This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Four Winds Molokini Snorkel Tour on Glass Bottom Boat (from Maalaea Harbor)


Attended as (Couples) Reviews

Four Winds snorkling

Reviewed by: Connie, 2019/04/14

Great food and saw some whales. Very nice crew members.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for joining us!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

snorkel trip

Reviewed by: Darla, 2019/03/30

Very attentive staff, great experience. Food was good, saw lots of fish and an eel.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Boating excursion EVER!

Reviewed by: Canada Robert, 2019/01/17

We were lucky that it was a beautiful day on the water. Everything was perfect! We saw so many whales we couldn't keep up with which side of the boat they were breaching on. Our "Captain Dan" was the most amazing host. He provided a lot of insight into the whales (their behaviour, etc), the surrounding area & history, the crew on the boat and even his own life. It wouldn't have been the same without him onboard. Thanks, "Lieutenant Dan"!! Riley was an excellent bar keep and equipment manager. I don't remember the names of the rest but all were so professional and accommodating. Snorkelling on the Molokini for a newbie like my wife was a breeze thanks to ALL of them. Will definitely book this again when we go back to Maui.


  • Happy on the Molokini! Thanks Four Winds II

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun but could be longer.

Reviewed by: alib199, 2018/06/11

Overall the trip was what was expected however I feel like there should be more time allowed to snorkel. You arrive to the dock and get on the boat. They have a small muffin style breakfast available. - The drive to the spot is about an hour, you get maybe an hour to snorkel and eat, then you head back which is about an hour. I wish we would have more time to snorkel and relax. It feels very rushed, rightfully so maybe, but for the money you figured you would have a little more time to just be and relax. The lunch is nice and plentiful. The equipment is fine enough and they give you options to purchase a top half wet suit, for cash only so bring some if you want to do that. You can also rent camera's if you would like. There was someone there who took professional style pictures so that was a nice bonus. Of course they cost but not as much as I figured. - The crew knows their information and is fun with their jokes and fun on the boat. The glass bottom is only open when you stop to snorkel and between snorkeling and eating I forgot to look and when I remembered we were leaving and it was closed. You have only a small amount of space to snorkel at once you're at the crater. It's very packed full of people and other boats so it's not really a relaxed snorkel. It feels crowded and time is limited. For our first experience it was a good time but we just which we had more time. This excursion doesn't go to the turtle part either. We picked it for the glass bottom over the turtle snorkeling and we wish we wouldn't have done that.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Time!

Reviewed by: Wendy R, 2018/04/05

This is an excellent company to tour with. The weather could have been better, but that is out of their control. They were very friendly and professional, and the boat was clean and fun. Would consider them again, snorkeling was okay, I've had better and worse.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Four Winds Snorkel BBQ to Molokini

Reviewed by: John Mandy, 2016/06/08

Very disappointing. We paid for a trip to Molokini. We were told that it was too rough to snorkel there. Instead, we were taken to Coral Gardens. What they didn't tell us was that Coral Gardens can be accessed from the beach off of Hwy 30. It was very close to the harbor and even though the water was clear, there were few fish. I felt as if I had been cheated. We spent over $100 each and expected to snorkel at the Molokin crater. We talk with some other visitors who went with a different company. They told us how wonderful it was. I don't recommend this company. We booked ahead. Next time we will book when we get to Maui.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha John,

While we understand your disappointment at not going to Molokini, our web site and all of our literature does state that Molokini is weather dependent; our morning trips get there 95% of the time. Nobody offers a 100% guarantee as it is simply unsafe under certain conditions. As for Coral Gardens, it is actually not accessible unless you are on a boat. It is at the base of a very steep cliff wall and we go there because it is protected from the wind. Coral Gardens is actually listed in the top 10 snorkeling spots in the US by Conde Nast' (12 years in a row), Coastal Living and Travel & Leisure and most guests enjoy seeing the turtles you wouldn't see at Molokini.

We do hope you'll join us again and that we can get you to Molokini!

Mahalo,
Kelly

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Staff!

Reviewed by: Shelley Gehlbach, 2016/05/27

I snorkeled out at Molokini when I was 10 years old and was really happy to make it back 30 years later. I did notice a big difference in the reef and diminished marine life, however, and would suggest for the benefit of that particularly sensitive environment, that it be strongly suggested to guests to buy reef-safe suntan lotion.

That said, the captain was a riot, the staff was all very friendly, and the experience was well worth the money and time spent :)

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the kind words! Eco friendly sunscreen is something we also highly recommend! We hope to see you again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A fantastic way to spend the morning!

Reviewed by: Trevor , 2015/12/28

I cannot recommend the Four Winds enough! The crew are all fantastic and make you feel welcome right from the outset. Captain John is worth the price of admission alone! We were provided a great breakfast and later lunch with all drinks included, we were well looked after. The equipment used is sanitary and of a high quality and the boat itself is very comfortable.
We were lucky enough to see several wales on the way out to Molokini and the crater itself provided some of the best snorkelling you can do. The other patrons were of all ages and ethnicities and got along famously - this is a great option for those with kids too.
I find it hard to believe you could find a better way to go to Molokini than with the four winds!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Trevor,

A big mahalo for the great review! We hope to see you again soon and promise an equally wonderful experience. :-)

Sincerely,
Kelly Stoneman
Sales, Marketing & Social Media Manager
Maui Classic Charters
Four Winds II

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful trip

Reviewed by: Ray. L, 2015/12/16

It's a wonderful trip. We saw Whales on the way there and identify turtle near the harbor on the way back. the morning trip is pretty nice for the weather. The people on the boat are very nice. Thanks Zack/Reed. You got to try Snuba since it's easy and fun. You will have multiple chances to get into the water in the 2 hour period. What you can see depends on the season and what kind of fish are active there though.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha and Mahalo Ray! We are so glad you had a wonderful time and hope to have you out with us again in the future! I am posting some underwater whale footage from today on Facebook right this minute! :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Freemans loved the Four Winds!

Reviewed by: The Freemans, 2015/06/30

Captain John served as a great captain, host, comedian, server, tour guide he does it all! We did the snuba with Jamie, it is extra, but is definitely worth it, he gives a good tutorial before you go out, and makes it relaxing and enjoyable. The rest of the staff on board was great, and Trey the photographer was very professional as well. We rented a digital underwater camera and purchased a Cd that had all our pictures on it, and it turned out great! 5 stars for Four Winds!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

snorkel

Reviewed by: id4das, 2014/05/28

Crew was very friendly and helpful. Great place to go snokeling. Even food was good. Well wirth money and time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best molokini experience

Reviewed by: Jay, 2014/02/09

Molokini is one of the best spot for snorkel/snuba the water is way more clear then the beaches, tons of exotic fish for you to swim with and this group of guys are the best. Delicious food, ice cold drinks and everyone are very friendly, the best customer service I have encountered. With the captain's guidance we were able to spot lots of whales and sea turtles as well. If you decide to go to molokini make sure you go with these guys, you will not regret it.


  • This guy snuck up right next to us!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome

Reviewed by: Sue & James Nivens, 2013/06/24

This was our first time and it was sooo amazing. The crew was great and the bbq was on point! Tre did an awesome job on the video and pictures. We will definately book again. We are planning on coming back next year with our son.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snubs

Reviewed by: Janet, 2012/11/07

We have snorkeled many times, but the snuba was a first. We absolutely
Loved it. Our instructor, James, was helpful and patient. The whole crew was friendly and made us feel welcome. We highly recommend this trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Bill and Cheryl, 2012/10/13

We took the morning cruise. Great staff and we had a great time. we only wish we could have stayed all day five hours didnt seem to be enough. We will definately be back



