This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Captain Andy's Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise (from Port Allen)

Non-Napali Coast dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Cathleen, 2015/02/01

After 10 days on Kauai, I had to wonder how often they actually get to cruise the NaPali coast, given the seasonal weather. I will say that the crew was great, but the lack of scenery (south coast with very few whale/dolphin sightings), combined with the so-so food, rendered our experience less than ideal. We had fun, but it wasn't nearly the experience for which we had hoped. I would recommend Capt' Andy's cruise line unreservedly, but if the weather prohibits cruising the NaPali Coast, then save your money and either reschedule or cancel.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Adventure

Reviewed by: Sherri & Tom Boehm, 2015/01/10

This activity is a MUST!! We had an awesome time with Jr and crew!! Beautiful sites, exhilerating sail and delicious food!!!! This is our second time to Kauai and our second trip on Captain Andy's Dinner Cruise.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fun relaxing and exciting adventure

Reviewed by: robert mageau, 2014/11/28

I have visited Kauai 10 times and done all sorts of activities ... except this one. .. until last weekend.
Wow! Southern Star ... beeeeute! The chow .... amazing! The staff... busting ass to make sure everyone has a good time.
Oh.. The actual cruise... Gorge!....
I have to say this adventure is THE best bang for your buck .
Jay Mageau


  • sail!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Debbie & Jeff, 2014/11/24

The cruise was wonderful, the food was delicious, and the staff were excellent! We even had a pod of about 100 dolphins following the boat for a while, and the captain turned around so we could spend more time with them! Amazing experience!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding cruise!

Reviewed by: Lucie & friends QC , 2014/09/13

Courtesy & profesionalism of all crew members as well as their good sense of humour, the very tasty food, the great sailing experience, the spinner dolphins and the stunning Na Pali Coast...with all those ingredients combined, our experience has just been unforgettable!!! What an outstanding cruise!!! (Aug 1, 2014)


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Sunset Dinner Cruise with Capt. Andy

Reviewed by: VGDG, 2014/09/04

Service during the Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sail by Capt. Andy was excellent. I give it 5 stars.
Food served (NY Steak with Shrimp) was also excellent - very tender, very tasty. I give it 5 stars.
Getting us out along the Na Pali Coast for photos was done quite well and I give this effort 5 stars as well.
My only complaint about the tour was the number of people on the boat. It was so crowded you could barely move. Getting a picture without someone onboard being in the picture was nearly impossible. I gave up on trying to make my way up to the front of the boat to view dolphins, etc. I realize that the company needs to have numbers of people to make the experience profitable, however, the excessive crowding made the overall experience for me less than desirable. Having said that, I can and will still recommend the tour to anyone, including friends and family.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Na Pali Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Kelley, 2014/07/21

Dinner cruise was awesome! Food and service was outstanding!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good sail

Reviewed by: jbradem, 2014/07/05

Had rough seas but crew did a good job of making everyone comfortable. Food was good. Saw bottle-nosed dolphins on way back to port.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exceptional Tour

Reviewed by: Tracey, 2014/07/04

Captain Cory & his crew were exceptional. Not only was this a beautiful journey but the crew kept the guests safe and happy. The food was more than I expected and would definitely recommend this for all families. Dress to get wet! Bring extra clothes to change into. This is not a dressy adventure but very causal.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wasn't what I expected.. but still fun!

Reviewed by: Amy, 2014/05/03

The waves were too high to go on the Na Pali Coast, so we went a different direction.. I wasn't that interesting to see, since it was the dry part of the island. But the staff was very nice, and upgraded our dinner because of the change in plans. The food was awesome.. We saw some dolphins jumping and a young humpback whale as well. About 3 hours in to the cruise, it felt like time to be done.. but they said we still had an 1 1/2 till sunset. We were pretty cold and seasick, but we still tried to enjoy the sunset! I'm sure it would have been way better if we had stuck to the original tour.. I guess i'll have to try again another time!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Evening!

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2014/04/04

The trip was great. I enjoyed it a lot. The crew was fun and very nice and helpful. The boat was clean and the food was delicious. Very good Mai Tai on board. I just can recommend to do this boat ride and I would do it again. The best thing was that we saw whales and they were pretty close. Thank you so much for taking us on board. It was excellent.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience

Reviewed by: Lee, 2014/02/17

Was a wonderful day to be on the boat! I was expecting something a little more formal based on the description, but was still very good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Time

Reviewed by: Jeremy Cowham, 2014/01/06

This dinner cruise was so much more than I expected!! The staff was excellent and the views were beautiful. Dinner was absolutely fabulous. Definitely a must do again next time I'm on the island


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Coctail

Reviewed by: Lilly, 2013/11/09

we enjoyed this activity, crew was fun, we can recommend this cruise. we were hoping to see more of the coast to the North.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Definate MUST for your last night on Kauai!

