This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Spectacular Haleakala Summit Sunrise Tour with Breakfast & Transportation

Overall Rating

4.47 4.47 / 5

Reviews

137 reviews
Post a review

Haleakala Sunrise

Reviewed by: Sunrise, 2015/09/08

We had such a wonderful time! The food not so great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular View

Reviewed by: Paul, 2015/06/22

The sunrise tour starts early but it is totally worth it! None of the pictures I saw of the sunrise can communicate the shear beauty of the view. The sun creeps over the cloud cover and suddenly everything is lit up with golden sunshine. After that, they took us to the summit and a couple other places on the mountain to see the crater and then took us back down and served us breakfast.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible!

Reviewed by: Brittany B. , 2015/06/21

This tour was absolutely amazing! Not only did we have an awesome tour guide, Rory, but the sunrise was breathtaking! Rory got us there with plenty of time to spare and got us the best place to stand! He was so informative and passionate about his island! He gave us so much information about the culture of Hawaii that he didn't have to do. I can't recommend this tour enough!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Educational

Reviewed by: Justin Daniels, 2015/05/21

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, and that made an already great experience even better. The view at sunrise is incomparable, and being able to see some of the unique plant life was an nice addition. The breakfast following the tour was quality, a real unexpected bonus, as it was great food at a quality peaceful and scenic spot. I would recommend this tour to friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular experience

Reviewed by: Roxanna Peña , 2015/04/24

The view was amazing and it will stay with me forever. I was definitely bundled up and ready for the cold, so please do not underestimate your need to wear VERY warm clothing. It is 100% worth the early pick-up time. You won't be disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thank you mother nature!

Reviewed by: Marzia (Roma-Italy), 2015/04/15

Thanks to everybody for permitting me to feel part of the great game of life.
Waiting for the sun up on the mistic Halekala was one of the biggest emotions of my life. As the sun rose, the colors changed and a native Hawaiians sung a traditional chant that still sounds in my soul.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best moment of my holiday

Reviewed by: Jesper, 2015/02/09

Enjoyed this tremendously! The sunrise at Haleakala is as spectacular as everyone says it is.
Our guide (Bob) had a lot of humour, was well-informed and passionate, and gave us the freedom to go where we wanted to during the actual sunrise instead of having to stay at a designated spot.
Included breakfast was decent too.
The early wake-up is well worth it. Don't miss this when you're on Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous Tour

Reviewed by: Digvijay, 2015/01/17

Wonderfull experience, it is windy and cold up there, be prepared to get lot and lots of warm clothes, View is magnificent. This was one of the best tour in Maui. The guide provided us lot of information and was very good. My kids loved it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip

Reviewed by: Davy, 2015/01/11

I would recommend to book this trip instead of drive by yourself. You don't have to drive very early in the morning and there are lots of turns. Our guide gave some very interesting information and local stories.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best tour guy!!! (Bob)

Reviewed by: Ivonne and Gus, 2014/12/14

My husband and I were doing our 1 year anniversary during this trip. The crazy early hour was insane but well worth it. It was beautiful watching the sun rise as someone sang a native song. Our tour guide was amazing always had some new fact or funny story to say. He had us laughing quite a bit. Especially his jokes that would catch us off guard through the drive. "Men are from Mars women are from Visa" still makes me giggle. Now my husband is telling that to everyone! The breakfast was good at a local golf course. I'd go again only for our driver I think he was the best part of the entire tour. He was worth every penny. A great tour guide makes all the difference. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow!

