This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Captain Andy's Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise (from Port Allen)

Overall Rating

4.72 4.72 / 5

Reviews

124 reviews
Post a review

Fun Trip

Reviewed by: Ginger and Jeff, 2012/10/17

We had a great time and would recommend this to someone wanting to see more of Kauai and especially the Na Pali coast. Some parts of the ride are rough so take that into cnsideration.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best way to end a 2nd honeymoon

Reviewed by: Kimokepi, 2012/09/19

We have done just about everything on this island, which is our favorite island. We had our honeymoon here 10 years ago, and decided to return to the island to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary and we renewed our wedding vows as well. The "perfect" 2nd honeymoon didn't start off too great with another activity that I had planned for my husband and that nameless for now company I will not say, really was horrific. They harrassed us everyday trying to make it up to us; which killed a lot of the mood. Regardless, this sunset dinner cruise happened on our last night on the island and it was the BEST ending to a not-so-"perfect" 2nd honeymoon. The staff was amazing, the food unbelievable, the trip AWESOME!!!! We were even one of the lucky ones that were invited to have dinner with Capt. Dave at the helm. I would definately return for Captain Dave, Tony, Paul, Andrea and I appologize I can't remember the last guy. They were great!! They all made you feel like family, so welcoming. My

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: PeteR, 2012/09/15

From the time we left the dock to our return, Captain Tony, Tara, and Thomas provided a trip to remember. The boat was just the right size, the weather was almost perfect, and the scenery was amazing.
We motored out to the NaPali cost, hoisted sail at our turnaround point when dinner was served, and ended up motoring back at dusk to save time. We had drinks on the way out, a nice dinner at the turn around, and drinks on the way back, all included.
The coast line is spectacular, Captain Tony could maneuver close to the shore and the sights will never be forgotten. We saw Spinner Dolphin, Sea Turtles, and most of all that amazing coast. The spectacular sunset on the way back was the final wonderful experience.
Highly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding Cruise

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2012/09/10

Captain Andy's Sunset Cruise to the Na Pali Coast was an outstanding experience and one of the highlights of our trip to Kauai. The captain and crew were very friendly, helpful, and entertaining. We enjoyed our dinner and were amazed by the breath taking views of the beautiful Na Pali Coast. We would highly recommend this trip to anyone who wouldn't mind getting a little wet on the way out to the Na Pali Coast.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maj (Ret), USAF

Reviewed by: Charlie S, 2012/07/07

We did not know what to expect when we started this activity - Captain Rick and his crew made us feel right at home on the Akiola and were interested in our comfort especially when my wife almost got a touch of sea sickness. The food and drink provided was excellent and the atmosphere was great - the scenic views of the Na Pali Coast were great - We would do this activity again if we came to Kauai for our vacation once more.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: JimJ, 2012/06/12

several other companies have the same offering, but Capt Andy's is different due to their great staff. Captain Steve really plays up to the attendees. if they want to get wet on the ride, believe me, they will. Cal was fabulous. always there when you need him and more than happy and willing to take photos for you. With good weather we went further than the normal cruise and were able to see more. we played with the dolphins, saw sea turtles and Steve's narration of the history of the Na Pali coast is fantastic.

Highly recommend to anyone visiting Kauai

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Napali Cruise

Reviewed by: Many times visiting Kauai, 2012/06/06

Fantastic cruise on the Southern Star! Make sure to grab a good seat, once aboard. (Not enough seats for all.) Excellent cruise. Lots of great service - plenty to drink - HUGE steak with big prawns. Homemade coconut cream pie. Just the food and drink is worth the price. About 5 hours - sunset time. Went out and circled some whales. Staff was so fun and sincere - not cheesy.
Fantastic views/facts of the Napali Coast. We have sailed it on a private sailboat and thought the tour might be too touristy. Not bad at all. One puker on board - poor guy suffered the entire sail - the staff couldn't have been more caring. It was wonderful to see how kind they were to him. I would do it again. Such a value, I don't know how they are making money on this!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Timeless Valentines Day Surprise

Reviewed by: Anna, 2012/02/16

My boyfriend planned this sunset cruise for us for our first Valentines Day together. We were both surprised to not only have a very fun, knowledgable, friendly, AMAZING staff but we also got to see turtles, whales, and dolphins.

In addition, to all the beautiful sites and friendly staff the food was really good, and the service was 5 star.

We had such a romantic, fun, exciting time and would highly recommond it to anyone staying on the island. Watch out for the "sneaky tiki" drinks....they are yummy!!!!!

Thank you to the whole team that put on the Valentines Day sunset cruise for the red team. It was such an AMAZING time.

- Anna and Eric

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A.W.E.S.O.M.E.

Reviewed by: Tammy and Jeff, 2012/01/04

We went on the dinner cruise during our honeymoon. Everything was AWESOME! The crew, the food, the boat...all amazing. The NaPali Coast is breathtaking and we were lucky enough to see a number of whales. We highly recommend this tour. We can not say enough about the quality of this outdoor adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Cheryl, 2011/11/30

We had such a great time on this cruise and would go again in a heartbeat! Beware, if you are prone to seasickness, take precautions before you go. The seas were very rough and the trip was wet. As a family of sailors this didn't bother us one bit. If you are thinking this is a quiet romantic sunset dinner cruise, it is not. Captain Kurt and his crew were outstanding!!! The views were amazing!!! The food for dinner was very good. We enjoyed every part of this trip and highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luxury to infinity

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/11/10

One word: luxury. I felt so spoiled on this sail. Everything was magical....from the being in Hawaii, to the amazing, fresh food (they even catered to my husband and I who are vegetarians!), to the perfect sunset at the end of the evening....it was just that..perfect. We both had a great time and actually are signed up to go AGAIN before we leave the island! This time I will bring my camera to capture it all....I forgot last time and was so bummed...especially when that sunset hit....just lovely.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Na Pali Sunset Dinne

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/10/24

Had a absolutely great time. The crew was helpful and friendly and the views from the ship were breathtaking, Would do this again without hesitation.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/04/01

Surprised at the height of the seas. A number of people were sick on the trip. Were expecting more of a "dinner" cruise boat. We really enhoyed the trip, the food was good and the crew were excellent. Would do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We loved it!

Reviewed by: Tony, 2011/03/26

Great fun, romantic, beautiful scenery, boat crew members were very friendly and helpful, captain's comments about the area were both informative and entertaining, whale watching very exciting, good buffet. Cruise was a good value. Take it. You will love it!.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would definately do this again!!!

Reviewed by: Kimberly, 2011/03/04

The staff was not only fun and funny but they were very personable and their knowledge was outstanding. They all made sure to make their way around and talk with all the guests and always made sure everyone had plenty to eat and drink. We also seen so many whales on this dinner sail and the beauty of Island.
Would recommend this to other couples as well as families with children over 12. Thank you all for such a great and memorable experience. We hope to be back next year and will definately be booking a trip with your company.

Sincerely,

Kim & Bob

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great experience

Reviewed by: Roxanne Ziola, 2011/02/15

First things first...make sure you take care of any seasickness issues, even if you have never sailed, take all precautions, you don't want to be ill and miss out on any of this!!
Our tour got rerouted due to weather acting up on the north part of the shore, so we toured the south side...WOW, I am amazed that they don't do that more often!!
We were able to see directly under the yacht, because of the trampolines, and we were probably 3 feet over all of the dolphins that were swimming with us. We were able to see 3 different dolphin speices (I remember the spinners and the large bottle nose) we then got to see countless whales and their babies, really close. The skips were very knowledgeable and so was the captain. They all did a really good job of the meal and making sure we always had some sort of beverage in our hand!! I felt like royalty! When I go back I will do the same cruise, in hopes that the northern shore will be toured, and then I can compare, but really I feel that t

Rating:
Attended as:Families
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Capt. Andy's Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Donna and Grannie, 2011/02/07

Absolutely beyond my wildest expectations and then some. The knowledgeable, funny, informative, sassy, professional, and friendly staff made the entire trip a delight. I took my 84 year old mother with me and she was "In seventh heaven" - her words!! Recommended to any one who wants an unforgetable Hawaiian experience!! Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Dinner Cruise - Capitan Andy

Reviewed by: William, 2010/12/07

Capitan Andy Sunset Dinner Cruise at Na Pali was a wonderful experience. The boat was comfortable and spacious, crew members are very knowledgeable about the history, geology of the areas. They also are extremely professional and will go a great length to ensure everyone having good experience of the trip. I'll definitely recommend this others.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Sunset Dinner Cruise - Capta

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/11/22

They talked during the cruise which was very informational. The dinner was fair. It would have been nice to know which side of the boat to be on ahead of time. Most of the views are on one side.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Leonard, 2010/10/05

The rating is certainly colored by the less than good weather. The food was good, staff excellent and the boat was well run. The narrative and scenary,even with the heavy swell and the misty rain were good. This would probably would be great if you had perfect weather and you didn't do the snorkeling.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful views

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2010/09/29

Seeing NaPali coast while in Kauai is a must. What better way than on a dinner sunset cruise. The staff at Captain Andy's was great. Not only did they provide a great meal and drinks, but they made sure to take pictures of us with our camera!! Highly reccommend it!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time in July 2010

Reviewed by: Kim, 2010/07/22

This was recommended to me by a coworker and I was happy I took her advice. The staff was extremely nice. Always asking if you need anything and making it a great experience. I myself became a little motionsickness and the staff was great at checking in with me and making sure I was feeling better as best I could. This was my first time in Hawaii and I would do this cruise again. Dave, Tony, and Christina were great!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Boat Ride and Dinner

Reviewed by: Lindsay and Cameron, 2010/07/02

The sunset dinner cruise with Captain Andy's crew was so awesome. It made our honeymoon so special. We couldn't get enough of the beautiful scenery all around the Na Pali Coast; the huge rainbow we saw, the playful dolphins who swam with our boat, the monk seal beaching it, and the wild goats along the mountainside! The food was also very delicious. We would recommend this trip to other honeymooning couples. It is definitely worth the price. Ask for Captain Dave, Christina, and Cody!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Trip Yet!

Reviewed by: Rachel and Howard Miles, 2010/06/01

We went on Saturday May 29th 2010.....Captain Trent and his crew (Aaron and Pat) made this one of the best trips yet...and we have been on many here in Kauai. The crew was completely attentive and created a happy, positive environment. It was great to get to walk around and sit or stand in different locations.
We really enjoyed it and would recommend it to our family and friends!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our Feb 1st diner cruise

Reviewed by: Brian Elmore, 2010/02/12

We had a great time.

Captain Rick made our experience very enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Sunset Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: martin62, 2009/09/23

What my husband and I enjoyed -

1. The employees - they were great.
2. The food & drinks
3. The views
4. The sunset

What we could have done without -

1. Hitting big waves and having water splash on us
2. The wind - it was hard to eat and drink with my hair flying all over my face.
3. The many Sneaky Tikis I drank without feeling a thing
4. The 2 or 3 people who got seasick right next to us

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Dave and Debbie Hall, 2009/06/26

Great day on the ocean. Captain and crew were great. Trip was fantastic and food was also very good. We would do the trip again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Na Pali Sunset Dinne

Reviewed by: Buddy & Judy Veach, 2009/05/28

My wife and I enjoyed the dinner cruise very much, the Napali coast is beautiful,plus seeing the whale with her calf was also spectacular sight. The crew was great and very helpful and informative.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: John Osheka, 2009/05/18

The cruise was really a great experience. The crew and captain did an outstanding job in making the cruse an enjoyable eveing.

The cruse could have been enhanced is we were under sail for more of the time.

Thanks

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: KSTeacher, 2008/12/31

This was an excellent activity!! Great views of Na Pali, the food is good, and the Captain commentary is informational and cheesy in perfect harmony. I would definitely do this again, and recommend it to others!! Just watch out for those "Sneaky Tiki's" they worked their magic on quite a few of the passengers on our trip... Entertaining to say the least.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]