Page 3) Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim [Open Now] reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.76 4.76 / 5

Reviews

86 reviews
Post a review

Fun, beautiful kayaking, hiking trip

Reviewed by: Susan Swanberg, 2014/10/31

Because we were off season my husband and I were the only ones that signed up for a kayaking tour - so we got a private tour with a guide. Our guide, Christian, was very friendly, familiar with the area and so helpful to have along. Being I had never kayaked before he went over safety features and the easiest way to get in and out of a kayak! The kayaking was easy (gorgeous views along the river), the hike was fun (mud up to my knees) the waterfall at the end was beautiful. It was a very successful trip and would very happily do it all again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the best activities of our week on Kauai

Reviewed by: Ellen, 2014/10/11

My husband, 18-yr-old daughter,and 20-yr-old son completely enjoyed everything about this day adventure. I was unable to participate -- I have a bad knee and wear a brace, and it was recommended that it would be risky for me. Afterwards, my husband said that that was the right decision -- there's a bit of hard work in getting through the mud to the falls. The guide shared interesting local information throughout the day, it was beautiful, fun, active. would do it again. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip

Reviewed by: Chad, 2014/09/19

This was one of the highlights of our trip. Great tour!! Our guide Kelly was awesome. He felt a little embarrassed when he wiped out in the mud, but what a great time. A definite must do in Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Adventure

Reviewed by: NessaMarie, 2014/09/10

This tour was the highlight of our trip. My 13 year old son and I had an awesome time. Our tour guide Amos was very knowledgeable, friendly, and my son talked about Amos and the hike the whole ride home. We will definitely do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So Much Fun!

Reviewed by: Amy, 2014/05/03

The Kayaking was a good workout!! The hike was so beautiful and felt like we were truly seeing the inner island jungle. The waterfall was beautiful and we had an over all great time!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ... and muddy

Reviewed by: Julia, 2014/03/09

This was a great adventure and our guide was very good!
I do think one should be warned a little more of how muddy the trail to the falls is, but even with that it was beautiful and fun. I would recommend this to anyone younger and in decent shape...if you have bad knees or are excessively heavy you would be much more prone to injury on the hike.
Overall experience was fabulous!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Rob K., 2014/02/20

Tremendous experience! It was a great mix of kayaking and hiking. Not too hard, not too easy. We had a wonderful time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reids were 'Reid-y' for anything!

Reviewed by: Reid Family, 2014/01/06

Our day for this adventure was sunny and warm. The ten of us were excited to get underway and see the secret waterfall hidden amongst the trees.
The kayaks we were given were ocean kayaks and were very comfortable and easy to use.
After a very muddy hike, the cool clean water of the pool by the beautiful waterfall was very much appreciated. The hike was much muddier than expected, and at times we were slogging through muddy puddles where we could not see our feet. It was dangerous at times. Perhaps a little more preparation for those participating would be beneficial. The guides are used to the conditions and may forget that us regular folk from snow country may not be as accustomed to mud and such.

Our guide was well-versed in the natural plants, and even made us bracelets from the leaves of a tree. He was patient, and very knowledgeable.
Lunch was good and nutritious, and we were all hungry by the time we got to the waterfall.
We would do this trek again, but might check in first to see what the mud factor is!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Waterfall Swim, Hike and Paddle

Reviewed by: Cameron, 2013/08/30

This was a great tour because it covered three (3) sports in one (1) tour. Our tour guide Jamie was very good in all respects. I would just say be prepared to get a workout. For those that don't exercise, you might want to consider something else. You don't have to be a marathon runner, but if you are a couch potato this might be a stretch for you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Waterfall Swim,hike Paddle

Reviewed by: Mamick, 2013/08/12

This was really a fun and beautiful experience. Jessie was our guide, and he did a wonderful job. We were late starting, but that was because in the group prior to us he had a blind man and two elderly. It shows his patience that these three were able to complete this adventure. Let me state this is not for those who are not moderate to fit. The paddle can be tough if the wind is blowing (which it normally is). And the hike is beautiful (but can be muddy and you have to watch your step). We would highly recommend this trip for those up for the adventure. Again, Jessie is your man! It is beautiful, he is knowledgeable, and it was very fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

sacred falls hike and paddle tour

Reviewed by: Rose, 2013/06/25

Tour was a wonderful experience, my friend and I had a grand time! Our tour guide was great he informed us as well as kept us safe. I would recommend the tour to anyone planning on visiting the island of Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2013/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our Honeymoon