Reviewed by: Letitia, 2014/12/07

So we got up at 2am to get ready to get our bus. We took the bus up the mountain. We arrived and stepped off the bus to like 40 degrees!! 40 degrees in Hawaii? Yes when you are 10,000 feet up!! Duh!! Forgot my jacket but bought some souvenir sweatshirts in the visitor center :) so remember your jacket.
We stood and watched the sunrise and it was worth being cold for an hour. What an experience. Will do it again for sure!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunrise from heaven

Reviewed by: Tim, 2014/11/12

Absolutely fantastic. Make sure you dress warm, but well worth it. Being above the clouds was cool

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: Red Headed Sister's, 2014/10/04

This adventure was so breathe taking! It was amazing watching the sun rise at the different intervals. Well worth taking the time.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala sunrise

Reviewed by: shareen, 2014/09/25

so windy and cold up there. the sunrise was beautiful when it got there.Neil was a great guide. a wonderful experience

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

OMG the view was beautiful, the guide awful

Reviewed by: Teri, 2014/09/16

The driver/guide that actually took us up the mountain had the worst, most monotonous voice. He droned on with almost no regard to the fact there were actual people in the bus and there was almost no interaction with us. Honestly I think a taped recording would have been better. The view was lovely and the breakfast on the golf course was nice. I also met some great people who we bonded with over the fact of our shock and mutual dislike of the tour guide. That guide sucked the life out of the tour. I've been all over the world and went on several tours while in Hawaii and can honestly say this man had the least appropriate personality I've ever seen for a tour guide, not at all personable. He had a lot of information but delivery and personality were so bad it couldn't come through. We had a very nice, energetic man who picked up up from our hotel and dropped us off with the bad guide...even though his accent was thick, I would have far preferred him to our actual guide. It is the only time in my life I've never tipped the guide but gave money to the guy who dropped us off with the guide!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Freezing but amazingly beautiful

Reviewed by: Bindi Morley, 2014/07/31

View was magnificent and the summit was beautiful. Tour guide was a little unusual, but all in all a good time. Thanks

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Trip

Reviewed by: Amit, 2014/07/28

It was a trip to remember and cherish. Amazing guide, perfect timing, perfect amount of information shared, nice breakfast.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Trip

Reviewed by: Matt, 2014/07/22

Did this on the first day so it wasn't hard to get up at 2am since we hadn't adjusted to the timezone yet. I was glad we packed jeans, jackets, gloves and hats; we were still a little cold up there. But the sunrise was definitely spectacular.

We stayed at the Hyatt and there was some confusion on where to be picked up. Don't ask Veltra; call Polynesian Adventure Tours listed on the voucher directly. Our driver was OK; he had some interesting tips, but at 2:30am, most of us were just sleeping. It also would have been nice to know about the large viewing area right of the observation shack since it was pitch black when we got there. I would have expected the driver to mention this or give tips on where to view the sunrise. The Coffee and Danish was just OK; the system of having driver fix your coffee and hot chocolate was slow. The big breakfast on the way down was tasty, but slow to be served.

  • Taken with my HTC One phone

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not to be missed

Reviewed by: Carol, 2014/07/16

Did on first day on island as already in time warp. Amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It would of been great if the clouds did not get in the way.

Reviewed by: Spencer, 2014/05/04

Overall the experience was pretty good. You start off by waking up very early in the morning. They do serve you breakfast (a muffin and coffee). After that you make a long drive on a curvy road to the top of the volcano. Once there, it is FREEZING cold. What they don't tell you that you need to bring a very heavy coat. The day we went was pretty cloudy, so when the sun finally came up, it was too cloudy to see. After the sunrise, they treat you to a very delicious breakfast. The only recommendation I would have is to check what the cloud cover is going to be before you book this event.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: Faith Benedict, 2014/04/22

This tour was the best we have taken in Hawaii! Our bus driver, Bob Brown was engaging, making the trip in the bus fun and informative. He gave us extras, taking us to another volcano sight! The food was delicious at the golf course restaurant we were taken to for breakfast! It was cold, so we advise that you plan to dress warmly with even mitten and hat! It is a five star event!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Up Way Before Dawn

Reviewed by: Diane, 2014/03/24

Ron was an excellent tour leader and driver. The trip was excellent! Staff at National Park were full of information--especially Nan. Very cold--but I dressed as advised and was comfortable--hat, gloves, polar fleece liner under my unlined parka. Delicious breakfast at end of tour. Wonderful company with the others on our tour. Thanks to Ron and the others involved with this unique adventure!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Up Way Before Dawn

Reviewed by: Diane, 2014/03/23

Ron was out tour leader. Excellent commentary as we drove from 3 am to 10 am. It was rainy and foggy as we drove up to the volcano in the dark but Ron kept up the banter of telling us information while driving carefully and well. Driving excellent! That was a plus for me. Our group of 22 got acquainted over the trip. Great site to see sunrise at 10,000 feet! It was cold but I wore layers with warm polar fleece liner under my jacket, polar fleece hat and warm gloves and I was comfortable. I felt badly for those who came wrapped in blankets. Excellent staff at the National Park. Nan was especially helpful and informative. As we were driven down the hill, we could see the sites (and the curves) we'd missed due to darkness on the way up. The tour ended with a nice breakfast at a Golf Club. Memorable excursion! Thank you Ron and my fellow participants!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Sunrise

Reviewed by: T. Walker, 2013/12/29

The sunrise was beautiful as expected...but, Ron, the driver
is an absolute hoot! He is mild mannered and a very safe
driver. Be sure to dress warmly, the cold is almost unbearable.
I would go again if I was assured Ron would be the driver.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Haleakala Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: Jill Scully, 2013/11/25

I have never experienced such a bad tour guide. He was really creepy; uninformative; totally lacking enthusiasm and just didn't keep us informed of the procedures or what was happening. Very disappointing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Pamela, 2013/10/25

We were picked up at our hotel at 3:00 am as promised and then taken up the mountain to see the sunrise. We were lucky as it was a clear day and we got to see the sunrise without issue. Once we arrived at the site, we were given coffee and danish to warm us up. We then took our place with the others and saw the magnificent view. We then got back on the bus and went up to the summit to take a few more pictures. On the way down our driver stopped at two more scenic points so that we could see down into the crater. It was quite a view. At the end of the trip, we were taken to a restaurant on a golf course and fed breakfast. The entire trip lasted about 7 1/2 hours. My one complaint would be that the bus was small and the seats were very tight. Some of the taller and larger people on the bus really had to be uncomfortable for the entire ride as two people could not fit comfortably in one row and there was no leg room at all.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/22
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: mrsortanis, 2013/10/23

We have heard SO MANY amazing reviews about this and unfortunately because of the government shut down (womp womp // politics <sigh>) we did not get to go. However, I am still reviewing because we were devastated we couldn't go and Veltra was so helpful in assuring us of a full refund and gave us ample notice. Bravo to them :) SO disappointed!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunrise tour

Reviewed by: The Halls, 2013/09/17

Would recommend more information given to guests for example Winter clothing needed PARKA GLOVES. Breakfast not so good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Recommend It!

Reviewed by: Mexirican, 2013/08/27

Service was great. Pick-up and drop-off in a timely manner. Clean van/bus. Friendly and knowledgeable driver. Delicious breakfast. Incredible sunrise!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect Sunrise for our Honeymoon

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2013/07/10

My husband and I heard wonderful things about the Haleakala sunrise, and knew that it was going to be one of our activities on our honeymoon. However, we knew that the bike tour option was a little more daring than we had hoped. After doing some research and finding this tour, we knew that this was the route we wanted to take.

The tour picked us up EARLY (just before 2am), and we boarded the bus. On the way up, our driver gave us the "disclaimer," that nobody can control the weather except mother nature, and it will either be crystal clear and beautiful...or...cloudy and disappointing. Luckily for us, it was, quite literally, PERFECT.

As the sun rose, the colors changed so beautifully and two native Hawaiians sung a traditional chant. We stayed for a few more pictures, then took the bus from the lookout point to summit (quick drive), then stopped at another lookout point before heading down to breakfast.

If you are going to Maui, make sure you take this trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]