Reviewed by: Jen & John Sustachek, 2013/10/28

We went our last night on Kauai and could not think of a better way to of spent it! Just the sites alone and more then worth the cost!! Very friendly and helpful crew who waited on you like you were kings and queens! They took time to stop and take pictures of the dolphins, turtles and the amazing Hawaiian sunset! Simply amazing and will definitely do it again!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: PCD, 2013/10/03

Fantastic crew and service. Very accommodating in every detail.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect Evening to our Honeymoon

Reviewed by: Michael & Ron, 2013/09/21

We were married in Calif. and honeymooned in Kauai. We had this activity picked for the sunset and dinner.....plus cocktails. We had the best time. The crew was very friendly and loads of fun, and the dinner was served in style and was delicious. It really was a perfect 5 hours. It was fun to meet folks from different places; a very great social time. Thanks so much. It will not be forgotten.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding

Reviewed by: Matt & Mollie, 2013/08/05

My wife and I had a great time. Captain Aaron and his crew took care of us and made it an unforgettable experience. A must do when visiting the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't know what this means

Reviewed by: Frank W. Stamos, 2013/07/15

It was a superior day for a cruise, all of us enjoyed it very much.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Captain Andy's

Reviewed by: Kris Fulhorst, 2013/07/03

Had a great time. The crew was very attentive and made sure everyone felt special.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I want to be fair here

Reviewed by: Lee Hanley, 2013/06/29

This would have been a great trip, but the sea was so choppy the day we went that it was really hard to move around the boat at all. The crew was really great and friendly, and the food was yummy. If you are handicapped I do not recommend. Also, do not wear fancy clothes, and no dresses. You will get soaked! It's fun, but be prepared is all I'm saying.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I want to be fair here

Reviewed by: Lee Hanley, 2013/06/29

This would have been a great trip, but the sea was so choppy the day we went that it was really hard to move around the boat at all. The crew was really great and friendly, and the food was yummy. If you are handicapped I do not recommend. Also, do not wear fancy clothes, and no dresses. You will get soaked! It's fun, but be prepared is all I'm saying.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Hawaii 1st timer, 2013/06/02

The trip was great. Food was wonderful. Drink was abundant. Very beautiful and scenic trip. Staff wonderful.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Capt Andy's Napoli luxury dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Jason, 2013/05/28

Outstanding event. Captain and staff were professional and work with a level of customer service you might find at a formal dinner. Food was great

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME & BREATHTAKING!!!

Reviewed by: gomezdouglas, 2013/05/20

Absolutely beautiful! The crew of Capt. Andy's (Kurt, Monte, Luke) were entertaining, fun, very helpful and friendly, offered great conversation, provided some island history...they made the experience even better. They were the only tour that stayed out in the ocean to actually watch the sunset...prolonged the trip but worth it. Be prepared to get wet if the waters are choppy and when you first take off. The beverages and meal were also pretty good. My son enjoyed himself. Great for preteens/teens and adults...OK for really young children.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's Dinner Sail

Reviewed by: Kathleen Griffith, 2013/04/30

Allan and I were there with our friends Larry and Georgia and had such an amazing time. A beautiful excursion up the coast. We had already driven to the farthest point via car over the 4 mile very bumpy dirt road and then to see it via the catamaran was breathtaking and very informative. The food was great, the crew was fantastic. There were 3 of us ladies that drove the captain over the edge with our singing and carrying on but he was a champ! I would truly recommend this to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

NaPali Coast Sunset Dinner Sail

Reviewed by: Georgia Larry Kopka, 2013/04/29

We truly had the time of our life! A wet and wild ride, as well as interesting and informative. Our Captain's, Kurt, Jr. & Monte were attentive, very careful, and playful too. They made our journey to Kaua'i complete with this wonderful sunset cruise...they even provided a pod of humpback whales to give us our 'tail end' trip while visiting the magical island of Kaui'i. I definitely recommend this trip to anyone who wants to experience, fun, adventure, the feel of the ocean, and a view of the Na Pali Coast. We were the dancing girls on the catamaran, who the Captain's had a hard time controlling! Thanks for taking such good care of us!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

best valentines day ever...

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/02/16

The crew was amazing...they took care of us so well and made the whole evening enjoyable. They were entertaining and capt kurt was awesome

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great afternoon on the water

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/11/21

We took the sunset dinner cruise to the Na Pali coast and had a wonderful time. The entire crew of the Southern Star was fun, attentive and informative and the views were spectacular. We especially appreciated their flexibility in stopping to watch the pods of dolphins that swam past so everyone could see them. Dinner was excellent.

It's a pretty choppy ride on the outbound leg and, as the crew pointed out, you will get wet. Lots of spray and occasional showers. Be prepared - photography will be a challenge. Then again, we saw a full double rainbow that provided a once-in-a-lifetime treat that capped the whole day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Afternoon!

Reviewed by: Fritz Blake, 2012/10/27

When we made reservations for the sunset dinner cruise, My main objective was to get a good view of the Na Pali coast and to see the sunset from the ocean. I was not very concerned about the food. I hoped would be "not bad". However, not only was the coast and the sunset beautiful, the food was outstanding! The crew was professional, knowledgeable, and most importantly fun. I would recommend Cap't Andy cruises to anyone who wants to have a great time and a great meal.

Thanks!

Fritz Blake
Albuquerque New, Mexico

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |