This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Captain Andy's Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Sailing Cruise (from Port Allen)

Captain Andy's Southern Star

Reviewed by: debstru, 2018/11/21

Party of 7. Crew was very accommodating, Cap'n was very knowledgeable and shared insights to the island, and Chef Paul prepared some excellent food!

Loved being able to ride the bow and experience some dunkers! You don't have to get wet, but I would recommend bringing a change of clothes if you plan to ride up front.

Highly recommend cruising with Captain Andy's crew! Great experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely views on a sparkly clean boat

Reviewed by: Liane Willey, 2018/09/07

The crew was fantastic. Nolan was wonderful and so gracious. We had a blast overall but when several folks started getting ill, we felt the captain should have slowed down and not hit the wakes so fast.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Scenery and fabulous crew!

Reviewed by: Andy, 2018/09/05

The upside: The beauty of the Napali coast is unbelievable! The crew on the catamaran was very friendly and attentive! Dinner was delicious(but see below)!

The downside: The prime seating on the catamaran is at the back where there are about 25 available seats, so if you aren't among the first 25 on the boat - you are either standing on the front deck (where you will get wet, guaranteed!) or inside the cabin (where you can't see anything and are more likely to get seasick)

My wife got seasick half-way through the trip despite a prescription anti-nausea patch (so if you are prone to motion sickness, expect it to happen). Because of this, both of us opted to have our meals boxed up for after the trip. If there had been available seating at the rear of the catamaran, I probably would have had my dinner on the boat where I could enjoy the scenery while I ate. Instead I opted to stay where I could enjoy the view instead of going into the cabin to sit while I ate or standing there holding my plate to enjoy the view.

Having said that, I can't say enough good things about the crew - I think every one of the crew stopped to check on my wife and me at least once and sometimes twice to make sure we were OK, so thanks to Captain Mike, Paul, Maddie, Lucy, and Hans! To Hans the chef I say we both enjoyed the dinner very much after we got back to our resort, (reheated in the microwave, ugh). I can only imagine how much better it would have been freshly served!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience, awesome crew and delish dinner!

Reviewed by: Susie Q, 2018/04/02

We had Captain Sterling, Thomas and Greg for our crew. The Captain said our sailing day was in his top 4 in 20 years of making the voyage. We were able to make it quite a ways down the Northern coast with calm seas allowing us to get very close to shore. The crew ensured every person on board was comfortable and kept happy with drinks (non alcoholic and alcoholic, a wonderful meal and delightful dessert. It is a barefoot cruise and they collect your shoes on the dock before boarding. You are offered water and soft drinks from the start and alcoholic beverages about halfway through. The dinner is buffet style and self serve. We had prime rib, chicken, asparagus, rice, bread and butter. Many were enjoying seconds so we decided we’d better get some grub! It was delish. You can get wet depending on where you choose to sit and the weather. Highly recommend this cruise!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding experience.

Reviewed by: MikeSLT, 2018/03/25

The Northern Star is a beautiful boat with a great engaging crew. The meal was fantastic with a tasty, tender Filet Mignon & Shrimp cooked by a phenomenal chef off the grill on the back of the boat, The salad and dessert was great as well. We won't hesitate to sail the Luxury Dinner cruise with Captain Andy's again! Also props to Veltra/HawaiiaActivities.com for a flawless experience. Great companies, highly recommended.


  • Oh Captain my Captain



  • NaPali


  • Awesome Meal!



  • one of many caves


  • Sunset

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect weather, perfect day

Reviewed by: Ron, 2018/01/29

Apparently we lucked out and got once in a lifetime winter weather for the Na Pali coast.
The winds were light. We saw whales a number of different times, including a mother and calf along by the coast.
The captain and crew were great. Even if we hadn't seen the whales, the meal, shrimp skewers, fillet and that key lime cheese cake cooked by the chef were wonderful and that and the scentry alone would have made the trip worth it.
This is definitely a must do if you come to Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Top!!

Reviewed by: Paseba, 2017/11/26

Fahrt auf einem modernen Katamaran entlang der NaPail-Coast. Sehr gut gemacht: Freundliches zuvorkommendens Personal, unterhaltsamer Kapitän, sehr gutes Essen (z.B. als Apperitiv Antipasti-Schnittchen, als Dessert hervorragender Cheesecake). Wir sahen zufällig Delphine, die den Katamaran begleiteten. Es waren ca. 25 Gäste auf dem Katamaran. Man muss wissen, dass es sehr windig und sehr schaukelig werden kann. Ich empfehle Mittel gegen Seekrankheit, auch wenn man diese sonst nicht benötigt. Gegen Abend wurden die Wellen höher und spritzten auch über die Vorderseite des Katamarans. Die Landschaft ist sehr beeindruckend und der Sonnenuntergang atemberaubend. Auf jeden Fall rechtzeitig zum Check-In erscheinen, das Boot legt rechtzeitig ab.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Sunset Dinner Cruise by Captain Andy's

Reviewed by: S & T, 2017/11/06

Such a romantic and beautiful cruise to do with your other half. We did this during our honeymoon and would highly recommend it! Can't beat the breathtaking views and great service!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Luxury Dinner Cruize

Reviewed by: Fran, 2017/11/01

Great. Cruise. The staff were very helpful with my somewhat mobility impaired husband . The food was Great! Much better than simular cruises I have been on. Enjoyed Captain Claire. She was friendly and informative. Would recommend this to my friends and family

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Cindi, 2017/10/06

First time Ana catamaran and had a great time. Deck hands were very attentive and friendly. Would definitely do this again when I come to kauai. Capt andys i highly recommend


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Cindi, 2017/10/05

Great food. Outstanding deck crew and the captain has a great sense of humor. Will do this again. On our next visit. Had a great time.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

If you haven't done this yet, you're missing out!!

Reviewed by: kelstaylor@gmail.com, 2017/09/21

Loved the food, the staff, the scenery! Well worth every penny. I'd do it again in a heart beat. Thanks for such a fun crew!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Mahealani02, 2017/09/06

Capt Cory and his crew made our adventure along the Na Pali Coast an amazing experience. The friendliness and attentiveness of the crew was great. The food by Chef Mark was perfect--the filet mingon was soft and cooked perfectly. If you have food allergies they ask well ahead of time. Good safety briefing prior to sailing. The cost of the cruise was right for what you get. I brought our children (10 and 12) and they also had a great time. You won't be disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/09/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a great time

Reviewed by: Jonathan, 2017/08/22

We saw dolphins, turtles, and seals. We had a great time looking at the great view. One thing I will recommend is to bring medicine because you can get sea sick very quickly and not have good time.


  • Honeymoon

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: George, 2017/05/23

My wife and I really enjoyed the sunset cruise up the Na Pali coast on Captain Andy's Southern Star. First rate ship, the best on the island, a 65 ft sailing catamaran. Capt. Claire was great at keeping us posted on what we were seeing along the coastline. The crew was very friendly and filled all requested very quickly. Spinner dolphins followed twice so they slowed down for us to get a good look. Also a late season whale surfaced near us. The Na Pali coastline is absolutely stunning. The meal, ribeye and shrimp, was very good. The bar doesn't open till you get up the coast, about 1 1/2 hr into cruise but when it does it was as free flowing as you wanted. We loved all of it. Be sure to take something for motion sickness if that is a problem for you. Thet accepted our Veltra voucher without any problems. Thanks to Veltra and especially to Captain Andys for making our dream vacation extra special.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Napali Coast scenery! Yummy food!!

Reviewed by: Mark, 2017/05/21

Crew were amazing and the excursion was very run very well. Food and cocktails also tasty. The sea was a bit choppy, but most passengers were just fine.







Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Quality crew

Reviewed by: Ron.P., 2017/05/09

A cruise you won't forget. The crew understand what their job is and work hard to make everyone happy.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommend

Reviewed by: Oahu Peeps, 2017/04/19

Cruise was amazing! Crew was great. Food was superb as was the sunset!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not what i thought

Reviewed by: Jennifer, 2017/01/03

We were extremely un prepared for the barrage of water! We went on NYE so we dressed up a little. DON'T wear skirts! Bring a towel and wear a swim suite even if not swimming. It was like a two hour roller coaster holding on for dear life. I took bonine and a prescription anti nausea pill and still got sick. The weather was amazing. Also, all you can drink only goes for like an hour, at the end, and they ask you how many you have had every time you get a new drink. I read reviews before hand and people kept mentioning its "a little bumpy..." its a lot bumpy! The crew was amazing and kind about cleaning up after us or providing us with crackers and ginger ale. They even boxed up my food to eat later, and it was good! Just don't go in prepared... We saw lots of dolphins and whales. Captain stopped pointing them out though as it was NYE and he said said he was anxious to get back because he "has door beers to drink."

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Cruise Breathtaking and Beautiful

Reviewed by: Sherri & Tom Boehm, 2016/12/15

Aloha! This is our 3rd time on this Na Pali adventure! Once again the Captain and crew were friendly and took care of everyone's needs. The ride was wonderful with beautiful weather! We saw dolphins, whales and turtles!!! Capt Andy's adventures are always a must when we visit Kauai! Mahalo for the GREAT time!


  • Here we go!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved the Cruise!

Reviewed by: Meghan Houseal , 2016/11/17

My fiancé and I enjoyed our cruise by Captain Andy's tour! The crew on board were very amazing and made the tour more enjoyable. They were there to assist when needed and the open bar and dinner by the Chef-Surf N Turf was very good! During our tour we saw two turtles & of course the beautiful Sunset which was an amazing view and took lots of pictures! It is a tour to experience while in Kauai but do ask the company prior to tour day if they will be touring the North Coast as the waves were too rough and we toured the South Coast which was not something which I would have done given we already explored and were staying on the South Sunny side.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Andy's sunset dinner cruise.

Reviewed by: Julie Brallier, 2016/10/31

My friends and I had a blast! It is a beautiful cruise. The day we went the winds were crazy. Very rough, but still a lot of fun. The crew was fantastic. They made sure all your needs were met and the food was delicious. I would recommend this cruise.

Thanks,
Julie Brallier

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dinner in the best ambient

Reviewed by: SKSamy, 2016/10/25

It is a fun activity with 3 course meal in the ocean !. Enjoyed every bit of it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great views & awesome crew

Reviewed by: Jennifer, 2016/10/22

We had a great time and loved seeing some dolphins on the way to the coast. We did not expect to get so wet since this was a dinner cruise but we still had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Trip

Reviewed by: KathyR, 2016/10/10

Captain Corey and his staff were entertaining and friendly. Scenery was awesome and the food first rate. Would not hesitate to go again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful sites, Nice dinner

Reviewed by: Anna, 2016/09/28

The boat was nice and the crew was helpful, informative and hard-working. There was 45 people on the cruise and not enough seating where the sites could be enjoyed. Mostly standing room where you had to hold on tight. Made taking pictures difficult. Lots of alcohol, soft drinks and juice. Diet drinks ran out quickly. Water was on tap, so not cold. The captain was knowledgeable about the island and its history. Be prepared to get sprayed and go home salty!


  • Beautiful sunset to enjoy at the end of the cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

lots of fun!

Reviewed by: nicole, 2016/09/26

We had a really good time on the Na Pali cruise .. but definitely get some motion sickness pills that they sell before you leave!! worst case you wont need them... we thought we would be fine but we were pretty nauseous most of the time .. other than that the food was great and so was the staff.. we even got to see some dolphins ! Can't go wrong with this dinner cruise, it was beautiful. Also if you feel too sick to eat on the boat they give you a box so you can eat it later.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!

Reviewed by: PATravelGal, 2016/09/21

Be sure to take Bonine or non-drowsey Dramamine. Those on our cruise, who did not, were very sick and did not enjoy it. Dress warm, as the ocean temp is definitely cooler and very windy - no need to get dressed up. Food, Drinks, and Staff were great! Only disappointment is that it was a "sunset" cruise; yet, the cruise did not stop to admire the sunset, as the captain wanted to head back to shore before a certain time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best part of our vacation

Reviewed by: Barb, 2016/09/20

There is nothing better than a beautiful evening on the ocean with the most friendly crew possible along with a meal that couldn't be topped by many of the finest restaurants around, that is what Captain Andy's Sunset Dinner Cruise provided. Our Captain, Casey gave great narratives about the history of Kauai and the crew engaged with the guests and made sure we were all taken care of. our chef, Hans, prepared the most incredible meal, the grilled shrimp were tender and grilled to perfection and the steak melted in your mouth!! The sunset, well you can't beat a sunset on the ocean!! I recommend this trip to everyone looking for a memorable evening.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good trip but you should defeat motion sickness first

Reviewed by: Trina Sung, 2016/08/13

I was quite good during whole trip, but my boyfriend got severe motion sickness on the boat, even he already took medicine before aboarded. Napali coast was quite gorgeous, and the sunset was very romantic. Boat was smaller than I thought, but the space was enough.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 |