This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment

Amazing Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Rich, 2008/10/18

This was an amazing Cruise down the Wialua River to the Fern Grotto. The staff was great and told of the history of the river and the grotto. The return trip included hawaiian music and hula lessons. I would really recommend this trip to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto River Ride

Reviewed by: Barbara, 2008/05/22

We loved this tour. The ride up the river was informative and absolutely beautiful. Walking the Grotto was amazing. So many types of plants. You will be amazed. Be sure to walk through slowly. Look at every flower and in between leaves so you don't miss the giant bumble bees or the beautiful birds. Some people walked too quickly and missed these wonders of nature.

The ride back was pleasant with the staff playing music and dancing. They were great guides and great people. One of the guides walked slowly with us and told us all about the different plants and what the natives used these plants for. Super informative. I felt sorry for those who didn't take the time to listen to his wealth of knowledge.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Handicap Access

Reviewed by: Mrs. Harless, 2008/05/12

The trip was listed as a short, rugged walk, but is handicap accessible. I would have liked this information ahead of time, as walking on concrete is very painful for me, and I would have taken my scooter if I had known there was a paved walk way. I would like to go again sometime, when the ferns have recovered from the damage of the 2006 Hurricane. Cruise was informative, entertaining and fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's River Cruise

Reviewed by: Linn A, 2008/05/01

Smith's River Cruise was well done. Unfortunately the Fern Grotto sust
ained damage which no longer allows people to go inside.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto Boat Ride

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/04/02

Our family enjoyed this short boat ride to the Fern Grotto. The Grotto itself has changed since our last trip to Kaua'i. Sit on the left side of the boat while it is at the dock (which will then be the right side going up the river). That way you can see most of the sights the guide points out on the way to the Fern Grotto. It was informative, especially for first timers. Next trip, we will probably kayak up to the Grotto.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto- boat ride

Reviewed by: Cathy, 2008/03/20

It was a relaxing and enjoyable trip down the river to the Fern Grotto. The staff was fun and we enjoyed learning to Hula. It was a good value!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Family Fun

Reviewed by: The Nicholas', 2008/02/19

As first-timers to the Fern Grotto, my husband and I had a great time!The boat ride, hula instruction, music, and entertainment were typically Hawaiian, which is just what we wanted to experience! We took the 3:30 Fern Grotto trip so we could follow it up with the Smith's Family Luau (in the same location). The Luau cuisine was great followed by a spectacular music production professionally presented providing us with a greater understanding of the traditions and heritage of the Polynesian culture. WHAT A SHOW! We recommend BOTH of these for your family and friends. You will not be disappointed!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/01/29

We enjoyed the cruise and the beautiful flowers and foliage but were disappointed at the actual "Grotto" since we couldn't see inside the cave. We weren't aware of this until we were at the site.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/01/27

great view, good history lessons

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: bushes, 2008/01/26

The boat tour was more than we expected. The dancer was talented. The entertainment and wedding song were lovely. The garden around the Grotto was lush. And it came with a nice price tag as well. I would recommend this to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith Family

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/12/07

Smith family were great

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto Cruise

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/12/04

Rained out on Wednesday and we were not notified until we got there. Rescheduled for Friday and all went well. Had a good time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular

Reviewed by: Carol A, 2007/10/17

The boat ride was so-so, the comentary was great but with a covered ride it was difficult to see the attractions. Upon arrival we were amazed at the folage and the Fern Grotto, very impressive, would I do it again ? no, been there done that but would reccomend to first timers to the Island.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/09/06

We had a great time and really enjoyed the cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thanks for the memories ...

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/08/31

On time, friendly, engaging. Always worth a trip to see the Grotto.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: sandy, 2007/08/21

The cruise was very relaxing with the cool breeze on your face. It would even be better if you had hammock, but i do realize that maybe impossible.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailea River Cruise

Reviewed by: Maria Lee, 2007/08/18

The cruise was short but sufficient for the price. I recommend taking the 3:30 cruise and then going to the Smith Luau right beside the docks. Excellent site and entertainment and also worth the price.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cruise to Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/08/05

What made this trip enjoyable was the entertaining crew members!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/07/31

We really enjoyed the entertainment aboard the boat. It was nice to see the fern grotto even if it wasn't as spectacular as the picture shown. Mother Nature has a way of changing things.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Could be better

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/07/27

This is the second time I have taken this cruise, and I remember it being better before. Granted, part of the reason is not being able to go up to the actual Fern Grotto (one was able to walk through it before). It is a very pretty site, but I'm not sure that it is worth the price.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto was beautiful

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/07/10

We had a great time. The Smith family was great! Beautiful place.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Paul and Danita Kennedy, 2007/06/25

Great experience and value.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Mary, 2007/06/06

A very relaxing ride. The entertainment was a lot of fun. The Grotto was very beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

owner travel agency

Reviewed by: jim hyde, 2007/06/06

Wonderful trip, class act, very good value.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fern grotto cruise

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/05/24

The boat ride was very relaxing with the great music, and the grotto itself was gorgeous. cant wait to go back and see it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next