This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Karen S, 2011/02/15

We loved the pace, entertainment and narration. Our entire family had a good time. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very enjoyable

Reviewed by: connie, 2011/02/15

We totally enjoyed the river cruise and the fern grotto. We were a little disappointed we could not actually go into the grotto but totally understand. It will be good to come back and see it again after a few years and some more fern growth.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Slow paced enjoyment

Reviewed by: Mike B, 2011/02/08

The wailua river cruise is very unique, we saw a lot of Kauai we didnt know was there, and learned a lot from our guide. The pace of the tour is slow and relaxed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Even less than I expected

Reviewed by: Barry, 2011/01/14

The staff was very nice and the boat ride was relaxing but the Fern Grotto itself was less than I expected, and I wasn't expecting much.
You don't go inside the cave. You just look at it from a distance.
You can see ferns growing from the face of a rock cliff where the cave is located. You view it from a platform where weddings are performed these days. You can't go inside to see the area where 100 people can gather.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect for first timers!

Reviewed by: The Anchondo's, 2010/08/23

Our first time to Kauai and we decided to try the Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto and we absolutely loved it! it was kinda slow but very relaxing, and such beauty surrounding you how could you not like it..
I know its got some bad reviews and I cant understand why, if you appreciate the beauty of Kauai then you will love this short and sweet experience and you can get some really great pictures too.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/06/04

Our group enjoyed the music as we cruised the river. The scenery was outstanding and the staff provided good service.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

no comment

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/02/11

no comment

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Author

Reviewed by: Marilyn, 2010/01/24

This was my second trip and I loved it as much the second time as I did the first. I will highly recommend it to anyone who is coming to Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto is beautiful!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/11/22

We thought the Fern Grotto was beautiful and the river cruise scenery was spectacular. Entertainment on board was so so.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: David, 2009/07/21

A very informative excursion. Truly relaxing and the staff were insightful and fun. Would highly recommend this to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fern grotto

Reviewed by: sara926, 2009/07/11

The employees were very friendly. The Grotto was not all that I expected it to be in my imagination, but it was still very beautiful and I would recommend to check it out

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Splendid!

Reviewed by: Jen, 2009/06/26

The Smith family embraces you with their Hawaiian charm as soon as you meet them! The river trip to the Fern Grotto was a beautiful experience. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary so when the singers sang the Hawaiian Wedding Song it was very special! The Hula dancer on-board was not only beautiful, but very talented as well. Even my husband participated in the learning of the Hula dance - much to my delight! I would do this trip again if ever given the chance. Truly memorable!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/06/26

This was a relaxing river ride. Our guides were knowledgable. We enjoyed the singing and dancing on the boat. We rode this tour into the Luau. Overall It was a great 1st day on the island. We would all do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: So Cal Beaches, 2009/06/10

The Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto was enjoyable. I recommend taking the last cruise and then going to the Smith Luau.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty good stuff

Reviewed by: Daniel & Christine, 2009/06/02

The boat is kind of boring, but also very scenic. The grotto does make it worthwhile. I suggest doing the Smiths luau right after this, they are right together, so why not!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Laua

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/05/28

Better than expected, best laua I've been to. The gardens are beautiful, go early so you can spend some time walking around the beautiful location.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/05/28

Not what I expected, could have skipped it to spend more time at the Smith's laua.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good time

Reviewed by: Good Time, 2009/05/22

We had a good time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unique Experience

Reviewed by: John Osheka, 2009/05/18

Great experience. Enabled us to see a unique part of the Island which we would have missed. Staff was great and made the experience very enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/04/07

Fern Grotto was absolutely beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: don, 2009/03/22

Very informative, interesting and enjoyable. Would recommend to everyone

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A lovely way to see the river

Reviewed by: HBaxter, 2009/02/22

We enjoyed this lazy trip down the river and learned a lot about the river on the way from the captain. The fern grotto was beautiful, though not quite as lush as it had once been (so don't expect it to look like the postcards you see! I guess the hurricanes did some damage). The entertainment at the grotto was also lovely - hearing the traditional Hawaiian wedding song (in Hawaiian) with beautiful harmonies was enchanting. I also love that this is a family run business, putting money back into the traditions of Hawaii and the families that reside there. We took our seven year old boy and nine year old girl, and grandma, and everyone enjoyed the trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto Trip

Reviewed by: Betty Kaszula, 2009/02/14

This is the first time we took the boat trip up the river. I was impressed with the family involvement in every aspect of the luau and boat tour. They are very gracious people and must answer the same questions thousands of times yet they show an interest each time to make everyone feel special and not like some

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/02/10

We had a great time.This is worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/02/10

Enjoyed very much.If you have never done it you should.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Guide

Reviewed by: Aaron, 2009/01/30

Our guide was excellent. I'm not sure anyone other than a local could have given us a tour as insightful or interesting.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fern grotto river cruise

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/01/05

I don't regret doing this, however, I would not do it again. Decent activity for first timers.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing cruise on the Wialua River

Reviewed by: S. Denning, 2008/11/22

The cruise is vary relaxing, vary beutiful, and the staff is vary informative and the hula dancer was wonderful. But be warned the cave at the Fern Grotto is now closed, but you can still see it and take pictures of it wich is beutuful. recomended to first timers.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A very pleasant experience!

Reviewed by: Mary, 2008/11/15

This cruise is great for older people who are not able to walk very well - the staff is very friendly, the entertainment is fun and relaxing, the river is beautiful, and the walk to the Fern Grotto was very nice also. We did this before going to the luau at Smith's. It was a wonderful combination!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: rom de guzman, 2008/10/30

THIS TRIP EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |