Spectacular Haleakala Summit Sunrise Tour [Open Now] reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Spectacular Haleakala Summit Sunrise Tour [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.45 4.45 / 5

Reviews

154 reviews
Post a review

Beautiful

Reviewed by: Adriana, 2019/01/02

The tour started at 3 am. First stop was in a store where we were supposed to buy water and chewing gum to make the way up the mountain easier. The bus was new and confortable. We arrived at the top of the Haleakala around 5:30 am and stayed freezing outside the bus until 6:40 am, for the sunrise. It was cold and windy, around 0°C... Other companies provided blankets and jackets to their customers. Ours didn’t. The view was fantastic even in that cloudy morning. It’s worth waking up that early! After the sunrise, we started our way down, with two great stops to see the view. Breakfast was served in front of golf course around 9:30 am. We arrived at the hotel at 10:45 am.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fog

Reviewed by: Mark, 2018/04/10

While the tour and tour guides were excellent the weather was not. It looked as if we were going to have s great sun rise when the fog moved in and blocked the view.

Nettie one of the drivers was a distant relative to a Hawaiian process and gave a chant to the rising sun. This was beautiful and the best part of the trip.

All you need to do to make this a perfect adventure is pay Mother Nature more so that she will cooperate.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Schöne Tour

Reviewed by: inlovewithhawaii, 2017/12/30

Die Tour war gut arrangiert. Wir wurden überpünktlich abgeholt und unsere Busfahrerin / Tourguide war super freundlich. Sie hat während der ganzen Tour sehr viel über die Gegend erklärt, auf Pflanzen hingewiesen und uns einige alte Legenden näher gebracht. Es gab viele Stopps zwischendurch. Die geschätzte Gruppengröße war 15 Personen.

Der Sonnenaufgang war spektakulär! Den muss man gesehen haben! Eine dicke Jacke bzw. Zwiebellook und geschlossenen Schuhe sind mehr als angebracht.

Das folgende Frühstück im Golfclub war solide. Hätte man aber, da die Tour mit einem frühen Aufstehen verbunden ist, auch gut auslassen können und dafür ein früheres Ende vorsehen können.

Insgesamt hat mir die Tour gut gefallen und ich empfehle sie weiter.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Sunrise Tour :)

Reviewed by: Aryan SKP, 2017/12/13

All in all a very good experience.. even though when we started it was raining at 3 AM in the morning.. but up there at the Haleakala summit point, weather was just too perfect to have the glimpse of rising sun :)..

Glenn, thanks for keeping us engaged n providing loads of information.. kept us awake most of the time ;)..

  • Captured from my Samsung S6..

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Sara, 2017/12/03

Wayne was excellent, a lot of knowledge and made the trip very fun! Would recommend this trip and service to others, only negative was that the breakfast was ok, service and decent and core of the golf course was nice. Overall excellent t experience

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing morning

Reviewed by: Amy Collier, 2017/10/18

After the very early start, we made our way to the top of the volcano. The tour drivers name was Bessie, and she was very enthusiastic, sometimes going overboard. The sunrise was a bit late but the whole experience was great, but very cold. After the tour, we were taken for breakfast at a golf club, which was very nice. We then were loaded on another bus for our drop of at accommodation. This was a very slow time. We did not get back to the resort until 12 noon, and this turned out an extremely long day.

  • At the very top- 10000 feet above sea level

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala sunrise tour

Reviewed by: Roland, 2017/08/26

It is certainly an experience not to be missed if visiting Hawaii. Price is a bit high for the tour.
Tour guide was knowledgeable and somewhat entertaining. Included breakfast was pretty good.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cold and rainey

Reviewed by: Linda Mathias, 2016/10/22

We didn't get to see the sunrise due to the weather, but our bus driver was informative and kept us warm with hot coffee, hot chocolate or hot tea. It was still worth going! The breakfast was fantastic!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: Cindy, 2015/09/13

The guide was great and witty. A lot of fun despite not being able to see the sunrise because of the fog that morning.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Freezing but amazingly beautiful

Reviewed by: Bindi Morley, 2014/07/31

View was magnificent and the summit was beautiful. Tour guide was a little unusual, but all in all a good time. Thanks

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Trip

Reviewed by: Matt, 2014/07/22

Did this on the first day so it wasn't hard to get up at 2am since we hadn't adjusted to the timezone yet. I was glad we packed jeans, jackets, gloves and hats; we were still a little cold up there. But the sunrise was definitely spectacular.

