Ulalena Night Show at the Maui Theatre (Lahaina)

Exciting, humorous and highly entertaining

Reviewed by: Wayne, 2016/06/05

Ulalena was a magnificent show which combined unbelievable dancing, singing and acrobatics into a neat entertaining package. I've been to several Broadway productions in NYC and this certainly compares to them in quality. I recommend this show to any demographic.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ulalena

Reviewed by: Bonita LaBuda , 2016/04/15

The show was exceptionally good. The musicians were absolutely incredible! Great hearing about the history of the Hawaiian people.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Performance

Reviewed by: Dhaval, 2016/04/04

Enjoyed the performance very gripping show. Dedicated performace

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ulalena was Superb

Reviewed by: Scott C., 2015/11/29

Yes we had platinum seats (2 row) so that might have made the experience better. Outstanding show and experience. If you have been to a luau then try this. If you want something different than a luau this is it -very entertaining. I know there are many that were disappointed it was not like cirque-du-soleil but it is a fantastic presentation of the history of Hawaiian culture and its people. It is not a mini-cirque. I was pleasantly surprised to find this on Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An excellent show

Reviewed by: Vancouver Visitor, 2015/08/28

I took my 3 daughters to the show, and it was very enjoyable. It is well choreographed and staged. It will keep your attention for 90 minutes! If you are looking for a show that is definitely NOT a luau, will be entertaining and will teach you something about Polynesian culture, this is it! It is worth investing in the platinum tickets, if you can, to get a better view of this excellent show.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Disappointed

Reviewed by: Arline, 2015/08/20

I have wanted to see Ulalena for the past 5 years. My husband finally agreed to take me, our adult daughter and her fiancé on this trip to Maui. My excitement was gone soon after the show began. The story line was too hard to follow and I was bored most of the time. The last act was good, but overall no one in our group liked the show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Do not miss this!

Reviewed by: Azra, 2015/03/27

I'm not a theater guy but the story of the Hawaiians told in this way was great. Do not miss this!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent show

Reviewed by: lovemaui, 2014/12/12

My husband and I both loved this show. The choreography was well done. It was a powerful portrayal of Hawaiian history. Very emotionally moving!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ulalena and dinner

Reviewed by: Carl & Sarah Aamodt, 2014/04/13

The show/dinner package turned out to be one of the best deal ever. Ulalena, the show was powerful, splendid and aerobatic.. We loved it so much and bought CD and DVD for beautiful songs and drumming.
The dinner in Lahaina Fish Co. By the shore was great. We literally had our dinner over the waves and watched nice sunset. Lahaina town has so many art galleries that we recommend u should plan more time to enjoy it!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Quite the performance

Reviewed by: Larry C, 2014/03/01

This is a modern version presenting the Hawaiian culture. It helps to know something about Maui history to begin with. The cast was wonderful and very talented.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent show

Reviewed by: newbie to scuba, 2013/12/15

It was an excellent show! Honestly I was told this is like Cirque de solei shows so my expectation was high. But once I walked into a movie theater my expectations was lowered. I was expecting the Grand stages like Los Vegas, "O". But the show surprised me. It was a great show with focus on music, dancing and acting. Customs and the set was ok but it was on a budget. Overall I think it was an excellent show on a budget.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Real VIP...Very Impressive Performance

Reviewed by: Magoo, 2013/11/24

The VIP package is the only way to go. Not only tremendously entertaining with great seating, but you get to share with the cast after the show. Such a deal!
Here's what I told the cast. 'I am nearing the end of a 14 hour travel day, but if I did nothing else on Maui, THIS SHOW WAS WORTH THE TRIP'! Actually, 2 shows in one. Often, I caught myself looking at the amazing musicians whose talent and energy were terrific.
What the heck. The talent and energy of the entire cast is worth the price of admission.
If you are in Maui, this show is a must see!!!!!!!


  • This be the place.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2013/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Dinner and Super Production

Reviewed by: Hobomike, 2012/11/14

Went thru HawaiiActivities to arrange tickets. Bought the dinner ticket for dinner at the Lahaina Fish and Prime Rib Restaurant. The dinner was terrific for all three of us. Went to the theater almost across the street for the show and were seated in the second row, center stage. It was a great performance with all the singing and dancing. After the show we got to meet the cast and were very impressed. Took a lot of pics and videos of the cast. Can't recommend this enough for anybody.






