun afternoon

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worthwhile if timing and cost are right

Reviewed by: mauinowie, 2015/12/14

Like most things on maui, they are expensive for what they are, especially the tourist items. We found a discount early bird package and I think w paid just under $50 for two of us. We also tipped the crew $5 and paid for our picture $20...like real tourists do. Both the top and particularly the picture were optional but I got roped into it. It was early in the season also, just the start of the whale season. We did spot a few whales but they were a bit far away and hard to see. We were able to see a few from shore as well, but of course, even farther away. the weather was flawless and there is no reason that I saw not to take the early morning package for the reduced price. I would definitely try to sit up front in the future, but we sat in the back. The issue being best view, but there is enough to look at with the sides and rear that even the back is more than tolerable. We took some photos, which only included little blips of whales off in the distance. I think I would target this venue for prime season to be sure to see more. My understanding is about 4000-8000 whales will congregate.. We saw maybe 5.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!!!

Reviewed by: Rachel, 2015/04/09

Had a fantastic time! Lots of whales to see. Can't wait to do this again the next time we're in Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: Becky G, 2015/03/01

Excellent tour with very friendly & informative guide (Bob). Wish we would have seen more of upcountry Maui, but other than that was great! Fabulous views, comfortable bus, great experience. Would recommend to anyone, so nice not to have to drive that windy road, could enjoy the ride in comfort and safety!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved seeing the whales

Reviewed by: Penney, 2014/01/29

You can't go to Maui during whale season and not go on a whale watching cruise. Would do this again the next time we go to Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watch

Reviewed by: nlc, 2014/01/18

The whale experience was good and the boat met the needs of all. The whales weren't real "active" but that is nature!
The only issue I had was printing off the ticket voucher. We were in a condo with no print access so I had to ask a neighbour to print it after emailing it to them. Not sure how you fix this but it was a minor inconvenience.

  • Whale Tail

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watch

Reviewed by: newbie to scuba, 2013/12/12

We saw whales doing different things. We saw the tails and back of the whales as they swam and they were completely oblivious to us. I was hoping to see whales up close. But the state law does not allow the boat to get close. So they were not really that impressive from that far away.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your review! We are glad you saw whales! When it is peak season of Whale Watching you are sure to get much closer to them! It is truly an amazing experience. State law does not allow the boat to go towards the whales when they are near, however many times they will come up to the boat and we turn the engines off and that is legal if they come up to your vessel. We have had them 'cruise' around our boats for over an hour! We hope to have you again in the future! Mahalo! Lahaina Cruise Company - Hawaii Ocean Project

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Whales!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/02/08

The Whale Watching was fun. The only problem was that we could not hear what was being said over the speakers. Too noisey.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Whale Watching

Reviewed by: Stuart, 2008/03/29

Saw plenty of whales with the closest ones coming within 70ft of the boat. The boat was comfortable and viewing was not a problem. The Captain's banter helped make it a very enjoyable trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

End of Season Whale Watching

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/05/06

Although our trip was near the end of the whale watching season, it actually worked out well for us, as we saw two males fighting over a female in desperation, before they began the trek back up north

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]