This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Spectacular Haleakala Summit Sunrise Tour with Breakfast & Transportation

Overall Rating

4.47 4.47 / 5

Reviews

137 reviews
Post a review

Worth it !!

Reviewed by: Smita, 2019/07/10

If you dont get the parking pass it’s worth to book the tour.
The guide was amazing and knowledgeable.
He shared many deep facts about the place, showed us variety of flowers and plants and shared interesting facts about them.
He stopped at other view points on the way while coming back.
The breakfast place they stopped was level up and the breakfast was very good.
I surely recommend to book the tour.
Thank you for we got an opportunity to view this mesmerizing view by booking last minute.

  • Breakfast place

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Weather did not cooperate. Hazy, rainy at top.

Reviewed by: Bernice , 2018/07/18

If I had it to do over again I would have driven myself. Not worth the expense. Buses can not go all the way to the top because they can’t park up there. The breakfast was nothing special.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don’t miss this trip!

Reviewed by: Owens-Johnson, 2018/04/26

If you go to Maui you must see the sunrise at Haleakala, and if you are lucky enough to ride with Nettie, your experience will be perfect!
This was our second time seeing the sunrise at our feet but our first with the best guide Nettie - she is almost as spectacular as the mountain!
Knowledgeable, personable and entertaining!
We were on this trip to fulfill the “bucket list” desire of my husband’s sister and her husband and were hoping they were pleased; they were ecstatic!
Thanks Nettie - you are a huge part of a great memory!

  • Sunrise at Haleakala in April!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Deb I, 2018/02/24

Wake up early, super early, for the most amazing sunrise you’ll see, if you are an adventurer. It’s cold up there, super cold so prepare for that. Before sunrise, marvel at the stars. They’re so cold you can touch them. Gloves, hats and warm coats needed, but its soooooo worth it!! The sunrise is spectacular! And once it comes up, the crater is like nothing you’ve ever seen. Turn to your right and look up at the science stations there also. You’ll want to stay!

  • Sunrise

  • The crater

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime sunrise

Reviewed by: Callie, 2017/12/23

A few things to be aware of before you book this excursion:
1) The road is very windy: consider ginger candy or Dramamine if you're prone to motion sickness.
2) Cell phone reception will be terrible.
3) It's very cold at an elevation of 10,000 feet. It was 40degrees for us. Dress warmly.
4) The air is also very thin at 10,000 feet: look out for shortness of breath and dizziness.
3) You may not see a picture perfect sunrise. No one can control the weather or even perfectly predict it. There will also be tons of other people there enjoying the view with you.

With all that in mind, we had a great time. At 3am, our driver picked us up and drop us off right in front of our condo in Kihei (pick up may not be available for your particular location - verify with PolyAd/GrayLine first if this is a dealbreaker for you). Stopped at a Kahului convenience store: buy snacks here if you don't like the pastries/coffee onboard.

Uneventful drive up. The 25-ish seater van/bus is heated, but once we arrived in the parking lot, our driver obviously had to turn off the engine/heat to conserve gas. We arrived 1 hour prior to sunrise, and in that 1 hour, the weather went from so clear and being able to see thousands of stars to sprinkling rain to so foggy I could barely see a few feet in front of me and back and forth. There is a tiny visitors center with giftshop, and restrooms (with ice cold water toilet seats), but not much else to explore. So we hung out on the bus until just a few minutes before sunrise.

The sunrise was partially obstructed by clouds, but the sky and landscape was still so beautiful. 30 minutes after sunrise, our driver drove us up a wee bit higher to the next parking lot for more photos, and then down to a golf course for breakfast. Breakfast was ok - I would have much rather saved my appetite for something else. We were dropped off at our condo at 11am.

We had a great driver and saw a beautiful sunrise from the top of a volcano. It was AWESOME.

  • The view after sunrise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Sunrise Tour :)

Reviewed by: Aryan SKP, 2017/12/13

All in all a very good experience.. even though when we started it was raining at 3 AM in the morning.. but up there at the Haleakala summit point, weather was just too perfect to have the glimpse of rising sun :)..

Glenn, thanks for keeping us engaged n providing loads of information.. kept us awake most of the time ;)..

  • Captured from my Samsung S6..

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour guided experience

Reviewed by: Valeri, 2017/12/03

My husband and I did this for our hunnymoon and it was great. Great tour guide. He was very good, funny and very knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Haleakala Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: Karla, 2017/10/24

This is a must for anyone traveling to Maui. Wayne was our driver and guide. He is full of all sorts of information and kept us entertained the whole trip. The view of the sun rising above the clouds high atop a volcano, made this one of our most memorable moments in Hawaii. The trip concluded with an awsome breakfast .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing morning

Reviewed by: Amy Collier, 2017/10/18

After the very early start, we made our way to the top of the volcano. The tour drivers name was Bessie, and she was very enthusiastic, sometimes going overboard. The sunrise was a bit late but the whole experience was great, but very cold. After the tour, we were taken for breakfast at a golf club, which was very nice. We then were loaded on another bus for our drop of at accommodation. This was a very slow time. We did not get back to the resort until 12 noon, and this turned out an extremely long day.

  • At the very top- 10000 feet above sea level

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Kurt Summers, 2017/09/11

Wow! What an incredible and awesome experience! Special thanks to Nettie! I understand why she is highly requested! Her aloha spirit made us feel like family. God's creation was on full display, praise Him from whom all blessings flow!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!

Reviewed by: D Gard, 2017/09/05

Had a great time on our sunrise tour. Driver was knowledgeable and talked much of the trip. The sunrise itself was spectacular. You arrive in the dark and I have never seen so many stars. It is definitely a good idea to bring warm clothes. I had a hooded ski jacket and gloves so I was comfortable. On the way back you can see beautiful views you will have missed on the way up due to darkness. Before heading back to your hotel there is a breakfast stop at the golf course. The food was good. We had a great time and recommend this tour for anyone looking to view the sunrise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing sunrise!

Reviewed by: Joyia Lytle, 2017/06/07

Seeing the sunrise come up over the clouds was a spectacular site! Truly a once in a lifetime moment. It was super cold! I thought I was being silly packing gloves and a toboggan in with my luggage but I appreciated them once I was at 10,000 feet. Our tour guide driver was the best! I remembered so much information he shared about the history and facts of the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unfortunately no sunrise

Reviewed by: Lianne & Ron, 2017/06/03

The tour on itself was nice, but no sunrise for us and that was a pity, but it's nature and with it you can't play.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome sunrise tour

Reviewed by: Bob n Kathy Carlson, 2017/05/23

This was breathtaking. Our tour guide Nettie was spectacular. She made the tour outstanding. Her positive attitude and her story telling was amazing.

  • Here is one of the pictures of the sunrise

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Antonio Solano, 2016/12/23

Great trip , wonderful views and time
Nellie great driver makes a very special experience

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/12/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala sunrise tour

Reviewed by: Gena Driver, 2016/06/21

Our tour guide,Rory,was awesome. He was entertaining and knowledgeable. I felt safe with him driving(if you drive to Haleakala or The Road to Hana, you know why this one is important. Just remember it is very cold
At the summit and you will be outside in it standing in one spot for over an hour. I wasn't prepared for 25 degree wind chills in Hawaii in June.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply Majestic!

Reviewed by: Susan K., 2016/06/05

This was a once in a lifetime experience. It was truly a wonderful way to watch the sunrise. The colors of the sunrise were unlike any other I've ever seen. Rory, our host, was full of knowledge about the island and very personable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Eylee, 2016/04/15

너무 좋았어요 친절하셨구요
한국분들 여행으로도 추천합니다
1시간 반 기다렸는데 시간 잘 갔어요
따뜻한 옷 꼭 챙기시고요
감사합니다 감사합니다

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breath-taking

Reviewed by: Lynne T, 2016/02/28

There are no words to describe this sunrise tour. It was absolutely amazing. The driver and tour guide was so experience, she made driving 10,000 feet a truly magical, comfortable and safe experience. A once in a lifetime experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular show by Mother Nature