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ulalena/ Ruth's Chris

Reviewed by: Ray & Gerry of Central NY, 2012/01/04

Excellent show, but didn't know about a free drink and it wasn't mentioned, so I guess if you don't ask you go without. Parking anywhere in Lahaina is a nightmare; you receive a discount if you park in their lot which is a block away. The closer lot was five dollars I think, and when you get inside the theater they'll tell you that they can't validate that lot, too bad. We were invited to meet the cast after the show, but had already made our reservations for dinner; so another loss! We drove the block to the lot that we were supposed to be in for the show, so we only had a half-block walk to and from dinner. With validation it was only two dollars to park there. I know it all sounds petty, but I feel that my $259.00 should've covered everything. Dinner at Ruth's Chris was excellent and was the highlight of the evening, with the show only slightly behind. Now that you've been informed (warned) of the parking and perks, perhaps you can better enjoy the evening. Why no map of where to pa

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome show

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2011/12/25

Performers were most excellent and the staff was very helpful. Thanks for a great evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Story!

Reviewed by: Fresno, CA, 2011/05/29

Great glimpse into the Hawaiian culture and beliefs. There is way more to the islands then just beaches and shopping and this play sheds a little more light on how beautiful the rituals and people are.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ulalena

Reviewed by: Sands, 2009/06/02

This was a great show. I had come once before to Maui and saw the ads...tried to get a ticket but couldn't because they were sold out. I promised myself that this time I would be sure to see it. I am so glad I went. I appreciated the pamphlet that explained each of the scenes. Without it I would have been lost. Very entertaining. It has a little of that "Cirque" feel to it and I love Cirque.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best thing I saw in Maui

Reviewed by: David New, 2009/04/22

This is one of the best things I have done while on Maui. I elected for the VIP pass and it was worth the extra money to sit closer to the stage and get the free beverage before the play started. The music was excellent and so was the performance. The play also became somewhat interactive with the audience which I didnt expect. I wish I had more time to go back and see it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great performance

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/03/30

Hi



Great performance but seating multiple guests after the performance started is so disruptive and disrespectful to your audience that arrived on time



Adam and Cheri, Calgary Canada

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A good show

Reviewed by: alsbrat, 2008/11/20

My husband and I had the dinner package. The food was great and the glow in the dark napkins and table clothes were an added fun touch. After dinner, one of the performing magicians performed slight of hand magic at our table. The main act was very good and we throughly enjoyed the show. We would see it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best thing I've seen in years!

Reviewed by: alsbrat, 2008/11/20

My husband and I had the "producers package" which included dinner at Ruth's Cris restaurant(Where the food was great and the service was excellent) and the oppertunity to meet the cast after the performance. The show was equal to if not better then anything I have seen on Broadway. The cast involved the audience which was a very nice added touch. I could see this show again and again. I reccomend it to anyone visiting Maui







Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Show

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/08/16

I've seen it several times, and I take my friends every time I visit Maui. Of course, they all love the show! It's always highly recommended, and I'm glad that a high quality show like this one is available in Maui. Go see it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/04/13

This show is just wonderful. It was our second time seeing it - first time was 7 years ago with our 6-week old daughter. This time we took that same daughter, who is now 7 years old, and her 4 year old sister. They both loved it. My husband and I loved it as we did 7 years ago. It is original, beautiful, haunting . . . mesmerizing. I seriously can't imagine how anyone could give this show a bad review. I've seen shows in San Fran, NYC, and Vegas that I haven't enjoyed half as much. I suppose you could get caught up in the politics, but really, that is pretty lame. It is a very interesting story about Hawaiian history, culture, and mythology played out to AMAZING music and beautiful choreography. Everyone was on their feet at the finale. As a side note, we don't do the whole dinner/theatre combo - just the show. We sat a few rows back on the left - nice because we were able to see the musicians, but I didn't really see a bad seat in the house. I would say front to mid secti

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ulalena

Reviewed by: Courtnie, 2008/03/29

Show was really unique...really liked it...would definitely do it again, but would bring my camera next time....you can take pictures with the cast members after the show!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Sue Alexander, 2008/02/16

I liked the narrative in English that explained the history and reason for the dances. I would have liked the dances and songs even better if there was a way to repeat the songs in English.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ulalena

Reviewed by: Mark, 2007/12/30

Great show...especially the music. Would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Guest

Reviewed by: Kevin, 2007/10/28

This was one of the best shows I have seen lately. I am a frequent viewer of many live performances including Cirque de Solei and off Broadway shows. This is an excellent show and I would recommend it to anyone that is visiting the beautiful island of Maui.
Great job!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow! A Great Highlight of our trip

Reviewed by: Jo, Glenn and Del, 2007/09/10

We got the best tickets and got to meet the great cast after a very enjoyable show. Cast was absolutely wonderful. Can't wait to see it again on our next visit!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI