Spectacular Haleakala Summit Sunrise Tour [Open Now] reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Spectacular Haleakala Summit Sunrise Tour [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.45 4.45 / 5

Reviews

154 reviews
Post a review

Beautiful sights with an amazing guide!

Reviewed by: Jamie H, 2020/12/27

We had a great time on this tour. Our guide, Kama, was absolutely superb. He was kind, kept the transportation clean and safe, was a great driver and provided a wealth of knowledge along the way. The kids didn't mind having to wake up so early after seeing the beautiful sunrise.

It was cold at the top but our hotel was thoughtful enough to send us with blankets once they learned where we were heading out to. I would recommend bundling up at the top because it is chilly and you are there for a while.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Naddy is awesome guide

Reviewed by: Manjunath, 2020/02/24

Naddy was awesome guide..we r happy n njoyed ..

breakfast is was yummy

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One Maui Morning

Reviewed by: jqgossard, 2019/12/25

As early as the pick up times for this tour, it was worth it!! The experience to watch the sunrise over Maui and right above the clouds of Haleakala was absolutely amazing!! Shuttle ride up the mountain was perfect to take naps before arriving to the summit. Pick a spot along the fence line as soon as you can because it gets crowded very fast!!

Now...all visitors, PLEASE understand that you are a VISITOR into the home of Hawaiian Islanders, RESPECT their boundaries on their land!!! DO NOT hop over fence lines!! There are barriers for a reason!!
1) They are protecting their island plants and animals as they aren’t very many anymore.
2) STAY OFF SACRED LAND!!! They welcomed you into their home, respect the places you are not allowed to enter!!

Don’t be ignorant!! Respect the land you travel!
There were MANY ignorant people that even when the park representatives came out to get people back over the right side of the fence were ignored!

They opened their home and welcomed you so that you can experience an amazing view, enjoy it by appreciating their hospitality and respecting their boundaries.

The natives will chant as the sunrises, it would be nice for everyone to quiet the conversation and bask in the chant and take in this spectacular experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mount Haleakala

Reviewed by: Lynda, 2019/09/01

Great tour. Ask for tour guide, Neddy. That’s all I have to say! She was awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Sunrise

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2019/08/07

I highly recommend this tour rather than driving. Our guide, Star, provided us with great insight and experience regarding Haleakalā, the surrounding area and Maui. The sunrise was spectacular!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So early! Worth the lack of sleep.

Reviewed by: 1st Time Visitors, 2019/07/22

Totally worth the lack of sleep. You wake up early, however you can sleep on the bus. The sights were amazing and our tour guide/ driver was extremely knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth it !!

Reviewed by: Smita, 2019/07/10

If you dont get the parking pass it’s worth to book the tour.
The guide was amazing and knowledgeable.
He shared many deep facts about the place, showed us variety of flowers and plants and shared interesting facts about them.
He stopped at other view points on the way while coming back.
The breakfast place they stopped was level up and the breakfast was very good.
I surely recommend to book the tour.
Thank you for we got an opportunity to view this mesmerizing view by booking last minute.

  • Breakfast place

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super

Reviewed by: Pia , 2019/06/08

It was a very nice tour. We realy recommend it for everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mount Haleakalā Sunrise. Maui

Reviewed by: Tlm , 2018/11/18

Weather is unpredictable for seeing this sunrise but fortunately for us, our sunrise was outstanding. Our guide was very informative. Get us so much useful information about the island in whole as well as mount Haleakalā and the history behind it. So glad we booked this trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Matt1322, 2018/06/13

Preston was awesome! Best driver and very polite with people. Very fun and enjoyable trip! I highly recommend giving him a raise he deserves it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakalā Sunrise

Reviewed by: Adlers, 2018/05/21

Our guide was informative and was really great about giving us all time to see things and ask questions. We really enjoyed our trip and would recommend to friends

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular sunrise

Reviewed by: Alberich, 2018/05/19

Der Sonnenaufgang über dem Haleakala ist definitiv einen Ausflug wert. Wer nicht mitten in der Nacht eine unbekannte und kurvenreiche Strecke fahren will, sollte diese Tour buchen. Der einzige Nachteil ist, dass alle Busse auf den Parkplatz am Visitor Center halten und es entsprechend voll dort ist. Außerdem ist eine organisierte Tour die einzige Möglichkeit den Sonnenaufgang zu sehen, wenn man keinen Parkplatz mehr über die Website des Nationalparks buchen kann... Ohne reservierten Parkplatz kein Zutritt!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don’t miss this trip!

Reviewed by: Owens-Johnson, 2018/04/26

If you go to Maui you must see the sunrise at Haleakala, and if you are lucky enough to ride with Nettie, your experience will be perfect!
This was our second time seeing the sunrise at our feet but our first with the best guide Nettie - she is almost as spectacular as the mountain!
Knowledgeable, personable and entertaining!
We were on this trip to fulfill the “bucket list” desire of my husband’s sister and her husband and were hoping they were pleased; they were ecstatic!
Thanks Nettie - you are a huge part of a great memory!

  • Sunrise at Haleakala in April!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful experience!

Reviewed by: Jayne, 2018/03/26

Thoroughly enjoyed this experience despite the early start and the freezing temperature! Collected from our hotel at 3am by Netty. Very informative time on the coach, which was very comfortable but also allowed some time to nap before arriving at the mountain top. It was very cold despite wearing lots of layers ( we had been warned!) and our hotel had lent us blankets. Had about an hours wait before the sun started to come up. The sunrise was beautiful. We stopped for a good breakfast on the way back and returned to our hotel around 11am.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW!

Reviewed by: Amy L, 2018/03/25

THIS TRIP is worth waking up in the middle of the night to catch the sunrise ABOVE CLOUD Level. Beautiful! Thoughtful bus driver also brought hot water and coffee and packaged pastries for visitors to snack on before the actual breakfast. Thank you Nettie, bus driver, for an awesome experience!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Experience!

Reviewed by: Jennifer, 2018/03/20

Preston was our driver for the tour and he was hilarious. He managed to make our entire group laugh and stay engaged on our ride up to Haleakala. We felt safe with him as our tour leader and driver and would assure anyone going with Preston that you would have a great time. I HIGHLY recommend anyone considering the visit to view the sunrise to go with a tour group as the drive up is completely dark, on extremely narrow roads, and quite difficult to navigate. We had a care rental for our entire trip but were incredibly glad that we went with the route of having an operator take us up and down the mountain. The tour was informative and just so easy--from pick-up to drop-off.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Deb I, 2018/02/24

Wake up early, super early, for the most amazing sunrise you’ll see, if you are an adventurer. It’s cold up there, super cold so prepare for that. Before sunrise, marvel at the stars. They’re so cold you can touch them. Gloves, hats and warm coats needed, but its soooooo worth it!! The sunrise is spectacular! And once it comes up, the crater is like nothing you’ve ever seen. Turn to your right and look up at the science stations there also. You’ll want to stay!

  • Sunrise

  • The crater

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Couldn't be happier

Reviewed by: Steve, 2018/02/10

Even with the government shut down, tour glide still gave us an outstanding experience. Have memories and photos that we will treasure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime sunrise

Reviewed by: Callie, 2017/12/23

A few things to be aware of before you book this excursion:
1) The road is very windy: consider ginger candy or Dramamine if you're prone to motion sickness.
2) Cell phone reception will be terrible.
3) It's very cold at an elevation of 10,000 feet. It was 40degrees for us. Dress warmly.
4) The air is also very thin at 10,000 feet: look out for shortness of breath and dizziness.
3) You may not see a picture perfect sunrise. No one can control the weather or even perfectly predict it. There will also be tons of other people there enjoying the view with you.

With all that in mind, we had a great time. At 3am, our driver picked us up and drop us off right in front of our condo in Kihei (pick up may not be available for your particular location - verify with PolyAd/GrayLine first if this is a dealbreaker for you). Stopped at a Kahului convenience store: buy snacks here if you don't like the pastries/coffee onboard.

Uneventful drive up. The 25-ish seater van/bus is heated, but once we arrived in the parking lot, our driver obviously had to turn off the engine/heat to conserve gas. We arrived 1 hour prior to sunrise, and in that 1 hour, the weather went from so clear and being able to see thousands of stars to sprinkling rain to so foggy I could barely see a few feet in front of me and back and forth. There is a tiny visitors center with giftshop, and restrooms (with ice cold water toilet seats), but not much else to explore. So we hung out on the bus until just a few minutes before sunrise.

The sunrise was partially obstructed by clouds, but the sky and landscape was still so beautiful. 30 minutes after sunrise, our driver drove us up a wee bit higher to the next parking lot for more photos, and then down to a golf course for breakfast. Breakfast was ok - I would have much rather saved my appetite for something else. We were dropped off at our condo at 11am.

We had a great driver and saw a beautiful sunrise from the top of a volcano. It was AWESOME.

  • The view after sunrise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour guided experience

Reviewed by: Valeri, 2017/12/03

My husband and I did this for our hunnymoon and it was great. Great tour guide. He was very good, funny and very knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Haleakala Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: Karla, 2017/10/24

This is a must for anyone traveling to Maui. Wayne was our driver and guide. He is full of all sorts of information and kept us entertained the whole trip. The view of the sun rising above the clouds high atop a volcano, made this one of our most memorable moments in Hawaii. The trip concluded with an awsome breakfast .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Everyone should do this!

Reviewed by: D. Dickenson, 2017/10/23

This is so worth your time and money! Awesome! The view was spectacular and the driver made it so much fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Damien, 2017/10/14

Had a great time on this trip. So informative and the view at sunrise was breathtaking.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Haleakula

Reviewed by: Laura Palmer, 2017/10/09

This was such a spectacular trip. Our tour guide Netti wend over and beyond to make this experience special for everyone. I highly recommend this experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: P and B, 2017/09/25

This was a great Tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable as well as helpful.
I would recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Kurt Summers, 2017/09/11

Wow! What an incredible and awesome experience! Special thanks to Nettie! I understand why she is highly requested! Her aloha spirit made us feel like family. God's creation was on full display, praise Him from whom all blessings flow!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!

Reviewed by: D Gard, 2017/09/05

Had a great time on our sunrise tour. Driver was knowledgeable and talked much of the trip. The sunrise itself was spectacular. You arrive in the dark and I have never seen so many stars. It is definitely a good idea to bring warm clothes. I had a hooded ski jacket and gloves so I was comfortable. On the way back you can see beautiful views you will have missed on the way up due to darkness. Before heading back to your hotel there is a breakfast stop at the golf course. The food was good. We had a great time and recommend this tour for anyone looking to view the sunrise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Taumhaft schön

Reviewed by: Andrea , 2017/08/29

super Tour,professionell grführt, taumhafter Sonnenaufgang, gerne wieder-

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nettie was the best tour guide ever

Reviewed by: Katie best, 2017/08/20

Nettie went above and beyond to ensure that we experienced the best Hawaii. She's a local and added so much charm. Not only did she get on the ground to take our photos she insisted on multiple photos in different poses all of which we couldn't live with out now that we have them. Nettie was by far the best we've seen in Hawaii! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The most touching sunrise in my life!

Reviewed by: LEE NAHUI, 2017/08/11

It's a wonderful sight! I was impressed. I'm very happy to participate in this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]