Page 6) Hawaii Mountain Tubing Adventure Tour with Kauai Backcountry reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Hawaii Mountain Tubing Adventure Tour with Kauai Backcountry

Overall Rating

4.83 4.83 / 5

Reviews

189 reviews
Post a review

Mountain Tubing FUN!!

Reviewed by: Roxanne Ziola, 2011/02/15

My Mom, Sister and I went tubing, thinking that this would be a great time to catch some sun...we were very disappointed that the day was rainy. We went to the tubing anyway, and were we ever greatful that we did.
The experience that we had was very memorable...we bought a camera there and took pictures, we had so much fun!!
The staff was funny, experienced and knowledgeable. They made the drive up and back go so quickly, and the tubing, a once in a lifetime memory.
We are all "non-swimmers" so being in the water we were comfortable, being that it was shallow, and that they catered to making sure you got in and were ok all along.
The age span between Mother (57) and Daughter (29), made no difference, we all had just as much fun as the others.
Thank you for providing such a fun experience for our family!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

new and fun

Reviewed by: kittieanne, 2010/08/08

The tubing trip was a rare treat. I had recently read Michner's book "Hawaii" and one section was about chipping out the irrigation tunnels to bring water from the interior to the fields. Seeing these tunnels from the inside was a gift. It was also nice to go into the interior of the island since most of my experience in Kauai has been along the coastline. There is a thrill to the ride, but it is not scary or overwhelming. I am 60, my sister is 65 and we really enjoyed the experience and felt safe and well taken care of. I highly recommend this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique Tubing Experience for All

Reviewed by: Jim Bowler, 2010/07/11

The mountain tubing adventure is appropriately named. You find yourself navigating old irrigation channels that are now used for water reclamation. We had a group of thirteen including young teens through middle aged adults. Everyone had a great time. It is one of those experiences that is different, fun and one where you can control the pace. The staff is very friendly and fun loving. It makes for a very nice experience. I would recommend it particularly for groups.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tubbing was awsome!

Reviewed by: Sharen, 2010/06/17

Yes the water was 'crisp' but very refreshing. Th whole trip was wonderful and the guides were very experienced with handeling all on the trip, young and older (that was us). I never scraped up an elbow or ankle with their instructions and if it is going to happen to anyone, it would be me.
WONDERFUL TIME!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a great time!!!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/04/27

We had a great time! The staff was very nice and lots of fun! Mahalo!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Mark, 2010/04/01

You won't find anything like this anywhere else in Hawaii. We had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mountian Tubing Adventure

Reviewed by: Nancy Alguire, 2010/01/07

Kauai Backcountry Adventures ROCK! We had so much fun we scheduled another trip later in the week and celebrated my birthday tubing! I will schedule this everytime I go to Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/11/23

Very unique experience - and a great time! I would not recommend this to people older than 75 as there are a few areas where you can potentially fall out of your tube. Its a blast though - we had a lot of fun!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great time!

Reviewed by: Judy, 2009/09/07

We had a great time tubing through the sugar plantation and the staff were really fun. I think this is a bit expensive for what you get, but it was definitely something I would recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!

Reviewed by: Brandi C., 2009/08/21

These guys were fun and made us feel like we were in the company of friends! Great time with and amazing group of guides and staff.....thanks guys you were THE BEST adventure company we expierenced on the island!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shorter than expected

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2009/07/21

I was disappointed to learn that 80% of ride would be through tunnels - I pictured we'd have some tunnels but mostly be having a nice trip through Kauai scenery. It was still lots of fun though!!

Though the guide said there was over 50 miles of irrigation ditches, but that the tour is only through 2 1/2 miles, so it's not a very long trip. There's a nature walk before hand and picnic lunch after. But for the money, I'd rather skip both those and do the irrigation ride twice, or at least have a much, much longer ride.

I was still pretty fun and I would definitely recommend this to families but it's definitely way expensive for what you get. The water is freezing cold, so be prepared.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tubing Adventure

Reviewed by: Bec from California, 2009/06/27

Didn't know what to expect. If you like water rides, you're in for quite an adventure. Alot of fun for the family-our ages ranged from 7 to 45 and we all had a great time. The guides were very informative, funny and helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/06/26

We were not sure about this tour but it exceeded our expectations. We all loved it. We had fun and learned much. Guides were awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique and "Refreshing"

Reviewed by: Daniel & Christine, 2009/06/02

This was alot of fun and very strage tubing through tunnels. But don't mention the word "cold"!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blast

Reviewed by: Jamee Oney, 2009/04/13

We had a blast on the tubing adventure. The water was a little brisk, but we had so much fun we forgot all about it. The guides were very informative and a lot of fun too. We would recommend this adventure to everyone visiting Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Larry, 2009/03/24

Relaxing and fun. The "guides" were friendly and knowledgable. We only wished the ride were a bit longer.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful time

Reviewed by: the ancasters, 2009/01/09

My family was not to impressed when I booked this but I have to say they all loved this activity. It was way more fun then I even expected. Our ages are 16,18,20,22,47,and 48. We all agree we would do it again. The staff could be a little more energenic. It was early in the morning and they seemed tired. but over all I would highly recommand this to all ages between 10- 60. great adventure. so much fun...........

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must Do in Kauai

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/01/03

This adventure was so much fun!!! Everyone in our group turned into little kids and had a blast. I'll do this again on our next visit to Kauai. Thanks for the good times, guys. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Guides!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/09/26

The guides on the tour were outstanding. They were fun and knowledgable about the region and history. Really made the trip enjoyable. The tunnels can get a little cold, but definitely not bad. Although I am not fond of small spaces, the tunnels were not scary at all and both my husband and I enjoyed the event. Also, the lunch was tasty!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time EVAR!!!

Reviewed by: Ems and Juan, 2008/07/04

My friends went on this tour last year and they kept telling us how awesome and amazing it was, so of course when my husband and I went to Kauai last month, we knew that we had to try the tubing ourselves, and I am so so so so so happy that I did. It had to be the most amazing time and srsly...this was way better than just sitting on the beach. If you get a chance...DO EEEET! :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fun for the whole family

Reviewed by: thompson's, 2008/07/04

My whole family went of this tour and we had a blast. Remember to bring sunscreen and the water shoes are a good idea. We haven't laughed this much in ages... Thanks!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth It!

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2008/04/18

Was relaxing and fun at the same time. Guides very informative and easygoing. Tunnels extremely cool!
Would do again in a heartbeat! Thanks Guys

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Backcountry Mountain Tubing

Reviewed by: Cathy, 2008/03/20

This company out does themselves in service and their staff are the best! We had so much fun with T (our guide) he was knowledgeable and very personable- he made the day fly by!
The lunch and swimming hole area were great! I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for something unique to do!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Can't wait to do it again!!!

Reviewed by: Katie, 2008/03/19

My husband and I did this on our Honeymoon in October 2005. We loved every moment of it!!! We just recently purchased a timeshare in Kauai and are planning our next trip back and this is at th top of our list of things to do!!!
Tip: Make sure to bring an underwater camera to capture all of your wonderful memories!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

5-star!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/02/27

We took this tour on our honeymoon in Kauai, and we are so glad that we did. Not only it was fun but also very historical and educational. What a great way to learn and view the island that you do not see in a guidebook! We will come back with our kids (hopefully) in the future! Thank you for everything!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

tubing

Reviewed by: sunjen, 2008/01/04

This trip was excellent. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and the trip a blast. They are expecially good with little kids. A 5 star!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tubing in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/01/02

Excellent trip, great for kids and families.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tubing

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/12/27

Good way to view area.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tubing was a blast!

Reviewed by: J.Christy, 2007/11/16

This was our second trip to Kauai and my wife and I were married on Hanalei Bay. We were looking for something new and exciting and decided to try the mountain tubing adventure. It was the best time, more fun than a water park ride! We would bounce off the walls and spin around and at times splash down a drop- off and get wet. Going through the hand dug tunnels was an experience, especially when we turned the lights off on our helmets. We had a blast and would definitely recommend this activity to anyone. It was very safe and the guides were informative. Lunch was good but the swimming area did not look too inviting for swimming, in November the water was cold.
Overall a must for anyone who visits Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Gail Shirley, 2007/10/10

This was my single most fun experience of Kauai and a definite must for anyone who wants to have some memorable fun! The staff members were wonderful - knowledgeable, friendly, informed, and safety-focused while making sure everyone had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]