Page 2) Myths of Maui Royal Lahaina Luau - Open Bar, Polynesian Dance & Fire Knife Show reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Myths of Maui Royal Lahaina Luau - Open Bar, Polynesian Dance & Fire Knife Show

Overall Rating

4.47 4.47 / 5

Reviews

73 reviews
Post a review

Luau

Reviewed by: dustman, 2015/10/04

This was our second time for this particular luau. (We obviously liked it the first time also) The food was as good as we remembered from our previous trip ( 2 years ago ) and the entertainment took a big step forward with both the dancers and the master of ceremonies . Had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome show

Reviewed by: Carol from WI, 2015/05/03

What a great and entertaining show. We did the VIP package and would highly recommend. It was 98 degrees so a little overhead cover would have been nice for the early part of the show but it was dark soon so it did cool off. The food and drinks were great. The dancers/entertainers were top notch. It was nice that after the show you would mingle with the dancers and get pictures taken. Very pleased and would definitely recommend this luau to newcomers to the island

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Lahaina Luau

Reviewed by: Glenn and Sandy, 2014/12/20

Great food, entertaining dancers. A fantastic cultural experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Food was amazing, show was good

Reviewed by: Donald & Amanda, 2014/08/26

Show was really good. Food was amazing.
The Luau seating is out in the open so it was really hot. Open bar though so that is a huge bonus. All drinks included (at least when we went)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GOOD FOOD AND SHOW TO BOOT

Reviewed by: HAWAIIBOUND, 2014/05/08

THE KIDS WERE SO ENTERATINED AS WERE MOM AND DAD AND THERE WAS SO MUCH FOOD TO PICK FROM NO ONE COULD HAVE GONE HUNGRY!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Lahaina Luau

Reviewed by: Janet Gerszewski, 2014/03/31

The sign in was a mess! We signed up for the VIP seats for $15/person. When we got there they said they've raised their prices to $25 per person. I thought that was odd...I showed them my papers that said $15/person so thats all we paid. The people in front of us had issues too! LOVED the vendors that were there! They had some very nice things and were friendly. The atmosphere was great...by the ocean! The food was as expected....awesome! The Luau was fun and exciting.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great performance

Reviewed by: watson, 2013/10/04

Second only to the polynesion cultural center.A very tight and clean performance, easy to enjoy.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Luau

Reviewed by: Kuznbaxter, 2013/08/11

It was an absolutely fantastic show, more then I expected. The whole family, even the finicky teenager enjoyed the show. The history of the islands then dancers and the fire entertainers were top notch. The whole experience from the staff and the entertainers were the best.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Brandon Schmidt, 2013/07/24

Great food, nice facility. A little too much waiting in line and then sitting around once inside. Good show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great dinner and show

Reviewed by: Phil, 2013/06/27

Our first luau. It was very entertaining and the wide variety of food was all great. Seating was a bit cramped, but we had a great time. Our teen kids had a blast.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

luau 31.12.2012

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/22

we had a very nice new years eve. maybe we had expected something more after the show? we was sent away very quickly!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Experience

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/01/16

We wanted to experience a Luau. It was our first time to the islands. Even though the weather was less than great we had a great time. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to have the luau experience. The food was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First timers

Reviewed by: Tami, 2012/12/28

Overall this was a good experience for our first luau. The setting was very nice and the fire dancer a huge hit. I thought the dancers and entertainers were great but I would have enjoyed something a little more interactive. Example, instead of just selling the crafts, allowing children to interact. The food was good but the drinks were watered down. I didn't even finish one and ended up buying a $15 drink from the bar. We would likely attend again but also might look for something a little more interactive for the kids.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Talented performers, not worth it

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/11/03

Too much focus on being sexual. Didn't enjoy that, there are many families attending and it just seemed inappropriate to me. Not worth the money for the experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mrs.

Reviewed by: Lynette, 2012/05/11

Was a good show, all the dancers were very good. I so enjoyed the food. The pork was amazing..... Met some nice people for different places and had a great time. A little pricey i thought, but if you have never been, it was a good experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau and Show So Far

Reviewed by: Joe and Family, 2011/08/27

This was our third luau and the best one so far. The food, including the poi, and drink were plentiful and delicious and the entertainment was awesome. The show consisted of a variety of Polynesian dancing, including fire-dancing. All the dancers were very talented and put on a high-energy show. The layout at the Royal Lahaina provides a perfect view of the sunset over the ocean which is incorporated into the show.
Overall, it was a wonderful luau experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Food and Entertainment

Reviewed by: Jared, 2011/05/18

We were staying at the Royal Lahaina, so we got to hear another Luau on another night... It was a little different than the Luau we attended, which I think is nice because it makes it a unique experience!

The food was great. I highly recommend getting the "speed pass" for an additional $15 at the door and arriving early to get the best seats! It's well worth the additional money :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Show!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/06/02

It was awsome! The show and dancers were great! The food was delicious! Definitely do it again on a return trip. Can't go to Hawaii without a Luau and this one is perfect!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience and fun

Reviewed by: Vandana, 2010/02/22

This is firt time I attende the Luau. It was a great experience and fun. The food was wonderful, and the music was really out of this world. Kudos to all the hot and sexy dancers for showing the beauty of Polynecian culture. If get a chance, I'll attend this again and again. Thanks.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show!

Reviewed by: Liliya (Kyiv, Ukraine), 2010/01/19

We really liked the show. It was very interesting, funny and it will stay in my memory forever. I would recommend it to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

overall pretty good, not spectactul

Reviewed by: honeymooner, 2009/08/04

Overall we had a pretty good time at the luau. The food was pretty good. Better than just decent, but not the best or anything. The hostess was great, very funny and sincere. Most of the luaus are sound pretty similar when you read the descriptions, but this also included unlimited drinks and was a little less expensive. The show itself seemed really short, because I was very intrigued by the different dances. Get there early! there was a long line, and they were sold out of the $15pp "VIP" option. i'm not really sure it's worth it anyway. you get up front seating and get in line for food first, but we had a decent view from our seats in the back and the food line went pretty quick! My mom used to dance hawaiian and tahitian, so i was familiar with costumes, props, etc and they seem pretty authentic.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Nightshow

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/12/13

Me and my girlfriend loved it. We are talking about taking a hula lesson (if it's offered around bay area). The fire dancer guy was awesome. I bet that requires a lot of training.

We had a great time on this luau. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely a Great Luau

Reviewed by: bobbi, 2008/06/23

you folks do know how to give a great luau. the food was absolutely onolicious especially the lomi lomi, purple potatoes and kalua pig plus all the rest. went back for lomi......!!! you have a great chef!!

now the entertainment.....great!!! your dancers were outstanding, beautiful and handsome. costumes beautiful. i would attend at least every other month if i could. but live on the mainland and now.....air prices too high. really happy that my grand daughter and i were able to make this one.

mahalo for a great job. malama pono........

bobbi and pettie

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/06/20

We read some comments about this luau being crowded, so we were expecting really small venue. I think the venue was good size. I guess if you are used to taking up so much space for yourself, you feel very tight, but we were very comfortable. The dancers were awesome, and foods were well prepared. We stayed in Kaanapali, so it was walking distance from our hotel. It's worth it. I'd recommend it to my friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/04/05

We had a great time. It was a bit crowded, but the entertainment was spectacular. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawiian Luau

Reviewed by: Burgess, 2008/01/24

Staff made you feel very welcome. Excellent food and entertainment. Thank you, we had a great time, and recommend you to others.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Sheena, 2007/09/16

Good food, unlimited drinks, great entertainment (variety of dances both males and females), great host and service. The only complaint I have is that the seating was horrible. The seats were literally right up against each other so you don't have much arm or leg room. It was hard to get in and out of your seat because they were so close together. Overall wonderful experience! They even ask you if you want shaded or sun seating.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exceptional

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/06/10

The Luau was awesome. The show was beyond my expectation. I had no prevoius experience with a luau before and it was way beyond what I expected. The hula girls can definiteley move their hips more than you can imagine. The guys were very entertaining, especially the one that was really into it, by yelling with enthusiasim and twitching his eyebrows to make you pay direct attention to him, he was the hit of the show besides the Samoan import that performed an excellent fire show.

The food was above average, would of been better if the pork wasn't dry, try medium next time. But food is hard to control some times when you have over 500 people to serve. Other than that it was awesome. Can't remember the host's name, she did an awaesome job blessing the food. Too many places do not engage in prayer. If you pray and believe in Jesus, he will come thru for you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Categories