Reviewed by: Jonathan, 2013/05/14

My wife and I made reservations online through VELTRA. I knew nothing more than the reviews posted on here (VELTRA/hawaiian activities) and a travel guide book. We enjoyed our morning paddle hike and tour so much! A great adventure that would not have been accomplished so smoothly on our own. It was our first time down the trail. It rains in Kauai, a lot, so the trail was mostly muddy. The guide for the trip kept us safe and informed about how to get there best. He also lead us on hawaiian time for the return trip. Allowing us all more time at the falls since our group was composed entirely of families. I appreciated that very much and a thank you to anyone from the company who reads this. Do not expect that though on your trip, we were lucky that no tour group was scheduled in the afternoon. Our stay on the island began the last week of April, until the first week of May.

You don't have to help the guide, but its friendly to do so. I bet you'll get a better trip out of it.

Reply from activity provider

Wow Jonathan, Thanks for taking the time to share your kind words. Nice to get the feedback that we are doing a good job. Constant struggle to keep good guides and have them approach each tour, as if it is the first day they are offering it. Come back and enjoy the same or some of the others....but mostly just wanted to thank you for caring and taking the time to share.
Until our wakes cross.

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great adventure

Reviewed by: The Harris Family, 2012/07/19

We had a great adventure. Mark was great. Our kids really enjoyed this adventure. They said it was the best adventure of our trip!
Thank you Mark!
Sandi Harris

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic, Educational Adventure

Reviewed by: Rob M., 2012/06/29

Kayak Kauai Outbound makes this trip an experience not to be missed. Kelly was an extraordinary guide, enthusiastically sharing his knowledge and passion for the land, the local history and ancient culture. He went out of his way to make the hike interactive and interesting. He has a real gift for this. The operation, overall, is very laid back. You're made to feel comfortable with every aspect of the tour. We highly recommend Kayak Kauai Outbound and will surely be returning on our next visit to the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Kayaking & Hiking

Reviewed by: spoonerock, 2012/01/13

The tour was made up of just my family and self. We had a GREAT time. Our guide could not have been more helpful. Lot's of great info on the hike, and the waterfall was spectacular!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent activity

Reviewed by: Tim and Christie, 2011/08/03

We enjoyed the kayaking and hiking both. The Scared Falls were well worth the hike. I recommend good water shoes for the hike. I did it in flip flops and it was a bit tricky! Jesse was our guide and he was great, very energetic and knowledgable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

secret falls kayak and hike

Reviewed by: Virg, 2009/03/26

Josh was a great guide. He was very patient with our lack of skills with a kayak and he provided a lot of interesting information about the area, vegetation and history, etc. We were the only participants on our tour and we felt like we had our own personal guide. The kayak was top quality and even had a rudder to help with controlling the vessel as we rowed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time...

Reviewed by: The Desio's, 2008/03/28

We had a great time on this tour. It is a 2.5 mile kayak and about a 2 mile hike to a spectacular waterfall. We went in March with our 9 yr old son. These are two person kayaks that you cannot have children in the middle. I ended up pairing up with another mom who came with her family. Our guide was very knowledgeable and able to tell us all about the trees and plants around us and other things along the way. We hiked to the waterfall where we had lunch and able to swim under the waterfall. This is definitely something to try.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

peaceful adventure

Reviewed by: Britt, 2008/03/10

Kayaking ride was just the right distance and hike was just perfect distance. Waterfall area was beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thank you Special K's!

Reviewed by: Jacobs/Danielle Ms, 2007/07/29

They took great care of my two neices. I felt secure that they were in safe hands. What fun personalities the staff have...we would recommend it to families and anyone that is looking for something new. The Staff really made an fun tour into a truly unique experience!
The Jacobs Family

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]