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun

Reviewed by: Darshan Patel, 2012/06/21

I really enjoyed this cruise with my wife. We went on an afternoon cruise and had burgers for lunch. It was a different experience having lunch on a cruise after snorkeling. The staff was very nice and friendly and made sure we enjoyed and had fun. If we go back to Hawaii, then will definitely take this cruise again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

dissapointing

Reviewed by: brian, 2012/05/17

The cruise started off with a simple but nice breakfast and coffee. The staff is great and very friendly. The boat is also very large and roomy. Things went downhill when halfway to molokini it was announced the wind was to high and we were going to a second location. We got to this location about an hour into the cruise and went out snorkeling. I hate to say it, but it was DISSAPOINTING. We had better snorkeling at the beach outside our hotel. We stayed in this location for several hours, but after about 1 hour we had seen everything. We got back on the boat and they had a great lunch, tons of food. Then we just sat around for 2 hours waiting for all the children on the boat to finish up. On a side note, it seemed like the kids all enjoyed it. Personally, for this amount of money, it would be nice if they mentioned they dont always go to Molokin and offered some kind of rebate. Additionally, they need a better location to go as a backup plan. Obvioulsy our trip was differen

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great day!

Reviewed by: Ross & Brenda, 2012/04/20

We took advantage of the opportunity to try snuba. Jamie was great! He helped us feel comfortable very quickly so that we could enjoy ourselves. He was a perfect tour guide under the water, pointing out unique bits of corral and things living within the corral, dusting things off as we went.

The Captain worked hard to help us find unique and interesting things to see as we sailed - made for great pictures and gave us a better understanding of the wildlife and the environment they live in.

The crew on board were fantastic hosts! So helpful and cheerful! They all worked really hard to make sure we were safe and happy and well fed...all with a smile! We really appreciated all of their efforts to make us welcome!

Mahalo! Mahalo! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW! So much FUN!

Reviewed by: Mrs. Montague, 2012/01/11

My husband and I recently went on the afternoon snorkeling cruise on the Four Winds and it was fantastic! The price was spot on and we felt it was the best value for our money of any activity we did. The cruise was very safe and very fun too. We went during January and we got the added perk of seeing the humpback whales. It was such a great added bonus that we didn't have to take a whale watching cruise in addition. The crew was so friendly and embraced the laid back Hawaiian attitude. The Captain was very knowledgeable about the whales and gave us lots of information while we were watching them. The wet suit add on (for $5) was also a good thing to get as it helped me not to be quite so cold in the water. The optional lunch for $7 was also a decent quality as you could choose from chicken, burgers, hot dogs, or bar-b-que as well as chips. The complementary sodas, beer and wine were also pretty nice. They also had a hose with a shower nozzle on board so you could rinse off af

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Activity!!!

Reviewed by: SFarmywife, 2009/09/14

My husband and I just went snuba diving at the Molokini Crater. This was my first time being in the ocean yet alone dive 20ft under the ocean. It was way better than snorkeling! Now I'm hooked on snuba and willing to do it again in the future! I recommend this to everyone who wants to experience a whole different world!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Day

Reviewed by: Dave Hall, 2009/07/15

Trip was very fun for first time snorklers. Crew was good and food was delicious





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't miss this!!!

Reviewed by: Sheena, 2007/09/16

The staff on this boat is amazing! They provide a great breakfast with bagels, fruit, etc. They also have a BBQ lunch whereas most other boats only provide deli sandwiches. Unlimited drinks too. We only had about 80 people on our boat so it was really roomy (usual capacity is 120 or so). They also provide high quality underwater cameras (for a fee) and they document the trip in a video and photo CD which you can also buy. Definitely try snuba if your budget allows! The instructor is terrific! 5 stars all the way! Absolutely no complaints!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Morning snorkel 6/1 AMAZING!

Reviewed by: Ed and Julie, 2007/06/05

This was experience of a lifetime. The staff onboard took care of any concerns. They have it down to a well run event. It made Maui a little better for us.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]