Reviewed by: Longhornhammy, 2016/01/18

I was not looking forward to a 2:50am pickup at the hotel, but the transportation was very comfortable and Rory, our tour guide, was exceptional. He talked most of the way over to Haleakala about Hawaiian culture & traditions so it was informative. When we got to the observation area, Rory took us to 'the best spot' for viewing which also blocked off the wind that was blowing. It is strange at first because the darkness hides the landscape. But the stars were as beautiful as I've ever seen them. Then the horizon began to glow and things moved pretty quickly until full sunrise. We then moved to the 10000 ft observation area and the view was breath taking. Tour finished with a nice breakfast at Café O'lei and we were dropped back off at our hotel in Lahaina. This is a spectacular event and really different from other Maui activities. Pack some warm clothes!

  • top of the world

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala sunrise

Reviewed by: Laura, 2015/09/27

Lovely morning at Haleakala. Was cloudy at first, but eventually the beautiful sunrise appeared. Breakfast was great and they offered a choice of three selections.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala with Glen

Reviewed by: Zane & Kay , 2015/09/13

We read it was a good idea to do this at the beginning of your trip so you're still on your 'time' due to the early morning time frame. Even though you are going to nice warm Maui, it is very cold up there early morning. You are in the elements for about an hour, bring a jacket, blanket, beach towel, something... It's easier to enjoy the spectacular sunrise if you're not freezing.
Glen was a fun tour guide. We enjoyed our morning with Glen.
The view at breakfast was beautiful.

  • Mid-sunrise - too many pics /views to choose from

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth the 2AM wake up!!

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2015/09/12

Words can't express how beautiful the sunrise is from up here. Definitely bring jeans, sweatshirt, hat and gloves!! You need it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Sunrise

Reviewed by: Sunrise, 2015/09/08

We had such a wonderful time! The food not so great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular View

Reviewed by: Paul, 2015/06/22

The sunrise tour starts early but it is totally worth it! None of the pictures I saw of the sunrise can communicate the shear beauty of the view. The sun creeps over the cloud cover and suddenly everything is lit up with golden sunshine. After that, they took us to the summit and a couple other places on the mountain to see the crater and then took us back down and served us breakfast.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible!

Reviewed by: Brittany B. , 2015/06/21

This tour was absolutely amazing! Not only did we have an awesome tour guide, Rory, but the sunrise was breathtaking! Rory got us there with plenty of time to spare and got us the best place to stand! He was so informative and passionate about his island! He gave us so much information about the culture of Hawaii that he didn't have to do. I can't recommend this tour enough!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Educational

Reviewed by: Justin Daniels, 2015/05/21

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, and that made an already great experience even better. The view at sunrise is incomparable, and being able to see some of the unique plant life was an nice addition. The breakfast following the tour was quality, a real unexpected bonus, as it was great food at a quality peaceful and scenic spot. I would recommend this tour to friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular experience

Reviewed by: Roxanna Peña , 2015/04/24

The view was amazing and it will stay with me forever. I was definitely bundled up and ready for the cold, so please do not underestimate your need to wear VERY warm clothing. It is 100% worth the early pick-up time. You won't be disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thank you mother nature!

Reviewed by: Marzia (Roma-Italy), 2015/04/15

Thanks to everybody for permitting me to feel part of the great game of life.
Waiting for the sun up on the mistic Halekala was one of the biggest emotions of my life. As the sun rose, the colors changed and a native Hawaiians sung a traditional chant that still sounds in my soul.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best moment of my holiday

Reviewed by: Jesper, 2015/02/09

Enjoyed this tremendously! The sunrise at Haleakala is as spectacular as everyone says it is.
Our guide (Bob) had a lot of humour, was well-informed and passionate, and gave us the freedom to go where we wanted to during the actual sunrise instead of having to stay at a designated spot.
Included breakfast was decent too.
The early wake-up is well worth it. Don't miss this when you're on Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]