Maui Haleakala Sunset Tour with 3-Course Dinner & Park Admission reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Maui Haleakala Sunset Tour with 3-Course Dinner & Park Admission

Overall Rating

4.43 4.43 / 5

Reviews

30 reviews
Post a review

Very knowledgeable funny and friendly bus is extremely comfortable,

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2019/07/15

Tour guide was Very knowledgeable and friendly , bus is extremely comfortable, dinner was delicious

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just Beautiful!

Reviewed by: The Clouser’s , 2019/05/02

Absolutely amazing experience! Comfortable ride with stellar views and good company! Watching the sunset on Haleakalā is just breathtaking! Don’t let the clouds fool you. Guide was knowledgeable regarding the area and dinner was delicious! Would definitely do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Hmorris , 2018/11/24

We loved this tour! The summit is breathtaking, and our tour guide was wonderful. We would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting to see the crater at sunset instead of sunrise

Reviewed by: Guy, 2018/10/22

This was a fun trip, and we had an informative, engaging driver in Michael. My only gripe is I didn't really care for the Spacemonkeys video on the way back down.

  • Taken from the parking lot of the Haleakala Visitors Center

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala Sunset

Reviewed by: Kathy from PA, 2018/06/30

Our Tour Guide Henry was very well versed on all aspects of the Island and to Haleakala in general. He was patient with our entire group and encouraged questions.
Dinner was meh-My husband and I have eaten several times at Cafe O'Lei in Kihei,but this was not up to those standards.

  • Haleakala Sunset-the clouds are hugging the sun

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed the tour in spite of the weath

Reviewed by: Dewjr, 2018/03/11

Our driver (Jason?) made for a great trip. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate on the day we took the tour, but Jason’s commentary and fantastic sense of humor were sunshine on the rainy day. If (when) we return to Maui, we will definitely take this tour again in hopes of seeing the sunset from Haleakala.

  • Haleakala through the misty rain.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Tour

Reviewed by: Jennifer Kiser, 2018/02/17

I really can't say enough good things about our tour guide Henry; he was the best! He was very knowledgeable and funny. He even took some amazing pictures of us once we got to the top. One of the best memories of our trip was this tour. If you are planning a trip to Maui, I recommend doing the sunset tour.

  • #abovetheclouds

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

If only the clouds parted....

Reviewed by: Podre71, 2018/01/29

Only thing we missed was the view of the surrounding areas due to the clouds...only saw the western peaks poking up thru the clouds
...but the sunset was one of a kind.....Bring your winter Jacket & gloves....

  • my hands are frozen!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding!

Reviewed by: Christina , 2017/09/30

This tour was absolutely amazing! Our driver was phenomenal, knowledgeable, entertaining and definitely made you feel safe on the long road up and down the mountain. The views were breathless, there are no words to describe how absolutely stunning the sunset was. Mahalo Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Sunset!!

Reviewed by: mblock, 2016/02/24

I enjoyed every moment of the tour, Haleakala is definitely a must-do in Maui!
I'm glad that Polynesian Adventure Tours offers the Sunset tour, I would not be able to do the sunrise tour because of my tight schedule.

The local tour guide Kama was was excellent, very entertaining and knowledgeable about the Island of Maui. He gave us a map and shared interesting facts about Hawaiian history, geology, geography, ecology and legends.

After the pick up we stared our journey to the top of the Haleakala. We made a quick stop at the small, but beautiful Lavender Farm for a bathroom break and to get the coffee and pastries.
We arrived at the visitor center, approximately one hour prior to Sunset, and we had enough time to explore around and take nice pictures of the landscape. I absolutely love sunsets and being able to watch it above the clouds was amazing!
The last stop was at Cafe O Lei, we had a delicious family-style dinner and it was a great way to end the night.

The Sunset tour is great because it is not as crowed as the sunrise. I had a great experience visiting Haleakala with Polynesian Adventure Tours!

  • Haleakala Crater

  • Amazing SUnset

  • Lavender Farm

  • Haleakala Visitor Center

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really nice tour - but can't count on Mother Nature to cooperate...

Reviewed by: Kiki, 2015/12/12

Really nice tour to summit and super dinner at Café O Lei.

While Mother Nature didn't necessarily cooperate (she rained on us the last 2 days of trip, but it might have been our fault as we stupidly asked for her to turn the wind down a bit the first 2 days ;)...) the sunset wasn't brilliant but still awe inspiring (also got a glimpse of how beautiful it could be on the flight out the next day still very cloudy - could see more color and summit as we took off...). Oh lavender farm was nice too - I'm not a lavender person but whole area was beautiful and people at farm nice.

Tour was still great - views were still stunning - dinner was really good and other people on tour were quite a fun group!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No sunset

Reviewed by: Henrik, 2015/01/05

Expectations where high when we set out for this sunset tour 30th of december 2014 but there were no sunset to be found. A cold front passed Maui this evening and we were sitting in the bus at the top of mount Haleakala for 50 min just watching rain and wind passing by in cold , cold weather.
The guide did a fine job trying to fill out for the missing sunset but was up against uneven odds.
So be aware of the weather conditions since this can reduce the value and outcome considerately.
We were very surprised that the operator didn't cancelled the tour or at least warned us about the conditions so we could have a choice to participate or not.
The dinner was fine but surprisingly enough we didn't have much time to enjoy it so we was in a bit of a hurry to get finished in time

  • Image from the top of Haleakala sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]