Road to Hana Waterfalls & Black Sand Beach Eco Adventure

Overall Rating

4.554.55 / 5

Reviews

11 reviews (Post a review)

Maui Road to Hana via Discover Hawaii Tours

Reviewed by: Michael S, 2017/07/01

The route was clear and the scenery spectacular and the day was perfect. there were ample waterfalls and loads of forest and history. What really made this an unforgettable experience was our driver/guide. He was courteous, polite, full of information, posessed a wonderful humor and buckets of charm. Ask for Junior if you can!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic tour

Reviewed by: Anonymous , 2016/11/15

This is an awesome tour! We had Junior as our tour guide. He was great! He was knowledgeable as well as entertaining. He was able to add the personal touch to the tour, as he is from the area. The scenery from the lookouts is spectacular as are the waterfalls we visited. A bumpy, windy road but we enjoyed every minute. Thanks Junior!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana - Great Adventure!

Reviewed by: mblock, 2015/11/03

I did the Road To Hana tour and it was truly amazing! Our tour guide Junior was extremely experienced, funny and informative. He safely drove us through all the narrow, twisting, sometimes one-lane road with an estimated 600 turns and more than 50 one-lane bridges.

The road to Hana is very scenic with tons of waterfalls, cliffs, and mountain and forest. Our first stop was at Hookipa Beach, famous spot for windsurfing, the guide served us a continental breakfast (fresh pineapple & muffins).

My favorite stops were at the Ke'anae Peninsula and the Wai'anapanapa State Park (Black Sand Beach), the contrast of the colors of the blue ocean, with the black rocks and the lush green forest is just incredible. At the black sand beach we had enough time to either swim or hike and explore around.

We had lunch at the Hana Ranch restaurant, the food was tasty and fresh. The restaurant is located in the heart of Hana Town, so after lunch we had some time to check the stores. The journey continued after lunch with more breathtaking views, this is actually one of the only few tours that are allowed to drive beyond Hana and go around the island.

I was really impressed by this tour and by this part of Maui, I have never seen so many waterfalls like I saw on this Highway. The bus has big windows allowing us to enjoy the landscape. I am glad went on this tour with Discovery Hawaii, if I had decided rent a car and drive I would never be able to see so much and to learn so many interesting facts about the Hawaiian culture, economy, history and geography. What an amazing day!

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your excellent review! We're so glad that you enjoyed yourself, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the islands :)

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana with Junior

Reviewed by: Zane & Kay , 2015/09/13

We had a great time. We drove it ourselves the first time we did the Road to Hana and decided to take a tour so we could enjoy the beautiful scenery more. Junior was a great historian / guide. He made the tour even more enjoyable.


  • View of the black sand beach

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for the great review, Zane and Kay! We're so happy you had a great time :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Road to Hana

Reviewed by: Michele, 2015/04/17

So pleased we never drove this road ourselves. Even though we are used to roads like this (in a smaller way) in NZ driving on the opposite side of the road would have been way too daunting. Our drive Junior was FANTASTIC and even though a long day we had lots of fun and saw some beautiful scenery with lots of local knowledge.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Jessica Gutkin, 2014/03/25

Kau Kau did an excellent job touring us through the rain forest!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Steven Galarza , 2013/09/01

It was great I had an awesome time Bjorne our tour guide was funny and very interesting to listen to I will defitnetly recommend in the future!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Long long road

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/15

This particular tour seemed too long. We were on the bus for 12+ hours and toward the end of trip, most of the people were sleeping.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not all that!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/03/29

LIKES - The views of the different beaches and waterfalls were amazing. Then, I loved how we had the opportunity to see the other side of Maui, the side where tourists do not go usually. The tour guide was so funny and entertaining.

DISLIKES - However, we didn't do what made me book for this activity in the 1st place: Swim in a WATERFALLL!!! I was hesitating between booking for this or hiking because both were offering a chance to swim in a waterfall, and I chose this because I thought it would be better, I get to go to all these places (beaches and cover more area) and I get to swim in the waterfall at the end. Sounds like a better deal, right? Well, I was disappointed at the end and felt like I wasted my whole day!











Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great way to spend the day!

Reviewed by: Kathy Flett, 2011/08/11

I booked this trip thinking it was actually something else, however, was not the least bit disappointed. Our guide was awesome, a lot of fun, very informative and kept us on time. This is a great way to see the Road to Hana if you've never been there before. Takes all the stress out making it around the one lane turns safely or missing turns to see some real gems. And you will probably get the added bonus of meeting people from all over the world (they don't charge for that!).

Just a note for families, it would be too much for the little ones. For teenagers, I know mine would have found it to be too much as well.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI