Waimea Canyon Downhill Bike Tour (from Poipu)

Great time

Reviewed by: Linda mcgrew, 2017/05/10

All three gentlemen were awesome. Very safety conscious. Good local history. Fun time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon Downhill Bike Tour

Reviewed by: Faye, 2017/05/09

We enjoyed this tour, the views were awesome, the guides knowledgeable and considerate. The downside: (1) Appetizers were advertised as being provided on our receipt and on the website - all we were offered (and we had to ask) were a couple of boxes of cookies being passed around on the way back (2) The van was hot and crowded (15 people all together) with 4 adults crowded on the very back seat (3) The single speed bikes were not geared (not high enough) to pedal for slower speeds, had to be crawling for the gear.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Experience!

Reviewed by: Mark - Tampa Bay, 2016/10/07

Ryan and Mike our guides were incredible. Loved getting history of the island! Views were breathtaking! Highlight of our first trip to Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great experience!

Reviewed by: Mike and Cathy, 2016/07/11

It was our first time on the tour but not to Waimea Canyon. Our guides Ryan and Frank made the trip up the mountain very entertaining and informative. The ride down was beautiful. One suggestions if you are really comfortable on a bike, stay to the front of the pack.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon to Coast Bike Ride with Blake and Ryan

Reviewed by: Ridhima , 2015/12/30

We had an excellent time with Blake. He was super knowledgable, hilarious , gave us such good insights and made us feel so comfortable as soon as we stepped out foot in the outfitters shop. He brought us all coffee and cookies and made us feel like family. He was with us through your the bike tour. Ryan although is quiet he was guiding us ride our bike the right way and be safe! They both make a great company and made this ride downhill our most enjoyable trip in Kauai. A 100% recommended for Blake as Captain. He is what made this trip out best one so far.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience!

Reviewed by: Becca and Tim, 2015/02/04

We had an incredible experience with the Waimea Canyon Downhill Bike Tour. Our guides--Aaron and Blake--were AWESOME! They were hilarious, knowledgeable about Waimea Canyon and Kauai, and were very interactive and engaging. They had us laughing the whole time. If safety is a concern of yours on this tour, then DO IT! They are VERY safety focused. They go at a very reasonable pace, stopping along the way to point out different views. By far one of the best experiences we did in Kauai!

Oh, and they provide coffee, juice, etc. and muffins in the morning and cookies and juice as a snack. We were not hungry! :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Slightly underwhelmed. Very safe/; slow enough for novice bicyclists.

Reviewed by: Portland, OR Couple, 2014/07/26

We opted for the early morning tour. We arrived at the gathering location early yet waited about an hour for other tourists to arrive. The guides are extremely well-prepared and very conscientious of safety measures. The guides also worked to ensure that guests were informed about the history of the island, including details regarding flora and fauna. Because there are always "daredevils" in a bunch, the guides remained very aware our adherence to the rules of the road. The bike route down Waimea Canyon is the right lane of the paved road our van traveled to take us to the start of the tour. A bit of a disappointment, but probably the safest way to travel. Also, good bathroom breaks along the way.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

coasting away

Reviewed by: Jeremy Cowham, 2014/01/06

The views at the top are excellent. There was a good but of history provided by the guides and they were also quite amusing. The pace was good for everyone to keep up. Recommended if you want a lazy activity one morning to get out

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Ride

Reviewed by: JamesD, 2013/09/28

First time coasting down a hill of this size. Phenomenal views on top. Very attentive and fun ride down with plenty of vista pull outs along the way. Great ride for old and young alike.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time: thank you Harold and Trevor

Reviewed by: Matt & Mollie, 2013/08/03

We had an amazing experience. Harold and Trevor made the trip authentic and fun. It was relaxing, exciting, and most of all conducted in a safe manner. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great time with people who know the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Bike Tour

Reviewed by: spoonerock, 2012/01/13

Great way to end our Kauai vacation! Our guides were exceptional. We learned more about Kauai, its history, culture, and people, than ANY other activity we had taken over the past week!

The scenery was beautiful, and the tour ended at the coastline right at sunset......WOW....Fantastic!!!! You will not want to forget your camera on this one.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Activity

Reviewed by: Tim and Christie, 2011/08/03

We did the afternoon tour and had excellent weather and lots of fun. the guides were very good, super knowedgable and encouraging. The bikes were comfortable and easy to ride. The brakes worked well and we had a safe trip. Took lots of pictures of the canyon and even got a rainbow!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

just right

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/21

Thought this bike tour was "just right"

Didn't want to do anything too strenuous to where I didn't enjoy it, but also didn't want to sit on my duff on a tourbus all day either. This tour was a perfect fit for that dilemma.

It was downhill so it wasn't a killer, and it was actualy fun zipping down kinda fast. I'm a guy, so we go for speed versus slow boring crawls anyday. It was fun, and it felt safe, and the guides were awesome. The staff especially (from the person who answered the phone, right down to the guy leading the actual tour) were just so cool and friendly. Liked this tour alot and glad I came on it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good times

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/01

I wanted to do something outdoors and more active while i was on vacation in the islands, so this biking thing sounded good to me.

I'm just now trying to get back into cycling after a stint off since college, and this was really enjoyable for me. It wasn't too difficult (since it was downhill) and yet it got me active and it was exciting enough to keep me from getting bored like i do on some tours!

Views were amazing coming down the canyon! Go on this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

too many stops

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/03/19

Stopped too many times along the way down.Maybe 3 stops total would have been better for us but Andy and nick were great and very safe

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun, but wouldn't do it again

Reviewed by: Sandi S, 2010/09/01

I had this idea in my head that this would be a nice leisurely cruise down the mountain with wonderful views. Instead it was a high speed tour down a winding road where we stopped and had to walk to the views. The guides were fantastic, but it was just okay for me. I spent too much time pumping the brakes on my bike and concentrating on keeping control. My husband had more fun than I did. I would recommend just driving up there and walking around instead.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/06/26

This was a 12 mile ride on a long and winding road. You can not see the canyon except when they let you out at the top to view it. This does not compare to the Maui bike down a volcano...Maui was better. It was a short tour and a fun ride if you've never tried it before. Guides were excellent and knowledgable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Staff & Ride, Poor Breakfast

Reviewed by: Wyoming, 2009/05/28

This was an enjoyable activity, and the cost seemed in-line and over-priced as is everything in Hawaii. The staff was fabulous and friendly, and the bike ride was fun. My only complaint is that "breakfast" is advertised as part of the package and was therefore counted on. "Breakfast" consisted of a drink (juice, coffee, hot chocolate). That's it. They mentioned that sometimes the bakery they picked the drinks up at has pastries, but not today. Halfway through the ride we were offered soft drinks and cookies. We didn't starve to death of anything, but it just seems like dishonest advertising to not give us something beyond a drink for breakfast.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: John Osheka, 2009/05/19

The bike tour was a great experience. The two guides made the tour a success.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Already reviewed, just adding photo

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2008/01/29

Already reviewed, just adding photo.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI