This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour

Fun Adventure

Reviewed by: Debbie R, 2018/03/17

The helicopter ride is exciting and fun. We saw the shoreline and lots of waterfalls. The Road to Hana can be long so going half-way is better. Our guide was terrific. He showed us all the important things along the way that we never would have seen if we did it on our own.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent, well worth the money

Reviewed by: Don Henry, 2018/01/07

My wife, myself and my sister with her husband were able to get this trip. We were told that normally they like to do this trip with 6 people. We had only four in our group but they still ran the trip. We took the early morning van ride to Hana and the helicopter ride back. You can do this trip either way. We had a brand new GMC custom van, it was great. Greg our driver said that this company only has newer vans. The only thing better than a new van was a very experienced driver. Greg was great, he knew all the places to slow down and where you could get the best pictures. My wife and sister are very much into flowers, Greg was very knowledgeable on the subject. Many years ago I drove this road and I missed so much, having a driver/guide is the best way to to this. I have a commercial driving licence so I can recognize and appreciate a professional driver. Lunch was very good and light, you want that for the helicopter flight back. The pilot, Glenda was very smooth and safety was always a big concern. The helicopter company was Blue Hawaiian, top notch outfit. I could not think of one negative comment or even a constructive criticism. Is it cheap no, is it value for your money yes.


  • one of the many water falls on the road to hana


  • they is time to swim in one of the many waterfalls


  • Glenda was our pilot back , very good

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent, this is a must do tour

Reviewed by: Peter and Donna, 2016/01/08

Loved this tour, it ticked all the boxes and was less stressful than driving all those bends and narrow bridges ourself. Just enough stops to get photos and food. Mike our driver was fantastic and interesting. Absolutely loved the comfort of the van. Our picnic lunch was delicious and the park where we stopped was beautiful. The helicopter ride was fantastic too and show a different look of the rainforest from above, if you haven't booked this yet, make sure you do. A great company to go with.


Reply from activity provider

Hi Peter & Donna,

Thanks so much for your kind words about your Hana Sky-Trek with Michael yesterday! We're so glad to hear that he really highlighted the Road to Hana for you, and obviously, you got some absolutely lovely photos! It's wonderful that you enjoyed your picnic lunch, and who could forget touring around East Maui via helicopter!

Please let us know the next time you're on Maui, and let us take you on another incredible adventure in Paradise!

A hui hou!
Temptation Tours

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luxury van tour guide Steve was super

Reviewed by: Janine. Carr , 2015/12/12

Thank you very much for putting a spectacular tour together.I saw the road to Hana and the Air view of rain forest.Staff had cold water and beautiful lunch set up for us.Very tasty for Vegitarian and diabetic people on tour.I saw so many different plants and trees.The road was winding through small towns and tourist attractions.Driver made it over the smallest bridges built in Early 1918's.All Steves tutorial is stuck with me like a history teacher.When booking I would ask for the same guide.He was retired and took course to do this job and always Looking for new info about Maui.


  • Rock used in movies


  • Many water falls that were not there in the morning.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No need to drive yourself!

Reviewed by: Dave, 2015/03/21

It's by far the best way to see the hidden beauty of Maui and let everyone experience the awesome sights the road to Hana has to offer.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour for Families and Couples

Reviewed by: Hanlu, 2015/01/17

Attended the 7am tour: first van, then helicopter. We were paired with another family of three.

Beautiful scenery, articulate tour guide named Sue, delicious and filling light lunch, and the helicopter ride was unsurprisingly a treat (lasted around 20-30 min). See my photos of both the Road to Hana van ride and helicopter ride for reference. The best is going into the sky on a partially overcast day, because the pilot will take you cloud-surfing.

The whole tour lasted around four hours.









Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow! What a Day!

Reviewed by: Ozzie's Mom, 2014/10/03

I will be forever grateful that a friend talked me out of renting a car and driving the Road to Hana. We are not spring chickens and weren't sure how we would like a helicopter trip to Hana with a road trip back to the cruise port in a 6-passenger luxury van. We knew we didn't want to do a 12-hour bus ride (cruise excursion) but we didn't want to miss Hana.

THIS IS THE BEST WAY TO DO IT!

We thoroughly enjoyed the helicopter flight to Hana and were able to see from the air the majesty of the island which would not have been as apparent from the land. Then we had a delicious lunch on the beach (provided by our tour guide, Surfer Sue) and experienced in all it's surface beauty, the road to Hana. There is no way we could have enjoyed this nearly as much had we driven both directions and certainly not at all had I decided to drive it myself. Sue taught me more about Hawaiian native flora and fauna than I would have learned in weeks on my own.

Because we wanted to make so many photo stops on the way back to port, we returned later than expected. Sue was kind enough to call the folks at Blue Hawaii Helicopters and ask them to send some articles we had purchased that morning and left behind at the shop for convenience sake, to us at the cruise port. No worries!

We could not have enjoyed this excursion any better than we did! Above and beyond treatment at every turn. Highly recommend for all ages.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/21
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]