This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Captain Andy's Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise (from Port Allen)

Best part of our vacation

Reviewed by: Barb, 2016/09/20

There is nothing better than a beautiful evening on the ocean with the most friendly crew possible along with a meal that couldn't be topped by many of the finest restaurants around, that is what Captain Andy's Sunset Dinner Cruise provided. Our Captain, Casey gave great narratives about the history of Kauai and the crew engaged with the guests and made sure we were all taken care of. our chef, Hans, prepared the most incredible meal, the grilled shrimp were tender and grilled to perfection and the steak melted in your mouth!! The sunset, well you can't beat a sunset on the ocean!! I recommend this trip to everyone looking for a memorable evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good trip but you should defeat motion sickness first

Reviewed by: Trina Sung, 2016/08/13

I was quite good during whole trip, but my boyfriend got severe motion sickness on the boat, even he already took medicine before aboarded. Napali coast was quite gorgeous, and the sunset was very romantic. Boat was smaller than I thought, but the space was enough.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Preston, 2016/07/31

We loved the cruise. One of the best meals we ever had and a fabulous staff. Not to mention the absolutely wonderful views. We would definitely recommend this as an experience you should have on Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous Trip!!

Reviewed by: Bob M, 2016/07/25

The dinner cruise was awesome! The views were spectacular, we must have seen 25 rainbows on the trip. The crew was great, they went above and beyond. There were probably 20 passengers that were having serious sea-sickness issues, and they spent a lot of time trying to help them. Even with those issues, they still had time to keep checking with us to see if we needed another drink, or just to make sure we were OK or didn't need anything else.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour for an affordable price

Reviewed by: Sara, 2016/06/19

I thought this was a great tour for a very affordable price. The tour guides were fun and knowledgeable, the dinner was fabulous. The sunset tour was great because it begins at 3 and then 4 hours of the coast. A beautiful sail and an opportunity for great photos. On this tour we also saw several spinning dolphins. However, if you are prone to get seasick, I recommend taking something in advance so you can enjoy the full experience. Overall, I thought it was worth the money and one should do this tour at least once if visiting the island of Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na pali sunset dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Jim, 2016/06/14

Can't say enough good things about this activity! Surprisingly delicious steak and shrimp dinner. Funny informative competent captain. Helpful crew. Magnificent views. Pleasant boat ride. This was our favorite activity of all during our ten days in the islands!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic time!

Reviewed by: The Morascos, 2016/06/11

We had a fantastic time sailing the Na Pali Coast! Captain Casey was amazing and so knowledgeable. We learned so much history of the island as we cruised. The dinner was superb...Thank you Chef Hans. The experience was one we will never forget. The coast was absolutely breathtaking!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Shirley, 2016/05/27

This was a fabulous experience and the dinner was awesome! We will definitely do it again when we visit Kauai. The guides and service were wonderful!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Okcshelton, 2016/05/25

Food great, staff exceptional, boat clean but the ocean was horrible. Rain, wind and high waves. Three of us got sea sick and could not eat. The staff made a to go box and we ate at our hotel. It was delicious. The crew was very attentive and tried to help make us feel better. Scenery was beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's

Reviewed by: AkBum, 2016/05/16

Was amazing and beautiful but disappointed about the lack of waterfalls. Learned a lot about why and other cool history

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset dinner sail a bit rough

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2016/05/09

Boat not really setup for dinner cruise, had to eat on your lap. Not enough tables or seats. This information should be mentioned prior to booking. It does mention to bring coat due to winds but said nothing about getting soaked.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise with Captain Andy

Reviewed by: Tom and Trixie, 2016/03/09

This cruise is one of the best activities that we have done during our numerous visits to Kauai. The boat was very nice and the staff and crew were great. The surf and turf dinner was delicious along with the drinks, coffee and dessert. Everyone had a wonderful time. We saw dolpins and whales and enjoyed listening to the captain talk about the coast as we sailed. Highly recommended activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One word "Incredible"

Reviewed by: Paula, 2016/03/05

We loved our experience and highly recommend this incredible sailing cruise. The Na Pali Coast is absolutely beautiful. The crew on the boat handles your every need, the dinner was fabulous. The sunset was breathtaking, we saw a lot of whales which provided even more wow factor. On the day we went the seas we high 4-6 feet and a few people were seasick the staff went above and beyond to assist. We would do this trip again and again, very enjoyable. Love it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali coast cruise

Reviewed by: Mary D., 2016/02/01

Our 1st trip to Hawaii, this cruise was unbelievable, the crew was so gracious and knowledgeable, they were so great with my husband when he was ill, the food was terrific, everything was A++++

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun-- but Not Relaxing or Romantic

Reviewed by: Chrystal Rose, 2016/01/17

If you are looking for a smooth, romantic or relaxing cruise-- this isn't it.
If have a strong stomach and love adventure then this is the sunset cruise for you. My husband and I thought we would be attending the former, but ended up on a boat where everyone got wet and it was so rough several people got sick over the side. We made the best of it, and had a good time with each other. Luckily the food was very good, the staff was awesome, and the view of the coast was breathtaking but for the price I was definitely expecting something different.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good cruise

Reviewed by: Kerry , 2015/12/26

Unfortunately we couldn't go up the north coast due to swells but it was still fun. Maybe open the bar a little earlier?

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Jody & Terry, 2015/12/21

We loved it and the steak dinner was excellent. Cody and crew were great. I believe it was the Northern Star. We had a lovely time.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Southern Star NaPali dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Martha VanArtsdalen, 2015/11/17

Wonderful sail. Meal was excellent! Crew was AWESOME!!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Weather Dependent Tour

Reviewed by: Denise, 2015/10/21

The tropical storm south of the Hawaiian islands wreaked havoc on this tour. The wind created waves that were a little too intense for us to actually be able to get to the NaPali coast during our cruise. The captain did sail as far up the coast as he could, until the waves were so big people were getting sick on the boat. The scenery was beautiful, we found 2 pods of Spinner Dolphins and watched them play. The sunset was wonderful. Captain Andys did give us the option to cancel with a full refund, or reschedule, prior to the sail. We opted to sail anyway, and weren't sorry we did. The crew, food and drinks were great. We had an awesome time!


  • Spinner Dolphins along side the boat


  • Spinner Dolphins

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Time

Reviewed by: cahanson, 2015/09/23

We had a wonderful trip on our Sunset Dinner Cruise. Staff was so great,
drinks and food very good too.... Would recommend it to everyone visiting
Kauai ...

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would do it again tomorrow!

Reviewed by: Peter and Lisa, 2015/08/24

Outstanding. This cruise is a must for anybody visiting Kauai. Just seeing the Na Pali coast close up from the deck of a catamaran would have been enough, but we also saw spinner dolphins, caves, green sea turtles, and a view of the Waimea canyon. Even the brief rain we got caught in produced the most perfect rainbow I've ever seen.
The crew was very attentive and made sure everyone on the boat had a good time. Add a great steak and shrimp dinner to all that and you have the perfect way to spend an evening in Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING!!!!!!

Reviewed by: Ana Ribeiro - Brazil, 2015/06/27

This was an incredible experience. Everything was perfect and the team that works on the cruise is excellent, without exceptions. The food and drinks were awesome and the view...IMPRESSIVE!!! A must do when in Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful birthday

Reviewed by: Sam, 2015/06/23

My wife and I went on this cruise for my birthday celebration and we both had a wonderful time. The coast was amazing and the steak dinner was excellent. I also loved riding the enormous waves at the bow of the ship (don't do this if you fear getting completely soaked) and watching the beautiful sunset. The experience was only somewhat marred by the fact that my wife got rather seasick towards the end of the trip. The seas can be very rough there. She said she nonetheless really enjoyed the trip however. The crew, especially Allison, were also very helpful in taking care of her. It is certainly highly recommended that if you think you may get seasick you should take precautions beforehand. My wife had no idea she would get sick but will be prepared next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Kathy , 2015/06/11

We loved this tour! It was so beautiful out on the ocean and captain sterling and his crew did everything they could to make us comfortable. The waters were a bit rough but that was due to the high winds. Captain sterling got us to the Nepali coast in great time and we were entertained with the music and the facts about the island. The food was delicious and my boyfriend and I especially loved the cheesecake. The only thing we would change about our experience was what we wore. We weren't prepared to get wet and since the water was rough we were soaked a few times. It didn't stop us from enjoying ourselves. We thank the captain and his crew for making it an enjoyable outing and one of our top 2 favorite adventures on this trip.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great food and scenery!!!!

Reviewed by: Francesca, 2015/06/04

My husband and I heard about this cruise from our travel agent and decided to go. The crew was great and the captain entertained us with historical facts while sailing. I would recommend taking Dramamine or some other sea sickness medication. We both took some about an hr before going and were ok. The food was fantastic!!! Only complaint is our paperwork said our check in time was 1430 and didn't indicate any earlier and while driving there we received a call saying our check-in time was 1415. Thankfully it wasn't an issue but there is a glitch maybe on veltra's side I'm not sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Matt, 2015/05/22

Great food, great crew, great time. A definite thing to do in Kauai. Prepare to get wet.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exciting

Reviewed by: Eva, 2015/05/17

This was an exciting tour. We were all covered with salt at the end but had a wonderful time. The cook was great and also the driver of the boat. The rest of the workers were also great. Loved it. Would go again.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast dinner cruise

Reviewed by: Marsha, 2015/05/01

With winds gusting to gale force, we were unable to do the Na Pali coast. No matter, we had a blast sailing the other direction. The music, sailing, food and crew were all excellant! We had a little rain, but the clouds only made the sunset better. We saw dolfins and turtles, though it can't be guarenteed everytime, the crew definately knows where they tend to hang out.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast sunset dinner

Reviewed by: Michele, 2015/04/17

WOW!!!!!
Fantastic Crew.... We didn't need to do anything as they delivered all our drinks and meals to us where we wanted to sit. Took photos without us having to ask and just made the whole afternoon fun. The Yacht was beautiful, the meal top class and scenery out of this world. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND doing this cruise,

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best part of our vacation...

Reviewed by: DRuiz, 2015/03/19

Overall experience was wonderful. Great food; the steak was cooked just the way I like it, the shrimps were delicious. Southern Star had excellent staff, relaxed atmoshere (barefoot), and you can't go wrong with the scenery; Napali Coast, sea life and a spectacular sunset to end the cruise.


  • Clouds over Napali Coast

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |