Maui Princess Sunset Cocktail Dinner Cruise & Royal Lahaina Luau Combo reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Maui Princess Sunset Cocktail Dinner Cruise & Royal Lahaina Luau Combo

Overall Rating

4.29 4.29 / 5

Reviews

31 reviews
Post a review

Fabulous time

Reviewed by: Beau, 2017/01/22

Amazing time! Food was wonderful as well as the view

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: Sunrise, 2015/09/08

Good time. Beautiful sunset and good entertainment.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Freemans take on the Maui Princess Sunset cruise

Reviewed by: The Freemans, 2015/06/30

Cruise was pretty average to us, we were kind of blindsided by the cafeteria style seating. That should maybe be posted on the description, if it was we didn't notice it. Food was very bland, and a few of the servers were far from professional and seemed possibly a little tipsy. I enjoyed the music, but expected Hawaiian style music to be played rather than Prince, Jimmy Buffett, Santana, the Eagles and other classic rock songs, I've seen covered at various events in the U.S.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not impressed

Reviewed by: Deb, 2014/12/15

The pictures of the ship shows a luxurious cruise ship but it is far from it. Although the young man that was singing had a nice voice, I thought we were going to experience an upbeat entertainment line up. It's hard to be romantic and enjoy the moment with your honey when you are sitting across a small table from total strangers, as well as being able to scratch the back of the person sitting right behind you. The dinner was prepared well and very tasty. I have been on a dinner cruise before when I visited Kona Hawaii, and it was soooooo much better.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princess Dinner Cruise and Luau

Reviewed by: Gale Justicw, 2014/07/19

We loved both events. Highly recommend booking these

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princess Sunset Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Nancy Hoffman, 2014/06/21

Nice cruise, somehow our assigned table disappeared, really not ok when you make reservations far in advance and your party is the group standing with no place to go. We are bringing 3 different people with us on this cruise next week, hoping for different results.
Food was ok, rice was cold and stuck together. Like I said hoping for better next week!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

TOTALLY ENJOYABLE

Reviewed by: HAWAII BOUND, 2014/02/13

WHAT A WONDERFUL DAY AND GREAT WAY TO END THE EVEING WITH A BEAUTIFUL SUNSET AD DINNER WITH A SHOW!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

poor cruise

Reviewed by: Erik, 2013/10/11

Luau was awesome. The cruise was very disappointing. Last table served and cruise was almost over. Prime rib was chewy and fish was dry and cold. No room for dancing. Was advertised as dinner dancing cruise. Will try different company next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner Cruise & Luau

Reviewed by: Erica, 2013/09/17

Dinner cruise was beautiful, sailing up and down the coast. Dinner was great, I had the Mahi Mahi and my friend got the rib eye, but she did say the steak was a tad bit plain. Great friendly staff, beautiful sunset, good dinner, tastey strong drinks, nice view, relaxing sail. I enjoyed the ride.
The luau was just as wonderful. You have a preassigned table so it doesn't matter what time you get there or stand in line. We stayed at the hotel so didn't have to worry about parking, but it does fill up fast. The food was delicious! The show was nice and the sunset pretty! Staff was helpful and nice. I enjoyed the open bar and also the craft tables they had set up for the whole luau.
Overall we enjoyed both events very much.

  • Sunset from the dinner cruise

  • Dancers at the luau

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Erica! Thank you so much for your nice compliments! We would love to have you back again, so be sure to contact Lahaina Cruise Company on your next trip to Maui and we'll extend 15% off! We also do a tour to the island of Moloka'i which is full of history. Thanks again!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful!

Reviewed by: N. Wimbley, 2012/11/18

Wonderful activity. Enjoyed the dinner cruise and the Luau! Will recommend to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Party

Reviewed by: Reyes, 2012/11/01

Easy booking, no hazels, good events and god price bundle.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour!

Reviewed by: Lindnerlady, 2012/10/30

This was our first time in Maui and we thoroughly enjoyed the Sunset Cruise. The weather was excellent and we met another couple that helped make the cruise enjoyable as well. The food was excellent and the tour was just plain fun and relaxing. Very romantic. Highly recomment

The luau was fun too. The food was great and the entertainment excellent. Would do this tour duo again in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Cruise/Royal Luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/10/06

This was my 2nd time doing both of these activities and my husband's first. Both activities were fun and entertaining. Re: the cruise, the food (we both had the macadamia nut crusted mahi mahi) was very good, as well as the remainder of the meal and the drinks. We were placed with another couple at a table and made for a pleasant evening.

The Royal Lahaina Luau was fun. Food was good but nothing great, and the entertainment, especially the fire knife throwing, was great. We had a good evening there. Would definitely recommend both of these activities to couples and families on their first trip to Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Deal

Reviewed by: JPatrick, 2012/09/16

Really enjoyed both experiences!!! Sunset cruise was beautiful and Luau was great fun... totally recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Price

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/10

I would recommend this value combo we really enjoyed both activities and had a great time, also met alot of nice people who we still keep in contact with great vacation Thanks I will be using you again for our next trip to Hawaii

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Dinner Cruise & Luau

Reviewed by: Dye, 2012/07/09

This combo package was excellent quality and value! We were set to sail on a Monday evening. The island was experiencing high winds the previous day with no end in sight. The activities company gave a courteous call asking if we would like to reschedule for later in the week. After assuring me the cruise would safely sail as planned that evening, whether we rescheduled or not, we declined the reschedule. The servers, captain and entertainment seemed happy to be doing their jobs which made our experience that much more pleasurable. The entertainment was Jimmy Buffet-ish with a touch of Hawaiian. He recognized birthdays, anniversaries etc and several folks joined him on the dance floor. The dinner was AMAZING! I am not a huge fish eater... but the macadamia nut crusted mahi mahi was to die for! We were seated with some Newlyweds from the midwest whose company was very enjoyable. I think sometimes people are a bit uncomfortable dining with strangers. However, the crew made everyone feel a

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A should-see for all first timers

Reviewed by: Levina, 2012/06/17

If it wasn't for the rain, this would be a lot more fun. If you haven't seen a volcano, this is definitely the tour to go on.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Jessica N, 2012/03/29

I loved it, the food was good, the main presenter (or the host of the show) was really funny and entertaining, the dancers were really good...I just loved everything.
Sadly, I missed the sunset dinner cruise so I can't give any review on that! I'm only talking about the Royal Lahaina Luau dinner.
If you go to Maui, I recommend you to get this.
I almost forgot, the sunset was really really beautiful!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/03/22

The dinner cruise was the highlight of our trip. We had a wonderful evening inspite of the rain. The food was fantastic, the staff top notch, and the entertainment fantastic. The captain did her best to avoid the rain, but eventually mother nature won! We went below and enjoyed the music. Great evening to remember!

The Luau was rained out twice so we missed out. We were disappointed, but I was amazed how Hawaii activities took the time to contact us, reschedule and then finally reimbursed us in cash. They went out of their way to make the best of the weather situation.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner Cruise combo Luau

Reviewed by: Ray & Gerry of Central NY, 2012/01/03

Unfortunately you can't always have perfect weather; there was no sunset to view. But the food was good, the ride was smooth and the couple we shared our table with were very friendly; on their honeymoon from Belgium. Our only complaint is the way the guests are loaded onto the boat. When you embark instead of climbing topside you are led all the way around the bow only to come back where you boarded, then you're allowed on top. A nice walk unless you're DISABLED! The staff I complained to said it was my fault for not telling them I have trouble walking. Other than that, the rest of the staff was great, and I soon forgot any troubles. The Luau was good but the food lines were too long; that was a problem for those of us at the back. It was difficult to eat in the dark, when the entertainment started and the lights were turned off. My wife felt the dancers were only up for a short while and should've performed longer. Rain was forecast (it didn't) and maybe they were rushing to beat th

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyable

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2011/10/17

My Husband And I Booked This Dinner Cruise As A Package Deal With A Luau. We Had Went On The Maui Princess Cruise Last Time Here, But It Was A Different Boat Out Of A Different Harbor. This One Was A Nice Big Boat, But Everyone Sat Up On Top At Not So Spacious 4 Person Square Tables. The Seats Are Bolted In For Safety, But It Makes It Rather Hard To Move. If Your A Bigger Person You Basically Have To Sit Underneath, Inside The Boat... Other Than Being A Bit Crammed Up Top, The Dinner Was Very Nice. Food Was Excellent And You Meet Alot Of New People Since Your Sitting So Close. After Eating We Walked To The Front Of The Boat And Hung Out There The Rest Of The Night, Which Was VERY Nice...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great, even in the rain!

Reviewed by: Georgia Couple, 2011/07/09

It rained a little during our luau, but we hardly noticed. The food was fantastic!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Sunset dinner

Reviewed by: Randy, 2011/02/18

Me and my wife enjoyed the sunset dinner cruise alot. We met some nice people at the dinner. The luau was a very spectacular show and great food. We also met some interesting people at the luau. I would definately do them both again when i come back.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: John Alford, 2009/10/24

What an awesome time. We met a great couple from Iowa and my wife and I felt we met my brother and her sister. We shared stories, listened to great music and the food was very good. We have new email freinds because of this trip. The staff was very pleasant and accomadating. Thank you for the great evening. Must do.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great tour

Reviewed by: sensitive, 2008/12/01

this was a very good tour. short and sweet.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME CRUISE-NOT THE BEST LUAU

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/11/10

The sunset dinner cruise was better than the rest that were there. We had a big, well kept cruise ship with tableclothes, place settings and excellent waitresses who were constantly checking if we needed anything. The food was very good and cooked perfectly! Did not go cheap on the drinks either-were very well made! Most others looked like buffet style, sit on the outer edge of the perimeter of the boat on a bench style seat and looked very unorganized.
The Royal Lahaina Luau was a nice show, however, was rows of table seating and we were dismissed by row to go up to wait in a buffet line. We booked it very early online, but when you get there they want you to pay $15 more per person for VIP seats to be the first 3 rows allowed to get your food first. We were the 20th people in line to get in with a line of about 300 people, but were still put in the second to last table and were last up for our food! The food was not good..cheap macaroni salad, a cold pasta salad, regular di

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Muai Honeymoon

Reviewed by: D and L, 2008/07/22

This was an awsome way to start a marriage. The activities on Muai were fantastic! This could have been enjoyed by anyone from newlyweds to entire families. The people of this island, and especially these activities, made this an experience of a lifetime. If you can efford to only take one vacation, it is worth making an effort to go to Muai. Everyone we meet from the mainland as well as other countries expressed the same thoughts as my wife and I. This is a must have vacation! We'll be back soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princess Cruise & Royal Lahaina Lua

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/12/13

The package was an excellent deal. However, I would recommend that the staff of the Princess Dinner Cruise keep a supply of motion sickness pills on board. As myself and others were sick through the duration of the cruise. So as far as the food or view I can't vouch for either one.

The Luau had a wide variety of dishes to choice from both island food and american food. They had not only hula dancers and music but also fire dancers. The luau toke place along the coastline. I would recommend the luau to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overall, a good time

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/09/14

The sunset dinner cruise was beautiful and my husband and I really enjoyed it. The food was good, but a little over cooked. Overall experience was wonderful. The luau was ok. We thought we were going to the old Lahaina Luau, and didn't realize there was a difference between that and the Royal Lahaina Luau. The food was ok, the drinks were good, the show was good also, but overall I think i would have prefered to go to the Old Lahaina Luau since I'd heard nothing but good things about it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cruise and Luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/06/29

The staff of the cruise was the best aspect. Our waitress was wonderful. The food could have been better, the meat was a bit dry. I didn't get to see the sunset because it was hard to get out of the chair and it was on the other side of the boat. The luau was okay. The best was the food. The show was all right, but could have been better.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]