This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Myths of Maui Royal Lahaina Luau - Kaanapali Beach Oceanfront Luau with Open Bar

Overall Rating

4.274.27 / 5

Reviews

24 reviews (Post a review)

Attended as (Couples) Reviews

Myths of Maui

Reviewed by: Denise, 2018/02/22

I went to see the show with my husband on our honeymoon. The show was great. The food was a little dry but not too bad. We enjoyed the night out and it was definitely a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Myths of Maui Royal Lahaina

Reviewed by: Kim, 2017/10/04

Fabulous show! Awesome food and wonderful staff! I would highly recommend and go again :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A bit crowded

Reviewed by: Cade, 2017/07/25

The food is pretty good for the most part,however their desserts are pitiful at best. I wonder if they got them pre-made at Costco. They pack as many people as possible in a small space which takes away from the true aloha spirit. The show is good... I miss the more intimate luaus of the past at the higher end resorts.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Julie , 2017/07/22

Our first visit to Maui...our first ever Luau and we were not disappointed!! The entertainment was excellent and the food was amazing!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Jamie , 2017/05/25

Came to Maui for my honeymoon and of course had to see a luau. We had originally booked another luau but heard great things about the royal Lahaina so we decided to change it last minute. They were able to seat us in the second row as VIP. The ocean view was breathtaking, the dancing was amazing and the dancers were gorgeous. Unlimited food and drinks made it that much more fun. It rained during the luau but it was definitely an experience my fiancé and I will never forget. Would definitely recommend it to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Entertainment

Reviewed by: Shelly S., 2017/02/27

Celebrating our 25th Anniversary in Maui and this excursion was an amazing time. The entertainment, food and atmosphere was great. It's amazing how the culture plays such an amazing part of the show. Definitely worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Lahaina Luau

Reviewed by: Melissa, 2016/11/21

Fabulous Show! Everyone was so nice and went out of their way for our special occasion

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

VIP seats

Reviewed by: 20 yr anniversary , 2016/06/26

Luau was great, show was wonderful, however we paid for VIP seating & didn't get the front seats as expected but was sat with people that paid just for the luau so why did I pay 25.00 extra per person to get the better seats. All was great except seating. Food was good & drinks was good except you had to get your own when it stated in the VIP tickets they bring you the drinks you ordered. Overall would go again but not pay for VIP seating.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Food and entertainment

Reviewed by: Sunny, 2015/10/08

The atmosphere was great and the food was scrumptious. You cannot beat the open bar and the Mai Tai where the best I have ever had.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: dustman, 2015/10/04

This was our second time for this particular luau. (We obviously liked it the first time also) The food was as good as we remembered from our previous trip ( 2 years ago ) and the entertainment took a big step forward with both the dancers and the master of ceremonies . Had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome show

Reviewed by: Carol from WI, 2015/05/03

What a great and entertaining show. We did the VIP package and would highly recommend. It was 98 degrees so a little overhead cover would have been nice for the early part of the show but it was dark soon so it did cool off. The food and drinks were great. The dancers/entertainers were top notch. It was nice that after the show you would mingle with the dancers and get pictures taken. Very pleased and would definitely recommend this luau to newcomers to the island

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Lahaina Luau

Reviewed by: Glenn and Sandy, 2014/12/20

Great food, entertaining dancers. A fantastic cultural experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Food was amazing, show was good

Reviewed by: Donald & Amanda, 2014/08/26

Show was really good. Food was amazing.
The Luau seating is out in the open so it was really hot. Open bar though so that is a huge bonus. All drinks included (at least when we went)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Lahaina Luau

Reviewed by: Janet Gerszewski, 2014/03/31

The sign in was a mess! We signed up for the VIP seats for $15/person. When we got there they said they've raised their prices to $25 per person. I thought that was odd...I showed them my papers that said $15/person so thats all we paid. The people in front of us had issues too! LOVED the vendors that were there! They had some very nice things and were friendly. The atmosphere was great...by the ocean! The food was as expected....awesome! The Luau was fun and exciting.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: Brandon Schmidt, 2013/07/24

Great food, nice facility. A little too much waiting in line and then sitting around once inside. Good show.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

poor food

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/04/09

enjoyable dancers and entertainment but food very poor (bad)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Food and Entertainment

Reviewed by: Jared, 2011/05/18

We were staying at the Royal Lahaina, so we got to hear another Luau on another night... It was a little different than the Luau we attended, which I think is nice because it makes it a unique experience!

The food was great. I highly recommend getting the "speed pass" for an additional $15 at the door and arriving early to get the best seats! It's well worth the additional money :-)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

royal lahaina luau

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/10/23

the luau was alright...the dancers were good and the waiting staff was great but the stage wasn't as big as i thought. and the food could've been better... i'm christian and everything but i found it a little strange that they said a prayer before eating... only because i'm sure not everyone in the crowd was a christian and i thought it might be a little disrespectful for those individuals.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Show!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/06/02

It was awsome! The show and dancers were great! The food was delicious! Definitely do it again on a return trip. Can't go to Hawaii without a Luau and this one is perfect!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

overall pretty good, not spectactul

Reviewed by: honeymooner, 2009/08/04

Overall we had a pretty good time at the luau. The food was pretty good. Better than just decent, but not the best or anything. The hostess was great, very funny and sincere. Most of the luaus are sound pretty similar when you read the descriptions, but this also included unlimited drinks and was a little less expensive. The show itself seemed really short, because I was very intrigued by the different dances. Get there early! there was a long line, and they were sold out of the $15pp "VIP" option. i'm not really sure it's worth it anyway. you get up front seating and get in line for food first, but we had a decent view from our seats in the back and the food line went pretty quick! My mom used to dance hawaiian and tahitian, so i was familiar with costumes, props, etc and they seem pretty authentic.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Nightshow

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/12/13

Me and my girlfriend loved it. We are talking about taking a hula lesson (if it's offered around bay area). The fire dancer guy was awesome. I bet that requires a lot of training.

We had a great time on this luau. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I was disappointed

Reviewed by: alsbrat, 2008/11/20

My husband and I had attended a luau in Kauaii two years ago and had a great time, so we were expecting something more then what we got this time. The venue was not to crowded, but the food was of poor quality and the dancers costumes were not very authentic. Instead of wearing traditional hawaiian garb, the male dancers wore trousers under their hula skirts! The highlight of the evening was the Samoan fire dancer who was very good. Everything else was just mediocre.I only recomend this for first timers who haven't seen something better.





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Sheena, 2007/09/16

Good food, unlimited drinks, great entertainment (variety of dances both males and females), great host and service. The only complaint I have is that the seating was horrible. The seats were literally right up against each other so you don't have much arm or leg room. It was hard to get in and out of your seat because they were so close together. Overall wonderful experience! They even ask you if you want shaded or sun seating.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exceptional

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/06/10

The Luau was awesome. The show was beyond my expectation. I had no prevoius experience with a luau before and it was way beyond what I expected. The hula girls can definiteley move their hips more than you can imagine. The guys were very entertaining, especially the one that was really into it, by yelling with enthusiasim and twitching his eyebrows to make you pay direct attention to him, he was the hit of the show besides the Samoan import that performed an excellent fire show.

The food was above average, would of been better if the pork wasn't dry, try medium next time. But food is hard to control some times when you have over 500 people to serve. Other than that it was awesome. Can't remember the host's name, she did an awaesome job blessing the food. Too many places do not engage in prayer. If you pray and believe in Jesus, he will come thru for you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]