We stayed at the Hyatt and there was some confusion on where to be picked up. Don't ask Veltra; call Polynesian Adventure Tours listed on the voucher directly. Our driver was OK; he had some interesting tips, but at 2:30am, most of us were just sleeping. It also would have been nice to know about the large viewing area right of the observation shack since it was pitch black when we got there. I would have expected the driver to mention this or give tips on where to view the sunrise. The Coffee and Danish was just OK; the system of having driver fix your coffee and hot chocolate was slow. The big breakfast on the way down was tasty, but slow to be served.

  • Taken with my HTC One phone

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Sunrise

Reviewed by: T. Walker, 2013/12/29

The sunrise was beautiful as expected...but, Ron, the driver
is an absolute hoot! He is mild mannered and a very safe
driver. Be sure to dress warmly, the cold is almost unbearable.
I would go again if I was assured Ron would be the driver.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Pamela, 2013/10/25

We were picked up at our hotel at 3:00 am as promised and then taken up the mountain to see the sunrise. We were lucky as it was a clear day and we got to see the sunrise without issue. Once we arrived at the site, we were given coffee and danish to warm us up. We then took our place with the others and saw the magnificent view. We then got back on the bus and went up to the summit to take a few more pictures. On the way down our driver stopped at two more scenic points so that we could see down into the crater. It was quite a view. At the end of the trip, we were taken to a restaurant on a golf course and fed breakfast. The entire trip lasted about 7 1/2 hours. My one complaint would be that the bus was small and the seats were very tight. Some of the taller and larger people on the bus really had to be uncomfortable for the entire ride as two people could not fit comfortably in one row and there was no leg room at all.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/22
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Recommend It!

Reviewed by: Mexirican, 2013/08/27

Service was great. Pick-up and drop-off in a timely manner. Clean van/bus. Friendly and knowledgeable driver. Delicious breakfast. Incredible sunrise!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour guide!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/03/25

Bob was so entertaining and informative! He made the early morning quite pleasant. However, I think arriving at Haleakala 75 minutes before sunrise was a bit too soon. Too much time to stand around and be cold. Also, the bus was a little small and cramped for leg room. The payoff, the spectacular sunrise, was exceptional.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just Awesome!

Reviewed by: Shankar, 2011/09/04

Wonderful experience. Everything was perfect the day we were on Haleakala. The ride was comfortable and the guide was very knowledgeable. Worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haneakala Sunrise Tour

Reviewed by: DrSteggy, 2010/11/15

This was the first thing my husband and I did on our first trip to Maui--we did it the first full day we were there, and that turned out to be best because we were sort of awake to catch our 2:15 am tour bus (we are from the east coast, and were very early risers the whole trip)

Our guide was very knowledgable about the volcano and surrounding area, and took us on a very nice tour. he even slowed and pointed out a pair of nene for us. On the downside, there were some spots we would have liked to spend more time, but this can't be helped with an organized tour. On our next trip, we'd likely do this on our own, but its smart to take the tour your first time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

COLD!!! but great!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/09/28

Polynesian Adventure Tours was fabulous - great, knowledgable guides and they pick you up super early so that you get there before the big crowd for a front row seat (it gets surprisingly busy).
BRING WINTER CLOTHES (if you think to book it before traveling) otherwise buy sweaters or a jacket or blankets or all of the above...the 3x suggestion of warm clothing on your "to bring" list is not kidding - i wore 4 sweaters and was just comfortable - pants, scarves, gloves a must!!!
Stunning views, definitely a must see

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunrise tour Mount Haleakala Crater

Reviewed by: usd82, 2008/11/27

We had a good time at the crater. We were a little bummed because we didn't get to see the sunrise but it is unpredictable and we understand that. It was still a great experience and we did get to see some sun rising behind the clouds.

If we make it back to Maui we would definitely try it again in hopes to see the sunrise the second time!

Thanks for an informative tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]