This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment

Majestic

Reviewed by: Shandzl, 2017/01/09

Wow, what a wonderful experience! The fern grotto was breathtaking and I loved how they taught us how to hula!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great activity

Reviewed by: Phil, 2017/01/07

Nice crew, entertainment (Hula and hawaiian music)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely cruise in Nature

Reviewed by: Jenny , 2016/12/27

On a lovely sunny morning the cruise up the Wailua river to the Fern Grotto was a lovely experience. The entertainment was delightful and all staff friendly and helpful. Explanations about the history and nature were good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed this!

Reviewed by: Jenny , 2016/12/26

Beautiful, interesting, very enjoyable. Crew were wonderful!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/12/19

The Smiths river boat trip to the Fern Grotto was wonderful. We loved the live entertainment, they were great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau ever

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/12/19

We have been to Luau's on all the islands but none of them can compare to the Smiths. The place is gorgeous. We felt like we were walking around in Disneyland. The food, service and show was excellent!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My 50th birthday luau

Reviewed by: Cmai, 2016/12/06

What a fabulous time! Loved this luaua show. It was best I've seen! Ate way too much but thoroughly enjoyed my evening!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My 50th bday

Reviewed by: Cmai, 2016/12/06

Enjoyed trip up river much. Very nice crew. I wish they knew more about physical science of area. The history they shared was great. thx!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River cruise

Reviewed by: Gary & Elvia, 2016/10/22

It was nice, although it was short. I rented a kayak for the same river. Hindsight I should of did my homework.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

relax and enjoy

Reviewed by: Happy camper, 2016/09/27

My wife and I loved the quite trip down the river the music was great and the scenery was beautiful. Highly recommend to all looking to relax and escape it all!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointing

Reviewed by: Peter, 2016/09/25

Hurricane Iniki did in the fern grotto which I had not been aware of so was disappointed in that as it was always so beautiful. Other than that the river ride is always nice and Wailua such a beautiful place. The crew and entertainers were delightful and all in all it's a fun ride but as I said the fern grotto which is what most come to see was pretty much done in my mother nature. I had been on this ride more than once and first time as a child as my father was born in Lihue so I knew the grotto as it had been years ago so this most likely is what led me to my disappointment but first time goers will still find it a lovely trip and fun for all. Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ride!

Reviewed by: TraveLpro, 2016/09/09

This activity works for the whole family. The river is lovely and passengers get a bit of entertainment and a bit of history.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good entertainment

Reviewed by: Kansas620, 2016/09/08

The staff and Captain were very nice. The musicians were outstanding! Loved the walk back to the boat, down the path through rain forest. A little disappointed in the viewing distance from the Fern Grotto. It was explained that in 2006, the area received torrential rainfall and suffered a mudslide. Since that time they had to built back the tour area, which means a viewing stage/deck, quite a ways away from the Fern Grotto itself. You can no longer go to the mouth of the cave, and pictures did not turn out well.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!

Reviewed by: Deb, 2016/08/27

Such a beautiful part of the island! We had a great time on the tour, our guides were amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice relaxing ride on the Waimea River

Reviewed by: Jackie Benavidez, 2016/08/22

We took the morning tour and really enjoyed it. We were entertained by musicians on our way to the Grotto and was even taught a simple hula dance. The Grotto was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed the history lesson of the area. I would definitely take this tour again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must Do Activity on Kauai!

Reviewed by: Jackie, 2016/08/13

This was my 3rd trip to Fern Grotto over the years and it never disappoints! The entertainment is awesome! Everyone is so friendly and accommodating! There were 18 of us on this trip and most were first timers, they loved it! Can't come to Kauai and not see the Fern Grotto!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern grotto

Reviewed by: Tiff, 2016/08/09

Enjoyed the relaxing boat ride. The ride back was extra fun with music and my crazy mom who got up and intertained everyone aboard. The workers seemed to enjoy it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Couldn't of been happier

Reviewed by: Christian , 2016/08/06

The singing the dancing the engagement and kindness of the staff is what makes this the best boat ride around

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Boat ride and laua

Reviewed by: Bob D, 2016/07/23

Lots of fun. Entertainment was great. Narrative was very informative. Grotto was awesome. We included the laua which was most fantastic. Food beverage and entertainment was great. My first laua and my best. Thank you for a great evening. All the staff were very friendly

  • Beautiful

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Poi

Reviewed by: Angie, 2016/07/04

Extremely pleasant, and affordable. Beautiful, must see fern grotto. We ate our imaginary Poi.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern grotto boat cruise

Reviewed by: Rachel , 2016/06/18

Nice boat ride. Great entertainment and historical info. The Fern Grotto was a Beautiful place and glad they have preserved it so nicely.liked it was not too long.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailau river cruise to fern grotto with live entertainment

Reviewed by: Alvin lunsford, 2016/05/22

Relaxing, informative, and entertaining...great value

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Iz like performer

Reviewed by: Nhids, 2016/04/24

This 1 1/2 hr activity is really good for those who doesn't have upper body strength to do kayak to get to grotto which is a beautiful mystical place. The whole family enjoyed very much the ride and the entertainment whose voice is the future IZ. The staff were all awesome! Thank you all for making our day great!

  • My mom a few more steps to the grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So enjoyable!

Reviewed by: Kim Wood, 2016/04/20

We loved our afternoon river cruise! The entertainment was great and the fern grotto was breathtaking! Staff members were warm and very inviting! We will recommend this activity to others!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I would do this again!

Reviewed by: Dru, 2016/04/20

I really feel like this river cruise is special, you get to see and hear how this culture has evolved.. The singing is fantastic and the commentary is great as well. Such a nice family!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful trip,very peaceful.

Reviewed by: Penny, 2016/04/16

Wonderful time very peaceful. All the people were very friendly like family.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua River Cruise

Reviewed by: DHK, 2016/04/04

My wife and I took her mother on this scenic cruise. The were very friendly and attentive to all their guests. The pilot did a great job noting the points of interest. The singing and dancing during the cruise added a nice entertaining local flavor.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Delightful river trip

Reviewed by: Della, 2016/04/02

Was awesome to return to fern grotto after 44 years. Well done!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING! If you haven't booked a luau this trip Do THE CRUISE!

Reviewed by: Maren, 2016/03/14

When we booked our trip to HI my husband had been 3-4 times already. I hadn't been at all. He convinced me not to book a luau. We really like food and figured we'd save the money for something else. Once we got to HI I was really-really bummed we didn't have a luau on the docket, and it was too late to book anything.

This cruise was amazing and once we did it we weren't so bummed about missing the luau. The cruise is so peaceful. The guide is a smith family member and his family owns the land surrounding the river. He knows so much about the land and has tons of stories he tells while you cruise up and down the river.

You stop at the fern grotto, which is so cool. It's a must see on any trip to Kauai. The musicians on the cruise play songs and play a special song to people who have just gotten married or celebrating anniversaries.

Then on the ride back the musicians play native songs. It's the next best thing to a luau.

Already did it once but will do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful tour

Reviewed by: Melissa & Pat , 2016/03/10

A must if in Kauai... Beautiful sights and a wonderful staff!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |