This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour


Attended as (Families) Reviews

Road th Hana plus Helicopter....perfection

Reviewed by: Reggie, 2018/04/06

Our driver Scottie from Temptation Tours was the best I've ever seen. Kept us engaged the whole ride. Knew everything about the island, people, history. Knew all of the best places to stop, where all of the good and bad bathrooms were down to the minute. Told us when the drive by pic was coming up so that we knew to get our phones/camera ready. Stopped multiple times and took the best video and pics of not only us but something cool on the stop. The wraps at lunch were superb. The captain's chairs in the van were perfect. Flying back with Troy from Maui Air was just as incredible. He played cool music and the ride was smooth. Saw a bunch of the falls and even played a little "chase and ride along" a friend he spotted in an ultralight. Highly recommend this combo. We were back at the hotel by early afternoon! Veltra Tours made it so easy and kept us up to date via email during our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Ladd Bodem, 2017/08/28

We loved our combo (Helicopter/Van) tour of Hana. It is the best way to do it. It is a rather long but beautiful drive to/from Hana so taking a helicopter one way and seeing the sights including Haleakala is best of both worlds. Our guide Scott Ferguson (Scotty) was terrific. He was fun, informative and engaging. The Hana area is so beautiful. Hint: if you plan to swim I suggest you bring reef shoes. This was one of the highlights of our trip. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Elbig, 2017/08/24

Great way to see Hana. Lots of fun. Very beautiful. Our guide Scotty was fantastic. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Guides were amazing

Reviewed by: ccummins11, 2015/05/13

The guides for both the road to hana and the helicopter were wonderful. They really made the trip a million times better.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No need to drive yourself!

Reviewed by: Dave, 2015/03/21

It's by far the best way to see the hidden beauty of Maui and let everyone experience the awesome sights the road to Hana has to offer.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour for Families and Couples

Reviewed by: Hanlu, 2015/01/17

Attended the 7am tour: first van, then helicopter. We were paired with another family of three.

Beautiful scenery, articulate tour guide named Sue, delicious and filling light lunch, and the helicopter ride was unsurprisingly a treat (lasted around 20-30 min). See my photos of both the Road to Hana van ride and helicopter ride for reference. The best is going into the sky on a partially overcast day, because the pilot will take you cloud-surfing.

The whole tour lasted around four hours.









Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow! What a Day!

Reviewed by: Ozzie's Mom, 2014/10/03

I will be forever grateful that a friend talked me out of renting a car and driving the Road to Hana. We are not spring chickens and weren't sure how we would like a helicopter trip to Hana with a road trip back to the cruise port in a 6-passenger luxury van. We knew we didn't want to do a 12-hour bus ride (cruise excursion) but we didn't want to miss Hana.

THIS IS THE BEST WAY TO DO IT!

We thoroughly enjoyed the helicopter flight to Hana and were able to see from the air the majesty of the island which would not have been as apparent from the land. Then we had a delicious lunch on the beach (provided by our tour guide, Surfer Sue) and experienced in all it's surface beauty, the road to Hana. There is no way we could have enjoyed this nearly as much had we driven both directions and certainly not at all had I decided to drive it myself. Sue taught me more about Hawaiian native flora and fauna than I would have learned in weeks on my own.

Because we wanted to make so many photo stops on the way back to port, we returned later than expected. Sue was kind enough to call the folks at Blue Hawaii Helicopters and ask them to send some articles we had purchased that morning and left behind at the shop for convenience sake, to us at the cruise port. No worries!

We could not have enjoyed this excursion any better than we did! Above and beyond treatment at every turn. Highly recommend for all ages.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/21
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed the trip

Reviewed by: KHansen, 2014/04/28

We had a nice time - some surprises at the end made the drive worth it. Enjoyed the lunch and the helicopter ride as well. Beautiful scenery. Learned a lot about Maui's vegetation, very knowledgeable driver. Only reason I didn't give it the highest rating is that we were expecting to swim in waterfalls or wading pools (the seven pools?). Didn't see the seven pools and the waterfalls were not accessible (and would have been too cold anyway).

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]